• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-16-2014)
(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SAN ANTONIO
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
The Children's Museum
Distance From Hotel:0.05MI
Attraction:
Historic Market Square
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
Spanish Governor's Palace
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
The Buckhorn Saloon & Museum
Distance From Hotel:0.3MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:55
  • Car Parking Available
  • Daily Self Offsite Parking: $10.00 USD Onsite Parking: $16.00 USD Guests are limited to one vehicle per guest room. No over sized vehicles please. Parking Fees May Apply.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 16.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:82
  • Total number of suites:8
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:27
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:82
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5
  • FEMA Property Number:TX5156

Exciting San Antonio River Walk Hotel

Experience the historic ambiance and friendly service of Holiday Inn Express San Antonio – River Walk Hotel, located downtown in the newly renovated 1878 Bexar County Jail building.

Our San Antonio, TX hotel is your gateway to the city's most iconic attractions. We're situated in walking distance to the scenic River Walk, the Alamo, Rivercenter Mall and the Alamodome. Event attendees also enjoy a quick half-mile trip to the Henry B.
View More

Exciting San Antonio River Walk Hotel

Experience the historic ambiance and friendly service of Holiday Inn Express San Antonio – River Walk Hotel, located downtown in the newly renovated 1878 Bexar County Jail building.

Our San Antonio, TX hotel is your gateway to the city's most iconic attractions. We're situated in walking distance to the scenic River Walk, the Alamo, Rivercenter Mall and the Alamodome. Event attendees also enjoy a quick half-mile trip to the Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center. Hop the famous trolley for an effortless ride to attractions such as the Tower of the Americas and the IMAX® Theater.

While great for leisure, we also benefit our business guests. A centrally located San Antonio hotel in downtown, we're located near Valero Energy, Coca-Cola and Pepsi, Boeing and Fort Sam Houston. The benefits continue on-site, with free high-speed Internet and a 24-hour business center.

Whether business trips, family vacations or romantic getaways in San Antonio, TX, our freshly appointed rooms welcome you. Upgraded amenities like our Kohler showerheads and sumptuous triple-sheeted beds promise restful slumber. You'll find lots to love throughout our River Walk hotel: a sparkling pool, fitness center and Express Start® Breakfast Bar every morning. Stay better and save more with our San Antonio hotel deals.

A refreshing stay in the heart of it all – that's Holiday Inn Express Riverwalk Area hotel!

View Less
Features
Our historic jail building is the closest Express to the Riverwalk, Convention Center and Market Square located in the center of Downtown. A Via Trolley stops adjacent to hotel on Houston and Commerce every ten minutes at $1.10 per ride. Enjoy San Antonio with us!

