• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-23-2014)
(e.g. Aug-24-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: SAN DIEGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 4.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Tagalog

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Sorry, with the exception of service animals, we do not accept pets. Pet fees of US50.00 per day will apply if we find out the guest have pets in the guestroom.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Sea World San Diego
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Ocean Beach
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
Old Town
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
USS Midway Museum
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:61
  • Car Parking Available
  • COMPLIMENTARY PARKING in our GARAGE!

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2010
  • Total number of rooms:70
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:70
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:68
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:CA0902

Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego - SeaWorld! And what a smart choice it is! The Holiday Inn Express San Diego - SeaWorld Hotel is the perfect solution for families and business travelers alike. Our proximity to all the world-class destinations the city is famous for - less than 1 mile from SeaWorld, 5 miles to San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, downtown San Diego, San Diego Old Town and the San Diego Waterfront - makes this an ideal location for seeing all our beautiful city has to
View More

Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego - SeaWorld! And what a smart choice it is! The Holiday Inn Express San Diego - SeaWorld Hotel is the perfect solution for families and business travelers alike. Our proximity to all the world-class destinations the city is famous for - less than 1 mile from SeaWorld, 5 miles to San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, downtown San Diego, San Diego Old Town and the San Diego Waterfront - makes this an ideal location for seeing all our beautiful city has to offer.

Convenience is the name of the game when you are just a short drive from the San Diego Airport, Marine Corps Recruit Depot (MCRD) and close to many local companies like Lockheed Martin, CSC, SAIC, CACI, EDS, and SPAWAR.

Hotel features include complimentary hot full breakfast buffet, free local phone calls, free high-speed wireless Internet, flat screen TVs, outdoor heated pool and whirlpool, and on-site guest laundry.

Visit beautiful San Diego and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego-SeaWorld Area.

We are a 100% non-smoking property!

View Less
Features
Our Express Start Breakfast!

