• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-31-2014)
(e.g. Nov-01-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: SAN DIEGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 4.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Tagalog

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Sorry, with the exception of service animals, we do not accept pets. Pet fees of US50.00 per day will apply if we find out the guest have pets in the guestroom.

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:61
  • Car Parking Available
  • COMPLIMENTARY PARKING in our GARAGE!

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2010
  • Total number of rooms:70
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:70
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:68
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:CA0902

Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego - SeaWorld! And what a smart choice it is! The Holiday Inn Express San Diego - SeaWorld Hotel is the perfect solution for families and business travelers alike. Our proximity to all the world-class destinations the city is famous for - less than 1 mile from SeaWorld, 5 miles to San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, downtown San Diego, San Diego Old Town and the San Diego Waterfront - makes this an ideal location for seeing all our beautiful city has to
View More

Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego - SeaWorld! And what a smart choice it is! The Holiday Inn Express San Diego - SeaWorld Hotel is the perfect solution for families and business travelers alike. Our proximity to all the world-class destinations the city is famous for - less than 1 mile from SeaWorld, 5 miles to San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, downtown San Diego, San Diego Old Town and the San Diego Waterfront - makes this an ideal location for seeing all our beautiful city has to offer.

Convenience is the name of the game when you are just a short drive from the San Diego Airport, Marine Corps Recruit Depot (MCRD) and close to many local companies like Lockheed Martin, CSC, SAIC, CACI, EDS, and SPAWAR.

Hotel features include complimentary hot full breakfast buffet, free local phone calls, free high-speed wireless Internet, flat screen TVs, outdoor heated pool and whirlpool, and on-site guest laundry.

Visit beautiful San Diego and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego-SeaWorld Area.

We are a 100% non-smoking property!

View Less
Features
Our Express Start Breakfast!

