• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-24-2014)
(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: ROANOKE
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. German
  2. English
  3. Hindi

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Only Guide Dogs or Service Animals Allowed

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Hanging Rock Golf Course
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI
Attraction:
James Moyer Sports Complex
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
Roanoke Civic Center
Distance From Hotel:7.0MI
Attraction:
Hollins University
Distance From Hotel:7.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:78
  • Car Parking Available
  • We have ample parking for car and passenger trucks.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2009
  • Total number of rooms:75
  • Total number of suites:15
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:7
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:63
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:75
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Welcome to One of the Best Hotels in Salem, Virginia.

Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains just outside of Roanoke, Virginia, the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Salem is convenient to many surrounding businesses and attractions.

For outdoor enthusiasts, this Roanoke Valley city is where you want to be. Our Salem, Virginia hotel's location is near walking and cycling paths, the Natural Bridge and Dixie Caverns, making it perfect for a nature getaway. History buffs can enjoy
View More

Welcome to One of the Best Hotels in Salem, Virginia.

Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains just outside of Roanoke, Virginia, the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Salem is convenient to many surrounding businesses and attractions.

For outdoor enthusiasts, this Roanoke Valley city is where you want to be. Our Salem, Virginia hotel's location is near walking and cycling paths, the Natural Bridge and Dixie Caverns, making it perfect for a nature getaway. History buffs can enjoy the historic sites peppering the surrounding area which include points of interest from the Revolutionary and Civil wars.

Most hotels in Salem, VA are conveniently located near many businesses and universities, and the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Salem is no different. Virginia Tech is 35 miles away, Radford University is 32 miles away and Roanoke College is only three miles away, making our hotel perfect for a trip to visit students or to attend special events. Business travelers appreciate our Salem, Virginia hotel's nearness to companies like General Electric, Carter Machinery and Medeco, as well as the Salem Civic Center. Our hotel's well-equipped 24-hour Business Center is also great for taking care of any last minute work.

After a long day of work or play, you can relax in our outdoor pool and whirlpool spa, or work up a sweat in the 24-hour Fitness Center. We also offer a complimentary, hot breakfast bar every morning.

