• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-12-2014)
(e.g. Jul-13-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: SAN DIEGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 4.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Tagalog

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Sorry, with the exception of service animals, we do not accept pets. Pet fees of US50.00 per day will apply if we find out the guest have pets in the guestroom.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Sea World San Diego
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Legoland
Distance From Hotel:30.0MI
Attraction:
USS Midway Museum
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
Seaport Village
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:61
  • Car Parking Available
  • COMPLIMENTARY PARKING in our GARAGE!

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2010
  • Total number of rooms:70
  • Total number of suites:2
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:70
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:68
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:CA0902

Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego - SeaWorld! And what a smart choice it is! The Holiday Inn Express San Diego - SeaWorld Hotel is the perfect solution for families and business travelers alike. Our proximity to all the world-class destinations the city is famous for - less than 1 mile from SeaWorld, 5 miles to San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, downtown San Diego, San Diego Old Town and the San Diego Waterfront - makes this an ideal location for seeing all our beautiful city has to
View More

Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego - SeaWorld! And what a smart choice it is! The Holiday Inn Express San Diego - SeaWorld Hotel is the perfect solution for families and business travelers alike. Our proximity to all the world-class destinations the city is famous for - less than 1 mile from SeaWorld, 5 miles to San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, downtown San Diego, San Diego Old Town and the San Diego Waterfront - makes this an ideal location for seeing all our beautiful city has to offer.

Convenience is the name of the game when you are just a short drive from the San Diego Airport, Marine Corps Recruit Depot (MCRD) and close to many local companies like Lockheed Martin, CSC, SAIC, CACI, EDS, and SPAWAR.

Hotel features include complimentary hot full breakfast buffet, free local phone calls, free high-speed wireless Internet, flat screen TVs, outdoor heated pool and whirlpool, and on-site guest laundry.

Visit beautiful San Diego and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego-SeaWorld Area.

We are a 100% non-smoking property!

View Less
Features
Our Express Start Breakfast!

