• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
(e.g. Aug-23-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: Salinas
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Hindi

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No Pets Allowed with the exception of Service Animals

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
National Steinbeck Center
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Old Town Salinas
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
California Rodeo Grounds
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Salinas Sports Complex
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:107
  • Car Parking Available
  • Car Parking Available

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:74
  • Total number of suites:33
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:48
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:26
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:74
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:CA5689

Salinas, CA Hotel near Monterey International Airport and Downtown Area

Our superior Salinas Holiday Inn Express Hotel is located in the heart of California's wine country near Hartnell College and California State University Monterey Bay. Our hotel, near many famous Monterey, CA attractions, is a short distance from Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Bay Aquarium and Carmel-by-the-Sea.

Our hotel near Old Town Salinas offers easy access to attractions like the National
View More

Salinas, CA Hotel near Monterey International Airport and Downtown Area

Our superior Salinas Holiday Inn Express Hotel is located in the heart of California's wine country near Hartnell College and California State University Monterey Bay. Our hotel, near many famous Monterey, CA attractions, is a short distance from Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Bay Aquarium and Carmel-by-the-Sea.

Our hotel near Old Town Salinas offers easy access to attractions like the National Steinbeck Center, Mazda Raceway Laguna Seca, Salinas Golf and Country Club, Salinas Fairways, Salinas Sports Complex, California Rodeo Grounds and Jack's Peak Park. While lodging in Salinas, you can enjoy the many dining and shopping opportunities in both Old Town and nearby shopping malls.

Business travelers appreciate our comfortable Salinas hotel's convenient location near Monterey International Airport as well as local businesses and agricultural corporations such as Tanimura & Antle, Newstar Fresh Foods LLC, River Ranch Fresh Foods LLC, McCormick & Company, Inc., Dole Fresh Vegetable Company and D'Arrago Brothers Company. The hotel also offers two meeting rooms and a 24-hour Business Center.

While lodging in our Salinas hotel, guests enjoy free, wireless Internet access, indoor pool and whirlpool, well-equipped Fitness Center, and a complimentary breakfast bar. Check out our Salinas hotel's excellent deals and start planning your trip today.