View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 135 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by BREAKFAST MOST HOLIDAY INNS WE STAY AT HAVE A COMPLIMENTARY BREAKFAST, THAT IS NICE TO HAVE WHEN TRAVELING September 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet and Comfortrable A very pleasant stay, and writing 29 more characters to meet minimum. September 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and comfortable The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good as well as the staff serving. I would stay here again. September 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel Stayed 2 nights. Super nice & comfortable. Great location. Pleasant bar/restaraunt. Felt safe. Thats impartant too. Love it :) September 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service. Everything was good, parking was easy, bed was comfortable. September 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasent Hotel Friendly staff, popcorn, water always available. Restaurant on premise, service a little slow at times. September 4, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by toilet running toilet running al had to shake handle other than that it was a great stay September 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I'll be back Hotel was clean and comfortable. Staff was friendly. Love the indoor/outdoor pool September 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay and clean rooms I appreciate all of the attention the staff of Valley View gives the hotel. It shows in a 30 year old building. Stay was business related but the experaince was more like a vacation. THANK YOU! September 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient Location The hotel was very convenient to where I had to have my training. The room and hotel staff were great. September 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good nites rest and swim enjoyed the pool area , nice warm and relaxing..slept great August 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable and convenient This was one of several times I have stayed at this property when I come up for business. It is quite, yet convenient to restaurants and the business area I travel to. I have never found a reason to look for a different property. When I rated value, it was a general rating of all hotels I stay in throughout the US. Some less expensive and some higher in price. When I got back from dinner with a customer, the hotel parking lot was full. That is always a good indication of satisfied and returning customers. August 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel review Tv needed better channels some were scrambled. Beds to soft pillows to small. Needed to be more handicap friendly my husband cannot walk long distances he had a hard time. The bathrooms could have had walk in showers better for handicap people. Restaurant could have been more prepared had to wait for waitress others had ordered their food and we got our and had eat then the others got theirs. Food was good. Will stay there again nice clean rooms and bathroom. Thank you for all your help. August 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Most comfortable bed and pillows ever. I remembered the bed and pillows from my previous stays and even ordered pillows for my personal use August 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by All products and services were great Although we used points to pay for our stay, we feel as though we were treated just as well as any paying customer! The only reason I marked down our sleep is because it was our first night away from home, and we seldom sleep well the first night away. August 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place While travelling back to Middle TN, we stopped for an overnight stay at 3:30 AM. Room was great, hotel staff was great. We enjoyed our stay. August 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by easy to get to, great service Hotel was older than most of the Holiday Inn Express that we usually stay in. We chose this one based on the ease of getting to it in a new town, and the amenities that it offered. The pools, both indoor and out were clean, good temperature and great hot tub. We did not use the restaurant, but noticed it was very busy at breakfast...always a good sign. Room was clean, well kept and comfortable, except the desk chair which would not elevate. All in all we liked it and used points plus cash, so good value. August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice I was here for four weeks. This is a very nice facility with a good location with enough room to move around that I never felt like I was in stuck in a prison. Weekends were very busy and weekdays were very quiet. The staff were very prompt about dealing with maintenance issues when I mentioned them. The pool is a very unique design with indoor and outdoor joined together. It was used a lot. There is also a volleyball court outside with sand (very cool). I used the exercise room facilities daily and appreciated their use. The channels on the TV in the exercise room, however, were impossible to figure out -- it was impossible to channel surf up or down and randomly guessing channels met with a blue screen. The breakfast in the dining area was quite nice and it was a nice way to get started in the morning. They have a buffet or you can order off the menu. August 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Adequate for my needs Hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. I was here on business, and would select this hotel again in the future. August 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay Our experience at this hotel was great! I had my three children with me and was picking up my husband at the airport that night. The kids loved the pool and hot tub. The rooms were clean and beds were comfortable. We were close to the airport and even having to go out with my three kids to pick my husband up at 11:30 pm, we felt completely safe. Great location. Breakfast was great and all the workers were pleasant and helpful. The front desk lady who checked us in (wish I could remember her name) was so nice and friendly which is hard to find these days. She was helpful and very nice to the kids. Our overall experience was GREAT and I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in this area. August 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet, Room amenities, hospitality Appreciate the welcoming hospitality of flavored water, afternoon complimentary popcorn, complimentary lunch during first day of the VA Bar exam, and the nice touch of quiet signs outside my room for studying. August 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My Stay No problems = good rating. Room rate was excessively high for Holiday Inn August 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet comfortable rooms and great staff Excellent hotel, very friendly accommodating staff. When I asked if the two rooms we booked could be near one another, the desk clerk actually found us adjoining rooms! The rooms were super-sized, very clean and comfortable. We had no problems whatsoever with our stay and I would definitely recommend this property. July 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel - Restaurant/Bar Staff Top Notch - Vinia and Mary The first thing I look for when booking a hotel is if it has a restaurant on site. When traveling it's nice to be able to relax without additional driving. Not only was the restaurant very comfortable the staff was top notch. If I owned any type of business I would want Vinia and Mary to be there. They will be the reason I choose this specific Holiday Inn the next time I am in Roanoke. They went out of there way to make guests comfortable. I could have sat in the restaurant all week. Clean Room, Quiet Nights, Great Food, Good Spirits, one of the nicest staff by far. Would stay here again. July 30, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Unconfortable bed pillows and bed The bed pillows were so hard for sleeping. They are great for sitting support in bed, but not for sleeping. The lighting in the room was not bright at all. I had to go to the bathroom in order to see something more clearly. One of the lamps on the side of the bed did not work so it was more difficult to have outlets to charge electronics. The elevator was broken, had to walk down five flights of stairs. July 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and comfortable rooms I was very pleased with the accommodations and service; the staff was pleasant and courteous and the food and service were excellent. We were attending a family reunion and everything was ready on time. The food was plentiful and replenished. I would definitely use the services again. July 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable Had a great room, staff was excellent, and the breakfast was absolutely wonderful. July 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and really great service! We stopped at this hotel because I have points. The staff was welcoming and got us checked in right away. We decided to eat in the hotel restaurant and were not disappointed. Dinner was tasty and served promptly. The waitress was very friendly and made sure our needs were met. The room was comfortable and the bed was very comfy. Overall this was a great experience. July 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience We had a nice relaxing stay at the Roanoke-Valley View Holiday Inn. The pool was clean and a comfortable temperature. We also loved that kids ate free. July 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very clean and great staff This is an aging Holiday Inn that is being well taken care of with a great staff. It has an old design with the swimming pool next to the dining area which did get quiet loud. July 24, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Front Desk Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-24-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
Check Availability
Loading