• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SAN ANTONIO
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
The Children's Museum
Distance From Hotel:0.05MI
Attraction:
Historic Market Square
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
Spanish Governor's Palace
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
The Buckhorn Saloon & Museum
Distance From Hotel:0.3MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:55
  • Car Parking Available
  • Daily Self Offsite Parking: $10.00 USD Onsite Parking: $16.00 USD Guests are limited to one vehicle per guest room. No over sized vehicles please. Parking Fees May Apply.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 16.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:82
  • Total number of suites:8
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:27
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:82
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5
  • FEMA Property Number:TX5156

Exciting San Antonio River Walk Hotel

Experience the historic ambiance and friendly service of Holiday Inn Express San Antonio – River Walk Hotel, located downtown in the newly renovated 1878 Bexar County Jail building.

Our San Antonio, TX hotel is your gateway to the city's most iconic attractions. We're situated in walking distance to the scenic River Walk, the Alamo, Rivercenter Mall and the Alamodome. Event attendees also enjoy a quick half-mile trip to the Henry B.
View More

Exciting San Antonio River Walk Hotel

Experience the historic ambiance and friendly service of Holiday Inn Express San Antonio – River Walk Hotel, located downtown in the newly renovated 1878 Bexar County Jail building.

Our San Antonio, TX hotel is your gateway to the city's most iconic attractions. We're situated in walking distance to the scenic River Walk, the Alamo, Rivercenter Mall and the Alamodome. Event attendees also enjoy a quick half-mile trip to the Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center. Hop the famous trolley for an effortless ride to attractions such as the Tower of the Americas and the IMAX® Theater.

While great for leisure, we also benefit our business guests. A centrally located San Antonio hotel in downtown, we're located near Valero Energy, Coca-Cola and Pepsi, Boeing and Fort Sam Houston. The benefits continue on-site, with free high-speed Internet and a 24-hour business center.

Whether business trips, family vacations or romantic getaways in San Antonio, TX, our freshly appointed rooms welcome you. Upgraded amenities like our Kohler showerheads and sumptuous triple-sheeted beds promise restful slumber. You'll find lots to love throughout our River Walk hotel: a sparkling pool, fitness center and Express Start® Breakfast Bar every morning. Stay better and save more with our San Antonio hotel deals.

A refreshing stay in the heart of it all – that's Holiday Inn Express Riverwalk Area hotel!

View Less
Features
Our historic jail building is the closest Express to the Riverwalk, Convention Center and Market Square located in the center of Downtown. A Via Trolley stops adjacent to hotel on Houston and Commerce every ten minutes at $1.10 per ride. Enjoy San Antonio with us!

