• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Nov-21-2014)
(e.g. Nov-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: SAN DIEGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 4.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-08:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Tagalog

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Sorry, with the exception of service animals, we do not accept pets. Pet fees of US50.00 per day will apply if we find out the guest have pets in the guestroom.

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:61
  • Car Parking Available
  • COMPLIMENTARY PARKING in our GARAGE!

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2010
  • Total number of rooms:70
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:70
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:68
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:CA0902

Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego - SeaWorld! And what a smart choice it is! The Holiday Inn Express San Diego - SeaWorld Hotel is the perfect solution for families and business travelers alike. Our proximity to all the world-class destinations the city is famous for - less than 1 mile from SeaWorld, 5 miles to San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, downtown San Diego, San Diego Old Town and the San Diego Waterfront - makes this an ideal location for seeing all our beautiful city has to
View More

Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego - SeaWorld! And what a smart choice it is! The Holiday Inn Express San Diego - SeaWorld Hotel is the perfect solution for families and business travelers alike. Our proximity to all the world-class destinations the city is famous for - less than 1 mile from SeaWorld, 5 miles to San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, downtown San Diego, San Diego Old Town and the San Diego Waterfront - makes this an ideal location for seeing all our beautiful city has to offer.

Convenience is the name of the game when you are just a short drive from the San Diego Airport, Marine Corps Recruit Depot (MCRD) and close to many local companies like Lockheed Martin, CSC, SAIC, CACI, EDS, and SPAWAR.

Hotel features include complimentary hot full breakfast buffet, free local phone calls, free high-speed wireless Internet, flat screen TVs, outdoor heated pool and whirlpool, and on-site guest laundry.

Visit beautiful San Diego and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego-SeaWorld Area.

We are a 100% non-smoking property!

View Less
Features
Our Express Start Breakfast!

