• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
(e.g. Sep-24-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SAN ANTONIO
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
The Children's Museum
Distance From Hotel:0.05MI
Attraction:
Historic Market Square
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
Spanish Governor's Palace
Distance From Hotel:0.1MI
Attraction:
The Buckhorn Saloon & Museum
Distance From Hotel:0.3MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:55
  • Car Parking Available
  • Daily Self Offsite Parking: $10.00 USD Onsite Parking: $16.00 USD Guests are limited to one vehicle per guest room. No over sized vehicles please. Parking Fees May Apply.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 16.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:82
  • Total number of suites:8
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:27
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:82
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:5
  • FEMA Property Number:TX5156

Exciting San Antonio River Walk Hotel

Experience the historic ambiance and friendly service of Holiday Inn Express San Antonio – River Walk Hotel, located downtown in the newly renovated 1878 Bexar County Jail building.

Our San Antonio, TX hotel is your gateway to the city's most iconic attractions. We're situated in walking distance to the scenic River Walk, the Alamo, Rivercenter Mall and the Alamodome. Event attendees also enjoy a quick half-mile trip to the Henry B.
View More

Exciting San Antonio River Walk Hotel

Experience the historic ambiance and friendly service of Holiday Inn Express San Antonio – River Walk Hotel, located downtown in the newly renovated 1878 Bexar County Jail building.

Our San Antonio, TX hotel is your gateway to the city's most iconic attractions. We're situated in walking distance to the scenic River Walk, the Alamo, Rivercenter Mall and the Alamodome. Event attendees also enjoy a quick half-mile trip to the Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center. Hop the famous trolley for an effortless ride to attractions such as the Tower of the Americas and the IMAX® Theater.

While great for leisure, we also benefit our business guests. A centrally located San Antonio hotel in downtown, we're located near Valero Energy, Coca-Cola and Pepsi, Boeing and Fort Sam Houston. The benefits continue on-site, with free high-speed Internet and a 24-hour business center.

Whether business trips, family vacations or romantic getaways in San Antonio, TX, our freshly appointed rooms welcome you. Upgraded amenities like our Kohler showerheads and sumptuous triple-sheeted beds promise restful slumber. You'll find lots to love throughout our River Walk hotel: a sparkling pool, fitness center and Express Start® Breakfast Bar every morning. Stay better and save more with our San Antonio hotel deals.

A refreshing stay in the heart of it all – that's Holiday Inn Express Riverwalk Area hotel!

View Less
Features
Our historic jail building is the closest Express to the Riverwalk, Convention Center and Market Square located in the center of Downtown. A Via Trolley stops adjacent to hotel on Houston and Commerce every ten minutes at $1.10 per ride. Enjoy San Antonio with us!