View Less
Features
The new Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Salinas, CA provides our guests with free, wireless Internet connectivity. In the Business Center, a PC with high-speed Internet access is also available.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 143 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice staff Nice design of Inn. Desk staff nice and helpful. Good location quiet area. October 7, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by nice location, but.... The location is really good, but the noise from the street is really bad. Walls and windows are so thin (unbelievable terrible in regard to energy saving) that traffic noise can be heard any time in the night. Especially in the morning it gets really load if you have a room facing the rear street of the hotel... October 5, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Love the location, room was noisy We like staying at this hotel for its location. I think the rooms are a little pricey, but not too inconsistent with surrounding hotels. For the most part the staff is great. However, on our last visit, when I checked out on Sept 28 around 10am, I told the man at the desk that if we were staying another night, I would be requesting a different room. We were in the room right next to the lobby, elevator, stairs so it was a little noisy hearing people thump along the stairs, dragging their wheeled luggage past our room thru the lobby. The desk clerk said "some people like the noise". When I questioned that statement he said " look, this is a hotel, there's going to be noise". I told him "yes, but not that kind of constant noise. Other rooms would be quieter." Then I told him "you shouldn't be arguing with me." and walked away. I was just letting them know that the room is noisy in case no on ever mentioned it. I wasn't expecting the guy to be so unsympathetic and rude. Perhaps he won't be there the next time we visit. October 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by As Good As a Five Star Hotel!! This hotel was a little gem!! The staff was so cordial, helped with directions to movies, maps, etc, just like a concierge in a larger hotel. The bed was exceptionally comfortable, room was quiet, decor was nice. There was a fresh fruit bowl available every day for guests, I thought that was a great consideration for guests. We munched those apples!! The location was perfect, close enough to walk to Cannery Row, etc, but far away enough to be out of the bulk of the noise. I highly recommend this hotel. We stayed in 312, I do recommend 3rd floor, middle of the courtyard. We stayed 3 days, loved it. October 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location The front desk staff (Jose & Ben) were terrific! We needed to change our plans on short notice and they did magic! Great location - walking distance to beach, Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row. Parking is under the building - no issues. Just an FYI, it's not really a con, but there is no pool, spa, work out room on premises. We had first floor room and it was great - no issues! October 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, comfortable room We stayed one night at this hotel. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff was helpful. I found the physical layout to be unusual for a HIE, but we enjoyed the uniqueness of the hotel. The location is a plus if you want to walk to historical cannery row. September 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location. Clean, comfortable and inviting accommodations! Stayed here 28 years ago when it was new. It was like going back in time. The hotel of course has been totally renovated. The location was great. The hotel accommodations were like new, staff was very friendly and helpful. Great full selection of breakfast items in morning and wonderful wine and cheese reception in the evening. I travel often for business and convinced 5 other co workers to also stay at the hotel for almost a week. Everyone was very pleased with the choice. Large antique mall next door and Cannery Row shops, restaurants and Monterey Aquarium are just a couple of blocks away. Free onsite parking, complimentary breakfast, wine & cheese reception, Free WiFi, great location and staff. Will definitely return soon and often. September 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room Location We have stayed in this hotel, for at least 20 years, and always find the location great, and the hotel very comfortable. However, the last two times we have stayed there, we are always put on the upper third floor, so don't really like to lug luggage up there. I know it is one of the rooms for Priority Members, but would much prefer being down one level. Other than that, we have no complaints. September 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent! Staying at the Holiday Inn Express in the Cannery area was a fantastic experience. The staff and the location was great! I hope one day I can return to experience such a relaxing time! Thanks to the staff for the great customer service!!! September 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay!!! This was an excellent place to stay! I booked the room only the night before by the staff was ready for my check in and everything seems recently renovated and in great shape. I love the option of both soft and firm pillows available!!! September 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Decent Property But Slightly Overpriced, IMHO !!!. We have stayed here 3-4 times now. Will say that we have always had a nice clean and comfortable room. However, there is a lot of fuss (read higher room rate) made about it's location which is near Cannery Row. Near is the correct word as it is not on Cannery Row and there is no real view of the bay or anything except trees or neighboring "TIN" buildings. The underground parking also is a bit tight for most current model vehicles in use now. Check in was pleasant and efficient although there was no mention of our longtime Platinum level status. Will say the checkout person must have had a really bad beginning to their day or he just didn't like me at all. Will we return, sure!!! This is the closest Holiday Inn Express to where we need/want to be when we visit Monterey. September 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great view This was a wonderful hotel. Very close walk to cannery row and the aquarium. Very clean room and beautiful environment. Can't wait to come back again!!! September 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location - Wonderful Staff - Very Good Room I booked this room because of past positive experience with Holiday Inn Express and because it was advertised as "within walking distance" of Cannery Row. My experience continues to be great and it was steps away from Cannery Row. The hotel was easy to find and located close to everything in the Cannery Row area. The room was very clean and comfortable. The space was a bit tight for 5 people it was fine for a one night stay. Although we spent very little time in the room the channel selection on TV was tremendous and the reception was perfect. You will never complain about low water pressure in the shower...it was powerful to say the least. Breakfast was very good with a wide variety of choices. We arrived in time for the nightly wine and cheese reception which was appreciated too. I would stay here again. August 31, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Paying for Cannery Row The room was clean, nice materials, pillows very lumpy. They offer wine and cheese at 5:30,sounds nice although I didn't partake, and they should offer this as there is no pool or workout area. You can go down the street to a nice club, out to the trail, and all is within walking distance of the Aquarium etc. August 31, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by basic but nice So close to Aquarium. Not too much "fancy" about it but it was very convieienant, clean, and centrally located. A bonus is free parking; so if you are going to aquarium that trims off about 20 bucks... August 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Cannery Row I used my ICH points for 3 nights. The fact that the hotel is only 1 block from Cannery Row is