• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-20-2014)
(e.g. Aug-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: SAN DIEGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 4.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Tagalog

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Sorry, with the exception of service animals, we do not accept pets. Pet fees of US50.00 per day will apply if we find out the guest have pets in the guestroom.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Sea World San Diego
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Ocean Beach
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
Old Town
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
USS Midway Museum
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:61
  • Car Parking Available
  • COMPLIMENTARY PARKING in our GARAGE!

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2010
  • Total number of rooms:70
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:70
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:68
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:CA0902

Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego - SeaWorld! And what a smart choice it is! The Holiday Inn Express San Diego - SeaWorld Hotel is the perfect solution for families and business travelers alike. Our proximity to all the world-class destinations the city is famous for - less than 1 mile from SeaWorld, 5 miles to San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, downtown San Diego, San Diego Old Town and the San Diego Waterfront - makes this an ideal location for seeing all our beautiful city has to
View More

Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego - SeaWorld! And what a smart choice it is! The Holiday Inn Express San Diego - SeaWorld Hotel is the perfect solution for families and business travelers alike. Our proximity to all the world-class destinations the city is famous for - less than 1 mile from SeaWorld, 5 miles to San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, downtown San Diego, San Diego Old Town and the San Diego Waterfront - makes this an ideal location for seeing all our beautiful city has to offer.

Convenience is the name of the game when you are just a short drive from the San Diego Airport, Marine Corps Recruit Depot (MCRD) and close to many local companies like Lockheed Martin, CSC, SAIC, CACI, EDS, and SPAWAR.

Hotel features include complimentary hot full breakfast buffet, free local phone calls, free high-speed wireless Internet, flat screen TVs, outdoor heated pool and whirlpool, and on-site guest laundry.

Visit beautiful San Diego and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego-SeaWorld Area.

We are a 100% non-smoking property!

View Less
Features
Our Express Start Breakfast!