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 448 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Romantic Getaway Only spent one night on my way back home but the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. Area was close to the airport and Old San Diego for a nice night out. Great location after a week of driving shuttle service to nearby attractions makes it a plus!! October 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff Everyone was friendly and helpful. Shuttle drivers were the best, and the folks at the front desk could not have been more helpful with directions and pointers for getting around. Breakfasts were nicely prepared. A most enjoyable stay!! Thanks for helping to make our vacation special. October 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excelente para viaje de negocios Es un hotel muy limpio; muy buena atención por parte del staff. A pesar de estar cerca del aeropuerto, no se escuchan los aviones. Yo fui a un congreso, por lo que el shuttle del hotel nos llevó al convention center y nos regresaba al hotel. Lo recomiento ampliamente. October 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 good hotel, excellent staff the hotel is in a good location if you get a room away from the freeway. the staff is very service oriented. the room was clean, and the breakfast was good. the only downside was that there was repair work going on in the third floor hallway, so walking to the room required walking through the work zone. overall - good experience. if the shuttle van to the airport would run every 30-45 minutes, instead of every hour, that would be helpful too. thanks! October 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff, super location, but parts of the room were iffy. This was a quick overnight trip with my granddaughter to go whale watching from a nearby marina. I have often stayed at IHG propertiesdowntown, but this was my first Old Town experience. Overall, I would go back for the kind helpful staff, shuttle services, breakfast, and location. But, based on this experience, I will do the following: 1. Make sure my coffee maker has a carafe (it didn't). 2. Make sure the bedside phone works (it didn't). 3. Ask for a room on the street (rather than freeway) side. This is a great choice for visiting without a car. Staff will take you to the Old Town transit center on demand. From there, you can go anywhre. Plus Old Town is within walking distance (or the shuttle will take you.) October 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff The staff was congenial. Printing out our airline boarding passes for the next morning was simple and without problems (NOT the case at the Holiday Inn Express in LaMesa where the staff did not know the passwords to get the printer to work). Very easy airport and rental car return access. Breakfast room was spotless. October 17, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by not up to standards. First, the good parts: decent lighting in the bathroom, convenient location, free parking. Negatives: Small room. Housekeeping didn't leave towels one day. I spilled some water on the carpet by accident, trying to blot it up, turned the towel black, white socks turned black just by stepping in the wet spot. Reported that the tub faucet kept running - they must have shut it with a wrench, almost sprained my wrist trying to turn it on, and then it continued to run. Had to ask to have the carpet vacuumed when I checked in, it had stuff all over it. "Auto" on the AC didn't work, it was sweat or listen to it all night. Housekeeping turned it off, came back at night to a sauna, was told this is policy. They should be so concerned about conserving water. Front desk staff was polite but the maintenance and housekeeping were awful and not responsive. It was cheap to stay, but I wouldn't return there. Past experience led me to expect more from the brand. October 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great! Great service! Jose, one of the managers, is a customer service expert. I realized that the downtown location was closer to my conference and was disappointed I could not cancel. Jose assured me I selected the right hotel and the staff ensured I was transported to my conference daily. Fernando and Alex are two of the most curteous, professional, and friendly drivers I've met. They also transported me to and from dinners at nearby Old Town. On my depature, I met two of the most happiest and helpful housekeeping ladies! Now I know why my room was so clean! Great hotel! October 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff! Clean facility, great breakfast!! Great hotel! Clean, Clean, Clean! Attentive and friendly wonderful staff! Shuttle services to Old Town and Airport! Breakfast was awesome, rooms super clean and comfortable! Great and highly recommended! October 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff Impressed Was very impressed with the staff from the check-in to the young man cleaning a fountain. All were friendly, polite, and pleasant. October 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good servie Good service and good location. Convenient to and from San Diego Int'l airport with courtesy shuttle service. Very good enclosed parking garage. October 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect Accommodations for Marine Graduation This Holiday Inn Express location was perfect for our family as we attended our grandson's graduation from Marine Boot Camp at the MCRD. The hotel was literally across the highway from the MCRD which made it easy to get to/from the property. The hotel was also very close to San Diego Old Town. Their shuttle to/from Old Town was a nice option so we didn't have to hassle with parking. The breakfast selections each morning were great. There was something for everyone -- young October 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love the Location We love the location of the hotel and the complimentary shuttle to Old Town. We took the shuttle from the hotel to Old Town because we were not how far it was . My husband October 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Stay I was a little concerned about the proximity to I-5 given that I am a light sleeper, but I turned on the A/C fan and had no problems with the traffic noise. Beds & pillows were very comfortable. Underground parking spaces are narrow, but there were plenty of spaces. Breakfast choices were good. I would suggest to the hotel to make the pancakes and keep them in a warmer instead of having the guest make them. A little time consuming. The breakfast room got a little crowded the last two days of our stay due to the Marine Corps graduation families, but the staff kept the food coming and we only had to wait briefly for a couple of things to be re-filled. One minor maintenance issue upon arrival was dealt with immediately. That was a pleasant surprise. Hotel location was good. Short drive to Sea World & the zoo. Hotel has a shuttle to both places, but no flexibility in the times. One drop off, one pickup per day. Very close to the airport. Kids will enjoy sitting outside watching the planes take off. One sub-par thing: The bathroom ceiling appeared to have some water damage that had been repaired, but not re-painted. Didn't affect the stay any, just looks bad. Coffee maker is in the bathroom. That was a little strange. Wish the windows had screens. They open, but without a screen, we kept them shut. "Heated" pool was too cold to swim in. Overall, good stay, pretty quiet, even though we were near an ice maker and the fitness center, and not far from the elevator. Would definitely stay there again. Stayed during the week, early October. October 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Courteous and Friendly staff From beginning to end the staff was very helpful and attentive. All the accommodations were clean and comfortable. The food was so so for breakfast (powder eggs and machine made pancakes, but a good selection of other options. I satisfactorily recommend the Old-Town San