• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Nov-27-2014)
(e.g. Nov-28-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: ROANOKE
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. German
  2. English
  3. Hindi

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Only Guide Dogs or Service Animals Allowed

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Hanging Rock Golf Course
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI
Attraction:
James Moyer Sports Complex
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
Roanoke Civic Center
Distance From Hotel:7.0MI
Attraction:
Hollins University
Distance From Hotel:7.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:78
  • Car Parking Available
  • We have ample parking for car and passenger trucks.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2009
  • Total number of rooms:75
  • Total number of suites:15
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:7
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:63
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:75
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Welcome to One of the Best Hotels in Salem, Virginia.

Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains just outside of Roanoke, Virginia, the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Salem is convenient to many surrounding businesses and attractions.

For outdoor enthusiasts, this Roanoke Valley city is where you want to be. Our Salem, Virginia hotel's location is near walking and cycling paths, the Natural Bridge and Dixie Caverns, making it perfect for a nature getaway. History buffs can enjoy
View More

Welcome to One of the Best Hotels in Salem, Virginia.

Nestled in the Blue Ridge Mountains just outside of Roanoke, Virginia, the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Salem is convenient to many surrounding businesses and attractions.

For outdoor enthusiasts, this Roanoke Valley city is where you want to be. Our Salem, Virginia hotel's location is near walking and cycling paths, the Natural Bridge and Dixie Caverns, making it perfect for a nature getaway. History buffs can enjoy the historic sites peppering the surrounding area which include points of interest from the Revolutionary and Civil wars.

Most hotels in Salem, VA are conveniently located near many businesses and universities, and the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Salem is no different. Virginia Tech is 35 miles away, Radford University is 32 miles away and Roanoke College is only three miles away, making our hotel perfect for a trip to visit students or to attend special events. Business travelers appreciate our Salem, Virginia hotel's nearness to companies like General Electric, Carter Machinery and Medeco, as well as the Salem Civic Center. Our hotel's well-equipped 24-hour Business Center is also great for taking care of any last minute work.

After a long day of work or play, you can relax in our outdoor pool and whirlpool spa, or work up a sweat in the 24-hour Fitness Center. We also offer a complimentary, hot breakfast bar every morning.