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 358 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay. . The location is convenient to everywhere we wanted to go. With the hotel shuttle and transit system we didn't need to rent a car. The hotel is nice and clean and the staff is super friendly and helpful. Good breakfast too! We will definitely be back! August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet room/fantastic staff We were very pleased with our stay at Holiday Inn Express San Diego Old Town/Airport. The staff were wonderful. Our room was quiet. It was great. August 12, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Could not sleep! I was on the top floor and I think there was an air conditioner unit or something over or very near my room. Every 20 minutes or so it would kick on and make a loud boom sound. I could not sleep much at all. But the worst part was that when I told the front desk, they just wanted to argue and tell me that there is nothing above my room, so nothing could be wrong. I didn't dream it for sure, I couldn't sleep. A simple apology would have been nice at least! August 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean room, excellent hotel staff and breakfast Only complaint was the price of the room.. Understand your rate was competitive but too high for me to visit as often as we would like. Enjoyed our stay. August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by In Town for a Wedding Overall it was a great stay. Nice rooms, surprisingly quiet due to the close proximity to the highway and airport. The location was convenient to everywhere I wanted to go. Love the breakfast and the 24 hour coffee and tea station in the lobby which also was stocked with apples. The wonderful staff promptly took care of any needs I had, including looking up directions to a church and calling them for the service times, and even lending me a phone charger. If you need to iron your clothes however, you may want to pack a travel iron. The iron in the room is awkwardly tethered to the ironing board and I ruined my skirt when the 2 cords became entangled and got caught up just hours before the wedding. August 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location and Stay The hotel was what I truly expected. Staff were friendly other than one lady at the front desk who didn't smile at all and not greeting guests or thanking after transactions. Kinda bossy or whatever, other than that the stay was perfect. Will recommend 'coz it is at the heart of San Diego and is almost always close to all attractions. August 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location This hotel is very close to the Old Town, MCRD, Airport, Shopping and Restaurants! August 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel with a Friedly and Professional Staff This is a great hotel located just minutes from Old Town. The staff is professional and friendly. Check in was smooth and fast despite the fact that my visit was during the annual San Diego Comic Con, which had the hotel booked to capacity. We never had to wait long for the shuttle service and there was always plenty of room available in the breakfast area each day. The parking garage is a bit tricky to maneuver in a suv or truck but other than that this is a nice place to stay and I will definitely stay here again. August 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy checkin and check-out Ease of parking, check-in, and pick up f rom air terminal. August 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Price for the extras Free shuttle to Old Town and the Airport and Breakfast made this a real deal for the price. August 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff The entire staff was wonderful during our five night stay. Traffic can be noisy but I always travel with a white noise machine and that helped a lot. Would stay here again. August 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by needs improvement Insane: Your electronic bathroom light goes on when one enters -- but never goes off. The front desk shrugs and says: "Some work well, others don't." In the middle of the night, one wants a nightlight, not 1,000 watts. And you insanely put a glass wall in the bathroom, guaranteeing that you awaken anyone else who happens to be asleep. Insane: Aim fan upward and at the room, not up to a plastic cover and into the desk. This was room 370. We stay their because our son lives less than a block away, but the last visit, we had a similar bath-light problem. August 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent in all respects This Holiday Inn Express at Old Town is a terrific choice for accommodations. I cannot fault the hotel in the slightest in any aspect. It is also located at a handy distance from Old Town shops and restaurants, and a free shuttle is available. The included breakfast has so many choices. You can't go wrong by staying here! August 6, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Very poor location and layout. Overpriced. This hotel is named an airport location, but it is not anywhere near the entrance to the airport, nor near other airport hotels. This is located in industrial area between OldTown and the airport. The interior of the hotel is just renovated and fresh, but the the layout of the buildings creates less than secure feeling for the single traveler. Most rooms have access to ground level in this sketchy area. Some rooms are even located in basement off the underground, unmanned parking garage. The location and security were very disappointing. Worse, I paid a crazy amount for these unpleasant surroundings. August 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome stay! The staff here are very nice and accommodating. Whether it was picking us up at the rental car shop or driving us the airport at 5am, this hotel did all it could to help you out. The rooms are comfy and adorable. The man in charge of breakfast downstairs is really funny and personable. His recommendation of peanut butter on pancakes was great. The pool and hot tub are also really nice. I would definitely stay here again. August 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Geat service The hotel staff is truly amazing and Jose, Vangie and Kylene should be recognizes for their outstanding customer service, comforting attitude and steadfast commitment towards the hotel guest and accommodations. The corporation or management should properly commend these individuals for their longevity and dedicated service. The breakfast food is excellent, well stock, immediately available and hot. August 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding service & comfort Great staff & very comfortable beds. Nice hotel and good breakfast. Great value. August 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Baja Adventure I stayed here twice during a workshop before and after our travel into Baja, Mexico. It is a surprising location perched on a hill in a residential neighborhood, but while exploring the area I realized how convenient the location was. I was able to walk to Old Town San Diego and could take the hotel shuttle to a variety of locations for entertainment (free). If you are looking for a hotel that is convenient to the airport and a variety of activities outside of a holiday weekend this is a good value. If you need a fancy pool and a resort atmosphere this is not the place. The highway is right next to the hotel and while I didn't hear anything while I slept it was something of a distraction sitting on the patio. What the hotel may lack in atmosphere it makes up for in service. The front desk people recommended GOOD restaurants, things to do, and even cab drivers. They fell over themselves to help and provide top notch service. They seemed to really like their job. I had two