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 308 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by No Help For TV I was at hotel for 10 days. After two days I was moved to new room. TV in new room did not Work correctly. Made about 4 requests to have it fixed but no one did anything. Also one lady at front desk seemed to have attitude. August 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice hotel We arrived way early for our check-in but the staff was very helpful in getting our rooms cleaned and ready in about an hour. Bravo!!! We were recognized as Priority Club Members with a gift bag of chips, granola bar and a bottle of water. Breakfast was good and there was a variety of food and beverages. I loved that we could get the hotel shuttle to and from the Zoo and Sea World. What a time and headache saver!! We walked to Old Town every night for dinner even though the hotel shuttle would've taken us and picked us up. My only minor criticism would be the number of flyers slipped under our door everyday advertising the same two restaurants. August 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by NICE LOCATION-OLD TOWN Had a great time in Old Town, lots to do and visited friends. Great Hotel, clean,location,clean room as always,great staff. Only bad thing is that the pool area is closed at 10 pm, other than this, enjoyed my stay at San Diego Airport-Old Town location. Would recommend it. August 22, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Alice I stayed in your facility on the 6th, 7th, and 8th of August on the freeway side. The road noise made sleeping impossible. We stayed in your facility when we returned to the continental US on the 16th and 17th of August. We would have stayed in a different place except I was told we would have rooms away from the freeway. However, when I returned, lo and behold, I did not get the rooms expected and got rooms on the freeway side again. August 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Your staff is the best! Our family came for Marine Boot Camp graduation. Your staff has the schedule down to an art. They knew more about where and when we needed to be at the depot than we did. They even have late check out on Friday for us. Completly worry free for us as the staff takes care of it all. They actually seem to enjoy their jobs.. True or not .. We certinally enjoyed their kind and detailed attention. A special thanks to our favorite shuttle drivers Alfonzo and his co-worker (wish I could remember his name). All 8 of us from South Dakota gives this place a 5star rating. Our new Marine thanks you for taking care of his family too. August 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place To Stay For Marine Corps Graduation! We recently stayed here for our son's Marine Corp Graduation. The staff was extremely helpful and the hotel was clean! They were very well aware of the graduation schedule and had everything well organized. They have a great shuttle service to many different area attractions as well! I would definitely recommend staying here! August 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Luv this hotel!! I stay here almost weekly,and the service and staff are amazing!! Kaylene,Ryan,Vangi,Jose & Sean are the best! I never have problems ever! Has refrigerator,microwave,great free breakfast,wouldnt go anywhere else!! August 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and Comfortable I stayed here in July for two nights and I'm going back next weekend to stay again for two nights. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff was pleasant. There were three adults in a two queen bed room. The room was a little small with all three us of but not a big deal. We heard no traffic noise but our room was on the street side not the freeway side. August 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quite room Based on a review I read, I asked for a room with a view of the airport. It also faced the freeway. But the noise level was not a problem because of double, double glassed windows. The air conditioner broke down with in two hrs. of our arrival. The maintenance staff came immediately and could not repair it so they replace the whole unit in about a 1/2 hour. August 17, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Horrible staff I was visiting on a buisness trip and needed some items sent to the hotel. The hotel never told me that my business packages arrived even though I inquired as was told that I would be notified when they arrived. I spent an entire business meeting without the materials that I needed. When I returned home and was finally able to get the delivery confirmation, I found out that the hotel had the materials and failed to notifiy me. When I called the hotel to request that the documents be sent back, I was met with a very unfriendly customer service person who said it wasn't her problem and that I had to handle all the arrangements and maybe I would get my documents back. My company is expanding their business to cover more of the California area and I can assure you that we will never use this hotel again. They are unprofessional and definately not worth the time of any business traveller. August 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location to Airport and Old Town I had read some previous reviews and they seemed to be positive. The staff was pleasant. Susie sticks in my mind for some reason, I think it was her bubbly personality when I was greeted. My room was ready, and clean. I have to admit, my room was on the freeway side and I was concerned about noise, but I never heard a sound. Old town ... loved it! Go hungry!!! Town was clean, merchants were friendly and you were greeted in every store you walk in. August 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Reservation Our reservation was not at the hotel and I am so glsd I called from the airport before our flight. The main customer service had to fix it because the person at the hotel desk just could not function! He like just shutdown, "ahhhh, well we don't have that reservstion" He should have been able to fix it right away with a different room, the place was NOT full. Also the water in the Handicapped bathroom went all over the floor. August 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by clean room and very comfortable bed My second stay at this location Just as good as first time. Only negative is the location to Old Town is too far for this old man to walk, lol. But very accommodating with shuttle. Dropped me off where I wanted to go and picked me up, at another location, very just 7 mins after I called. Staff was excellent andhuttle to airporst left6 on time Will stay here again on my nex trip to S.D. in 3 months. August 11, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Room for Improvement Upon entering our room, the carpet was wet, evidently from a recent cleaning. I didn't find this out until my shoes were off and my socks became saturated--not a good feeling while first arriving. Secondly, it would sure boost your reputation if some time and creativity was spent before displaying your breakfast. For instance, the eggs (omelet) looked and tasted artificial. Ditto the sausage patties. Surely for the number of people that go through your hotel, some semblance of nutritious and pleasing egg dish and sausage could be made and displayed. Sadly, your breakfast spread was no better than