Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Apr-16-2014)
(e.g. Apr-17-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 140 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable, Nice Atmosphere Everything was comfortable, staff was pleasant. It was nice to have the breakfast available. I enjoyed the "former jail" atmosphere. July 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Hot Days in San Antonio I was there partly on business and partly for pleasure. I enjoyed my stay, thought it was in a good location. Three blocks from the Riverwalk and 1.5 blocks from the "Mercado/Market". The trolley stop was on the corner. Everything was good! My only criticism is the pool was not refreshing! The pool is very small, but the real problem was that it was like warm bath water. It is outside and the sun does warm it, but it seems like something could be done to cool it down a little so it could be used to cool off on the hot days. Over all everything was great!! July 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Over and Above the rest! We had the wonderful opportunity to stay at this hotel for 2 days last week and could not be more pleased with the outstanding service we received from everyone at hie! We arrived too early for check in, but was greeted with water to take with us on our tour of the city and also a parking card so we could leave our car where it was. After a day in the 100+ temperature we made our way back and was greeted by Brandi who went over the top with her service to us, which included helping my 82 year old mother and myself in with our luggage and making sure we were settled in ok. She even called us a short time later to make sure that our room met our needs. The rooms were comfy, spacious and the wifi worked great :) Breakfast was very fresh and abundant. If we are ever in the area again this is where we will go :) Hats off to you all for making our stay so enjoyable! July 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Indifferent Staff-Tired Furnishings The room was what we've come to expect from this type of property. The staff on the other hand was, with one exception, indifferent and unhelpful, preferring instead to socialize among themselves and watch TV in the lobby. The cleanliness of the room was about average, though my wife did find a dead bug or two and the furnishings were somewhat worn and tired looking. Overall, not the best Holiday Inn experience we've had, but the history of this particular property and its location made the stay interesting. June 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Unique, surpassed all hopes to be one of our favorite places we stayed during our 2 month USA vacation! Fantastic location (easy walk to the River Walk); historic building (loved staying in the County Jail!); knowledgeable helpful staff (Lupita and Jennifer were fantastic at answering questions and sharing ideas that we enjoyed); and great value for the price! June 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Our Second Time This is our second stay at this particular HIE in San Antonio. It is in an excellent location,a quiet area but close enough to the main attractions and the freeway. Parking is close by across the street. The hotel is clean and the staff are top rate, professional and helpful. The breakfast is convenient with hot coffee, juices and a nice selection of hot and cold food. The one thing I really like about any of the Holiday Inn Express is you know what to expect...comfort and value. June 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Loved the bars on the windows; but, glad they hung 'em from the 2nd floor and not the 3rd where we stayed. Staff was very helpful. Location was great and the small pool was relaxing. June 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Historic Jail Although the property has charm with it's history, I had called 2 times prior to our arrival requesting adjoining rooms it wasn't until our day of arrival did the hotel tell me they didn't have adjoining rooms. But they made up for it with souvenir t-shirt for my girls. The room itself was OK, it was always very humid in the room and smelled musty - both rooms we had were like that. Probably has to do with the age of the building, Pool VERY SMALL so if you want to swim this would not be for you! Overall staff is great, breakfast wonderful and was pretty satisfied. June 26, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by poor stay We booked this motel well in advance and when we got to the location they told us that they they just liked sheets for the beds and for us to come back in a little while and it would be ready. We left and came back 3 hours later and the room still wasn't ready. We waited until after check in time and they finally got us in a room. There were several other people in the lobby area waiting to get rooms also at that point. When we finally got to a room the carpet was soaking wet and smelled like soured carpet. We complained but they would not handle it until the next morning until they spoke to a supervisor. When we talked to a supervisor she was extremely rude. She was not wanting to work with us at all. They ended up charging our card like 3 or 4 different times while we were there. The hallway and elevator smelled musty and old also. I would not recommend this motel to anyone and we will not ever stay here again. NEVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! June 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Basic Choice May 2013 You may be reading this because you are not interested in other providers or are searching for better pricing. We stayed three nights in late May 2013 as a treat for our 17 year-old granddaughter. This is a good basic, not a thing fancy, but clean and quiet (on 4th floor) hotel within about 1/2 to 3/4 miles walking distance of the Riverwalk area. We've stayed at a very nice $$$ five-star nearby but chose this location because of the building's interesting history; the original jail bars are still on front windows! We told our granddaughter we were staying at the San Antonio jail where they had unoccupied rooms but would not be near prisoners. The staff was excellent on the phone when making and modifying our reservation and they were extra helpful with local trolley and bus transportation information. Complimentary breakfast was basic HI Express...nothing fancy. Parking is available across the street and might be complimentary for Priority Club members. The pool is VERY small...it is basically a wading pool so don't waste your time unless you want to cool your feet after walking around a fantastic city. Want fancy stuff at $$$ and enchantment??? Stay elsewhere. Want very basic place to sleep, take a bath and eat rubber eggs...stay here and enjoy it! I'll be back maybe next year. June 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay great place to stay, really enjoyed our stay. Great location centrally located around all the sight seeing attractions, and downtown. Was able to park our car and walk everywhere. The hotel also picked up our $16 daily parking fee. Staff very friendly and informed about the area. Comfortable room, great bed, however the a/c was very noisy and clicked constantly when it wasn't running. Breakfast was great and we would definitely stay again. Thanks June 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Customer Service My room was clean and comfortable. The location was great and was within walking distance of the riverwalk. I had to check out quite early the next morning and since their parking is across the street, a member of their staff escorted me to my car to ensure I got to it safely in the dark. I will absolutely be staying here again! May 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by guest services overall great stay no complaints to report at this time May 30, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 