• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Dec-18-2014)
(e.g. Dec-19-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SALINAS
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-08:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Hindi

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No Pets Allowed with the exception of Service Animals

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
National Steinbeck Center
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Old Town Salinas
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
California Rodeo Grounds
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Salinas Sports Complex
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:107
  • Car Parking Available
  • Car Parking Available

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:74
  • Total number of suites:33
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:48
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:26
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:74
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:CA5689

Salinas, CA Hotel near Monterey International Airport and Downtown Area

Our superior Salinas Holiday Inn Express Hotel is located in the heart of California's wine country near Hartnell College and California State University Monterey Bay. Our hotel, near many famous Monterey, CA attractions, is a short distance from Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Bay Aquarium and Carmel-by-the-Sea.

Our hotel near Old Town Salinas offers easy access to attractions like the National
View More

Salinas, CA Hotel near Monterey International Airport and Downtown Area

Our superior Salinas Holiday Inn Express Hotel is located in the heart of California's wine country near Hartnell College and California State University Monterey Bay. Our hotel, near many famous Monterey, CA attractions, is a short distance from Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Bay Aquarium and Carmel-by-the-Sea.

Our hotel near Old Town Salinas offers easy access to attractions like the National Steinbeck Center, Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca, Salinas Golf and Country Club, Salinas Fairways, Salinas Sports Complex, California Rodeo Grounds and Jack's Peak Park. While lodging in Salinas, you can enjoy the many dining and shopping opportunities in both Old Town and nearby shopping malls.

Business travelers appreciate our comfortable Salinas hotel's convenient location near Monterey International Airport as well as local businesses and agricultural corporations such as Tanimura & Antle, Newstar Fresh Foods LLC, River Ranch Fresh Foods LLC, McCormick & Company, Inc., Dole Fresh Vegetable Company and D'Arrago Brothers Company. The hotel also offers two meeting rooms and a 24-hour Business Center.

While lodging in our Salinas hotel, guests enjoy free, wireless Internet access, indoor pool and whirlpool, well-equipped Fitness Center, and a complimentary breakfast bar. Check out our Salinas hotel's excellent deals and start planning your trip today.