a definite plus. Breakfasts in the morning and wine and cheese at 6:00 also added to the enjoyment of staying at the Express Hotel. I recommend this place to stay when visiting Monterey. August 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service My daughter and I stayed at the Monterey/Cannery Row Holiday Inn Express on August 20, 2013. The staff could not have been more helpful. The room was spacious and comfortable. My only advice would be to NOT have a room that is close to the metal swinging gate, which leads to the back street. The slamming gate woke us up in the evening and the morning. Being allowed to park in the hotel's underground parking lot prior to check-in and after check-out was a time and money saver. Not needing to search or pay for parking around Monterey made for a less-stressful visit. Plus Monterey's free shuttle, which we rode to and from the Aquarium and the Wharf, stops almost in front of the hotel's front door. I would definitely stay at this hotel again. August 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Unique Holiday Inn Express I stayed in 7 hotels during a 3 week road trip and this one is great. Unique building for an Express and very well located. Staff were very friendly and helpful in getting an urgent fax sent to the UK for me and were persistent in getting it done when there were problems with the fax machine and phone number. Overall good atmosphere. August 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous!!!! Great location and hotel. Staff excellent - particularly Sanjay. August 20, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Tired The location is great, just minutes walk to the centre of Cannery Row. the room really needed redecorating and was very tired and unwelcoming August 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Cannery Row Monterey !Like We had a great room for our short vacation. Parking was a little trouble some but we got through it. The room was clean but had a slight chemical odor that left the smell on all of our clothes. The bathroom was a little small but if you lived on the East coast your used to it. The one thing is you could smell the wood odor probably due to the humidity in the air. Overall the bed was comfortable the TV stations were great and so was the TV. I was able to get Coffee at 2am and it was fresh. Most of the staff were very nice and even went above and beyond to find me three banks in the area that were my bank. The hotel is within walking distance of the bars and the local tasting rooms (Wine tasting), the hotel even had it's own wine tasting. You have to stay here if you are going to Monterey its worth the money. August 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff The room was great lots of room and a good view. The front desk Staff were very helpful and friendly. August 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by best hotel stay during our 12 night/6 hotel CA trip! The room was spacious, king bed AND queen pull-out couch. Breakfast was good (typical HI Express fare, but well stocked) and the wine and cheese tasting in the evening was excellent. We had a local winery running the tasting, paired with gourmet cheeses. We were concerned that it would not be kid friendly, but it was. Great location as well, great to walk to the aquarium with the kids and leave the car in the free parking garage. I wish they had a coin laundry, that was the only negative. August 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place Great location, service and nice rooms. Very nicely decorated rooms and the service was excellent. August 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great location The hotel looks a little iffy when you pull in but the rooms were very comfortable and the housekeeping was great. Staff were very thoughtful and efficient. the location is the selling point you can park your car and leave it...walked everywhere. Stay on the 3rd floor or else you hear everyone on the outside walkways. Kids were a bit noisy running and screaming at times. This wasn't the hotel's fault just bad parents. Summer travel! the bed was super comfortable! August 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and Convenient We enjoyed our two-night stay at the Holiday Inn Express Monterey-Cannery Row. Our top floor, corner room was very nice and included safe, mini fridge, and updated bathroom . The only drawback was the short set of stairs we had to descend after getting off the elevator with our luggage. And of course we had to drag the luggage back up the stairs when checking out. It's an interestingly designed building, and we did, after all, ask for a room on the top floor. The staff members at the front desk were always quite helpful, especially in giving us great directions. The hotel is conveniently located just steps away from Cannery Row, and the walk to the aquarium on Cannery Row is interesting. The trolley stop (rides are free) is also conveniently located just steps away from HIE, and the trolley loops from the aquarium to downtown Monterey every 10-15 minutes. It also stops at Fisherman's Wharf. There are also some nice restaurants within walking distance, including Schooners and The Chart House right across the street. July 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect Location I definitely enjoyed my stay at this Holiday Inn Express. It was in the perfect location. I am in a wheelchair and I was able to "walk" to the Aquarium, the stores, restaurants and any where else I needed to go. This hotel was a last minute choice. I had booked us to stay at another hotel but when we got there... let's just say I am sooo glad we found this hotel! Since it was a last minute choice we had to move to another room after one night. The one we were in was booked for the next day but they did all they could to make the move easier for us. If I visit this area again this will be the hotel that I will be staying in. This is the hotel that made me a Holiday Inn Express convert!! July 19, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by A mixed feeling about this Holiday Inn Express We booked this hotel as a last minute getaway just a few days before our travel. We read some comments and understood that there are steps in between floors. We called the night before trying to get more information on it. We were told we would be staying on the first floor anyway and no need to worry about steps. While on the phone, we also inquired about the weather there. I was told it was hot, humid and muggy. Then I asked if there was air conditioning in the unit and was told "no" (actually there was but not sure why we were told there wasn't.) He then asked a strange question - if we wanted to cancel our reservation. We never intended to cancel it when we called. We knew no matter how hot and humid it was in Monterey, it had to be better than where we live. Besides, it already past our cancellation deadline and too late to find another accommodation anyway. In all, we were just surprised someone was so eager (at least that was how we felt with his tone at that moment) to rid of potential customers. After we got there, things seemed to be fine overall. We were assigned the room right next to the front desk, living with the (loud and vibrating) public toilet flushing throughout our stay. That must be the worst room on that property and somehow we got it. Must be the draw of our luck that day. July 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service/Location HIE Monterey was clean, comfortable and the service was outstanding. 3rd floor room. Looking forward to staying again. Short 5 minute walk to Aquarium. No pool or spa. July 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location Good location close to restaurants, shops , beach etc. good car parking July 16, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Hotel Exterior - Main Entrance
Hotel Exterior - Main Entrance
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior - Main Entrance Front Desk Hotel Exterior - Main Entrance Lobby Lounge
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Discover more choices to go.  Enjoy the Free Express Start Breakfast Bar at Holiday Inn Express.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-23-2014)
Check Availability
Loading