Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-03-2014)
(e.g. Sep-04-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 116 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyed our stay We really enjoyed our stay. The room was spotlessly clean, and the staff was exceptional. The entire staff was friendly and helpful. They made the stay very comfortable. I don't think I have ever stayed at a hotel with better staff. The pool is only big enough to get wet and cool off. Don't expect to swim. But the bed was extremely comfortable. You can't walk to Mission Beach unless you really want some exercise, but Mission Bay Park was close by. If you don't have a desire to stay right at the beach, this hotel is a great option. Easy access to the freeway to go anywhere you want. August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Couldn't have been more happy Wow. I've stayed at Holiday Inn Express in the past, but this location goes above and beyond. Room was very clean, bathroom was clean. Key card entry to get to room hallways made me feel very safe. Hotel was between car sales lots, which are quiet businesses, so no noise during the day or night. Breakfast was hot and delicious (Do not miss the biscuits and gravy. They rival any that I've paid good money for.) Breakfast items were freshened and stocked right up to the minute they closed the doors at 9:30. The staff was very friendly and every single staff member we passed at the desk, or in the hall always smiled and said hello. Housekeeping must have seen our kids clothes and toys, because the 2nd day they left extra soap and shampoo (so thoughtful!) Also, either we got really lucky, or the front desk staff is great at their job, because we have a toddler and they put us in a room right over the lobby so we didn't have to worry about his heavy running feet. (If you have active kids - Room 201 is great. End unit, above the lobby.) My only very minor complaint is that parking was really tight. The lot was always overcrowded when we arrived late at night, and the spaces are too narrow for vans and SUVs. There is decent parallel parking by their back wall, so not a huge problem, but it wasn't ideal. Overall, a fantastic hotel, and the only one I would ever consider when coming back to the San Diego area. August 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service Sleep comfort was fantastic, and the pillows were the best of any hotel i have stayed in. August 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by convenient location The positives first, the hotel is in a great location with easy access to I-5, the beaches, downtown, etc. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Our room was kept clean and the beds made daily even though we told the cleaning staff it wasn't necessary for them to do it every day. We only had the breakfast one morning but there was a good selection. The negatives, the bathroom is tiny and the rooms are dated. Also the pool is very small and parking is a little tight. However we knew all of this before making our reservations from reading reviews. That being said we would stay here again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others. August 6, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 In a pinch I would stay at this Hotel in a pinch; I did. My flight was diverted from Phoenix and then canceled in San Diego. I called the 800 number for help finding a Hotel room and the nice lady made me a reservation. The Hotel has a fresh look and the grounds were clean. I was greeted by a friendly face and quickly checked into my room. The room was narrow and felt cramped, giving little space to park my baggage, and the AC stopped working after 10 minutes leaving me to sweat all night. Sound was transmitted loudly into the room from the rude guests partying all night in the halls; foot steps, doors slamming shut, etc. Next morning I went for a walk through the blighted neighborhood which had nothing to offer in restaurants or lounges. However you are close to a bay and could rent a boat or jetski and forget about what was lacking. In a pinch this is a decent enough place. August 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful room! We had this room during Comic-Con, so the rates were insanely high (as were rates everywhere else in the city). Other than that, it was a great hotel. Two different kinds of pillows (firm and soft) for each guest. FANTASTIC breakfast buffet. The staff was really nice and the free bottles of water in the room was a great touch. The wi-fi was deathly slow though. so we turned it off. I am a rewards member. We had 2 queen beds for 2 adults and 2 teenagers. August 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service This hotel was great. The rooms were a good size and the staff was very helpful and friendly. The free breakfast in the mornings was a great start to the day. There was a lot of selection and a comfortable atmosphere. The location of this hotel was wonderful because it was close to the beaches and highways so traveling was easy. The front staff was more than helpful in suggesting places to visit or eat if asked. I really enjoyed my time here. August 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by very helpful staff It is always a pleasure to stay at a Holiday Inn Express. This one in particular had the most helpful friendly staff we have encountered. The rooms, although small, were very clean and very comfortable. As always the use of Bath and Body Works toiletries are such a pleasant change from the generic ones in other motels. I got to the breakfast room very early in the morning to catch up on some emails and the staff was just starting to