View Less
Features
The new Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Salinas, CA provides our guests with free, wireless Internet connectivity. In the Business Center, a PC with high-speed Internet access is also available.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 200 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Great location close to downtown & Cannery Row. Free parking under ground. The staffs are friendly. Great breakfast & wine testing event. A little bit long way to the room with up and down stairs. November 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and great location Excellent location in Cannery Row. Clean and comfortable. November 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service My husband and I have stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Monterey/Cannery Row every time we've visited Monterey over the past 20 years. The location is great - within walking distance of the Wharf and Cannery Row - and the staff is always friendly. I will be traveling to New York City soon and have booked a room at a Holiday Inn Express in Chelsea based on my experience at the hotel in Monterey. November 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by They've thought of everything! Great hotel which fits right into its historic environment. No unnecessary frills but great attention to detail: 2 luggage racks, list of TV stations by TV, long mirror etc Informal pleasant and efficient staff. Free parking and free (very good) breakfast. November 14, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by OK, but would look at other options next time The hotel was ok, and if there were no other options I would stay there again. It was clean and tidy and the bed was really comfortable but that is about as good as it got. the level of service from the staff member at the front desk was acceptable, but not great. November 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location and great value We stayed here overnight for a visit to the aquarium. Both the aquarium and Fisherman's Wharf were within easy walking distance. Hotel was clean, breakfast choices outstanding, and the staff very accomodating. We will stay here next time we visit this area of Monterey. November 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Area to visit Very close to Downtown and Cannery Row. If you are into Wine, excellent tasting rooms in the area. November 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quick business trip I had a meeting on nearby Cannery Row and needed a convenient place to stay. The Express was perfect with free parking, a comfortable room, and breakfast in the morning. I checked in just as they were having their evening wine & cheese hour but didn't have time to partake. I did get some much appreciated water bottles as an IHG Club Member. My room had a fridge, coffee maker, and tea kettle which would have been great if I were in town for a longer stay. I'm definitely keeping it in mind for my next weekend trip to the Aquarium which is a nice walk down the street. My only complaint is about the rather slow wifi. I'm guessing speeds vary depending on where you are on the property- I was on the third floor. Luckily this business trip didn't require any heavy data needs but if it did, I'd be frustrated. It looked like there may have been an ethernet outlet under the desk. Overall, a pleasant stay. November 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Proximity to Cannery Row/ocean Wonderful stay; excellent accommodations; underground parking garage a bit tricky if any pick-up trucks park close to you. Very quiet but only a few blocks from Cannery Row November 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Fine, As expected If you have ever stayed at a Holiday Inn Express, this one will be no different. You can expect good service with reasonable quality. The only heads up I have for incoming guests is that the first time I drove there I completely missed it. Was it just me or was the sign not prominent enough? November 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great local event The evening local wine tasting event in the great room was a pleasant surprise, good job. November 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Geat Location Cannery row is probably the best tourist location in Monterey, and this Holl Inn is within 5 mins of the center. Free parking under the hotel, I found the location quite quiet (see other reviews which differ) and we had a room right above reception. Great sized room with sofa, desk etc and a fridge and kettle!!! So we didn't have to try and boil water in those stupid,small coffee machines that prevail in US hotels. Had wine tasting (with "expected" sale of a bottle afterwards - but not a hard sell!) each evening which was a nice touch - pleasant merchant willing to chat. Breakfast adequate and enough seating area so not too crowded. Overall, great choice. Marked value for money average as this was a points reward stay. November 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Nice Place to stay I stayed here one night during my road trip from LA to SF. I have to say this place is very lovely. Its not very big but as an express one, it really surprise me for the service they provided. I left my scarf in the room when I checked out, they are still able to get it back to me after 2 hours. Thanks so much! October 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location We stayed for 2 nights at this hotel and appreciated its excellent location to the Monterey Bay Aquarium and Fisherman's Wharf. We enjoyed very much using the Monterey Bay Walking Trail just nearby and also walked to the Pacific Grove area. The staff was very helpful. The only minus might be the need to go up and down stairs with luggage due to the design of the hotel. Our room was very nice and we enjoyed a good night's sleep, so no problems with noise. We would definitely stay there again. October 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by nice locaton, parking and breakfast Arrive ~1pm, the hotel staff nicely allow me to parking in the underground garage. Great location near to MBA and Fisherman Wharf I plan to visit. And nice view during after dinner walking. And nice breakfast in the meeting before we go to whale watching October 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient Location and Great Service This is one of our favourite hotels. The staff is professional, efficient, and personable. We are greeted as Rewards Club Members. The rooms are very comfortable, many with views of the waterfront. The location is perfect for visits to the Monterey Bay Aquarium and Cannery Row. There are many dining