• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-26-2014)
(e.g. Jul-27-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: SAN DIEGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 4.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Tagalog

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Sorry, with the exception of service animals, we do not accept pets. Pet fees of US50.00 per day will apply if we find out the guest have pets in the guestroom.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Sea World San Diego
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Legoland
Distance From Hotel:30.0MI
Attraction:
USS Midway Museum
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
Seaport Village
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:61
  • Car Parking Available
  • COMPLIMENTARY PARKING in our GARAGE!

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2010
  • Total number of rooms:70
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:70
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:68
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:CA0902

Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego - SeaWorld! And what a smart choice it is! The Holiday Inn Express San Diego - SeaWorld Hotel is the perfect solution for families and business travelers alike. Our proximity to all the world-class destinations the city is famous for - less than 1 mile from SeaWorld, 5 miles to San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, downtown San Diego, San Diego Old Town and the San Diego Waterfront - makes this an ideal location for seeing all our beautiful city has to
View More

Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego - SeaWorld! And what a smart choice it is! The Holiday Inn Express San Diego - SeaWorld Hotel is the perfect solution for families and business travelers alike. Our proximity to all the world-class destinations the city is famous for - less than 1 mile from SeaWorld, 5 miles to San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, downtown San Diego, San Diego Old Town and the San Diego Waterfront - makes this an ideal location for seeing all our beautiful city has to offer.

Convenience is the name of the game when you are just a short drive from the San Diego Airport, Marine Corps Recruit Depot (MCRD) and close to many local companies like Lockheed Martin, CSC, SAIC, CACI, EDS, and SPAWAR.

Hotel features include complimentary hot full breakfast buffet, free local phone calls, free high-speed wireless Internet, flat screen TVs, outdoor heated pool and whirlpool, and on-site guest laundry.

Visit beautiful San Diego and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego-SeaWorld Area.

We are a 100% non-smoking property!

View Less
Features
Our Express Start Breakfast!