get breakfast together. One of the kind ladies there stopped what she was doing and began a pot of coffee just for me. I wanted to hug her!! I do have to say we were shocked at how small the pool was. It just wasn't what we were expecting. However our stay in this motel was very pleasant and we will definitely be back. July 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Hotel Staff...highlight Rooms were decent sized with everything needed. Best part of hotel was the staff who was very attentive and accommodating. Breakfast was served every morning and was hot, no long lines toward the end. Elise was very helpful every morning with information for all guest. July 24, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Bad Manager The manager was very rude and I was charged about 3 times more my account was tied up. The corporate was wonderful in fixing everything. Also, the general staff were very helpful and kind. Breakfast was very good. I would not stay in the Holiday Inn Express again. July 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good nights sleep The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Your staff was very friendly and helpful. The parking was a bit cramped as are all areas at the beach. It has good access to Sea World and is two miles from the beach July 17, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not This HI Express I am a big big fan of Holiday Inn Express - but sadly not this one. The halls smelled of disinfectant all the time. The AC in my room generated a smell. And I am not one of those odor sensitive people. The room was tiny - carpets in the halls were dirty - nothing pleasant to view out the window. It seemed to me that this was a motel from some other chain that got bought by HIE and tried to conform. I would not stay here. IHG should sell this place. It is not worthy in comparison with the countless other HIE's I have stayed at. July 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 4th of July Excellent Hotel. Great matress and pillows. Quiet room. July 10, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Small and cramped I suggest going elsewhere. For the price - the quality and size of the hotel, rooms, bathroom, and parking spaces were abysmal. July 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Great customer service from hotel staff. Reserved a 2 queen bedroom and upon arriving only had King Bed. Room was terrible, but Robert was able to get me into the room I had originally booked the next night. Breakfast is average Eggs cold and no variety. Would stay here again only because of the staff. July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Granddaughter's Vacation My husband and I brought our granddaughters to San Diego for a week long vacation. After long days of travel it was wonderful to return to a safe, friendly, clean place to rest our heads. At the beginning of each day they enjoyed a healthy and hearty breakfast in a nice environment. We will always have fond memories of this hotel and the experience we had with the girls, 11 and 13. We never used the pool, which was very small, but I know they would have enjoyed it if they had the chance. July 2, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Overall cleanliness feeling was dirty The room felt dirty and didn't want to go without shoes in the room. The room was old, bathroom needed to be fixed up and the sink was outside the bathroom. The room with air conditioning smelt bad and the filter to the air conditioner was halfway in for 4 out of 8 days before someone could fix it. The towel rack was coming out of the wall. The internet was slow such that I couldn't really use it. July 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable love this hotel. very clean and easy going. with good food. ac needed to be worked on though, was not as cold as it should have been. June 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff and outstanding breakfast The staff at the this hotel were exceptionally friendly and helpful. They offered sightseeing advice, gave us a map, and made us feel welcome. Everyone from housekeeping to maintenance said hello is we passed by. We were looking for a luggage cart and instead of just explaining where to find it, the front desk person came out and walked to help us find it. It is hard to find such good customer service anywhere. This place must have an excellent manager. I never seem to be happy with hotel pillows and they always seem too small. This place had plenty of fluffy pillows and the bed was comfy. Room was clean and breakfast was amazing. We will stay here again. June 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Just Great! This hotel is great. Its as simple as that. The look of the building from the exterior looks just as good as the picture that's posted on the website. That is a plus for me when choosing a hotel. If the exterior is well maintained than pretty much the inside will also be up to par. I arrived really early about 4 or 5 hours prior to check in time. Was there a problem with this no, not at all in fact the friendly and helpful staff took care of the check in and prepared all the necessary paper work for me so when I returned I just had to pick up my key card. Safety is also one of my main concerns when booking a hotel and this location did a great job in providing a ease of mind for my vehicle and partner during my stay. the room was in good condition. it was clean and had all the amenities that one can expect. Overall this is a great hotel you will not be disappointed with your stay here. June 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Area, Great Staff, Great Room, Great Breakfast!!!! This