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 231 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Short visit Overall I had a good experience. Checking in was easy however there was some issue with the key card which forced me to have to go back down to the front desk twice. I arrived at around 11pm and was greeted well but when I got to my room to open the door the key didn't work. I had to go back down stairs get a new key, then when I briefly stepped out to grab a bucket of ice I was locked out of my room a second time. I was a bit frustrated because I was in my pj's and couldn't get in my room. After going back down a second time because of key issues the front desk was great about addressing the problem and gave me a complementary goody bag which I appreciated. When I got back upstairs to my room again the key continued to give me trouble but after the 6th or 7th time of trying the key finally worked. Overall the experience was positive and the variety of options for breakfast the following morning was great! October 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great people and a nice hotel We stayed here for 4 nights and it was a great experience. The staff was very helpful and always friendly. The bed was great! The hotel is very central and we walked to balboa park, the coaster( train station) and the trolley stops. Also walked down to Gaslamp district. We didn't need a car at all. All in all a great experience. October 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by clean and good breakfast Polite and courteous staff. The room and common areas were clean. Breakfast was good. Would stay again if in the area. October 3, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Needs Cleaning and Hidden Charge Surprise We chose this hotel because normally Holiday Inn offers consistent, clean properties. Not in this case. While conveniently located near Balboa Park, the hotel is old and not kept clean. The carpets are dirty, paint is peeling off doors, and the bathrooms are the size of the tiny ones you find on cruise ships. We looked on-line at a competing hotel but chose this one because the other had a resort fee and a parking fee. We thought the Holiday Inn had free parking, but were dismayed to find they charge $16 to park in a private garage. That would have been OK if it had been disclosed on the initial booking web page, but it was hidden in the "site info" drop down menu, and in fine print in the booking confirmation e-mail. In other words, we found out after we booked the room. A walk-in guest was quoted a rate $20 cheaper than our reserved rate. I asked for and received a comparable rate for the first night only. Overall, we were very disappointed with our stay. We did not receive good value and paid some comparatively expensive nightly rates for a Holiday Inn. I would not recommend this hotel. October 3, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Staff a little TOO relaxed There are a number of instances of this TOO relaxed attitude but the most annoying was this: I approached the front desk the evening before my flight. I told them I wanted to leave at 10:30 am. The response - no problem. When I went to the front desk at 9:45 and told them I needed to catch the 10:30 shuttle - response - driver takes his lunch then - result - I was toast and not offered an alternative Bad service - very very bad October 2, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Mediocre Hotel, OK for a Quick and Cheap Stay We came here for 2 nights for my friend's wedding. The price was cheap so you get what you pay for. The pros: The beds were comfortable. It was nice to have a balcony. Friendly staff. The cons: The bathroom on the other hand was the size of a closet. The security guard was rude. The breakfast was terrible. Rooms and common areas were old. Furniture needed updating. October 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Thank you San Diego The location of the hotel is central to just about everything. With the free shuttle to some of the most popular places, my husband and I did not have to rent a car. The room was spacious and comfortable but the bathroom was a bit small. The staff was amazing! They were warm and welcoming. Thank you for your hospitality! September 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Not new but very nice. We only got to spend one night in San Diego and all we really wanted was a good nights sleep. After dinner in Little Italy we found our way back to the hotel and crawled into a very comfy bed, watched a little TV in HD (nice). The room was very nice and clean with a good shower, all we really ask when staying for one or two nights. Oh, the Free Happy Hour was a very nice touch and the staff very friendly. Will definitely stay again if we are lucky enough to get back to San Diego. September 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by LOVED IT!!!! Excellent accommodations and fabulous staff! And the airport shuttle was right on time. September 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Huge rooms good price We got a huge room with a living area and couch for the TV. This was the standard king room, but it was one of the corner rooms and we could not have been happier with it! Windows all around and lot's of space for our whole group to meet up together before we went out. Service was very good, and the overall building is really nice for such a cheap hotel. Others pros are free wifi,12pm checkout time, and good location near gaslamp district. September 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Better than expected Booked Holiday Inn Express because it was cheap and had complimentary shuttle service to San Diego airport. Wasn't expecting much just a clean room to stay a quick night, boy was I pleasantly surprised. We arrived early and instead of making us wait 2 hours to check in the extremely helpful clerk upgraded us for free to an available suit. The room was big and clean with great A/C. There's also terrific views of San Diego from almost every room due to the fact that the hotel is situated on a bit of a hill esp at night. 