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 277 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice hotel It is my first experience in a Crown Plaza Hotel and I am very pleased with the experience. knowledgeable staff and comfortable accomodations, excellent location too January 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room but some problems The room was fine, clean, and comfortable. But there should not an extra twelve dollar fee to park, as the hotel is not in a big city and everyone needs a car. Also the breakfast buffet was poor. It was not hot, the fruit was primarily canned and no bagels, etc. I would not stay there again. December 29, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Smokey Room / Staff puts you there anyway! My in-laws booked a suite with the two adjoining rooms so they and my family could all be together. The living room and their room were fine, however the other adjoined room which my wife, kids and I were to stay in had a very strong smoke smell. The room was to be a non-smoking room and when I checked in the women checking us in made sure I initialed the non-smoking/$275 cleaning fee line of the agreement. I realize the hotel can't always control what other guests do, but what is the $275 fee for if they aren't going to fix the smoke in a room after a smoking guest? I went down and asked for a new room which I received, however it of course was no longer adjoined. We were now unable to fully enjoy the suite or be together with our whole family. This was VERY disappointing. The most troubling part is that the smokey room was again occupied within 15 minutes of us moving out, meaning the hotel staff put a non-smoking guest in a room I just told them had a problem, without doing anything about it. I can only assume they knew the room was smokey when they put me and my 5 year, 3 year, and 3 month old children in a room full of smoke! This is perhaps the poorest display of customer service I have experienced at a hotel, in that they showed a complete lack of caring for my family, and just hoped they could get away with providing a substandard room. If it had not been for my in-laws important weekend I would have demanded a refund and perhaps moved my family to another hotel. Needless to say Crown Plaza is not a facility I plan on returning to. You have many choices in the Mission Valley area, I would stay somewhere else! Perhaps I should rethink the whole IHG line of properties. My review ratings are based on initial room which in my opinion was uninhabitable. The second room's beds/comfort/value were acceptable although not adjoined to the suite we had booked. I've also been trying to write this review for a month, but this website is down all the time! December 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Property This is a good hotel that could be great with some updates. The rooms are old but good sized. The openness and lush landscaping of the property is a nice touch as well, again it could just use some updating. I enjoyed the hospitality suite with free food and drinks in the evening. The hotel was priced right and conveniently located near the freeway. The gym is not outstanding but one of the better ones that I've used at a hotel. December 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful stay The staff was very friendly and I was definitely taken care of as a platinum member. The room was very spacious and quiet, overlooking the pool and HIllcrest. Since the executive club is closed on weekends, I was given two free breakfast coupons for the restaurant downstairs. The location of the hotel is great, only about 5 minutes to downtown, Seaworld, or Balboa Park (zoo). The hotel also has a surprisingly good sushi restaurant which has a cocktail menu fitting for a tiki bar. I enjoyed the hotel's Hawaii theme as a nice change of pace from the monotony of so many hotels. It is true that the hotel is not new or ultra-modern, but I found kitschy design to be quite charming. They also have a very large pool, as well as various tiki statues and decorations all over. The price is an absolute steal, especially compared to many 'modern' hotels. I have stayed in many different hotels around San Diego, but this was one of the best experiences I have had. I will absolutely come here again. December 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Needs a refresh I have stayed here many times, the property is in a great location. It does have some short coming, the rooms are dated, the decore really needs an update. The lounge has a good continential breakfast, but the evening cocktail service is were this lounge shines. My last stay the food out was excellent, was just enough to hold you over until you got to dinner, the theme was italian. Once the rooms and some of the grounds been redone, this would be one great place..... December 6, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by 11 Trips in 25 Years Having stayed in this hotel some 11 times over the past 25 years this last trip shall be the last time. The service receive was absolutely sub-par for the and the food was only slightly better. The person (no name given) checked us in had the attitude of a superior being. She took a look down her nose for I was not dressed correctly when I signed in. In short this stay wiped all the good stays I previously have spent there. I would not recommend this establishment even to my worst enemy. December 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by LOST RESERVATION We booked this room through a group reservation with several conversations with the host. When we arrived we did not have a reservation in the system and did not bring my confirmation. I was however able to show the multiple calls over the last two months with the Hotel and the front desk honored the group rate and got us a room. Nice job by your front desk to manage the issue I wish I had retained the name of the gentleman that assisted us. December 3, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Would not stay here ever again I chose to stay at this hotel based on the beautiful pics I saw on the website. Bad choice. Indeed, the grounds are beautiful and lush and made me feel like I was in Hawaii. HOWEVER, the rooms were NOT. They were old and run down. My room had the faint smell of urine and my dad's room smelled like smoke (even though it was "non-smoking"). The bedspread was a weird rubbery texture, instead of soft or cuddly. When I took a shower, the tub filled with water even though it was not plugged by me. Needed a plumber badly. The neighbors in the room next door were unbelievable