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 558 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by breakfast The one thing that probably needed most help was breakfast. I think that if drinks were self serve it woukd have made it better, but my wife and I waited 20-30 minutes for our drinks to get served so insread we just got the chocolate milk at the bar. September 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel Service was great. However, the mattress was not comfortable at all! September 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location on the River Walk! Our room overlooked the meandering River Walk. Beautiful (and tranquil) scenery with trees, shrubs and flowers. The hotel is just steps away from a multitude of quality restaurants and bars on the River. You can also take the water taxi to the San Antonio Museum of Art, where we saw a wonderful exhibit of Henri Matisse paintings. The Hotel is just a short walk from Penner's Clothing Store, where I bought two new Guyabera shirts. This hotel has everything going for it, but mostly it is location, location, location! We look forward to our next stay at this outstanding property! September 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good experience, great staff I used reward nights for this stay with my family to experience the riverwalk with the family and also attractions. During check-in, our room was not clean. I spoke with the front desk and they took care of the problem by moving us to a room that was completely clean. We were also treated to breakfast. I want to thank the great staff at this hotel that took care of our needs and also went above and beyond to make sure we had an excellent experience. We will be back soon...thank you August 31, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice staff and up to date rooms but not clean When I first checked in it was clear my room had been smoked in--the odor was a big negative. The staff handled it well and moved me as soon as I asked. However, the new room had hair on the furniture (really?), floors (bathroom and main area), and bath tub. There was also something unsavory on the table top. Finally, there were a number of scuff marks on the walls. It's too bad because the rest of the experience (great staff) was positive but a dirty room is tough to make up for. August 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect location This hotel was located in the perfect spot for all of our predetermined spots to visit along the Riverwalk and Historical District. August 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Getaway Great location. Had a room with balcony on Riverwalk. Prompt room service. We've stayed at several hotels on the Riverwalk and this is one of our favorites. August 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 gracias hotel muy comodo perfecta mente ubicado el personal súper amable un poco caro el estacionamiento August 28, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good room...Fair service The room was in good conditions. There was a funky smell that was coming from the restroom but after flushing the toilet a few times the odor went away. There was also a burnt smell coming from one of the lamps that had not been dusted. Overall the price was too much for what the room and service offered. August 27, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Getaway I've stayed at this hotel before and was completely satisfied. But this time it was not the case. The room was not cleaned, food trays were not picked up from room service, finally had to put them in the hall and it was still in the hall when I checked out on Sunday. I was not satisfied with this stay at all. August 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good service, nice staff Enjoyed time spent with family here. Nice walkable location to all attractions. Housekeeping and restaurant staff were very accommodating. This was my 2nd stay at this Holiday Inn and it will NOT be my last !! August 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxed vacation We had a great time, staff was very nice. Carlos in the restaurant was very friendly and knowledgeable. He made us feel very welcomed every morning for breakfast. Will differently be staying hear again. August 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Thanks!!! We booked this hotel, because it was my wife's birthday weekend, and were we surprised. We were greeted upon entering the hotel, offered welcome amenities, and treated like it was a joy to have us. The room was excellent, clean, and more than comfortable. The next morning, we had breakfast in the hotel restaurant, and the service was great, the food was excellent, and the atmosphere was wonderful. So much, that we returned for dinner that night, and even though it was late, the waitress was great, even though she was working many tables by herself. Overall, a great experience. August 21, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Remember the Alamo Booking online was extremely easy. We approached the valet parking Aug. 14, 2014, and the attendant did not help my wife off of the tall vehicle. Neither did the staff did not open the front door for her as I got our own luggage off of the vehicle. The front desk employee was very friendly and helpful with directions. We purchased one night with free breakfast, but I had to remind the front desk employee. After he verified, he handed me a card with free breakfast instructions. We woke up the next day only to find a cockroach wing underneath the sheets with us (I know they exist everywhere, but that was just poor housekeeping.) As we arrived to the restaurant, I immediately handed the free breakfast card to an employee who had greeted us. However, he began to tell us about the prices for the buffet, which was very embarrassing. I got my plate with food and sat down. As my waiter was bringing a fresh pot of coffee from the kitchen, my wife noticed there was a long strand of hair in my cup. I had to place my hand over the cup to alert the waiter of the problem because had I not he would have just poured it. I then lifted the cup to show him why I had done such a thing. He then suggested to get the cup next to me, but that one had a crushed egg shell in it. The waiter apologized and brought a clean cup. Overall, judging by the attitudes of the staff, I didn't feel as though my presence nor my return was valued. August 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Worth every dime The