Parking and Staff... I am a frequent customer at Holiday Inn Expresses throughout Texas and my stay here fell short of the level I've come to expect. I realize it's in the city, but parking was rather inconvenient and a bit pricey. Apparently, they do not typically allow more than one car per room, which I think is ridiculous. The night desk worker when I arrived was slow and unfriendly. Otherwise my stay was fine. The room was nice. That said, I won't be back. May 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by TV channels There was a good selection of TV channels (eg. NatGeo, Sci, etc). May 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed, clean, very accommodating staff. Very enjoyable stay! Loved the history of the building. Would definitely stay here again! May 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by unique hotel quiet location,unique set-up in old prision building. close to River Walk & the Alamo we'll be back. May 12, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Just SoSo We arrived several hours before check-in and the employee working the counter was very nice. He gave us our parking pass early, parking is across the street. if you are a priority club member they will wave the parking fee. You will also be provided with a gift bag containing bottle water and snacks. After spending a couple of hours at the Alamo we came back and our room was ready. Walking in the room looked great, very large with lots of amenities including a flat screen tv, refrigerator, microwave and free wi fi, Everything was very clean with the exception of the windows. They were filthy to point they were hard to see through. One thing to note, this hotel used to be a jail and prison bars still cover the windows. Really didn't have a good night sleep. The bed was very hard and the wall / ceiling mounted mini split A/C was directly above the bed and cycled on and off all night. The walls are also very thin, I guess the the person staying in the room next door had a cold as we could hear him coughing most of the night. The complimentary breakfast was pretty good with lots of different items to choose from. Pancakes, sausage, eggs, biscuits, cereal, yogurt, bagels, toast... all the standard fair. With the exception of the guy working the front desk when we check in, the rest of the staff was less than pleasant. It appeared to be a great chore for them to even acknowledge us. I probable wouldn't stay here again. For the price I paid there a several other hotels in the area that would have been a better choice. May 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great place to stay I have stayed here several times. Rooms are nice and clean. Hotel is convenient to River Walk and Market. I always feel safe here which is very important to me as usually I am alone. Breakfast is good for those who want it. There is a pool, but I have never used it. Rates are very reasonable. May 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location for SA Fiesta Celebration Ideal location for all Fiesta events. Walking distance to everything; never had to use the car. Also, the historical information on the building was very interesting and entertaining. Only thing about this site, as a Priority Club Member, I didn't not receive the usual HIE welcome or guest bag. Not that it's a big deal and all, but you know, one gets accustumed to it! I would still go back..... May 2, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Blood stained sheets While it didn't exactly look like a murder scene, we did fing dops of blood on both the top and bottom sheets. I can only assume it happened when setting up the room, perhaps the housekeeping staff had a cut finger? Either way, ICKY. Upon letting them know, we recieived fresh linens about 30 minutes later, delivered by a sweaty maintenance man....and then had to remake the bed ourselves. April 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Our stay was very pleasant. Front desk staff were very good in checking us in and checking us out. They also pre-booked a cab for us so we could go to airport. We rented a car for a couple of days and because we are members of Holiday Inn Express Club, the parking was free. The locaion is excellent: it is right around the corner from the San Fernando Cathedral and about 5 minutes to the closest connection to the Riverwalk. The public transportation system VIA is just around the corner and you can get daily bus passes from the location. The breakfasts were terrific. Thank you to Adella. The pool was a little small. Also, one day we were late leaving our room and the room wasn't made up. April 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable, clean, & great service. Spent 1 night at this hotel and have no complaints. It is walking distance to Riverwalk, the mall, and the Alamo -- big plus! April 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay My sisters and I went to San Antonio for a few days and stayed at this hotel. The staff were the best from the time we got there until we left!! From Daniel, who helped get our bags to the room, to Roberto who helped every way to Mary in housekeeping. They were great!! April 14, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good value and convenient location The hotel is located within walking distance to the Mexican Market Square and the famed Riverwalk. One can take a trolley ($1.20) to Alamo. However, just outside the hotel on the main street, there are too many empty stores and offices. So the street scene is pretty sad and uninviting. Be careful when you enter or leave the premises as there are steep steps you have to overcome. One member of our party felt. Fortunately she was not hurt. Breakfast is fine, but don't expect anything that is not precooked. The room is comfortable and quiet. I would say the hotel offers good value. Parking costs $10. per day. April 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT LOCATION The rooms are well furnished and very quiet. Staff was very friendly. Free breakfast. In walking distance to downtown ...... Riverwalk, Alamo etc. April 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Surprisingly Large Room We were all pleasantly surprised when we walked in the room and say the size. The walkway between the foot of the beds and the dresser/television/closet was double what most rooms offer. Four adult women stayed for five nights and we never felt crowded even when we we all getting ready at the same time. April 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by exercise equipment # rooms for 4 nights and our only concern was the poor qualty equipment in the exercise area. Staff was WONDERFUL, every one of them that we met. They were so accomodating and responsive. April 12, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Fun Idea but . . . . The idea that this was the old San Antonio jail makes this a fun concept but it was loud in the room. I could hear everyone going up and down the stairs and "slamming" the doors. Also no matter how you slice it you have to be able to walk up steps, no ramp anywhere. Parking was ok. And the riverwalk is about 4 blocks down. The bed seemed old and you could feel the springs. All-in-all I would not stay at this property again, I'll go back to the Staybridge next to the train station on the other side of the riverwalk. April 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding Experiece for myself and my customers I booked 4 rooms for a trade show for myself and my customers. The rooms were great. My customers loved the fact that it was an old jail. Was in walking distance to everything. Close enough that after a fun night that walking back was no problem. Staff was very friendly and helped me locate all the places that we were meeting other folks each night. One of my favorite Holiday Inn's experiences ever. March 31, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>