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 320 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Riverwalk Value My first time at this hotel at the far end of the San Antonio Riverwalk and I was pleased with the value and hotel. Took a taxi to the Convention Center for less than $7 and walked to dinner on the Riverwalk to Downtown at night. July 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Loved the River Walk Room was very comfortable, the staff was friendly and very attentive to our needs. The beds were a bit small but had lots of nice fluffy pillows. It was nice to be able to walk along the 'river' ...lots of fun things to do and see. Very family friendly. July 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We had a great time We came down to SA to celebrate my husband's b-day & fell in love with the hotel, we always pick someplace different every time we come down but from now on we will stay here. The location is great and the walk down the riverwalk is wonderful, even in the summer, the staff was great and everyone we met staying there was friendly It will be the place to stay for anyone going to an event at the new Tobin Center. We look forward to our next stay. July 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great rooms and easy access to the Riverwalk The rooms were huge and very comfortable. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful when we asked questions about our surroundings. The bartender at the bar was very nice and a hard worker! Loved having access to the Riverwalk. July 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice rooms and right on the river Stayed over 4th of July weekend. We really liked our rooms. Beds were great, nice big tv. clean bathroom. Hotel wasn't much to look at from the front. Didn't use the patio in the back, but it seemed nice. Didn't use the pool, it was very small. Very nice to be right on the riverwalk. common areas in the hotel were nice. Fitness center is very small. Overall we really enjoyed out stay, it was just what we were looking for. It would have been nice to not have to pay $15 for parking every day and breakfast wasn't included, but still not a bad bang for the buck. July 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One night at Indigo Very clean room right off river walk with easy access. July 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Value Pros: the price, staff, service, and food Cons: room seemed a bit dated and its kind of far from the main area of the riverwalk July 6, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel Indigo Riverwalk I would stay at this hotel again in case my last visit was a fluke. Two things in my room were broken (alarm clock and phone receiver next to the bed) and when brought to the staff's attention all I received was an apology. Nothing more. They didn't seem very knowledgeable on the area (i.e. where certain businesses were). The room was very spacious and the bed and pillows were incredibly comfortable. It was also very clean which is the most important thing in my eyes. Lastly, about 3 hours before check out I had the do not disturb sign on the door handle. Housekeeping knocked and immediately entered my room. My guest and I were surprised and we had to yell to get them to leave before they walked the rest of the way in. July 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay Front desk staff were extremely helpful, attentive, and professional. Room was very clean, bed and pillows were extremely comfortable, and all the products were great quality. My family and I loved our stay. No complaints. July 3, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Will not return nor recommend ! Truly a disappointment ! I was checked in by a new Desk Clerk ( which was very nice) but no one was helping her. My stay was business so my Company c/c should have been charged. Instead they charged my personal credit card. When I went to speak to someone, they thought I had already checked out. The manager would NEVER come out of the office, only used the desk clerk to do his bidding. POOR MANAGEMENT ! Very unprofessional ! July 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Cold showers Hotel Indigo was a great place with two exceptions. The water temperature of the shower was cold. Even after waiting several minutes for it to warm up it never got above a cool pool water temperature. The shower faucet control would not allow you to raise the handle above half way. I don't know if this was done as a cost control, or what but it was very disappointing. July 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by COMODIDAD Y ATENCION FUE ESTA ULTIMA UNA ESTANCIA PLACENTERA CERCA DE TODO Y CON UN FÁCIL ACCESO DESDE LA LLEGADA. FELICIDADES POR UN EXCELENTE SERVICIO July 3, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Customer service The hotel is nice and great for the price although the lobby was never cool and the elevators were just plain hot. We waited two hours after check in time to get into our room. The next day while we were getting dressed someone walked into our room. The front desk had given our room to someone else while we were still there. We never received housekeeping while there. As a platinum elite member I used points for my stay. When I checked my credit card statement I had 6 different charges on my card for unknown charges. I called the hotel and was assured they were all pending charges and would not be actually charged to my card. Well, today, there was a 252.00 charge on my card and two more pending charges adding up to over $400. I am waiting for them to credit. Hopefully, they really will. The only charge I should have received was $11.09 for 3 water bottles. If they could get better help or management the hotel could be good. I just feel like these problems should not happen in a well run hotel. I should not have to spend so much time taking care of the problems they created. Also, there is no recognition for platinum elite members. July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Extremely please with our stay The room is very clean and the beds are super comfortable. The view looking out the balcony makes the stay all that worth it. The receptionist was very polite and helpful. Could not have ask for more from Hotel Indigo. The rate is very reasonable. Keep up the good service. The car park is across the street and convenient. Accessing River Walk is just a few steps away, that is a plus. Overall, we highly recommend this hotel and we are already planning our next visit. Thanks Hotel Indigo. July 1, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Indigo let down OK, I'm comparing this Indigo to the two previous Indigo's I've stayed at which both had a 'wow' factor. This came up short of expectations and unfortunately, it was mostly a lot of little stuff although the biggest issue with me was the amount of sound coming thru to the room from everywhere; the floor above, hallway, and outside the building. I felt as the contractor that constructed this building cut every corner to save on cost. The front desk staff was always very pleasant. July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Beautiful rooms and view. Hotel staff were excellent. Rooms were clean and very modern. Right on the riverwalk, a little walk to the main area of the riverwalk but not too far. July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel Indigo Riverwalk Work/Play Visit For this business trip I decided to bring my spouse and I wanted to stay off the traditional Riverwalk in San Antonio. Hotel Indigo fit the bill and the rates were very competitive. The room was larger than anticipated and the service of the staff was excellent. The bar was open most of the afternoon and evenings and was excellent; it was a good jumping off point to exploring the newer sections of the completed Riverwalk. Overall I do recommend the Hotel Indigo as a great place to stay if you want to be on the newer sections of the Riverwalk. June 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Sant Antonio Family Escape The ease of access to the river walk and taxi is superb the grounds are well kept and the pool was more than adequate to my family needs. June 29, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy Room, Daytime front desk clerk not helpful. We arrived at the hotel at 2:00 PM with somewhat of a emergency, both of us had food poisoning from the night before and we were told we