• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-27-2014)
(e.g. Aug-28-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: SAN DIEGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 4.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Tagalog

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Sorry, with the exception of service animals, we do not accept pets. Pet fees of US50.00 per day will apply if we find out the guest have pets in the guestroom.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Sea World San Diego
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Ocean Beach
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
Old Town
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
USS Midway Museum
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:61
  • Car Parking Available
  • COMPLIMENTARY PARKING in our GARAGE!

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2010
  • Total number of rooms:70
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:70
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:68
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:CA0902

Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego - SeaWorld! And what a smart choice it is! The Holiday Inn Express San Diego - SeaWorld Hotel is the perfect solution for families and business travelers alike. Our proximity to all the world-class destinations the city is famous for - less than 1 mile from SeaWorld, 5 miles to San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, downtown San Diego, San Diego Old Town and the San Diego Waterfront - makes this an ideal location for seeing all our beautiful city has to
View More

Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego - SeaWorld! And what a smart choice it is! The Holiday Inn Express San Diego - SeaWorld Hotel is the perfect solution for families and business travelers alike. Our proximity to all the world-class destinations the city is famous for - less than 1 mile from SeaWorld, 5 miles to San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, downtown San Diego, San Diego Old Town and the San Diego Waterfront - makes this an ideal location for seeing all our beautiful city has to offer.

Convenience is the name of the game when you are just a short drive from the San Diego Airport, Marine Corps Recruit Depot (MCRD) and close to many local companies like Lockheed Martin, CSC, SAIC, CACI, EDS, and SPAWAR.

Hotel features include complimentary hot full breakfast buffet, free local phone calls, free high-speed wireless Internet, flat screen TVs, outdoor heated pool and whirlpool, and on-site guest laundry.

Visit beautiful San Diego and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego-SeaWorld Area.

We are a 100% non-smoking property!

View Less
Features
Our Express Start Breakfast!