10 min walk to the Gaslamp district and maybe 20-30 min walk to the harbor. Didn't try breakfast or use the pool, but for the price this hotel really couldn't be better, esp if you're flying out in the morning. September 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Marine Graduation Stayed at hotel to attend grandson's graduation from the Marine's, ten minute drive to the graduation site. Staff very friendly and attentive. Bar with complimentary beer, wine and soda was a nice touch, as was lemonade in lobby. Breakfast buffet good, not enough healthy choices outside of cereal. Egg white omeletes or scrambled eggs might be appreciate by some. Only downside was another guest that had Tourette's (I think) and was distruptive. Staff handle situation well. September 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great for ParkNFly and super hospitality. Great downtown location. Free shuttle to airport. ParkNFly option!! The staff couldn't do enough for us and to make our stay easy . The rooms are just average. Very dated. The bathroom feels straight out of the 1960's. September 8, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Bad Experience On August 25, 2013, I waited at the airport for the hotel shuttle for more than an hour. I called the hotel receptionist as soon as I picked up my luggage at 2035 hours. I called again in 45 minutes and the shuttle finally arrived at 2140 hours. This is not acceptable. September 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great friendly staff Great welcome staff very helpful, shuttle van to 5-6 areas is a great idea as the location may put people off as hotel is on a very steep road and this van takes you to these spots every hour. The pool was a welcome surprise as I hadn't noticed this when I booked as the days were very hot and a great place to cool down. The local trams are also great value for money buy a day ticket and you can ride them all day. The room I had also had a balcony and city view to die for. This hotel was recommended to me and I'm happy they did would recommend if asked. September 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel The staff here is very friendly and everything is clean. The location is very nice, walkable to everything downtown San Diego. Please be aware that the parking garage is VERY tight and do not bring a large SUV. It's very hard to negotiate the turns in the garage. We estimate that we had about an inch on either side of the car trying to get around the turns. August 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing Hotel The hotel service was second to none. I coach at Minot State University and travel all over. The staff at this hotel is one of the best I have ever encountered. Thank you for a awesome experience. August 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by EXCELLENT SERVICE THE HOTEL HAD EXCELLENT SERVICE THE STAFF WAS GREAT THE FRONT DESK PERSON WAS EXCELLENT!!!! HOWEVER THE PARKING IS TERREBLE. August 19, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by HORRIBLE!!! Our room was SUPER HOT....air cond't didn't work well r the unit was too small and old for the size of the room. The workers had to bring us a floor fan because all the other rooms were booked and it was still hot! The bathroom was also rediculously tiny...only 1 person could be in there at a time and even then it was cramped. Go elsewhere! Run, DON'T walk :) August 19, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Avoid this Holiday Inn Express First let me start by saying that I'm a regular IHG member and I always choose to stay at Holiday Inn Expresses due to the value, the comfort, staff and ease of the properties. Oh how I was wrong this time. On arrival I was greeted by a seldom looking woman really with no interest what so ever, Ok we all have bad days. Next went to the room yes its an old property but clean and tidy, after approx. 30 minutes in the room I decide to go back down to the car to retrieve my luggage (now I'm travelling with my mother and Aunt both middle aged# parking station is located under the property for a daily fee something I was not aware of, after returning to the room my swipe key wont work.. I go back downstairs as we have all gone to the car to get the luggage as we have a lot due to travelling for 6 weeks, so now I have my mother and aunt standing at the room door with 5 bags while I go back downstairs to get the key sorted. at the front desk same woman I explain the issue she says oh really! then proceeds to advise that the machine that encrypts the keys has been removed for work so name way of making a new key!!! can you believe this its right on 4pm a heavy check in time!! Yes there are x2 other party's checking #but sorry no room key you will need to wait# I'm told it will be 20 minutes. After 15 I return to the front desk as this enough we have driven from Las Vegas we are tired, would simply like to freshen up and go and have some dinner and look around San Diego a bit its our first time to this city. I then find a duty manager on the desk a very pleasant young man who explains yes that the machine has failed however he will return with me to let me in. we finally get into our room and then decide to go for some dinner this is 30-40 minutes later #still no new room keys# we go for dinner. on return approx. 90 minutes later we asked the front desk for the keys we are given them and go upstairs guess what the keys don't work!!! I venture back down stairs advise the duty manager he is apologetic and returns with me and sees that there does appear to a issue with the door and keys. we get in finally. Next day I'm down the street grabbing some drinks etc my mother and aunt are in the room. they leave the door un latched as yes we are still having issues with the key work #however they are in the room# my mother is behind the door where the luggage rack is sorting some items in her case when a young man and woman decide to push the door open as prank not only knocking her but scaring her my mother gives them some of her mind in fear and closes the door. we report this to the duty manager he comes to the room and apologies and will report this to this to the security guard #who I will add stands at the front desk talking to the staff) not much guarding happening. to cut the story short we locate the property ambassador during a breakfast one morning and explain to her what has been happening she is very accommodating and we are finally moved to another room half way through our stay. long story short I would not recommend this hotel. August 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This is a nice one OK. It's supposed to be economic, and maybe lacking a few features, but not this one. Staff is willing to help, very friendly. Breakfast is just OK, it does the job, no complains. Rooms are neat, clean, and comfortable. Everything works and you can really relax. Having a small fridge makes it versatile. Bathroom is small, but clean. If you missed something just call any member of the staff, they will help you. Parking is small, but does the job. Overall, I will recommend this one in the San Diego Area, it's better (by far) than others with more name. August 16, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by good value but parking situation is horrific! location is nice. close to downtown, seaport village, convention center and gaslamp village. rooms are adequate, lounge area near front desk and patio area are very nice! Breakfast choices are very good also. A particular staff member was very obnoxious. She yelled my name and announced I was a gold member to everyone the first morning I went down to breakfast which I found annoying and quite unnecessary. She also was very loud in the breakfast room when everyone was enjoying their breakfast, she was yelling at kids 'what do you wanna be when you grow up? do you want to watch cartoons? Who wants to watch cartoons?' Again, very annoying! The next morning this same staff member insisted the doors going out to the patio be open after we had closed them because of cigarette smoke wafting in from the outside. She addressed my friend as 'sweetie' and said we could close one door. The