• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-12-2014)
(e.g. Jul-13-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SAN ANTONIO
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Spanish Governor's Palace
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
Historic Market Square
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
The Children's Museum
Distance From Hotel:0.05MI
Attraction:
The Buckhorn Saloon & Museum
Distance From Hotel:0.3MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:55
  • Car Parking Available
  • Daily Self Offsite Parking: $10.00 USD Onsite Parking: $16.00 USD Guests are limited to one vehicle per guest room. No over sized vehicles please. Parking Fees May Apply.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 16.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:82
  • Total number of suites:8
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:27
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:82
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5
  • FEMA Property Number:TX5156

Exciting San Antonio River Walk Hotel

Experience the historic ambiance and friendly service of Holiday Inn Express San Antonio – River Walk Hotel, located downtown in the newly renovated 1878 Bexar County Jail building.

Our San Antonio, TX hotel is your gateway to the city's most iconic attractions. We're situated in walking distance to the scenic River Walk, the Alamo, Rivercenter Mall and the Alamodome. Event attendees also enjoy a quick half-mile trip to the Henry B.
View More

Exciting San Antonio River Walk Hotel

Experience the historic ambiance and friendly service of Holiday Inn Express San Antonio – River Walk Hotel, located downtown in the newly renovated 1878 Bexar County Jail building.

Our San Antonio, TX hotel is your gateway to the city's most iconic attractions. We're situated in walking distance to the scenic River Walk, the Alamo, Rivercenter Mall and the Alamodome. Event attendees also enjoy a quick half-mile trip to the Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center. Hop the famous trolley for an effortless ride to attractions such as the Tower of the Americas and the IMAX® Theater.

While great for leisure, we also benefit our business guests. A centrally located San Antonio hotel in downtown, we're located near Valero Energy, Coca-Cola and Pepsi, Boeing and Fort Sam Houston. The benefits continue on-site, with free high-speed Internet and a 24-hour business center.

Whether business trips, family vacations or romantic getaways in San Antonio, TX, our freshly appointed rooms welcome you. Upgraded amenities like our Kohler showerheads and sumptuous triple-sheeted beds promise restful slumber. You'll find lots to love throughout our River Walk hotel: a sparkling pool, fitness center and Express Start® Breakfast Bar every morning. Stay better and save more with our San Antonio hotel deals.

A refreshing stay in the heart of it all – that's Holiday Inn Express Riverwalk Area hotel!

View Less
Features
Our historic jail building is the closest Express to the Riverwalk, Convention Center and Market Square located in the center of Downtown. A Via Trolley stops adjacent to hotel on Houston and Commerce every ten minutes at $1.10 per ride. Enjoy San Antonio with us!