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 167 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Stay at Hotel Indigo Alamo The stay was comfortable and met my needs. I was not in the room much due to my business schedule, but it was clean and I slept comfortably. August 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to Stay Great Place to Stay in San Antonio Great Place to Stay August 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel Indigo San Antonio The hotel is old and charming. The decor is nice and the staff is friendly. The rooms have a nice layout and a good view of the Alamo. The bed was uncomfortable on my last visit and the AC did not cool the sleeping portion of the room. No fan was available to be placed in the room to assist with cooling. August 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff The staff was most accommodating; from Linda and Dennis at the front desk at check-in and through my 3 day stay, they were on top of their game. The restaurant /bar with Sy serving drinks and Cruz and Lydia, you can tell they enjoyed being at work. Very pleasant atmosphere, job well done! August 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel Indigo Downtown-Alamo I travel to San Antonio several times a year for business, and the Hotel Indigo Is always my hotel of choice. I like the updated, yet still historic feel of the hotel's interior and exterior. It takes me back in time somewhat, to the days my dad would take me to some of the older buildings in Houston. The hotel is close to all the downtown attractions and restaurants, and with professional and friendly staff, it is always a pleasure to stay there. August 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by can't beat the Alamo Great location in relation to downtown San Antonio. Everything is right there. And there is a bike share location around the corner which makes it easy to go anywhere you want. August 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel Indigo The hotel is super charming and we have stayed there multiple times. It is very clean and the staff is friendly. The building is very old but has been updated nicely. It does not feel like many of the newer cookie cutter hotels. The rooms have hardwood floors and nice decor. We stayed in a king suite and the main room would stay quite cool but the sleeping area was quite warm. The air flow from the vent in this room was poor. The location and charm are what keep us coming back. I do wish they had a pool. Its super hot in San Antonio in August! August 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 txtrvler The staff was very attentive and friendly. My wife and I enjoy older hotels and this has been refurbished well. Walking distance to everything downtown and Alamo hts. is only a few minutes away. August 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely place I loved the fact that the bank design was kept with the ancient fixtures and design details, the Indigo always makes an effort to be different and stylish. The only thing missing for me was a full length mirror to be able to see my business outfit. I will always look for an Indigo in my travels. August 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience Pros: Would stay there again. Great customer service. Cons: The food in the hallways was not removed in a timely matter. August 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant Surprise The Hotel Indigo is a clean, comfortable hotel in downtown San Antonio with affordable pricing. It will be my hotel of choice during my business or pleasure trips to San Antonio. August 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love this place! Love the staff! Decor is refreshing! I had a very pleasant time and I definitely recommend this as a great place to stay. It is right across from the Alamo as well! August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Loved the history of the location and how was brought inside Architecture is great and interior design is great...blending old with new in a tasteful way. Comfy beds-slept like a baby! Love the open, airy feel with lots of light! Beautiful views of Alamo Plaza! Valet is a little slow when picking up your cars, but not the end of the world just be prepared for 10-20 min wait. August 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very cozy comfortable room and building in general I stayed here recently on a business trip. The heritage building is beautiful and the room I stayed in small but very cozy and comfortable, felt like a bedroom at my grandmothers place and it was a treat being a frequent business traveller. The staff were great, the Bistro served up a nice dinner menu and the location very convenient being a short walk to the shops and restaurants of the Riverwalk August 6, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Lack of secure parking! Previous review was not acceptable because I detailed what went wrong with our visit -- from car being one of three broken into in adjacent parking lot while eating our first dinner upon arrival to the noisy air conditioning waking us up mulitple times during the night. Check-in had not gone smoothly either. Poor communication from front desk, and none from upper management when we had problems. August 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and comfortable beds Nice comfortable hotel with a great location and friendly staff. Unfortunately, nobody ever picked up room service trays from hallway and dirty dishes stayed there all day and night. July 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Quirky in a Good Way Interesting hotel kitty-corner from the Alamo. You can sit in the hotel bistro - which makes a great salad - and watch the tourists. The River Walk is less than a 1/2 block away. Be advised that the hotel color scheme is brown and chartreuse - but the juxtaposition of the trendy colors in a former office building with wood plank floors was, uh, quirky. There will be a $25 dollar a day parking charge which you should anticipate - however, if you're in on business and will need frequent in and out privileges it's great - valets were quick. Most other hotels in the area charge the same fee for parking. Bistro and bar staff were refreshingly pleasant in a genuine sort of way . . . it was the first day for one member and he got some good natured kidding from customers and staff as well. Relaxing time. July 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great for San Antonio I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel. The location is excellent- just across the street from the Alamo, and an easy walk to many access points of the Riverwalk. The only problem we encountered was that in the King suite the A/C didn't quite reach the bedroom at night, but it wasn't so uncomfortably hot that I needed to call someone. I really loved that in designing the hotel, the historical aspect of the building was highlighted, from keeping the original elevator doors on every floor to the water fountains in the hallways, to the hardwood flooring. This hotel is really honoring to Texas' history! And