View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 187 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Big Clean Rooms Will highly recommend this hotel. Staff is very friendly with great sense of humor. Management will do anything for you. June 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Management They fix any issue in timely manner. Hats off to the manger Mr. Patel...he was very professional and great person to deal with for anything you need during your stay. June 7, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Long stay April-May 2014 The beds are great, shower so so and breakfast buffet needs a lot of improvement. Rather go outside for breakfast.. June 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Run of the mill but ok Nice, Clean, Regular room. Nothing Fancy. Beds are ok but need replaced soon. Outdated noisy HVAC through the wall units that need updated to current energy saving and variable speed self contained units sothe room is quieter. I would stay hear again. June 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and GREAT SERVICE The service from the front desk to the cleaning staff was WONDERFUL! Thank you staff for being so terrific to our family! May 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel Great stay and having a Bar and restaurant in the hotel is always good. Our waiter was awesome and the food was really good. I recommend this hotel if you are in the area. May 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Short Stay During our brief, yet very pleasant stay at the Holiday Inn-Tanglewood, Roanoke, VA during the period May 16-18, 2014 we were extremely satisfied with the accommodations and "value for the buck". The front desk staff was very efficient and friendly for both our check-in and check-out and the room was in the best location, at the end of the hall, and the maid service was superb. We plan on making the Holiday Inn our first preference when visiting Roanoke in the future, and we would highly recommend it to our friends. May 21, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Very Poor Reservation Experience We have been staying at this Inn for the last 10-12 years, but for the last two times we stayed there our reservations were not what we requested and had confirmed. We asked for a room on the first floor (handicapped) and were promised such. When we checked in we were assigned an unsatisfactory a"handicapped" room on the third floor. NO explanation was provided by the clerk. We were treated badly, and we will not stay at this Inn again. May 16, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by It works Not the nicest, but better than the HIE in town. Close to the hospital. Probably spot on in terms of value. April 28, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Probably won't stay again Found a pair of women's panties behind the ironing board. Need I say more. April 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Room Great Room. Great Bed. Loved the jacuzzi tub, since there wasn't a hotel hot tub. Had a great night and would recommend to all. April 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice, but dated. Nice hotel, excellent and friendly staff, but this location is a little dated as for the facility itself. The coffee makers in the room are circa 1980's. Most hotels nowadays have coffee available in the lobby all day, but not at this location. March 22, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Bathrooms were not clean The hotel was not very clean - the bathroom floors had not been swept. When the maids cleaned the next day, the sinks were not wiped out and the coffee pot still had old coffee in it. The bathroom floors were still not swept. Whatever was on the floor when we checked in, was still there. The clock radio had some sort of food stuck on it. I was disappointed although the staff was very friendly and the common areas seemed to be clean. March 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Mysticon Convention stay WHAT A WEEKEND! The place was packed yet your staff was friendly and anything we needed or asked about we were greeted with smiles and friendly people. The people at the front desk were especially helpful. I was told that the convention was sold out before it started and you always think services will be slow or non existent. Please thank everyone involved for making our stay that weekend most enjoyable. February 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convention highlights This year was the first time I had returned to this location to attend a convention in about 4 years. I was happy to see them making concerted efforts to keep the convention areas new and clean in appearance with updates to the wallpapers and carpeting. I could especially appreciate the efforts of the staff in the hallways surrounding the guest rooms. I am glad to see the maintenance staff working diligently on keeping all areas fresh looking. Good Job! Keep up the good work. February 27, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Two Night Stay I was at this venue for a convention. That for the most part went well. I am not trying to be nasty or rude, but this is what I observed: The guest rooms, however were not what we were expecting. The beds were slightly larger than a double but not quite queens - they were soft and had obviously been used many times before. The bed pillows were smaller than standard (my pillow covered two of them almost completely). There are no fans in the bathrooms nor are any of the toilets (in the rooms or available to the convention guests/visitors in the public restrooms) very high. I am about average height (5'7") and I felt like I had my knees in my ears. The bathroom was spot cleaned but not scrubbed before we arrived. The refrigerator (not only in our room) was more of a freezer and we couldn't find a control to turn the temperature up so our liquids and foods weren't frozen solid. What staff I worked with were polite. There had been a fire alarm Saturday which reset the room locks, they took care of this without any problem. The elevator (one of three) closest to the majority of guest rooms broke down on Saturday (day 2 of the convention). Many of the chairs (lobbies and rooms), like the toilets were geared for people who were around 5' tall - too low to be very comfortable for many of us. Thankfully the desk chairs in the rooms could be raised but then it wouldn't fit under the desk. The food was okay for having so many people to cater to. This location is in need of an update for quite a few things (as mentioned above). It may cost a bit now, but having a quality product will mean the return of more guests and not just for conventions. February 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay Always a great place to stay!!! I visit this hotel at least once a month and have had great experiences everytime. February 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by My first visit This holiday inn has been going through some upgrades, has come a long way but has a few things left to do. The staff was very friendly, the room was clean and quiet along with a good hot breakfast. February 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service I travel for a living and have been staying on and off at this facility. They are kind and hardworking and have done a great job taking care of me. Great food, reliable shuttle service and clean facility... February 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 5 out of 5 As always I am very satisfied with this property. WIll highly recommend this hotel to all travlers coming to Roanoke VA. January 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Personal Service I stayed at the Holiday Inn Tanglewood weekly for business trips. I became part of the hotel family. The staff was friendly and accommodating. They knew me by name. Looked out for me and my son. And always provided exceptional service. I highly recommend staying here because you will always have quality and personal service. January 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Christmas family getaway I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. the fifth floor king room with a view was spectacular. it was clean, quiet, private, and very comfortable. my only concerns focus on the bathroom--which was clean, but could have used another rinse and second inspection (to wash down some left over "residue" from previous guests and remove the used bar of soap left in the shower). otherwise, I don't know when I have had such a thoroughly enjoyable stay. I WILL return to this location every time I need to travel to Roanoke. January 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by conceiges breakfast We always liked having the convience of the conceiges breakfast on the 5th floor. We have been staying at this hotel a few times a a year for 11 yrs. and going to the dinning room makes us use up time we could be spending with family. The concieges was a nice thing for club members to have. We also missed the welcome package of water and cookie. January 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pet Friendly, Nice Place My Husband and I have stayed here a couple of times. This is a nice clean hotel with friendly service and decent amenities. It is billed as "Pet Friendly" The pro of that is .. there is just a basic fee , not a "per night" Which is AWESOME : ) The con ... there is really no place to walk or exercise your pet and both times we have been put on the 3rd or 4th floor (which means the dogs riding the elevators while "dancing" to potty at 7 am. Also, no free breakfast despite the price if the hotel. I will be back though because they are pet friendly and the staff is awesome : ) December 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent and comfortablr room, excellent food We were here on a business trip and while our husbands were gone, we took advantage of some last minute shopping at one of our favorite stores-HAMMICKS!!! So after about three hours in there, we were ready for a hot and delicious meal, since it had been raining all evening. We decided to try the resturant at the hotel and it was an excellent choice. Delicious cream of crab soup and wraps. December 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay I stay at this motel a lot and every time I am here the staff is very polite and are always there if I have any questions. December 5, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Could have been better Paid for a room with a view. Didn't get it unless you consider Chuck e Cheese the view. I know the other side of the hotel had a better view. Was greeted by a young lady with tongue ring. Yuck. No breakfast with the room. Had a difficult time finding a parking space. Our room key stopped working and we got locked out. The bartender was very personable! Had a rough time finding enough plugs to recharge our phones and tablets November 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel and staff The hotel is very nice. The manager and staff were very helpful and nice. The rooms were clean and housekeeping personnel were polite and helpful also. I would recommend this hotel to anybody. November 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room and friendly desk staff. Overall great experience! I was attending a conference with Holiday Inn being the host hotel. The amenities for the meeting and food were fantastic, as well as the atmosphere and decor of public areas. However, my only issues were that the toilet in my room flushed very slowly and did not empty completely, nor did the room telephone work. I had to walk down to the front desk late at night to ask for a wake-up call. Since the phone wasn't working, I simply had to use the alarm clock that I erroneously set for 6 p.m. instead of a.m. and was later than I had hoped for getting down to the meeting. November 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff really awesome!! The Best location to stay when in Roanoke! Each time we visit Roanoke we Love staying at Tanglewood! Staff is always super nice and make you feel appreciated! November 7, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Front Desk Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-27-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-28-2014)
Check Availability
Loading