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 475 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always our favorite Great service with a smile. New renovations are great. Rooms are comfortable and riverside balconys are the best. Hotel is close enough to all the action, but far enough away for those quiet times you need to relax. We stay here every summer and have never been disappointed. Food could be better, but on the Riverwalk we don't eat at the hotel. There may be fancier places to stay, but for the value this one is the best! June 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful stay We enjoyed every minute of our stay at the Holiday Inn. Our room was clean and comfortable. The food and service were great. The staff were very helpful and polite. We will definitely choose the Holiday Inn for our next River Walk trip. June 25, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed Upon arrival we were instructed to pay to park several blocks away, instead of receiving Hotel parking. The garage was full, and they said our truck would not clear their entrance. I feel as though we should have been informed upon making the reservation that there were clearance limits for their parking garage. Never had this happen before. Very inconvenient for our group! Upon checking in with another couple we were advised there were no 2 rooms close together as we had requested months before. After some insistence, we were accommodated. We had breakfast at the hotel, ordered from the menu. The food was cold, the fried eggs (whites) were raw. The service was poor. Although there were several seats available overlooking the River Walk, we were not seated there. The hotel was located at the end of the River Walk, therefore you had to walk quite a way to get to the Alamo, Carriage Rides, Shopping, Restaurants, & other sites. Over all, the hotel was too pricey and not worth revisiting. June 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Accommodations and Location I was not expecting such a beautiful hotel when I checked in. My room was very nice and bright and had a nice view at night time. The riverwalk being right outside of my hotel is something I took full advantage of every night. This was my first time being in San Antonio and the hotel definitely won me over. I also LOVED my bathroom mirror since it's one that I have always wanted in my own home. June 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Stay We had a wonderful stay at this Riverwalk Hotel. The room was large, very comfortable and clean. The front desk was very friendly and helpful. Other staff members were just as nice and friendly. The new restaurant was nicely decorated and had a great selection on its menu. The food was great as well. They also had a great snack bar with coffee, sandwiches, desserts, and frozen dinners if you wanted to eat in your room. Location was great, it seemed that everything we wanted to do and see were close by. Would highly recommend this hotel to any one. June 24, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Ok Stay I was their for a conference and my wife came along. The housekeeping staff came around early so we asked them to come back. From 1 - 3:30 we were gone and even called housekeeping to let them know that we would be out of the room and it didn't get cleaned. We actually did not have any maid service the whole time we were there. Had to have towels delivered to the room to shower. Also did not get a wake up call and woke up late for conference. The hotel front desk folks were very polite and did give us a 50.00 credit, so that was nice. Also the restaurant is closed for lunch. There are plenty of other places to eat though. I would stay there again, but this time I would know what to expect. June 21, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average at Best Average hotel with decent pool & fitness area. The room was rather average in size, but the restroom was nice. The noise in our hallway at night was almost to much for us to sleep. The down stairs restraunt had very bland average food at a very high price. To access the riverwalk you had to walk across a patio that never had less than 6-8 people smoking which was not great especially with young children having to walk through the smoke. The checkin and checkout process was great and the guys at the front desk were very friendly. Parking was very easy, but it was rather pricey. We were well within walking distance to everything we needed. If we had to stay here again we would, but will probably explore other options next time instead. June 21, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel average service. Newly Remodeled Hotel in a great venue with below average personnel room service each day either towels or toiletries at least 1 were missed. Bought a fruit cup at hotel store and was spoiled viewed the ongoing daily hotel advertisement on TV and was enticed to try the Texas sized margarita. Go down to bar only to be told by the bartender they don't have such a drink...Disappointing !! wife and I had a great time in the city but the hotel service fell a little short of the mark. Next time we will try another hotel their are plenty to choose from. June 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff This was the first time my husband and I stayed at this hotel. I must say I expected more with it being on the river walk and all. Parking was scarey I was glad my husband came along. Staff was excellent which is why I would probably stay there again. My husband was ironing a pair of white pants and the iron leaked out some brown water all over them. The manager on duty did not only send my husband's pants to the cleaners (and had them back in our room within a couple of hours) he also comped our room one night and sent a brand new iron to our room. That was great customer service. Even though my room wasnt what I expected the customer service was AAA. Thanks for that! June 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel We really enjoyed our stay in San Antonio, and were very pleased with the Holiday Inn. The staff was very accomodating, the room was clean and comfortable, and breakfast in the hotel restaurant -- where our two children ate free -- was very good. June 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect No issues. Hotel is recently renovated. They are still working on little details but nothing major and nothing that disturbing. Came to this hotel for family vacation. Note you have to pay for parking per day, state, city, and county tax. June 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Restaurant The first morning we were there, we had breakfast in the restaurant. No problems, service was very good. The second morning along with guests of our the service was terrible. So bad infact we left the hotel and eat else where. After waiting 15-20 minutes for a table, we were seated at one that was not totally clean or set. In fact, a tray with dirty dishes from several tables was next to our table. After waiting several minutes for service a young man asked if he could get us someting to drink. We asked for him to take our drink and food order all at the same time. He appologized and told us it would be 15-20 minutes before someone would be available to take food orders. This is when we said thank you and left. This wouldn't be so extreemly bad except we were there to view the hotel after the renovations were completed. We had a conference there during construction and want to see how things were now. This is not what we want our attendees spouses to experence. June 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place I read on their page that this hotel has been recently remodeled, love what has been done. It looks so clean and