choices within walking distance from fine dining to fast food. A free trolley stops right outside the front door for rides into downtown Monterey and the historic district. A walking trail leads right past the front door to the nearby park and Fisherman's Wharf. This hotel has everything we need for a wonderful vacation. October 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff Close to Cannery Row and we could walk everywhere. October 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GEN EXPERIENCE THE EXPERIENCE WAS GENERALLY GOOD. WE STAYED AT RM 304 AND THE CARPETS OF THE ELEVATOR LOBBY ON THE THIRD FLOOR CAN USE SOME ATTENTION. October 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great location have stayed many times in Monterey. the location is great, staff is friendly,and good value. October 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and Clean My husband and I stayed (3) nights and the first & second night was in a double room. This room was spacious with two double beds not queen beds and situated by a residential road. Two sets of stairs totaling 14 stair steps had to be traversed to get to our room located at the back of the courtyard. There was some traffic noise throughout the night. The room and bathroom was clean & mold free. The bathroom was small and the magnified make-up mirror was mounted at (6)+ feet in height and was unusable for me at (5) foot. For our 3rd night we had a king bed located in the interior courtyard without traffic noise. The bathroom was larger with a longer vanity and appropriate height for the magnified mirror. Both rooms had comfortable beds and pillows. The room decor and furnishings are somewhat dated. Holiday Inn breakfast options are typical with scrambled eggs & omelets (not fresh but canned & frozen eggs), bakery items, bananas, apples, oranges, cereals, & Chobani Greek Yogurt. There was wine & cheese offered late afternoon. The rooms do have a small refrigerator but no microwave. October 18, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Lots and lots of stairs This is a split level hotel. The elevators only service about half of the rooms. You have to take the elevator then walk up or down 6-8 stair steps to reach your room. Very poor design. October 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Decent hotel in a good location It's an old hotel, but it was decent overall. HIE breakfasts have a lot of room for improvement, but there are restaurants nearby. October 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff with a view This place has a beautiful view if you are fortunate enough to be overlooking the bay. The building and grounds are very nice, clean and well decorated. My only complaint is the quality of the mattress that was in my room was less than comfortable and that the price is a little much. The room was very nice and large enough for my 3 year old to play around in while we were there. Our stay was awesome and this hotel is toward the top of our list for staying in Monterey. October 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Best Night's Sleep Our stay at this hotel was enjoyable. Staff was professional, friendly and made us feel welcome. The best night's sleep I've had in a long time. Breakfast a little hum drum. Location was great, in the heart of Cannery Row. I definitely would stay here again. October 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A GREAT place to stay This hotel was by and far the best place I have stayed. It is a small hotel, no pool or workout room, but the location is a block off Cannery Row and walking distance to all kinds of attractions. The staff is warm and welcoming and actually have a sense of humor. The "hot continental breakfast" was very very good and I actually went to bed looking forward to breakfast. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful. Pretty flowers and plants all over the place and wonderful sitting areas in the garden area. Wine and cheese served every night. Our room was clean and very nicely decorated. Refrigerator in the room comes in very handy. I just cannot say enough nice about our stay. October 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Hotel, Great Location Quiet hotel in a very convenient location to Cannery Row and Fisherman's Wharf. Five minute walk to great attractions and restaurants. A great place to stay when visiting Monterey/Pacific Grove. It's my second home when I'm in town. October 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Monterey-Cannery Row Holiday Inn Express Great place to stay.The only thing that I would suggest is more towels in the bathroom. ( There were only three ) September 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location and Friendly Staff We visit the Monterey Bay area several times each year and always choose the Holiday Inn Express Cannery Row if it is available. The location is great--one block back from Cannery Row and walking distance to the Aquarium, Fisherman's Wharf, beaches, dining and entertainment. The hotel has free parking in their basement garage (a rarity in the Cannery Row area), which is an important consideration for us. The only drawback to this facility is the many stairs that must be climbed in most rooms. We have aging knees and have been able to request a room off the elevator on a few occasions, but if those few rooms are taken the visitor is left to climb a number of stairs. Some rooms require the visitor to climb down a half-flight and walk down an exterior hallway, only to climb back up another half-flight to reach the room. That said, we still choose this hotel over others in the area and recommend it to others. September 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel with a difference Lovely hotel. Built in keeping with the surrounding area buildings, which gives it a 'quaintness'. Everything here was perfect. September 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good position and room We stayed three nights and found the location of the hotel ideal for the sights of Monterey. The staff were all helpful and the room good with a comfortable bed. We had direct access to the lift but for some rooms it was necessary to to up or down steps and in view of this it is good we were offered help with our cases if necessary. Enjoyed our stay. September 26, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>
Hotel Exterior - Main Entrance
Hotel Exterior - Main Entrance
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior - Main Entrance Front Desk Hotel Exterior - Main Entrance Lobby Lounge
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Dec-18-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Dec-19-2014)
Check Availability
Loading