had to wait until 3:00 PM. We asked if the hotel had a house doctor, that was met with blank stare. We were given a room right above the swimming pool with screaming kids. I asked if another room was available as soon as we saw the room, the answer was no. Later the pleasant evening desk clerk helped me with directions to a pharmacy. The next morning the night desk clerk said he would try to help us with a different room. Later the day desk clerk indicated nothing was available. We are not ever coming back to that hotel because of one person. June 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Loved it The hotel was great! My only complaints: The neighborhood wasn't the best, and if you get in late the parking situation was a little hairy. Also, I was unable to sleep in due to heavy footsteps that constantly awoke me; not sure if they were from another room or the hallway. June 28, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Will not be a returning guest Hotel Indigo Although the Riverwalk is gorgeous of course, and this hotel is smaller & more quaint than some other larger hotel chains, I would NOT stay here again. Prior to explaining why I would not, I CAN state a few positive comments: the area of the Riverwalk the hotel is located is beautiful, there was a mini-fridge & a single-serve Keurig in the room, and the pillows were comfy. Sorry, but that's about it (the pictures are deceiving!) The reasons I will not return are as follows: 1) When we arrived, I drove up & went inside to quickly check in (as usual) and was expecting help after check-in with my luggage (it was just myself & my 12 yr old daughter). I was not even told where to find a luggage cart to help me with getting my own luggage, etc. AND when I did get the bags removed from the car, I was blocked in by a hotel van & had to wait quite awhile to park ACROSS THE STREET, only to find out their lot was full & had to park even further away (around the block). Not happy & not a real fun start to the stay after a 5 1/2 hour drive. there were staff members at the check-in desk who could have assisted us (at least offered!) and no other customers were around. 2) The walls (& ceiling) were VERY thin. I was constantly awakened by the noise (especially in the hallway and upstairs/the ceiling). It reminded me of apartment living from 20 yrs ago. 3) Our second night, after being at 6 Flags for 10 hours, we returned to the room and did not have ANY HOT WATER for the shower. They said, "well most of the guests have already showered." (still am shocked by that statement, and my husband was just as appalled when I relayed the conversation). We had to wait for the maintenance staff to "reset the hot water heater". I'm sorry, but I don't care if there are 400 rooms and every guest wants to shower simultaneously at 3 am, there should be HOT water. Craziness!!! In addition, the water pressure in the shower was horrid! 4) The room really was not that clean, and the bathroom was even worse. There were several (we counted at least five!) long black hairs on the bathroom wall and toothpaste as well. Each day we returned expecting for it to be cleaner, only to be disappointed. Even the sink was not wiped down properly during the daily cleaning visits (face powder dust was still on/in the sink each day). I actually prefer carpet to the dirty laminate that was in our room. To my recollection, I have never left a review for any hotel, but felt the NEED to do so this time. When trying to make my decision on a hotel choice for the trip, I do read the reviews and I remember seeing a few negative ones. And always a response from the management staff apologizing, etc for the guests experiences. I remember being very impressed with that type of follow-up service. However, after personal experience, I would now recommend management spending that time hiring staff for luggage assistance for guests, ensuring 24 hr hot water for the guests, and additional maid/cleaning service training. Good luck I to all who, despite this review/warning, decide on the Indigo Riverwalk regardless! June 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall, pretty nice place Has a unique feel to it, but it was located too far away from the River Walk to be convenient. First night there after driving for hours we wore ourselves out trying to find the River Walk "action". It would have been nice for the hotel to have provided a little more detail on how to walk from the Indigo to the main area of the River Walk. That wasn't really a shortcoming of the hotel, but the distance from the action will likely prevent us from staying there again if we return to S.A. Another issue was an odor in the room the bothered my wife, but she's pretty sensitive about those things. The parking situation was not good and better instructions as to exactly which areas in the lot across the street was available to Indigo guests should have been made more clear -- MUCH more clear -- on check-in. Was informed several days into our stay that that info was on the reverse side of the parking pass you're given to place on the dash, but who looks on the flip side?? Saw others roaming around the parking area trying to find a spot that was reserved for Indigo, so it wasn't just me. Overall a nice place, but not if you want to be right on the main part of River Walk. Parking June 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Stay! My stay at this hotel was Awesome! Everything from the atmosphere to the food to the quiet room was so refreshing! Definitely will be back soon. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Place for a PERFECT STAY!!! The staff, service and accommodations were wonderful. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. The staff anticipated all my needs and had answers to all my questions. The food was excellent and the staff was always smiling. The room was beautiful and perfect for my work needs. Great location, thank you to all the staff, for making my stay PERFECT!! June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Business Trip The hotel and staff was excellent. The location to downtown via the river taxi was great. The restaurant and bar had great food and the service from the staff was wonderful. Thank you for a great stay. June 23, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Lack of Hot Water Hotel is ok. Rooms are nice and price is reasonable. Here's my only beef with this hotel. I stay here often and very rarely get an upgraded room as a Platinum Elite member. Alamo location seems to always upgrade me when I stay there. Also this is my second time staying there when the hot water wasn't working. Very rough shave and shower at 0600. I like this property location but now with charging for parking and room issues I think I'll book Alamo location. Was really bummed about it. June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing stay Was there on business for two night. Rooms are beautiful and clean. Beds are comfortable. Restaurant is delicious. Staff incredibly accommodating. June 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Boutique Hotel in San Antonio I travel to San Antonio for business regularly. This is my hotel of choice when I have to stay overnight. Great staff and rooms. June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Business Traveler The hotel is well presented and has a fresh professional and comfortable feel. Customer Service Rep Renee immediately greeted me and checked me in as an IHG traveler. Her time, attention and professionalism was a staple throughout my stay. My personal thanks to Renee and the rest of the Indigo staff for a wonderful visit! June 22, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel was a disappointment Room was freezing while hallways and elevator were hot and stuffy. For the money, this hotel is not worth it. June 21, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 12 next>>
Walking distance to the Market Square.
Walking distance to the Market Square.
Select to close.
Walking distance to the Market Square. Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Riverwalk North Area Take a tour of one of the oldest Missions in the United States. Plan your day or relax in our lobby. Hotel in the heart of downtown San Antonio.
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn at least two free nights, 50,000 bonus points or 10,000 miles. Book Now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-24-2014)
Check Availability
Loading