• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-24-2014)
(e.g. Jul-25-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SAN ANTONIO
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Spanish Governor's Palace
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
Historic Market Square
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
The Children's Museum
Distance From Hotel:0.05MI
Attraction:
The Buckhorn Saloon & Museum
Distance From Hotel:0.3MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:55
  • Car Parking Available
  • Daily Self Offsite Parking: $10.00 USD Onsite Parking: $16.00 USD Guests are limited to one vehicle per guest room. No over sized vehicles please. Parking Fees May Apply.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 16.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:82
  • Total number of suites:8
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:27
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:82
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5
  • FEMA Property Number:TX5156

Exciting San Antonio River Walk Hotel

Experience the historic ambiance and friendly service of Holiday Inn Express San Antonio – River Walk Hotel, located downtown in the newly renovated 1878 Bexar County Jail building.

Our San Antonio, TX hotel is your gateway to the city's most iconic attractions. We're situated in walking distance to the scenic River Walk, the Alamo, Rivercenter Mall and the Alamodome. Event attendees also enjoy a quick half-mile trip to the Henry B.
View More

Exciting San Antonio River Walk Hotel

Experience the historic ambiance and friendly service of Holiday Inn Express San Antonio – River Walk Hotel, located downtown in the newly renovated 1878 Bexar County Jail building.

Our San Antonio, TX hotel is your gateway to the city's most iconic attractions. We're situated in walking distance to the scenic River Walk, the Alamo, Rivercenter Mall and the Alamodome. Event attendees also enjoy a quick half-mile trip to the Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center. Hop the famous trolley for an effortless ride to attractions such as the Tower of the Americas and the IMAX® Theater.

While great for leisure, we also benefit our business guests. A centrally located San Antonio hotel in downtown, we're located near Valero Energy, Coca-Cola and Pepsi, Boeing and Fort Sam Houston. The benefits continue on-site, with free high-speed Internet and a 24-hour business center.

Whether business trips, family vacations or romantic getaways in San Antonio, TX, our freshly appointed rooms welcome you. Upgraded amenities like our Kohler showerheads and sumptuous triple-sheeted beds promise restful slumber. You'll find lots to love throughout our River Walk hotel: a sparkling pool, fitness center and Express Start® Breakfast Bar every morning. Stay better and save more with our San Antonio hotel deals.

A refreshing stay in the heart of it all – that's Holiday Inn Express Riverwalk Area hotel!

View Less
Features
Our historic jail building is the closest Express to the Riverwalk, Convention Center and Market Square located in the center of Downtown. A Via Trolley stops adjacent to hotel on Houston and Commerce every ten minutes at $1.10 per ride. Enjoy San Antonio with us!