modern. Really enjoyed my stay. June 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent place to relax Excellent rooms! The restaurant Windows by Riverwalk had beautiful view of Riverwalk, outstanding staff and service. Cuisine was Superb! Location was awesome, within walking distance to a lot of places of interest. Rooms had been remodeled and we were missing small fridge but no big problem. June 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel, right on the River Walk Nothing wrong with this hotel, friendly staff and clean rooms. On the River Walk and right besides the Majestic Theater. June 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience overall We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this facility. The staff was very friendly and helpful and made every effort to make sure we were comfortable. The only downside was the parking, but it seems to be an issue everywhere in San Antonio. The rooms were very nice and I personally love the lack of carpeting. Would recommend this facility to anyone. June 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice looking modern renovation! Very nice looking modern renovation! Rooms are very nice and modern all looks very updated and fresh! No complaints June 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Riverwalk Getaway Visitor Very good option for the cost compared to other hotels. Great location on the Riverwalk and safe, but actual View of Riverwalk from room is limited. Remodeled rooms were spacious, clean and confortable. .Pool and Sauna is nice, but not big enough to handle large attendance. A little noisy near the elavators, but I would stay again and recommend to others visiting the Riverwalk.. June 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by What a great remodel experience I have stayed at this hotel many times in the past, due to the convenience of the Riverwalk and being so close to the restaurants, etc. However, a bit outdated, and my last stay the hotel was in the mist of remodeling... This stay I was pleasantly surprised with how updated the decor was. The room I had was very chic, wood floors, great bedding, and a balcony right off the Riverwalk, where you could have a nice glass of wine and walk on crowd from above. Never ate at the restaurant, but the Bar that also serves food was great, and the pricing was very reasonable, more so great service. Valet service, awesome and very friendly... I would stay here again, if available. June 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by clean room with a fairly good view of the Riverwalk I really liked that there was not any carpet..The room seemed cleaner..I did not have to worry about unknown germs hiding in the carpets..Enjoyed our stay. June 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff was great & bed was the most comfortable ever! My husband and 2 sons-ages 10 & 12 stayed for 3 nights, and it was a most enjoyable stay! From the valets to the lobby staff, they were all very friendly and helpful! The hotel is located right on The Riverwalk which is very convenient to the restaurants and The Alamo. We were also a short distance from Six Flags & Sea World. The recent remodel to the hotel is beautiful! We loved the hardwood floors in the room, and the bed was voted "most comfortable" by me and my husband. Of course, the kids loved the pool and hot tub after a long day sightseeing. I would definitely stay here again and have already recommended it to others! The only con was that I wish a microwave and refrigerator would have been in the room to use for drinks and warming leftovers from the restaurants. I had seen that on previous reviews, so we were prepared & brought a small ice chest for canned drinks. Definitely a great vacation! June 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Value Great remodel. Loved wood floors. Great location. Awesome staff. June 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service This is a great hotel! A special shout out to the valet guys ...Devonta, Daniel and Emanuel. They always had my car ready to go and were always friendly and accurate with directions around town. Thanks fellas, I would recommend this hotel to everyone. June 8, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Subpar experience I checked in late on a holiday only to discover no microwave for my dinner and no refrigerator for my cold items. At the very minimum I would expect the refrigerator to be included - no, that will be $10 extra dollars/night. I was going to be there for a week. Then the Iron started spitting hardware deposits all over my shirts I was attempting to Iron...not good, the replacement was only somewhat better. The staff claimed the hotel recently underwent a reno, I was not too impressed, the floor was cold and the room was loud and echoed due to the inexpensive laminate(wood texture) floor. There should really be a throw or something in the suite space under the coffee table.... The staff was friendly, but they really could have reached out to me and might have kept me by accommodating with a fridge instead of spouting policy. The result, I stayed somewhere else for the rest of the week. One night was enough. June 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exceptional The renovations alone desire a 5 star alone! My initial thought was - this is going to be another boring Holiday Inn for my business trip. Whew! I was completely BLOWN AWAY! The layout is breathtaking from the lobby to the actual rooms. The whole atmosphere felt upscale and not anything remotely close to Holiday Inns I have experienced in the past. Great job and I will be returning along with some of my colleagues! June 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Price & Close to Everything Walking distance to all River walk shops and restaurants. nice rooms and great staff.. June 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location, Fantastic Staff The only place to stay in downtown San Antonio! Recent renovation, beautiful rooms, excellent restaurant and a staff sincerely focused on customer service. June 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A fine place to stay Room was perfect. Being a member of Priority Club, we were upgraded and WHAT A ROOM. The staff was helpful and very nice. We will stay here again. We enjoyed breakfast twice and it was very good and a bargain. I liked all the electrical outlets. Very helpful since we operate four devices. I would like to see an upgraded lobby. This one is very basic. June 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best ever Best Holiday Inn I have ever stayed at. Being a road warrior I have stayed at Hundreds of Holiday Inns. This Holiday Inn is a step above the rest. Pure class! The room I stayed in was awesome. June 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Awesome experiance Everyone in the hotel was Awesome!!!! We really enjoyed all the service. May 31, 2013
<<prev 12 13 14 15 16 17 next>>
Walking distance to the Market Square.
Walking distance to the Market Square.
Select to close.
Walking distance to the Market Square. Listed in the National Register of Historic Places Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Riverwalk North Area Take a tour of one of the oldest Missions in the United States. Streetcar ride to the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center Close to major attractions. Plan your day or relax in our lobby. Hotel in the heart of downtown San Antonio.
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Discover more choices to go.  Enjoy the Free Express Start Breakfast Bar at Holiday Inn Express.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-12-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-13-2014)
Check Availability
Loading