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 389 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good brunch party Everything was comfortable and clean. The food was good but, not a complaint, the portions were so big that we recommend spliting entrees. We will come back to Crown next time we are in the area. August 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by No curtains in bathroom Nice hotel. Staff needs to be retained in room prep. August 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Diseño de paisaje excelente De los hoteles con mejor diseño de paisaje, áreas verdes con un excelente cuidado y ambientación agradable August 5, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Bad attitude of the hotel representative We reached late in the night at around 11 PM and there was no guest room service( For dinner). The room service is available only until 11 and I called 15 mins late. I just wanted to order something for our 5 year old, My call was routed to 3 different places to finally hear that we only had an option of sandwich, and fruit. I ordered a cheese sandwich and was asked to come down to the front lobby to get it. when I opened the box in room, I found a chicken sandwich in the box, a coke and an apple.I called the front desk and explained that I do not eat meat and wanted only a cheese sandwich. The guy on phone was rude and explained that they did not know what was in the box and I had no choice to pick whether chicken or cheese sandwich was placed in the box. I think this behavior was ridiculous. Atleast, they could tell me in advance that it was a chicken sandwich and there was no option for cheese only sandwich. August 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service, Pretty Pool! I only stayed a night but next time, I'll look forward to staying longer as this Crowne Plaza was really nice. The staff are friendly and helpful. I asked for a quiet room (away from the pretty pool) and they gave me a great room that was very private. I would go back again! Thanks. August 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great room in general Great room with comfortable beds and clean in general until the next morning there was a spider on the wall above my son's bed that went behind the headrest before I could identify the type of spider, it looked like a black window. August 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant Stay The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel was a very nice place to stay and isn't too far from the attractions and downtown. July 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay The lobby is up to date and clean. Upon arrival the staff was friendly, but walking to the room I noted the property is somewhat aged and the air conditioning unit was not working when we got to the room. Maintenance personnel quickly responded and fixed the air conditioner. We decided to order room service the night of arrival. I am glad we did, the food was excellent and the employee who delivered the food was very friendly. We decided to try the restaurant the next day, and the food again was excellent. I travel quite a lot and eat at many different restaurants. If staying at this property, I would advise trying the restaurant at the hotel for great quality food and great service. The room was comfortable and the only problem (air conditioning) was fixed very quickly. I would gladly stay her again when in San Diego. July 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by The people make this place great! This is my second time visiting this hotel during Comic Con. The people here are extremely welcoming and friendly. From the front desk (Dan), to the bartender (Chris) and waiter (Markos), the service here is exemplary. They remember your name (from last year!), smile and go out of their way to make you feel at home. Plus, you can't beat the amenities given to Platinum members. Thanks Chris, Dan, and Markos! I only wish this hotel was closer to downtown...But I guess you can't have it all. July 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience at affordable price I had a great experience at an affordable rate. Under the state government rate, you are considered an Aloha member during your stay, which means you get complimentary parking, internet and buffet breakfast and dinner. Also, as part of their eco-friendly program, if you opt NOT to get your your room serviced by housekeeping, they provide you with a $5 voucher that you can use at their convenience store, restaurant or lounge. Being in SD for business purposes, it was nice to be surrounded by a hotel that was Hawaiian-themed. The pool and overall ambiance made it relaxing after a long day of work. The only down side was the parking. I'm not sure if it was because my stay was during summer or during comic con week, but it was difficult to find parking in the evenings and the parking spots were really tight (even with my compact Civic). July 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The plaza saved our vacation I had suggested that we stay at the Crowne Plaza but one of our party had made the reservations at an Oceanside marina hotel the first night of our girls vacation and we were so was disappointed that we almost just went home. Myself being a loyal Crowne member called at dawn and had a room for us in 10 minutes! I frequent the Crowne in Redondo Beach and am very pleased every time. The Crowne in San Diego was professional, helpful, and rolled out the red carpet for us. My friends and I have agreed to NEVER stay anywhere but the Crowne when we plan our trips together now, I always know what I'm getting and I get the very best at the Crowne EVERY TIME I am a guest there. I am the "snooty one" in our party and my idea of heaven is room service and the ability to pick up the phone and get what I want when I want. The Crowne staff is well versed in hospitality and prompt service and I've never had a bad experience at any property. If you're searching for the best hotel and they have a Crowne Plaza in that city I would strongly suggest you stay there- you'll thank yourself for it! Hats off to the staff for saving our vacation and showing my friends that they should leave the hotel choosing to me- it will always be the Crowne Plaza! July 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel - Wish I felt better This is my first time staying at the Crowne Plaza at Hotel Circle. It was the opening night of the International Comic Con and the hotel was really busy. I was given great service at the front desk and would have liked to participated in the events offered by the hotel, but I had a raging sinus infection and felt really bad. I was given a king room (Room 1108). The room was comfortable. The one thing I did notice was the shower drain showed signs of rust and probably needs to be looked after. Overall, I was satisfied (and lucky given the convention being in town) with the room and accommodations. I'll put the Crown Plaza on my list for my next visit to San Diego. July 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A very beautiful property, pool and spa were nice. I enjoyed my stay At Crowne Plaza. I loved the pool and spa. I thought the staff was very friendly and helpful. I don't care too much for the location because it seems a bit isolated from other restaurants, pharmacy, and convenience stores. It is O.K. if you are there for tourist destinations and you have rented a car but not so much when you are at a conference that requires staying close by. There is a shuttle but does not go back and forth to airport. The sushi bar was excellent! All in all, it was a pleasant stay. July 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by girls night(s) in San Deigo was saved by the Crowne Plaza We had originally checked into another hotel in Oceanside as suggested by a member of our party. We experienced a horrible night with no rest and no air conditioning! When we woke up the next morning I had told my friends that was it and we were checking into the Crowne in SD if they had room. When I called and gave the desk clerk my rewards number he found me a room and we were on our way. As we checked in we were given the royal treatment I've come to expect being a frequent user of the Crowne in Redondo Beach,Ca. The desk girl noticed that when I called at first we were only given 2 double beds for 3 people (of course we stayed there during Comic-con) and she immediately upgraded us to 2 queens on the first floor as I requested and our room was ready to go at that moment. Our stay was fantastic and the service was impeccable! My friends