hotel worth every dime,close to most attraction,the internet service was bad at the upper level,I ve to come to the lobby.the hotel is beautifully decorated the elevated is extremely fast,you don't have to wait forever I will suggest the wood floor should be mop often not only slept,when you step on the wet bathroom floor it usually black stain.the stains re from the room floor.this hotel is very nice August 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by gran servicio la verdad muy buen servicio y atención, lo único que puedo pedir es que no cobren el estacionamiento August 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by where I always stay when in SA Best hotel on RiverWalk. Balcony over river. Great service and place August 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location We liked our stay at this hotel, close to everything. Front staff very friendly. August 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I LOVE MY STAY♡♡ EASY & FAST CHECK IN, GREAT SERVICE, LOVE THE ROOM, LOVE THE BAR, & I WILL GO BACK!!! THANKS HOLIDAY INN RIVER WALK☆☆☆☆☆ August 18, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by very nice room, balcony enjoyable The room itself was very comfortable and appealing. The bathroom was again very nice. On the first night i got there there was no room service available (I called 4 times). After that I decided to go to the bar to obtain @ least an appetizer, which I was told was closed. Had I known those options were not available I would have obviously eaten elsewhere but the internet indicated that they were open. The next evening the bar was open. So it was apparently some unfortunate coincidence. Need to alert everyone that they apparently don't staff for unusual circumstances. Additionally the bathroom had not been properly swept, but was otherwise clean, spacious and modern. August 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing Memorial Weekend Had a very pleasant weekend stay @ Holiday Inn, Riverwalk. Very comfortable room and bed. Close to Riverwalk atmosphere. August 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn San Antonio-Riverwalk On our family's most recent vacation, we chose the Holiday Inn on the San Antonio-Riverwalk due to the price of the room being so reasonable. However, we were completely surprised upon our check-in. The entire staff was very eager to please, GENUINE, and very respectful! They even looked up directions for us before we asked! The whole building will blow your mind at the elegance of every detail. We really did not know what to expect for our room, but when we opened the door for the first time we were amazed! Everything was so beautiful, from the bathroom down to the gorgeous view of the riverwalk! We felt so welcome and peaceful! We have chosen to use Holiday Inn as our go to hotel on every vacation, as well as recommending to all of our family and friends! Go enjoy your next vacation with Holiday Inn!! August 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Comfortable bed and great staff Hotel was very clean friendly staff. My only complaint is when still bed at 9 am and get a knock on door from housekeeping I guess they where checking for rooms to clean but we haven't checked out yet. We didn't have a thing to hang on door says don't disturb. Also when we arrived to hotel at 430pm we checked in and went to room to find out that housekeeping hasn't cleaned it yet went back to lobby and they gave me another room. August 14, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room and bar service For the price the location was great! Front desk service was awesome! When we got to our room the floors were so filthy we had to keep shoes on whenever walking! We went to the bar on the second floor and the bartender was very rude and she gave extremely bad service! But, other than that our experience was good. August 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful experience I booked the room for my boyfriends birthday and when we checked in we were upgraded to the presidential suite. August 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Although I wasn't able to get in my room until after 7 I still enjoyed my stay. FRANCINE ROCKS!! She provided awesome customer service, was polite & professional. I was not happy with the cleanliness of my room. Overall my stay was pleasant & I will be back. August 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Dirty floor in room and bath Although the overall experience was good and the staff especially at the front desk, valet, restaurant and bar were superb, there was a glaring omission in the failure to clean, mop, or vacuum the bath or room floor in #1020. I do hope that will be addressed. It truly detracts from an otherwise enjoyable stay. August 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great stay we stayed three nights and had a great experience. it was so quiet and peaceful. we had a lower floor balcony, the trees could use trimming but otherwise it was great. elevators were the fastest we have ever used, we never had to wait. We were there Sunday through Wednesday. August 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and Crisp with a smile! We enjoyed our stay at the Holiday Inn. We were pleased with the overall look and feel of this hotel. We felt quite comfortable. All environments including our room were clean and orderly with comfy beds and pillows. The options the hotel provided made things easy with great accessibility to snacks, beverages, as well as in-hotel dining. The location couldn't have been better! We would definitely stay here again! The ONLY downside was the noise-level. We could hear children running on the floor above us, someone signing in an adjoin room, etc in the evenings. August 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quick Visit This Hotel is in a great location on the river walk. The staff was great and very helpfull. The room we had was clean and modern. I will stay here again when visiting San Antonio. August 11, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 20 next>>
Walking distance to the Market Square.
Walking distance to the Market Square.
Select to close.
Walking distance to the Market Square. Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Riverwalk North Area Take a tour of one of the oldest Missions in the United States. Plan your day or relax in our lobby. Hotel in the heart of downtown San Antonio.
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Check Availability
Loading