• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: SAN DIEGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Tagalog

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Service Animals Only Please. Free of Charge.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
SeaWorld San Diego,San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:110
  • Car Parking Available
  • Safe and secured onsite parking is complimentary to all of our guests.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all IHG® Rewards Club members
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:113
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:48
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:65
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:113
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

The Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area is conveniently located off I-5 and is within minutes from San Diego International Airport, the Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Downtown (Gaslamp District), SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, world famous beaches, as well as a wide variety of restaurants, shopping and entertainment. The Holiday Inn Express SeaWorld Beach Area is Caterpillars' preferred hotel.

Guests will experience luxurious accommodations, free
View More

The Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area is conveniently located off I-5 and is within minutes from San Diego International Airport, the Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Downtown (Gaslamp District), SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, world famous beaches, as well as a wide variety of restaurants, shopping and entertainment. The Holiday Inn Express SeaWorld Beach Area is Caterpillars' preferred hotel.

Guests will experience luxurious accommodations, free parking, and a host of amenities including plush new bedding, a complimentary full American hot breakfast buffet, free wireless internet, business center, fitness room and an outdoor heated pool.

Our exceptional location places you within a short distance from the Historic Old Town, Balboa Park, Seaport Village, Petco Park, Qualcomm Stadium, Coronado Island, La Jolla, shopping malls such as Fashion Valley, Mission Valley and Horton Plaza, USS Midway, Marine Corps Recruit Depot (MCRD), Point Loma, Marine Corps Air Station Miramar (MCAS), the Maritime Museum, as well as universities such as University of San Diego (USD), San Diego State University (SDSU) and University of California San Diego (UCSD).

Nearby businesses are CACI, SPAWAR, Raytheon, General Atomics, Booz Allen Hamilton, Qualcomm General Dynamics, and Caterpillar.

We're certain that you'll enjoy your stay in America's finest city, so Stay Smart!®