loud so we called the front desk around 11pm, but it seems nothing was ever done because the noise went until well after midnight. There were a lot of spiders in our rooms (the price we paid for the beautiful landscaping, I guess). And finally, upon check-out, when I expected someone to ask us how our stay was, the desk girl said nothing. Not "hope you enjoyed your stay" or "have a nice day". Nothing. So we went quietly; vowing NOT to return to this hotel ever again. December 1, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service, needs reno They were able to accommodate us with an early check-in...at 11am! Maybe I was lucky, but it worked out. Rooms were decent, a little old and could use a renovation. Bed sheets were stiff and felt like paper. Good location. November 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Old hotel, excellent service Front desk staff Adam is good. hotel is old but provide excellent service. only down side is short of elevator, always need to wait for a long time. however, really good deal for service, and location. November 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Felt like home away from home! We used this hotel as a base for our wedding guests, everyone was friendly, kind and understanding of all our needs. The hospitality suite was great, food was good and provided a much needed break on a busy day! Kudos to all on staff here and thank you very much! November 21, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good, the bad and the ugly I really hesitate to write this review. We had two extremes with this hotel - fantastic and awful. The fantastic part is that it is a very nice hotel, excellent location, and our experience at check in was fantastic. Adam who checked us in Saturday night was customer service at its finest. He made us feel important, greeted us, smiled, thanked us. He was perfect and I'd like every single customer service experience to be just like that. The room was great and we slept wonderful Saturday night. Then Sunday night happened. Around 5:30pm we there was a domestic dispute below us, very loud and very violent. We of course called guest services to let them know what was happening on their property. They assured us they would look into the problem. We thanked them and went out for dinner. Later that evening there was more noise and we tried to ignore it and go to sleep. At 10:30 I was startled out of a deep sleep by VERY loud VERY VERY VIOLENT disturbance going on. Seriously, like nothing I've heard or want to hear ever again. This is not the things of legitimate hotel guests. We of course called guest services again who assured us they would check out the problem. The ruckus didn't stop throughout the night. My husband did not sleep a wink the entire night - which made for a great Monday. I'm not sure why we didn't call 911 when we heard the violence. That is our bad and we won't let that happen again. At 3;30am more people came to the room to join the " party " . We left shortly after that. Yes, we basically fled our hotel room in the middle of the night. I did call guest services on Tuesday after we returned from our vacation and spoke with Michelle who apologized and said she would talk to her manager about the situation. I left my number in case the manager wanted to speak with me. I have not heard from them. I do hope that this was a one time occurrence at this hotel. It is a very nice property. Unfortunately, the stay was ruined for us and our daughter can not unhear the things we heard that evening. - wishing I had those reward points back :( November 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Excelente stay Very good and pleasant experience to stay,relaxing time and near to principal areas November 20, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Outdated The hotel is outdated, the lobby is nice, but the rooms are and other parts of the hotel are very outdated. The hotel also has an odor! I didnt like the "motel room" feeling and the fact that the hotel is so OPEN. This hotel needs an EXTENSIVE makeover! November 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by better than I ever expected This hotel has been around for a long time, but they have done a very good job keeping it looking fresh and up dates. Conveniently located and priced right, this is a vrey good choice in the San Diego area. November 6, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Front Desk Care I booked an executive room and paid in advance. The room i booked was for a king bed. When i arrived at 4pm for check in (on time) i was told there were no executive level king rooms available. I said, uh, look at this EMAIL confirming my RESERVATION (did you need me to define the word RESERVE) for a KING EXECUTIVE LEVEL ROOM. You seemed to offer this in exchange for PREPAYING my room. I didn't understand how you can have no rooms left when that is WHY i prepaid in the first place. When i expressed my unhappiness and disappointment, your employee, said, what do you want me to do about it, it was an upgrade. No where on this website when i made my reservation did it say, we will give you a room and try and upgrade you but lets pretend you are going to get what you pay for. He offered to pay for our parking, but we had took a cab from the airport. When i tried to explain that he cut me off and said he had a king on the second floor, that's what i could take. I was so upset, but what other choice did i have? Way to go!!!! Never once did you try and accommodate us, or offer anything in return. I have stayed here once before with no problems, but i will not stay again. I regretted recommending this hotel to the friends we were with...good thing they did not request a king in their reservation, The only reason this got two stars was for the nice bartender and the house keeping staff who greeted us every time they saw us. You really need to remove that guy from the front desk. And make sure you accommodate people who PREPAY! Or state clearly that the only thing guaranteed is that you will charge my card. October 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Uncomfortable bed but great service Overall our stay was good, the rooms look good and are clean, but are dated and the bed need a lot more comfort. October 29, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Another nice stay We have been staying here for a few years now and have always enjoyed our visits. The desk clerk was nice enough to put us in a room away from the activities of the three reunions scheduled during our stay. The room was very nice with a view of the pool area. As