thought I was nuts changing hotels for the last night but after they saw the room and service they were glad we came. Thanks Crowne for being so accomodating and helpful when I needed you! Will be back with the hubby next! July 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT SUSHI Sushi chef Leonard is a great chef and a great guy! Best sushi in the county. Great pool and pool area. Ice cold A/C in the room. The only con is that there is nothing really within walking distance. No sidewalks. July 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good, respectful, and friendly service - Caring staff The location and flexible parking facility made our visit to the Zoo, Sea World, and the beach easy. We had no problems whatsoever in planning these visitations from this hotel. The staff was very service oriented and helpful. Evening dining was lacking in quality, freshness, and flavor. Meals during this time did not match the standards of the rest of the facility. Service was good but food was lacking. July 22, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Can't wait to go back! As far as the hotel-travel experience goes, we found the Crowne Plaza San Diego TOPS in all categories. Reception, restaurant, lounge & housekeeping staff all rated highly. Over-sized guest room was attractive and very comfortable. Convenience to downtown & wharf attractions, as well as the mall, was a huge plus. July 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Like being in Hawaii We stayed at this property for a family wedding. The staff was extremely nice from the time we checked in through check out. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The only hiccup we had was that the A/C while putting out some cool air really didn't seem to keep the room as cool as we would have liked for sleeping. The one thing that could make the rooms better would be to have small refrigerators in them instead of all the huge closets. July 20, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Entry key problems We had a party of six including children and grandparents. We reserved two hotel rooms for two nights each last Saturday. We called ahead to let the hotel know we would be arriving late. After a long day driving, we finally arrived at the hotel around midnight. Everyone was very tired and looked forward to a good night's sleep. We were assigned rooms on the high floor (6th floor) away from the noise, as requested. However, upon arriving at our rooms, we found that none of the six keys total for the two rooms worked. We were not able to open either of the two doors. A call to the front desk and 20 minutes later, a security guard came with a new set of keys. None of them worked either. Another call to the front desk, and we were told a maintenance person would be on their way. A good 20+ minutes later, a maintenance person showed up and re-programed the two doors and we were able to finally get inside the rooms. It was well past 1 am, and we had been standing outside of the rooms for at least 45 minutes. I can understand an occasional glitch, but we had the same problem with both rooms. I can also accept a 15 minute wait for the problem to be resolved, but unfortunately it took over 45 minutes, in the middle of the night. While we were waiting, we asked to be assigned to other rooms but were told there were no two other rooms near each other. Because we had both young kids and grandparents in our group, we decided it was important to stay close by. Other than the door problems, the hotel itself was fine. There were quite a lot of people at the bar near the front desk when we arrived at midnight. There were a lot of people by the pool the next morning. The room and grounds were acceptable. I would rate this a 3 1/2 star, not a four star hotel. July 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Four Night Stay The Hotel Staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is rather dated and the initial impression is that it is "dated". The walls are thin and you can hear neighbouring rooms and water pipes. Lots of families stay there during the summer so be prepared for kids at the pool. If you are coming for work/business you may want a room that does not face the pool. July 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff , rooms, and food were great! We stayed for a week. Our room was very comfortable, the grounds were beautiful, and the sushi was incredible!! The location was convenient for getting to area attractions. I would highly recommend this property! July 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego, CA Great hotel. Could use more TV channels and the sink was running a little slow but overall a very nice stay. July 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Great staff to work with. Helped us out with all questions and concerns. July 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good experience My family started our 9 day California trip with a stop in San Diego and a stay here. It was a nice spot, not exceptional but a clean and comfortable stay. Nice pool and hot tub area and overall a good stay. July 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by loved the service There were 27 of us in town 4th of July weekend for a memorial service and the staff was wonderful. The courtesy drivers and the complimentary shuttle bus to Old Town and the trolley was unbelievably accommodating – you guys rock, thank you. I read some of the other reviews, the room was clean, the a/c was fine. The bathroom is a little dated and the tub is peeling, but we would stay there again, and so would the rest of the family. July 14, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Crown Plaza San Diego Breakfast should be better. The staff also should be more responsive to the requests of the gests. I may stay in the future if they improve their service. I requested room with view when I made the reservation. They could not keep their promise. July 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by improve water bottles in the rooms, improve the clean on floor rooms July 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service The staff was wonderful and so friendly. The room was large and I loved the decor. I enjoyed the heated pool very much,; it was so relaxing. My room was very clean and Irma from Housekeeping is a real gem. She loves her job and cares a great deal about the guests making sure all needs are met. I loved the amenities in my room I had a very relaxing stay and would stay here again. July 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Hotel We really liked the ambiance of the hotel. It was very clean and our room was well cared for by the staff. The pool was very nice and the kids loved it! Towels available at the pool were a nice amenity. Staff at the desk were very nice. Only downside was no ink in the printer at the time we wanted to print our boarding passes. Also, the automatic setting on the air conditioning in the room did not work, so it was "on" or nothing. We loved the balcony attached to our room. The courtyard was a very nice place to enjoy a meal with waterfall and jungle like setting and wonderful San Diego outdoor weather! We had a very nice stay here and slept comfortably. July 10, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by great pool area loved the pool area and had great sushi at the bar..had breakfast at islands they were busy so it got a little backed up at buffet.. had issues with the air conditioner in our room with leaking water twice.. the staff did switch us to different room at 1 am and comped our room though.. would come back to hotel..hopefully the air will be colder and work properly July 10, 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 14 next>>
Driveway Entrance
Driveway Entrance
Select to close.
Driveway Entrance Holiday Inn Express Hotel 1 mile from Sea World San Diego-Exterior Your entire family will enjoy free breakfast, parking, & internet! Warm, friendly smiles greet you upon entering our lobby! Splash! and Relax! at our kid friendly outdoor pool! Family friendly rooms perfect for your next vacation! Enjoy the fresh air at our 100% non-smoking hotel! ...close to San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Downtown, Point Loma Our knowledgeable staff will help you plan your San Diego vacation Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Anywhere Check-In is a simple process that will help you start enjoying your travel earlier.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-21-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-22-2014)
Check Availability
Loading