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 316 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excelente Una opcion de descando y shopping valedera, muy bien atendidos, relacion precio servicio (restaurant) Excelente, recomendable en todo sentido May 21, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by ROOM AND THINGS IT WORKED OUT WITH LOTS OF THINGS CLOSE BY. VERY NICE HAVING FREE SHUTTLE SERVICE TO SOME PLACES ROOM SIZE WITH PLENTY OF CLOSET SPACE May 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great view spacious room very clean The rates were great and the room was very spacious and clean we had a balcony over looking the pool and had a great breakfast in the morning I will deffinatly recommend this hotel May 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding Customer Service During a recent stay, as a member of the staff for a large reunion group onsite, I cannot express our gratitude and applauds for the excellent job staff did in accommodating every request/need in a timely and responsive manner. Also, ALL staff were consistently pleasant and ready to assist with any need. Many (i.e. van drivers) went above and beyond expectations! Kudos on a job well done. Please share our appreciation with staff (4/29/14-5/5/14). May 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great staff, great experience overall Everyone, even passing me in the corridor, was cheerful, helpful, and made my stay memorable. May 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff and great service Everything was great except the room air conditioning. Staff was exceptional. May 14, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Bad room. Heating did not work. Staff took forever to fix while my kids were cold. Old property. Needs a lot of improvement. Room balcony opened to a wall. May 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by ASAA seminar stay... Love the venue, love the location ( the beach would've been better, but probably much more expensive! ) enjoyed the weather and the courtyard and pool. The room where we had the convention was a bit colder than it should have been, but eventually that got straightened out. If I have one complaint, it would be that the breakfast buffet, ( we had vouchers! ) is pretty much the same. My stay was about a week and so, it got a bit boring after a few days. That's it... May 8, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Discomfort Everything was good except the air-conditioning system. When I arrived the room was naturally hot since no one had been in the room. I turned the air conditioner on low and left to register for my conference. When I arrived back to my room it was almost 90 degrees. I called for room maintenance and they came right up and "fixed" the system. About 3:00 a,m. I could hang meat in the room it was so cold. I again asked to have maintenance fix the system because no matter what I did, I could not turn the system off or turn the temperature down. I did not find any relief no matter how many times I asked the staff to correct the problem. I finally had to place pillows and an ironing board in front of the air-conditioner to try and stop the system form freezing me out. I was glad to leave after 3 days. May 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent experance room great, food good, amenities excellent, ease of navigating property was excellent. May 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel The hotel was a good value and although it is not one of the newer hotels it is well kept and clean. The food was great in in each of the restaurants that we eat at and the pool was perfect. The staff was friendly and helpful, I would stay here again. May 7, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by not a good hotel to stay sink drainage clogged one side. door lock to the bath room Broken. found some watermelon seed on the floor. bathroom seat not in align position (someone fix it but the formation is not straight against the wall..the structures looks old. floor have water mark. April 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Best Pillows Ever!!! The pillows were great and the room was very clean. It is certainly a place that I will recommend to friends and family. I do suggest that the complementary shampoo is changed or bring your own. It smells very antiseptic, almost Lysol-like. Terrible smell to walk around smelling all day. And, the sheets are not soft, almost like paper. But, those are small issues that can be overcome. April 6, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Meh I booked Crown Plaza Mission Valley for two reasons: 1) I had great past experiences with Crowne Plaze, in terms of decor, comfort and amenities. 2) The location of this particular Crowne Plaza was quite convenient for the purpose of my trip - attending a funeral. I booked this one night stay with points and therefore do not know how much the nightly rate is, further more, I am an IHG Platinum so I believe my experience was different from other non-IHGers. As an IHG platinum, I got - upgraded from a standard room (what I booked) to a deluxe sized room. A nice gesture and recognition of my status, but given its for one night, it didn't matter to me much how much 'space' I had for those few hours I was in the hotel room. - parking fee of $12 was waived. I scoured reviews by other IHG platinum before booking this hotel to make sure that is one of the platinum perks as paying for $12 parking in San Diego seemed a bit ridiculous to me as this location is not downtown or urban. - buffet breakfast voucher for 2 were provided. Not sure how much their breakfast buffet is, but their All American breakfast was priced at $13.95 I believe. I would not pay $$ for breakfast buffet or All American breakfast as the food is at best standard and in comparison to other Crowne Plaza I've stayed at, their breakfast buffet is a bit sad. - The room was sufficient, however, their energy efficient bathroom light is a NUISANCE to say the least. It would turn off the lights if I am not moving about every 10 seconds! My husband had to march around the bathroom while I shower. When I put on my makeup i'd have to kick my legs about so it wouldn't turn off the lights. And the lighting is inadequate. - The room also need updating. It is very worn and old looking, completely not what I had expected from Crowne Plaza. My stay was pleasant, a free room with free parking and breakfast is always great. However, I would not have paid money for the stay or paid for parking or breakfast. So not sure if its really a great 'value' for paying guest. March 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love this property I have stayed at this hotel many many times and will do so again. I love it. The location is great and the price is reasonable for the area. You get a $5 coupon for every day that you skip housekeeping service. The sushi restaurant is really good. I do have a few complaints: 1) There is no airport shuttle, yet the airport is only 5 miles away. 2) The parking spaces are too narrow. There are empty spaces every night because spaces are too narrow and some cars drift over the line, making the next space unusable. And once you are parked in a spot, there is not a lot of room to open your doors. 