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 142 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Loved this hotel We were well taken care of as soon as we arrived. The staff was courteous and professional. We loved our room and enjoyed the view of the Alamo. The room was clean and very quiet. I know there were others on our floor but we couldn't hear them. We enjoyed our stay so much we are looking forward to coming back during the holidays. July 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Suite w/view Very nice suite. Great location to the Alamo and River Walk. View was great of the Alamo. Service was less than adequate. I wasn't crazy about paying for valet or parking. July 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel My only complaint would be that the air conditioner in the room was very noisy, exch time it cycled on. Everything else was great. The ambiance, decor and general "cool-ness" of the renovated building all make for a very fun hotel experience Beer tabletoppers in the room give a cheap appearance though. July 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by PERFECT SPOT FOR INDEPENDENCE DAY We were lucky to be staying at this hotel. We could see the July 4 Fireworks sitting inside the restaurant/bar. Just stepping outside the door gave us an even better view. We avoided all crowds and traffic and saw the whole fireworks display. July 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location This hotel is great for anything you want to do in San Antonio. The room was great and the staff was very friendly. The bar/bistro was also nice. The room was huge. The one thing I did miss was a desk to use my laptop at. Bathroom shower was really nice. The only thing I could think that might need to be improved on, and this might only be in the room I was in, is that the toilet was really limited on space and made it hard for a 6'4" big guy to use. LOL but I made it work. The view was also great of the Alamo and the downtown area. Definitely recommend this hotel to my friends. July 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Where Do I Begin I travel to San Antonio often and I try to stay as close to the Riverwalk as possible to avoid unnecessary driving around, this location is PERFECT. You are in the heart of downtown and near all the major attractions; Alamo, Rivercenter Mall (with two theaters), Riverwalk, Ripley's Attraction. Curbside valet is nice, they even had my car waiting for me in the morning if I asked for it the night before. Front desk was extremely helpful and nice; never had any issues they couldn't fix on the spot. Rooms were great and view was even better. I will use this spot from now on every time I come. July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Vacation enjoyed our stay. Liked the renovation- keeping the old , incorporating it with the new. would stay again. July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Loved this hotel This was our first stay at a Hotel Indigo. We were pleasantly surprised from the moment we entered the hotel. The manager was working the desk and though he was helping another customer he immediately acknowledged me and said he would be right with me. The man who handled our valet parking was very polite and I had not concerns about him taking my new car. The rooms were and clean, comfortable, and well appointed. A bit small but just fine for an overnight visit. The hotel restaurant staff was very friendly and the food was good. There are a couple of things I would mention: 1) Be aware that this hotel has valet parking only. If the price isn't included in your package I think it will cost you $25. 2) Our room didn't have a refrigerator or microwave. It this is something that is important to you, you should make other arrangements. 3) The bathroom is pretty small. It was clean and had everything we needed but it was pretty tight quarters. Overall, we really liked this hotel and I would highly recommend it. July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Hotel A breath of fresh air and most certainly charming in world of ho hum hotels. June 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Historic Hotel Wonderful hotel for travelers that like to stay in a comfortably remodeled hotel. Preservation of historical elements were nice. Location of this hotel is in walking distance of many sights of interest for the area. Reiterate another review. Call ahead and ask for a room on the side that faces the Alamo if that is of key interest to you. We did not have a problem with street noise, our room was on an upper floor. June 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by If your a light sleeper - get higher level or keep air on My room was a nice corner suite. Only issue is that if your a light sleeper - the outside street on a weekday has some noise that gets thru the older buildings windows. With the A/C or fan blowing - it blocked it out. Cool reuse of an old building. Great value for the price of a Holiday Inn off an Interstate - I stayed across from the Alamo ( right outside my window ) and walked to several nice places to eat. June 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Un-planned stay Price of the room was fair for the weekend I had to stay. The hotel staff was exceptional, everyone from the valet to management. June 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always a pleasure Hotel Indigo is always the perfect place for me to stay during my San Antonio visits for business. I can walk to the Riverwalk, or order delicious room service food. Staff is awesome and the rooms are beautiful! June 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A stones throw from the Alamo Our room overlooked the Alamo. They incorporated much of the original building into the design. I loved the hard wood floors. The high ceilings made the room feel massive. June 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place The room we were in was 503 which was a corner room. The room was nice. The only downfall it had was the a/c. It definitely cooled the room, but it was very loud. After a while, I got used to it, but it definitely is noticeable. June 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice and Quiet Stay This hotel was nice and quiet. It has a great historic feel and look to it. June 25, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Mediocre Room was clean. Bathroom shower head couldn't be adjusted and fell over every time I tried. The bathroom soaps and such provided were terrible. The front desk staff seemed apathetic. The cleaning crew were very nice and respectful. Eager to help. Overall, not impressed. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay The staff were friendly and the view I had from the room was the best. the only thing I missed was a desk to sit at in the room. Everything else was great! I would definitely recommend this hotel to others. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel Indigo is the place to GO! Great staff!!! enjoy my staff. thanks Duane for all your help. you rock! Thanks for making my business trip feel more like a leisure trip. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quick overnight LOVED the staff and the room in this hotel!!!! I would recommend this hotel to anyone not familiar with San Antonio. Great LOCATION kitty corner to the alamo and walking distance to.... EVERYTHING in San Antonio! June 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice hotel and staff We had unexpected car problems in San Antonio and had to find a place to stay over night. The staff was very helpful and sympathetic to our situation. The hotel was a refreshing break from our stressful day. It's within walking distance to the Riverwalk, and the hotel bar was great to watch the Spurs Game. I definitely recommend this hotel. June 18, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Staff was Great, Hotel falls short Hotel A/C seems inadequate, ran constantly, but could not cool the room. Valet parking car returns took far too long (averaged 24 minutes). Hotel rooms seem to have some strange odors, certainly don't smell fresh/clean. This is a hotel which would make you want to like it based on the location and friendly staff, but it needs some work to live up to the potential. June 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Renovation Interestingly renovated into a nice hotel from a landmark financial institution while preserving some of the original building features, although of course inoperable but uniquely historical! A nice change up from the usual contemporary hotel decor. I enjoyed my stay overall. June 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel Great hotel. The suite was well worth it. The hotel staff was great! June 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice Place with Awesome Service The overall feel of the hotel was really awesome. Going into the hallways was like stepping back in time into an office building of the 1920's or 30's. The room was very nice and felt really cozy. The front desk staff were amazing. She did a free upgrade to a room with a nicer view. Then later in the evening, realized I was out of cigarettes. I asked her, Jacquline, if there was any place close by that I could buy a pack. She sadly said that there was nothing in walking distance. (I couldn't drive...had been to Happy Hour at Coyote Ugly...lol) But, she called the girl who was coming into work and she stopped and picked up a pack for me. Awesome service right there!! The bed was very comfortable and bathroom was very nice and modern. My only complaint would be the parking situation. You can either pay $25/day for their valet service or go find a self park in the area, which you have to pay for as well. I'm pretty sure the rest of the downtown or riverwalk hotels have the same situation. Oh...and it takes a few days for the bill to be finalized on your card. They tap it for an extra $50 as a "deposit" and it is later taken off/put back on your card. The bill has been going back on and back off my card a few times now. Still waiting for it to "finalize". One piece of advise though...if you come during the NBA playoffs and the Spurs are playing...it can get loud if they win. A tradition is that if the Spurs win a playoff game, EVERYONE drives around the downtown area honking their horns...for several hours. It was a bit loud and you can surely hear it in your room. June 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Cool Nice room. Could use a rug on the cold wood floors. Bathroom was small. Nice bed. June 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Alamo Indigo Great hotel right across from the Alamo in beautiful San Antonio, TX. Really interesting renovation of an old building with large windows and hardwood floors in the rooms. I loved the historical details that were left in the building like the marble wainscoting and the doors from the original elevators. This place is very convenient to all that San Antonio and the Riverwalk have to offer. June 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel Overlooking alamo This location is VERY close to the Alamo. Front desk staff is excellent. Ask for a room overlooking Alamo on a higher floor. Noise from the street is loud from late night revelers visiting bars in the nearby area. Do pay extra for Valet Parking - otherwise you must move your car every 12 hours in an open-air lot nearby. June 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Extraordinary experience Very comfortable, close to the Alamo, very friendly personnel June 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One of the Best Hotel Stays EVER! We stayed at Hotel Indigo for the first time in June 2014 and it was like coming home. The hotel upgrades are fabulous, the history of the old Gibbs Building is fascinating and the best part of it all - THE WONDERFUL STAFF! We arrived before check in time and were greeted by Duane (aka "the Man of Many Hats") at the Front Desk. He welcomed us with open arms and ensured us our room would be fabulous and he was spot on! We were able to check in early too!Drew, the Valet, brought our bags up to the room and gave us all sorts of hotel history and helpful hints. We went down to the restaurant lounge, the 1909 Bistro, where we received our 2 complimentary membership beverages. Sy, the Mixologist, was friendly and knows his stuff! We asked if the chef could whip up a chicken and cheese quesadilla and boy did he! Gilberto the Amazing makes an oh-so-yummy quesadilla! Plus the chef introduced himself! In the morning, Shelly at the Bistro made us the most delicious breakfast tacos and brought them to us herself! Another dynamo in the kitchen! Oh and don't forget Angela in Housekeeping who made sure we had all we needed during the weekend. On the last day while waiting for our car, we had a wonderful conversation with Michelle the Executive Housekeeper. Thank you to IHG for having folks like these to represent your brand! Keep up the good work!! June 9, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Walking distance to the Market Square.
Walking distance to the Market Square.
Select to close.
Walking distance to the Market Square. Listed in the National Register of Historic Places Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Riverwalk North Area Take a tour of one of the oldest Missions in the United States. Streetcar ride to the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center Close to major attractions. Plan your day or relax in our lobby. Hotel in the heart of downtown San Antonio.
Select to close.
Discover more choices to go.  Enjoy the Free Express Start Breakfast Bar at Holiday Inn Express.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-24-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-25-2014)
Check Availability
Loading