Diego Holiday Inn Express. My thanks to all the Staff and a "Great Job" to the kitchen staff, "ola mujer", who were extra helpful and kept things clean and orderly. October 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location for Old Town If you're looking for a place to stay near Old Town the staff will give you a ride to OT and come and pick you up when you're done. Otherwise, there is not a lot around there and it is somewhat difficult to navigate via car. Rooms are on the small side of the spectrum. October 10, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Falls short this property falls sort of Holiday Inn Express standards and the staff doesn't care October 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by bigger room than what we thought It was nice because me and my husband took a bed for ourself! We slept so good. We would stay there again. Breakfast was wonderful, and the lady who was working in there kept everything filled. She worked so hard as the place was full of people coming and going. October 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Will be back soon The room here was very clean and had a patio area but the patio area did not have a table or chairs and the room next to us did. So wasn't sure what that was about? Our bed was very comfortable. We were kind of close to the freeway so the noise was loud next time I will ask for a room away from the freeway. The continental breakfast was more than we expected so that was nice! Overall this is a nice hotel and we will be staying again. October 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service We were with a group of 16 people for Marine Corp Recruit graduation. The staff was so friendly and helpful with any and all our needs. Helping to make sure we had 2 shuttles ordered for us whenever we wanted to go sight seeing and most especially getting us to the Marine Depot early for family day and graduation. We were on a deadline after graduation getting to the airport, the shuttle drivers were awesome picking us up at the Depot, getting us back to the hotel to get our bags and off to the airport so we had time to spare. The breakfast buffet was awesome with so many choices that worked for our entire group from age 1 to 84. Gave us a great start to our days. I want to thank the front desk, breakfast & housekeeping staff and shuttle drivers for their friendly, helpful and smiling faces. I would recommend this hotel for small groups or large. October 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service and clean room We were greeted by a most friendly male when we checked in!! He was so very nice and answered all my questions. You could tell he loved his job!! Shuttle service was fantastic, picked us up after returning rental car and took us to airport the next day, both were very nice drivers! Breakfast was super. Room was very clean. Very nice stay for just one night, needed to be near the airport and this was perfect! October 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by clean room and great service We stayed for just 1 night before flying back home to Iowa. Wanted a place near the airport and this was. When we arrived we were checked in by a most friendly front desk worker. He was so nice and helped with any question we had about shuttle to airport, getting our rental car back, when breakfast was served. You could tell he must love his job the way he treated us!! Your entire staff was great!! Your shuttle was the best, very nice drivers. They picked us up after returning our car rental and took us to the airport in the morning. Our room was clean and the breakfast was awsome as well!! Thanks again for such a nice stay. October 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The place to stay in San Diego. Great value, good hot breakfast and close to everything. From checking in to check out, all went without a flaw. Parked my Ford F-150 in the underground garage with no problem. Minutes away from all interest points in SD. Can't wait to be back, will be booking here again without a doubt. October 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stressful business trip Hotel staff were very informative. They contacted me as soon as my packages arrived which I had delivered First Overnight to the hotel. The airport directions given to me by the front desk were perfect. October 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent room and great service and breakfast This Holiday Inn Express was very convenient and very nice rooms. I felt my car was well protected. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. October 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room and very friendly service Great room best service I've had in a while your staff is awesome and save my life by getting my medication(that I forgot in our room) to me at the airport before our fight took off. A special thank you to Carrie and your shuttle driver for going out of their way to satisfy this forgetful customer. I can't say THANK YOU enough. October 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by incredible staff, comfortable and clean room The staff was incredible. You would have thought I was at a five-star hotel, except that everyone was kind and helpful because they were genuinely kind and helpful, not because they were forced to be that way. When I offered a tip to the driver who picked me up at the airport, he looked amazed. "You don't have to do that!" he said. Now there's a first for me, and I travel a lot. It is not a glamorous place, but if you are looking for somewhere near the airport, reasonably priced, with a more than adequate breakfast included, this is a good place. It's hard to find somewhere for a real breakfast when traveling. I was alone, but with kids, it's a must to get them fed asap. So I recommend it for families. I didn't check out if they had a pool or whatever. I repeat that it is not a beautiful or luxe place, but it is clean and comfortable. My one complaint is that I didn't have full curtains that drew completely closed on my first floor room. By the time I noticed, I was too beat to ask for a change. I'm sure that they would have been very helpful if I had asked for a change. October 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by excellent staff Good caring people on staff. Great location for exploring San Diego and surroundings. October 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service All employees were extremely helpful and friendly. I have been using this hotel for a year now for monthly travel. October 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good San Diego Option Stayed here while working in Mexico for 1 day. Not too far from the border and very close to the airport was a plus for me. Front desk was very accommodating, allowing me to check in early after a very early flight arrival. If you stay here you should check out the USS Midway museum which is also very close. Shuttle service is available to downtown Old Town and is a great way to go out for dinner and have a few drinks without having to worry about driving/parking, they'll pick you up. September 30, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>
Driveway Entrance
Driveway Entrance
Select to close.
Driveway Entrance Holiday Inn Express Hotel 1 mile from Sea World San Diego-Exterior Your entire family will enjoy free breakfast, parking, & internet! Warm, friendly smiles greet you upon entering our lobby! Splash! and Relax! at our kid friendly outdoor pool! Family friendly rooms perfect for your next vacation! Enjoy the fresh air at our 100% non-smoking hotel! ...close to San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Downtown, Point Loma Our knowledgeable staff will help you plan your San Diego vacation Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Anywhere Check-In is a simple process that will help you start enjoying your travel earlier.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-31-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-01-2014)
Check Availability
Loading