parking situation is a nightmare! The parking garage has 100's of posts and clearance between the post is great only if you are driving a VW beetle! . August 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good service and clean place It was a good experience to use this hotel.l found it to be above my expectation.The warmness of the staff especially the ambassador was very good.i want to recommend it for anyone for its good service. August 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice staff and great location Great location! So convenient to everything. You do not need a car while staying at this location. There is a shuttle to/from the airport and other tourist attractions. Wonderful! The bathroom was extremely small - no real counter space for any toiletries. But, we weren't spending a lot of time in the room - so we managed. August 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREATEST HOSPITALITY MANY XEPTIONAL ISSUES WE EXPERIENCED AS A FAMILY DURING OUR 3 DAYS VACATION IN HOLIDAYS INN DDOWMTOWN SAN DIEGO; THE GENEROUS HAPPY HOUR INCLUDES FREE DRINKS AND SNAKES, SHATTLE SERVICE FROM THE HOTLE TO MANY TOURISM AREAS, AND FRIENDLY FRONT DISK STAFF. August 13, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Old hotel with horrible parking garage The parking garage is quite scary. It is extremely difficult to drive in it (having to back up multiple times to get around tight turns). One of the elevator banks in the garage was not working, and there was nothing directing you to another bank of elevators. We walked around and around until we found it. The room was quite worn out, but not dirty. The walls were scraped, and the carpet was worn. The bathroom is extremely small. The door will not open completely due to the toilet. The hallways were drab and uncomfortable. Housekeeping woke us up at 8 AM to clean the room... we couldn't get back to sleep, so we just left. The balcony is nice, but uncomfortably close to the pool. The view is amazing, and the location is decent. August 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The Perfect Place to Stay in San Diego This hotel has a perfect location just above the city center. The hotel has a terrace with a wonderful view. A small outdoor pool is great for relaxation from the city life. Parking is accessible by the elevator and access to and from the freeway is very easy. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in San Diego at the Downtown Holiday Inn. August 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable The experience was good over all, I'm just disappointed that they would charge for parking. I've never heard if such thing. parking should always be a complimentary thing and with a big chain duck as the holiday inn, it was a real disappointment. August 6, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by No shuttle and no breakfast There are a lot of reasonably priced accommodation choices around the San Diego airport but after some research online, by email, and by phone the Holiday Inn Express San Diego stood out because they offered a free airport shuttle and complimentary breakfast. This is a great deal if you are traveling with constantly hungry kids and are on a budget. We had an overnight layover with an early departure so I had some questions about breakfast arrangements. I was feeling pretty good after my email from Holiday Inn Express San Diego said in part "We can provide a breakfast bag to go around 5:00 a.m at your request as long as you make arrangements the day/nigt prior", and in another email, "there is absolutely no charge for the shuttle. It is a complimentary service that we provide to our guests. Breakfast bags are also complimentary. You can pick one up the evening before you depart, or the morning of. We do have someone at the desk 24 hours a day, so any time that works for you to pick one up, feel free to do so." There was no shuttle and no breakfast. July 2 -after the assurances of the earlier email I still called the front desk the day before we arrived and explained that we would be arriving at 8:35pm the following day and would like to use the complimentary shuttle for 4 people. The front desk said "no problem, just call us when you arrive". July 3 8:30pm -called front desk when we landed. The front desk said there was no driver so they could not provide a shuttle. They said they were "authorized" to reimburse up to $15 for a cab ride. A short negotiation with the cab driver got us an $18.50 flat rate and I rounded it up to $20 for hitting every green light through downtown San Diego. Not a big expense but frustrating after the emails and phone calls to confirm that we would have a shuttle. If you are left stranded at the airport and get the taxi rebate offer remember to get a receipt from your cab driver. July 3 9:30pm -there were no bag breakfasts available at that time but I was assured they did this all the time and there would be bag breakfasts available in the morning. I said that I would like to "make arrangements" per the email I had received but I was told it wasn't necessary. July 4 5:00am -from the front desk worker -"Jeez guys, it's been one of those mornings. I'm all out of breakfasts. Let me see if I can get anyone in the breakfast room." After holding the phone for a couple minutes he disappeared into the back and we waited the 15 minutes until the shuttle took us to the airport. At the airport the comparable to a bag breakfast for 4 ran just under $30. This property is OK and if they deliver on their promises it is an excellent value. In this situation there were other options that would have been a better value and nothing was worth the frustration of starting our vacation on this disappointing note. This hotel set the bar high and then walked right under it. August 4, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible hotel There was no shower towels in the restroom and they didn't have any available intill late morning. In addition our room was not made until after 5PM, not being able to rest in comfort. Also, the restroom was the so small you couldn't even spread out your belongings. In conclusion, the parking in the bottom was tiny that are SUV was hard to manipulate around the curves that the parking structure had. I wouldn't reccomended this hotel unless they had good rates. The price was high compared to what they had to offer. August 4, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 9 next>>
Driveway Entrance
Driveway Entrance
Select to close.
Driveway Entrance Holiday Inn Express Hotel 1 mile from Sea World San Diego-Exterior Your entire family will enjoy free breakfast, parking, & internet! Warm, friendly smiles greet you upon entering our lobby! Splash! and Relax! at our kid friendly outdoor pool! Family friendly rooms perfect for your next vacation! Enjoy the fresh air at our 100% non-smoking hotel! ...close to San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Downtown, Point Loma Our knowledgeable staff will help you plan your San Diego vacation Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-23-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-24-2014)
Check Availability
Loading