hotel is located right next to the 5 and not far from the San Diego Pier. There is a nice park right now the street. The staff was very polite and welcoming...I like the fact that they didn't bother you...I can recall staying at other hotels and housekeeping knocking on my door, ready to clean the room. That didn't happen at this hotel (thank you) Also, there were 3 people in my room and the first night we had to ask for extra wash cloths...that was the last time we had to ask for that...they remembered and had extra wash cloths, I was impressed, as that has never happen before at other hotels. The breakfast was amazing and very plentiful. Good variety and I left satisfied every morning. The staff was wonderful in making sure nothing ran low...and that the area stayed clean. I was pleased with everything and would recommend this Hotel to anyone!!! Two Thumbs UP!!!!! :-) June 24, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Vacation The rooms and breakfast were nice but the pool was so small. From the pictures we thought the pool was a standard size, when we got there we found it to be barely bigger than a hot tub. If you eat in your room, be prepared to take out all of your own trash, the maids did not pick up anything. June 23, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding staff - accounting, front desk, and service personnel Staff made this trip outstanding from a personnel perspective - very upbeat. Unfortunately there were several room issues: 1. There was no Wi-Fi service as advertised in either of the rooms we were in. 2. Water spout in the tub literally ran, not dripped, water during the 3 days we were there. No one tried to fix it when it was reported. June 22, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Needs room improvement The rooms were smelling awful. Bathroom was too small , felt like I m in little world. The toilet was too small for a big person. The temperature wasnt maintained well. After coming from an outing we entered into a smelly and hot room. Breakfast place was neat but the quality of the scrambled egg tasted like melted plastic bag. I saw many people just throwing it in trash. Parking space was too compact and tight. I wouldnt stay here again. June 22, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Clean Rooms The hotel parking is a nightmare, but the rooms are nice and you are very close to the 5 freeway and can get just about anywhere in 10-15 minutes. Good place to stay as long as you have a car. June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great breakfast and nice location Very nice hotel with clean rooms and common areas. My daughters didn't like the omelets that were prepared for breakfast one morning, but the staff took the time to scramble some eggs for them. That really meant a lot to us. The only thing that wasn't great was the tiny parking spots in the center parking area, but there was still plenty of room in the primary lot. The beach was just a few minutes away and a straight shot on one road (Grand Avenue) so it was a great location. I would definitely stay here again. June 16, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Mixed Experience The day staff was excellent: friendly and very helpful. The rooms were clean, and the breakfast is good! The first room we were given didn't have a working A/C. We were moved to another room without a hassle. When my wife's 93 year old dad called, late a night, to report that the toilet was plugged, a hotel rep arrived at the door and handed him a plunger for him to use, instead of the hotel rep plunging the toilet himself. June 16, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Fairly decent hotel. I had used my points to get this room for one day on the weekend which was good. Being an IHG rewards member does have its advantages. I asked for early check in and upon checking in at the hotel I was denied. We had arrived about 1.5 hours before they would allow check in. When the clerk pulled up my reservation he saw the note about early check in and went ahead and set us up with a room. The rooms were small and parking was tough. After we checked in, later that night I asked for extra towels and wash rags. Called the front desk and they said they would have them right up. After 2 hours they never showed up or called. We had to go to the front desk and wait for them to bring them. The clerk said he had notified house keeping and thought they were delivered. All in all not a bad place to stay by mission bay and one must expect it to be busy. June 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Hotel The staff was very friendly and allowed us to view a couple different rooms to see which one best fit our needs. The breakfast was very good. It only took us about ten minutes to get to the San Diego Zoo and Balboa Park. We became a huge fan of the original and first Rubio's Fish Tacos next door to the hotel. Highly recommend it as well. The only downside is the fitness center does not have any free weights - only cardio machines. Other than that, the hotel's staff was very attentive to our needs and it was a very comfortable and safe hotel to visit. June 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic Place to stay. I was here on business during my 3 days here. This hotel is centrally located between 4 of my local Midas Shops off the 5 freeway and very close to the beach. The next time I'm here I'll be sure to bring my family so that they too could experience the great pacific beach and it's surroundings. It's a very comfortable and great priced locations. Thank you PB- Holiday Inn for making my stay a memorable week. June 1, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>