maintenance issues in my room and they were dealt with immediately. Breakfast each morning was remarkably good. They had a variety of fruit, yogurt, cereals, muffins, danish, and hot foods. Coffee is served all the time and they even have a buffet area where you can get your own serving plates and utensils if you order pizza. August 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by What a hidden gem! Well I was expecting the Holiday Inn Express in Old Town to be nice, it had good reviews on tripadvisor, but I was pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed my stay. The shuttle service is really convenient and all the drivers were really helpful. The location has a fantastic view from the rooms (and the hot tub!), i'll be honest, its next to a freeway but I didn't find the traffic noise disturbed me and our room was one of the closest to the freeway. You are about a mile from the old town transport depot, or if you just want to catch a trolley bus you are just up the hill from Washington St. The room was really lovely and spacious. We had lots of space and it was nicely decorated (and above all, spotlessly clean) and we had a microwave, tea/coffee facilities and a fridge/freezer. We were so busy during the day by the time we got back to the hotel, we were too tired to go out to eat, luckily the hotel has a 24/7 shop which sells yummy sandwiches, instant noodles, microwave sandwiches etc, as well as drinks, fruit, crisps and all sorts of things and we actually ended up eating from there every night! We had breakfast every morning in the breakfast room, the choice was pretty good, lots of different breads and juices and fruits. The only problem we had was that the toaster was a bit temperamental and we were not a lover of some of the cooked breakfast options, but that is personal taste. We will definitely be returning on our next trip to San Diego! July 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by West Coast Trip California and Oregon My wife and I took a trip to the West Coast, starting in San Diego, we drove 1,941 Miles to get to Oregon over a period of 9 days. Of course this was a lot to cover, but with pre-planning by my wife, we had a great time. We stayed at 9 different Holiday Inn/Holiday Inn Express Locations. This was a preplanned event from six months earlier. The stay in San Diego was absolutely great. The service was very friendly. "IT IS THE LITTLE THINGS THAT COUNT" Thank you all for the great memories! July 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice staff and room! Very nice staff. Even though the A/C was very loud at first, then they changed it for me! They opened breakfast up 15 to 30 minutes early every day for me to get a bite to eat before going to work!! Awesome!!! July 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenience with Great Service I would highly recommend the Holiday Inn Express, San Diego Airport-Old Town if you must fly out of San Diego. Their "Park and Fly" option is the best! Not only do you have a comfortable and clean room to stay in before and/or after your trip, but you can park your car at the hotel at no additional charge AND free shuttle service to and from the airport is available. We were given a room upgrade during this stay. What a fabulous suite! The staff is very friendly and accommodating. July 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Typical Quality of a Holiday Inn Express/Always more than Sufficient The stay perfectly suited the need. I was here for work and was able to do that. This particular establishment was selected due to the shuttle service to the Conference Center, Old Town, Gas Lamp and the Airport. Of particular note was an employee behind the desk. I believe his name was Eila. I requested an early check in had he made sure that everything was ready for my arrival well before check in times. The shuttle staff was also very cordial and professional. Everyone was always quick to help and more that willing to go above and beyond. I made a point of letting the manager know as well. The only downside I could report on is the options and quality of the breakfast. Although it is typical of all the HIEs I've stayed I would like to see hot sauce provide and bigger pancakes. However, the breakfast provides what is needed to start a day and is complimentary; can't beat that. July 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff The front desk, breakfast room, grounds keepers, and housekeeping were all fantastic. I would highly recommend this hotel to family travelers for its location and service excellence. July 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Old Town San Diego, CA Front desk lady was excellent. Very helpful and got me checked in very quickly. The hotel was close to the Washington Street Metro Station AND is walking distance from Old Town San Diego for shopping and eating. Be careful when crossing the street! There are a lot of tourist in the area that don't know their directions and I was hit by a SUV crossing the cross walk. Nothing Holiday Inn did wrong, just a general safety warning! My stay was excellent and I will be using this hotel again. July 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Courteous, helpful Staff Business travel close proximity to SAN; Friendly Staff both at check-in and check-out; checked out early in the morning so did not time for breakfast that is included in the room rate; room nicely appointed. July 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Very friendly service and especially the front desk accommodating our needs and the shuttle drivers. Overall I would recommend this place and see you next year : ) July 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by July Vacation We stayed at the HIE - Airport-Old Town for four days, providing fun and care for our 7 year old grandson while his dad attended a conference. The hotel was clean and comfortable, staff was friendly and helpful. We used the shuttle service several times to connect with the MTS trolleys and also to get to and from a day at Sea World. The shuttle staff was polite and helpful, suggesting sites and even making a dinner suggestion after our day at Sea World. Overall, our experience was excellent. The property is in an ideal location, between Old Town and downtown, near the airport and MCRD. We'll stay again on our next adventure in San Diego! Thanks for a great experience. July 19, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable, clean but arrived early lest they give away your room Nice small hotel near San Airport, management did not honor a guaranteed reservation for a late arriving co-worker, nor properly respond to my complaint the next day. July 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good value Good value, convenient, free locked parking and breakfast. Close to interstate so noisy on the outside patio, hot tub area. Room was very quiet however July 18, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>
Driveway Entrance
Driveway Entrance
Select to close.
Driveway Entrance Holiday Inn Express Hotel 1 mile from Sea World San Diego-Exterior Your entire family will enjoy free breakfast, parking, & internet! Warm, friendly smiles greet you upon entering our lobby! Splash! and Relax! at our kid friendly outdoor pool! Family friendly rooms perfect for your next vacation! Enjoy the fresh air at our 100% non-smoking hotel! ...close to San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Downtown, Point Loma Our knowledgeable staff will help you plan your San Diego vacation Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Discover more choices to go.  Enjoy the Free Express Start Breakfast Bar at Holiday Inn Express.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-20-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-21-2014)
Check Availability
Loading