the breakfast quesadillas in the restaurant are worth a return visit alone. So delicious, especially with the house made salsa. July 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and welcoming staff. We enjoyed the convenience of being within walking distance of everything we wanted to do. July 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT HOTEL Our stay at the Hotel Indigo Downtown-Alamo was fantastic! From the moment we arrived we were greeted, curbside, by Drew the valet. He helped with all of our luggage and got us in the door. The check in was easy and the lobby was very clean and decorated very nice. The building is old but has a charm, history, and uniqueness to it. We have stayed here before and love the location to everything in San Antonio. Cruz, the manager of the Bistro is outstanding. He made sure he attended to all of our needs and treated us like family. Sy, the bartender, is the MASTER MIXOLOGIST! Don’t know what you want, ask him to make you something special and he will. From a homemade michelada to a chocolate martini, he can make anything, thanks Sy for an awesome night! Drew, you are the man! Thank you for helping when we needed stuff from 3 different vehicles, you never once complained and was more than obliging. Overall ~ HATS OFF to the staff here, we will be back soon!!! July 15, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Nothing went right I checked in to black bugs everywhere. Hotel staff, and then later one of my customers, explained it was a weird occurrence and the entire town was infested. They were correct; no building in San Antonio was immune. The housekeeping was inconsistent, sometimes restocking coffee and towels and other times not. One night the maid knocked on my door at 6:00 to deliver wash clothes that had just been washed. The valet is one of the most expensive in San Antonio and yet I could not get a car in less than 15 minutes. The last day I was greeted with a cold shower. Okay, I understand. Stuff happens. Here's the rub. On checkout the clerk asked how the stay was and my reply was "great, until this morning". He said "Yeah, I just heard about that". Then as I was waiting over 15 minutes for my car, again, I watched another guest check out. When he complained about the shower the manager gave him a room discount. Another guest then complained about the bugs and the manager gave him a discount. Finally another guest complained about the valet and I piped up in support of the complaining guest telling the manager that the valet was ridiculously slow. THE MANGER GAVE HIM A DISCOUNT and just stared at me. By then I had just about had enough. I looked at the manger and clerk and politely stated "Maybe I should complain louder so I can get a discount". They both stood there and looked at me. I understand things like boilers and bugs are beyond their control and don't start demanding when things do go wrong but to stand there and watch discounts given out like suckers with not even an apology for my problems took the cake. I am in San Antonio for a week every month but will not be back at this property. July 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Fabulous location and surrounds Lovely place but Air Conditioning was too loud to sleep well. We are so sorry but loved the hotel. Take ear plugs with you. July 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful hotel We only had one night in San Antonio. I'm so glad we chose to spend it here. The building has been beautifully restored yet retains its character. The bed was extremely comfortable. July 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Loved the buildings tranformation Great location for a family visiting out of town. Parking can be challenging so plan on using valet, which was super friendly and quick! I would recommend this hotel to friend and family. July 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Cool Room. I mean really cool! This is a tough review because I love the hotel decor and location. I travel a lot and one thing I like is a hotel with unique decor. This hotel has tons of style, which some may also refer to as "character". It's an older building, which has been upgraded in a modern way. The staff are helpful and the breakfast is a great value, there is just one criticism though: The A/C is loud. Now I know that all window units are this way, but this one had a higher pitch than normal. It worked quite well however, I was cool and comfortable. But I had to wear earplugs to sleep. So, lots to recommend, but be aware--the dreaded loud A/C awaits. July 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Loved this hotel We were well taken care of as soon as we arrived. The staff was courteous and professional. We loved our room and enjoyed the view of the Alamo. The room was clean and very quiet. I know there were others on our floor but we couldn't hear them. We enjoyed our stay so much we are looking forward to coming back during the holidays. July 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Suite w/view Very nice suite. Great location to the Alamo and River Walk. View was great of the Alamo. Service was less than adequate. I wasn't crazy about paying for valet or parking. July 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel My only complaint would be that the air conditioner in the room was very noisy, exch time it cycled on. Everything else was great. The ambiance, decor and general "cool-ness" of the renovated building all make for a very fun hotel experience Beer tabletoppers in the room give a cheap appearance though. July 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by PERFECT SPOT FOR INDEPENDENCE DAY We were lucky to be staying at this hotel. We could see the July 4 Fireworks sitting inside the restaurant/bar. Just stepping outside the door gave us an even better view. We avoided all crowds and traffic and saw the whole fireworks display. July 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location This hotel is great for anything you want to do in San Antonio. The room was great and the staff was very friendly. The bar/bistro was also nice. The room was huge. The one thing I did miss was a desk to use my laptop at. Bathroom shower was really nice. The only thing I could think that might need to be improved on, and this might only be in the room I was in, is that the toilet was really limited on space and made it hard for a 6'4" big guy to use. LOL but I made it work. The view was also great of the Alamo and the downtown area. Definitely recommend this hotel to my friends. July 7, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
Walking distance to the Market Square.
Walking distance to the Market Square.
Select to close.
Walking distance to the Market Square. Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Riverwalk North Area Take a tour of one of the oldest Missions in the United States. Plan your day or relax in our lobby. Hotel in the heart of downtown San Antonio.
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-16-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
Check Availability
Loading