what you would see at a 7-11. You should be better than a fast food joint. Coffee was poor as well. Hope it improves. August 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect stay!! This was a great hotel. Close to so many sights. Very comfortable room. The breakfast was great! Definitely will stay there again!' August 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Definitely Would Recommend And Stay Here Again! We had a very quiet room, close to the entrance and breakfast room. Were cautious due to early risers for breakfast but were pleasantly pleased. Never heard a thing. Our room was located across from the airport and enjoyed watching the take-offs. They have a convenient little store inside if you are in need of snacks on your way out or in the hours the cafeteria is closed, And the breakfast was delicious, bacon, sausage, fruit, yogurt, boiled eggs, biscuits and gravy. Who couldn't find something to eat there? We walked to old town for dinner and back. Enjoyed our stay, didn't want to leave. August 7, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed, great breakfast, nice front desk staff The hotel is in a great location for easy access to all that San Diego has to offer. It is however right off of the highway, so best to try and get a room facing the 'quiet' side. Bonuses... complimentary breakfast, internet access & free parking. Great value for the price. August 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by convenience and comfort This is a well-run hotel with clean, attractive rooms and friendly service. This property is located next to the I-5 freeway, which could be an advantage (easy to get out and go) or a disadvantage (some freeway noise), depending on your needs. It was a good choice for us. The breakfast was a bit disappointing for a couple of reasons. One is that, unlike other HIE locations, there was no oatmeal. Another is that eating area is really inadequate for the number of rooms/guests. August 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Can't wait to make another visit! Our family can't say enough great things about our stay at this holiday inn express. From the moment we walked in to being able to grab snacks 24 hours... The room we were upgraded to made us want to forget about sightseeing and stay in! We LOVED it! Thank you again for such great service!!! We will be back! August 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing experience after hard day of work Everything was cool, the staff makes me fell like home August 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding Service Great location. Great service. We are repeat customers. They offer shuttle service but we walked to Old Town, less than a mile away. August 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by San Diego Trip All was pretty good, but would have liked a room away from the freeway instead of facing it. Would stay again. July 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Overall a very good place to come and stay with great customer service. July 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location and comfortable! We were very pleased with every aspect of our recent stay. The location to many attractions was excellent and all the staff was friendly and helpful. July 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service & excellent location We have been in this hotel in several occasions and we enjoy it, very good service and excellent location to a lot of attractions in San diego July 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Delicious breakfast and comfortable ed I enjoyed my second experience at the hotel. It's centrally located, the employees are pleasant and easy going. I recommend this to everyone who can afford a mid-tier/mid-range hotel near the old town. The old town has exceptional food and is fun. July 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The best 2 nights of an 18 day trip A great hotel, there was an interstate near by but we were on the other side so it was quiet and comfortable. The staff were very helpful with info and shuttle rides to various attractions. Over all a great experience. July 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Centrally located, clean and comfortable Clean, comfortable, relatively easy to find and get on and off the freeway. The air conditioning was not working correctly and was pretty loud, but bearable. The only real disappointment is the breakfast selection. Although this facility did have a pancake machine (La Jolla didn't) the selection is less than great. This seems to be a theme with HIE properties. July 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Stay We planned to spend 3 nights in San Diego and had booked at the San Diego Airport - Old Town based on the great rate and other reviews we had read. We were so pleased with this hotel that we extended our stay another 2 nights! The location of this property is exccellent. A short drive to many of the popular attractions and a 15 minute walk to the Old Town area. Or you can utilize the hotel's free shuttle van service to drop you off where you want to go and pick you up when you're done. We used the shuttle a couple of times, including to take the train downtown to see a concert at the marina. The hotel has free wifi, free secured parking, and free buffet style breakfast with the basic eggs, bacon or sausage, toast, pancakes, coffee, ceral, yogurt, etc. The breakfast wasn't the best we've had but it was sufficient. Another great benefit was the little convenience store located in the lobby. I expected the prices to be inflated but quite the opposite was true. The prices were excellent and very cheap. The property also has a small outdoor pool and hot tub. Both were clean and enjoyable. All in all, I would highly recommend staying at this location. We definitely will the next time we're in San Diego. July 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great deal and great service. We went to San Diego for a five day family vacation. The cost included free parking, shuttle service, ice box, microwave and breakfast. Location is close to various restaurants, Old Town San Diego, shopping mall, Sea World, museums, airport and zoo. Breakfast provided was exceptional: fruits, yogurts, eggs, sausage, cereals, muffins, pancake bagels and bread. Along with coffee, tea and juices. Not a lot of hotels provide these amenities and if they do they charge you extra. Our rooms looked over the freeway but was never bothered by the noise because it was insulated well enough. Great staff. So happy we stayed at this hotel during our trip. July 16, 2013
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 11 next>>
Driveway Entrance
Driveway Entrance
Select to close.
Driveway Entrance Holiday Inn Express Hotel 1 mile from Sea World San Diego-Exterior Your entire family will enjoy free breakfast, parking, & internet! Warm, friendly smiles greet you upon entering our lobby! Splash! and Relax! at our kid friendly outdoor pool! Family friendly rooms perfect for your next vacation! Enjoy the fresh air at our 100% non-smoking hotel! ...close to San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park, Downtown, Point Loma Our knowledgeable staff will help you plan your San Diego vacation Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-12-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-13-2014)
Check Availability
Loading