always the room was clean and the bed was great. We have always enjoyed staying here. The location is convenient and it is a good value. October 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wedding mother My daughter and I stayed in room 1649 (Parlor room), so clean and comfortable. The Bride and I got a great night sleep and ready for her big day. The room size accommodated 10 of the girls needing to get ready for the wedding, including the makeup and hair stylist. We had room service the morning of the wedding; I have to say it was better than any other Resort or Hotel I have stayed at. The staff was very professional and happy to assist. Room service, Bellmen, restaurant staff, catering staff was all very helpful and professional. Crowne Plaza is a very safe and clean Resort would refer everyone that I come in contact with that is coming to San Diego. October 26, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Busn Trip This is an older hotel that is need of some serious updating. The staff was helpful. October 23, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Loud, all night neighbors Unfortunately, my stay there was marred by someone at the front desk placing a loud, young couple next to my room who talked and watched TV loudly all night long. In the morning, when they were asleep, I made sure to turn my TV up as loud as I could while I took a shower so they would experience what I did with them. I didn't call the hotel manager and should have but was just annoyed that it happened especially since I paid $139.00 for the room! But at least they didn't charge me parking (which is outrageous anyway!). I loved the other Holiday Inn Expresses I stayed at in Banning, Phoenix and Calexico (although this one had problems too). The best places were the Banning and Phoenix HIE. October 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Retreat - Close to Everything! This hotel was the last (and most pleasant) stop on our honeymoon. After 9 days spent in 7 different hotels, the Crowne Plaza Mission Valley was a very welcome, happy ending! Everything was great, and the staff were generally helpful. The only constructive criticism we have to offer is to encourage the check-in staff to be more genuine when thanking guests for being loyal IHG Rewards Club members. October 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Reunion Great place for our reunion. Room was quiet and pleasant. Staff very attentive to our needs. Easy to get around town from this location. October 13, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not up to Crowne Plaza standards Very disappointing. Tired, dark, property. Extremely surprised by this Crowne Plaza. I wish I booked another hotel. I won't stay there again no matter what the price. October 10, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by overall experience arrived 10/4/13 - room smell so bad that we asked for a change....moved to another room, larger, queen murphy bed...very uncomfortable, cigar smoke from outside smoker....10/5 moved to another room 2nd floor ...great! Also charged $80.00 on my debit card......we had no additional charges...why card is charged prior to receiving any incidential from hotel????? Waiting at table for 21 minutes, had to go get server to take our order...cafe was not busy....food overcharged, bad, bad, bad. Have stayed there several times, love hotel and location....terrible experience this last visit. Maid serves great, very pleasant, helpful. October 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great host for our event The Crowne Plaza was a great host for our Marine Basic School class reunion. I like how you specialize in military reunions. The catered banquet and party room were excellent. The San Diego ambience was wonderful...cool and green. The staff had the right answer for all questions. October 8, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Maybe good for a family vacation I'm in San Diego on business often and usually stay at the Holiday Inn - Miramar. This was closer to my meetings, but I wish I had just driven the extra distance. The highway noise made for three miserable nights of sleep - from motorcycles screaming by to trucks down-shifting. The hotel has an Hawaiian theme, which must per-date it being a Crowne Plaza. On my last night there, there was a luau on the property right below my room that was deafening until 9 pm. Never again. October 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Cowboys game weekend My boyfriend and I stayed here the weekend the cowboys played the chargers. I had reserved a king size room and when I got there they had told me they weren't available for our first night but were for our second night. We still had a king size im gonna go to bed now babe it was just their "compact" room. Basically it was just smaller. We were surprised to find the room was still nice though, by the end of the night we just decided to stay in the initial compact room because it was nice then we had expected and just as comfortable as if we'd be in another room. Everything was clean and the im gonna go to bed now babe was comfortable. Oh and the pillows were amazing! They stayed fluffy no matter how long I laid on them. Overall will gladly come back to this hotel in the future. October 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect location This hotel is centrally located for Balboa Park, Sea World, and a visit to the US Midway. The staff are so friendly and helpful from Thomas at the front desk to Bill and Roberto in the restaurant. We used their shuttle service to visit Old Town, perfect. The amenities were very clean, the only disappointment was the presentation of the food and quality. Having stayed at other Crowne Plazas this one needs a little help in the kitchen. Overall, I would definitely revisit. October 3, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 10 next>>
Driveway Entrance
Driveway Entrance
Select to close.
Driveway Entrance Holiday Inn Express Hotel 1 mile from Sea World San Diego-Exterior Your entire family will enjoy free breakfast, parking, & internet! Warm, friendly smiles greet you upon entering our lobby! Splash! and Relax! at our kid friendly outdoor pool! Family friendly rooms perfect for your next vacation! Enjoy the fresh air at our 100% non-smoking hotel! ...close to San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Downtown, Point Loma Our knowledgeable staff will help you plan your San Diego vacation Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-26-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-27-2014)
Check Availability
Loading