3) The cable TV selection is rather sparse. FX, AMC and Comedy Central are noticeably absent. March 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Just do it. As a government traveler I don't always have the best accommodations but this place made up for it in every sense of the word “VALUE” Yes, it’s a bit dated but that’s why the well maintained grounds have such magnificent trees. The bar and restaurants are great and the entire staff is nothing but professional. There is nothing bad I can say and will always stay there when in San Diego. March 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A++ 5 STARS i stayed here for 3 nights and 4 days and everything was amazing the staff helped me with anything i needed and did it quick the room was perfect clean and just overall amazing i would recommended this place to anyone you will love your stay March 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great value and service; convenient area From reservations to follow up after stay regarding our statement, the staff was excellent all the way through. Even during the day when passing housekeeping staff, they offered smiles and friendly hellos. Yes, as some reviews indicated, the rooms are outdated but clean. Grounds were pretty and nice to have the feeling of a resort when staying for more than a couple of days. Hot tub very nice and clean; pool crystal clear. No strong odor of chorline. Fitness center clean and many choices of and workng equipment. When arriving, front desk person was very accomodating giving us upgrade because of our length of stay and sharing with us the club awards program to even save more during that stay as well as future stays in a kind and helpful way. Not overselling. The only slight discomforrt were the mattresses. They were too old, or soft, as the middle seem to go downward and movement could be felt. However, I would stay again and would recommend to others based on service, value and convenience to many of the San Diego attractions. March 8, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great shuttle service and friendly staff The shuttle staff was very nice and helpful.it would be very helpful if they offered shuttle to and from airport. Our room was ok, had that old musty smell to it. The freeway is close so we could hear traffic all night. March 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great service and amenities this was a great property and the staff was very much interested in promoting the value of the platinum elite benefits - which are fantastic. a nice centrally located property with great staff and would recommend this to anyone. March 7, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average and adequate Free internet for priority club was great. Just your average hotel good for the quick short stay. Only complaint was the "energy saving" light in the bathroom that would go off and send me into darkness in the middle of my shower. Kind of annoying. Staff are friendly and helpful. March 1, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not what I expected This was the fourth year in a row that I've stayed at this hotel and all the other times were just fine. This one did not meet my expectations. First, I didn't get the type of room I reserved, which wasn't the end of the world, but was very annoying. The room I did get was the annoying part. When you spend 4 nights somewhere, it really doesn't help to be placed in a room so close the highway traffic that you hear it constantly and don't get a lot of sleep. The ironic thing is that there was a sign posted in the hallway calling that area The Quiet Zone. Really? All the other rooms I've stayed in over the years were 1) what I reserved, and 2) pleasantly quiet. This was my worst stay here ever. And though the staff who work in The Islands are all wonderful, the menu could change year to year. It looked the same this year as before - and when you're a vegetarian, the menu is really limited. Staff at the front desk weren't rude, but they didn't go out of their way to be helpful, like they did in the past. All in all, a disappointing stay and I'm not sure if I'll be back next year when my conference is on. March 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful courtyard I enjoyed my stay, no problems at all. I found the establishment visually pleasing, and the eatery and bar were acceptable. February 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 great place Enjoyed my stay. Was quiet and relaxing for my down time between work. And meetings. February 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Employees The Staff were very pleasant and helpful. I had a co-worker come in in for our Convention and the front desk was very helpful getting a last minute room. THANK YOU very much, ALWAYS enjoy my stay at this location February 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Government Traveler Great place to stay as a Government Traveler and being on Aloha Club Member. Many perks during my stay. I will definitely stay there again. The only negative is the Highway noise that seems to come straight through the large sliding glass windows and other room’s door slamming shut. February 24, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Very out dated This facility was a nice facility but it was old and out dated. I literally though that I was staying in a room in the '90s. February 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Improvement Improvement needed in restaurant quality. For having such a nice facility and wonderful staff, I was disappointed by the lack of quality food prep. Upgrading is needed in this area. The food just was "so-so" at best. I was expecting a higher standard considering the high quality of everything else. February 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Expensive beer Loved the hotel but hated the liquor prices. $6.50 for a domestic lite beer. Come on guys......Also food was was subpar. February 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This Hotel Is Flawless I grew up in San Diego and moved out of state 19 years ago. I come to see my family and friends at least 4 times a year. We have stayed at more expensive hotels until I stayed at the Crowne Plaza for my 40th Class Reunion in 2012. Since then we have stayed at this hotel for many reasons. One of the biggest features is immediate freeway access where the hotel is centerly located to anywhere you want to go. Airport, Downtown, Mall 5 minutes, Beaches, Sea World, Zoo, 2 minutes to Old Town, is just 5 to 10 minutes away. The price is unbelievably low and the hotel is beautiful, clean, has excellent service, GREAT housekeeping, great restraunts and the Sushi Bar stays open till 1:00am! The grounds are filled with at least 12 waterfalls. There are ponds everywhere and tons of tropical plants. You feel like you're in the tropics! Great swimming pool too. Become a platnum rewards member and you get great perks at the hotel. February 8, 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 12 next>>
Driveway Entrance
Driveway Entrance
Select to close.
Driveway Entrance Holiday Inn Express Hotel 1 mile from Sea World San Diego-Exterior Your entire family will enjoy free breakfast, parking, & internet! Warm, friendly smiles greet you upon entering our lobby! Splash! and Relax! at our kid friendly outdoor pool! Family friendly rooms perfect for your next vacation! Enjoy the fresh air at our 100% non-smoking hotel! ...close to San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Downtown, Point Loma Our knowledgeable staff will help you plan your San Diego vacation Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-27-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-28-2014)
Check Availability
Loading