View Less
Features
Have breakfast on us daily by stopping by our Express Start Breakfast Bar fully equipped with hot buffet options like omelets, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, and even our signature pancakes! Also take advantage of our fitness room, outdoor heated pool, and business center. For your convenience we also offer complimentary WiFi and complimentary parking.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 138 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible service The front desk staff are not trained properly in thier daily tasks. One person working the front desk numerous times and the check in line was insane. Arrived at hotel, had 3 rooms booked, and when we walked into to one of the rooms it had not been cleaned. The towels are old and stained. The beds very uncomfortable. Have never stayed at a holiday inn until now that I din't like, nor will ever go back. November 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff and excellent service Travelled for business and pleasure.I chose this facility based on its review of the staff.The hotel was very clean. The staff was courteous and friendly. Very helpful. The hotel was in a good location. Local stores and restaurants in good proximity. Beds were more comfortable than expected. Price was reasonable. I would stay here again. November 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly service and great location A quiet, updated property with a very friendly staff and nice pool area. At check in, the front desk clerk gave us a map, talked about attractions in the area, and answered all our questions. SeaWorld is just across the bridge and while we did not visit there, we did spend a day at Mission Beach, which is just a short drive away. Mission Beach has souvenir shops, beachside bar food joints, and a surfing wavehouse, all surrounded by a bike/runner-friendly boulevard. Shortly after our stay, we realized that we forgot an item in the room and after a call to the hotel, the housekeeping staff quickly found it and we were able to retrieve it from the front desk. Overall, a great property for a nice visit to San Diego. November 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and relaxing I always enjoy my stay at HI Express wherever it is. This was for business and my husband and I really enjoyed our stay. November 4, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by bad experience front desk gave me a key of a occupied room first and we did walk into somebody else room. Luckily nobody was there inside at that time. then he gave me the correct room key. AC broke and they fixed it in the morning. Breakfast food choice was good. November 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Secluded, comfortable clean Great location to food, shopping, shops Noisy by highway Not sound proof Cozy Clean Good breakfast Nice stay Covered parking Easy access to highway 8 November 2, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by You can do better We luckily only stayed here one night for a family vacation to San Diego. Not only is this in a quite undesirable part of town....it is right next to the highway. I did read some reviews before choosing this hotel and most guests said this was not an issue....IT IS. I felt "icky" the moment we walked into the room and it did not feel safe at all. Had to leave the tv on all night to drown out the noise of the highway and aircraft. A few folks using the pool were right outside our window adding to the unpleasant experience. Breakfast was ok...not too many healthy choices. Cheap carbs and sweets. I would not recommend this to anyone...especially families and would not stay here again. October 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay Very happy with our stay at this Holiday Inn. We spent 3 days and was made welcome every time we came in and went out. The room was very nice, clean and very comfortable. The free breakfast was good, with a good variety of items. Staff all friendly and willing to help. Manager even helped us make a reservation at another Holiday Inn when we were leaving. Also gave us directions to where we needed to go each day. October 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Pick!! I'm very picky! Beyond picky when it comes to staying in hotels. My 7 yr old had heart surgery and I need a place that is clean. On top of that I'm a person who likes value. This gives both! I would stay here again in an instant!! October 29, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Okay, not great, left a lot to be desired The location is probably the best aspect of this hotel. It was a quick drive to Sea World and the zoo. The staff were friendly. The room was pretty clean, but it was noisy from freeway traffic. Also the neighborhood is run down and the view from our window was of a neighbor's junk heap, not appealing. The window was not fully attached to the frame, we weren't on the ground floor, but it was really bizarre and needs attention. Breakfast left a lot to be desired. There weren't a lot of choices especially if you have any kind of allergy like being gluten free like me. Lastly their parking lot is not user friendly at all. The parking spaces are small and not laid out well. Many people were double parked because of this situation. We got in late one night and it was impossible to park and had to park on the street. Apart from the central location and there being some shopping and restaurants nearby, I would not stay there again. October 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Happy - Except I've been staying at this Holiday Inn Express for the last year and a half. It's always clean and comfortable. We love their pillows. Staff is always super friendly and helpful. Except this last stay we were to earn just over 3000 reward club points...but they have not showed up on my account. So kinda upset about that, BUT I'd still go back and stay again. It's the best! October 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Better bed than most budget hotels Clean room with nice ammenities. Room had refrigerator and we requested a microwave since we had an infant with warm bottle needs. Microwave was quickly brought up. They had luggage carts available to haul all of our stuff which made the setting up/breaking down process much faster. Pool was nice and the spa even better after a long day at SeaWorld. Loved the proximity to SeaWorld. Ten minutes at the most and we were at the gate. It was a bit difficult to access the hotel since there is a median down Sports Arena Blvd. The back entrance into the hotel is less than desirable, but once you arrive, it's of no concern. The parking spaces are very close together, so try to park away from others. We got rear-ended with a trailer hitch. Not a fun thing to deal with when the other person doesn't stick around to own up to his/her mistake. Overall, we would definitely use this hotel again for our next SeaWorld trip. October 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Customer service Room was nice size and very good customer service! October 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by nice choice for the money Don't let the location mislead you. Easy access all around. Very friendly Staff. Close to everything. I did leave my phone charger in the room. October 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great service We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for 3 nights and received excellent service from all the staff. The hotel was a little difficult to find so better signs would help. Also the breakfast area was too small for the amount of people we found ourselves contending with every morning. My kids enjoyed the pool several times. The rooms were clean. The only other complaint is that the parking area was so tight and compact. October 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice room and excellent staff We found the Holiday Inn Express through the internet. The reviews were helpful, so we decided to make our reservations with this location. We were very pleased with everything. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the motel is very clean, and bed was comfortable. It was within walking distance to different restaurants. We also felt comfortable and safe walking to these places. We would go back and stay there if in the San Diego area again. We would also recommend to anyone who might be going to San Diego. October 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay! It can be a bit pricey on a weekend date, but it averaged out to be a great value for the really nice room, very comfortable bed, and spacious bathroom. Absolutely enjoyed my stay. And the breakfast was great! September 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by convienent Rooms were clean and comfortable. Close to shops and restaurants. Easy access to freeways and cvery close to Sea World, the Midway and other attractions. Breakfast both weekend mornings had a great variety and tasteful. Down side..no view and parking. Both can be tolerated though. Would stay there again. September 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff! Luz was the person I spoke with most of the time throughout my stay and she was a pleasure! She was funny, informative and had a very positive attitude. The rest of the staff was sociable and kind. If you have to sleep during the day request a room on the opposite end of the doggy day care across the street because you hear a bit of barking when you don't have the tv on, but I didn't mind it one bit! LOVE!!! Would 100% recommend and return. The bus stops across the street were also very convenient. (15 minutes to Ocean Beach!) September 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing experience and Great Service At first glance this hotel seems questionable, but my overall experience was Excellent! The front desk was friendly, very helpful with directions and recommendations and was very hospitable. The rooms are great! Comfortable and clean bed, couch, chairs, bathroom, and very spacious. The breakfast provided was amazing! Not only was there a HUGE variety, but the taste was great as well. The only negative to the room, was no fan in the bathroom- so it did get a little warm in there quickly; and the door did not stay open, it quickly shut on its own. The room view we had was of the freeway and what appeared to be a local business; or house that stored A LOT of metal parts. But if you ignore the surroundings (which really are not too bad) this hotel is definitely worth staying at! Parking does fill up fast, because it is a small structure, but security does make night rounds (I witnessed) checking for parking stickers and any suspicious activity. September 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Loved the bathroom and breakfast! I was so delightfully surprised at how beautiful the bathroom was. The room was so large and such comfortable beds with a frig, desk and sitting area. The choices at the free breakfast were amazing and I stayed two days and will stay there again. Oh, and free choc chips cookies in the evening. The staff was so nice, when I checked out, they offered me bottled water and gave me a snack bag! I was not expecting such a wonderful place for what I paid. September 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by AMAZING I had to book this room quickly on the day of. The staff were more than accommodating and confirmed my reservation for that night immediately. Upon arriving, I was weary of the area, but there was a very welcoming and helpful security guard outside in the parking structure. The room was larger and more comfortable than the resort I had just come from. The bathroom was beautiful. Morning breakfast was delicious. The staff was more than helpful with any and everything we needed. Check out was a breeze and they even gave us a little bag of trail mix to thank us for our stay. Overall, the rate we received for a holiday weekend on such short notice was unbelievable and I am so grateful they were able to accommodate us. September 6, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by convenient but noisy Service was great. The room was fine, pretty standard. Breakfast was the best part...there was a variety of items to choose from. The worst part was the noise. The patrons were loud, the doors closing on the rooms was WAY too loud, and the proximity to the street made it a difficult night to sleep. The windows need to have a double pane to drown out the outside street noise. I would only recommend this hotel based on the fact that it is located very close to Sea World. It was way to thinned walled/windowed for my liking. August 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice staff Clean room & bathroom. Beds were kind of harder than I like. Breakfast in lobby kind of cramped. Very nice staff. August 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Little Hotel In and out in 24 hours for a business meeting. The room was good, bed good too. No complaints about anything in the room, aside from the annoying bathroom door that swings closed and won't stay open. Wi-Fi worked well and electric plugs weree reachable without having to move furniture at all. Not too noisy despite being over the pool area. Only area of complaint is how tight and cramped the parking garage is. If I didn't have a compact car, I'd still be doing the multi-point shuffle to get into and out of spaces. August 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good place to live in like other holiday inn, this hotel is rather convenient. the furniture in the room is not new but clean. the location is good, close to highway. but the garage is too tight. August 23, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by staff excellent property overlooks a very messy prope The staff was over the top very friendly and accommodating. Wish the property was located elsewhere - our room overlooked a property that was a dump. Even the freeway noise was not so bad compared to the view we had from our window. the Overall experience was not worth what we paid. Canceled our second day. Stayed elsewhere, we usually enjoy staying at Holiday Inn's but no this time. August 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by AUG 2013 Good location. Great staff, very helpful & courteous at all times. Great breakfast, loved the pancake maker! Parking is tight but there was always a space available. Very clean. A bit noisy. That is a structural issue. Would I stay there again? Absolutely. August 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service A larger breakfast area would be welcome. Everything else is superb. August 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great overall Fantastic service and comfort of beds! Breakfast had more options than other holiday inn's. August 16, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
The Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld/Beach Area welcomes you
The Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld/Beach Area welcomes you
Select to close.
The Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld/Beach Area welcomes you Be dazzled by the beauty that Pacific Beach has to offer. The Holiday Inn Express Sea World Beach Area San Diego-Exterior Experience the wonders that Historic Balboa Park has to offer. Stroll your way to a good time on the Pacific Beach Boardwalk Relax in Pacific Beach all year round with our amazing climate. The Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld/Beach Area Exterior Have an Elephant size good time at The World famous San Diego Zoo Be dazzled by the beauty that Pacific Beach has to offer. Our welcoming Front Desk Staff looks forward to meeting you. Just minutes away from The Amazing Sea World San Diego!
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
Check Availability
Loading