• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-20-2014)
(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: SAN DIEGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Tagalog

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Service Animals Only Please. Free of Charge.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
SeaWorld San Diego,San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:110
  • Car Parking Available
  • Safe and secured onsite parking is complimentary to all of our guests.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all IHG® Rewards Club members
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:113
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:48
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:65
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:113
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

The Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area is conveniently located off I-5 and is within minutes from San Diego International Airport, the Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Downtown (Gaslamp District), SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, world famous beaches, as well as a wide variety of restaurants, shopping and entertainment. The Holiday Inn Express SeaWorld Beach Area is Caterpillars' preferred hotel.

Guests will experience luxurious accommodations, free
View More

The Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area is conveniently located off I-5 and is within minutes from San Diego International Airport, the Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Downtown (Gaslamp District), SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, world famous beaches, as well as a wide variety of restaurants, shopping and entertainment. The Holiday Inn Express SeaWorld Beach Area is Caterpillars' preferred hotel.

Guests will experience luxurious accommodations, free parking, and a host of amenities including plush new bedding, a complimentary full American hot breakfast buffet, free wireless internet, business center, fitness room and an outdoor heated pool.

Our exceptional location places you within a short distance from the Historic Old Town, Balboa Park, Seaport Village, Petco Park, Qualcomm Stadium, Coronado Island, La Jolla, shopping malls such as Fashion Valley, Mission Valley and Horton Plaza, USS Midway, Marine Corps Recruit Depot (MCRD), Point Loma, Marine Corps Air Station Miramar (MCAS), the Maritime Museum, as well as universities such as University of San Diego (USD), San Diego State University (SDSU) and University of California San Diego (UCSD).

Nearby businesses are CACI, SPAWAR, Raytheon, General Atomics, Booz Allen Hamilton, Qualcomm General Dynamics, and Caterpillar.

We're certain that you'll enjoy your stay in America's finest city, so Stay Smart!®

View Less
Features
Have breakfast on us daily by stopping by our Express Start Breakfast Bar fully equipped with hot buffet options like omelets, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, and even our signature pancakes! Also take advantage of our fitness room, outdoor heated pool, and business center. For your convenience we also offer complimentary WiFi and complimentary parking.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 359 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not up to Crowns Standards We are faithful Crown customers but this property was sub standard. The room's Wi-Fi never had a strong enough signal, the room was very noisy facing the freeway you couldn't open the door at night due to the freeway. The entire property needs an upgrade its old and worn. During our 4 night stay we noted stains in the furniture and carpet and the maid service was very poor, leaving trash behind twice and not replacing used items as needed. The staff defiantly didn't go out of their way to help, overall I felt we overpaid for what we got. July 10, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Bad Dirty hotel and loud guests. The hallways were dirty, the people partied until 4:00 AM AND NO ONE FROM THE HOTEL TRIED OR ASKED THEM TO QUIET DOWN. Very disappointing... July 9, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Just ok Expected more, not what we are used to from Crown Plazas. Air conditioner did not work properly, either ram all the time or we had to shut it off. Trees shedding berries were not cleaned up, just allowed to be ground into the sidewalk. July 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by 4th of July Getaway Hotel Staff was amicable, responsive, and helpful. Restaurant was a great amenity. July 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location and Comfortable Spot Would recommend this place. The service was good, the grounds are quite nice and it's centrally located to get to downtown and the beach quite easily. July 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Our favorite We love this hotel. It is always clean and the staff super nice. Love the tropical look and the pool is awesome. Enjoyed lunch and drinks poolside. It's close to everything including beaches, SeaWorld, Old Town, downtown, and the Zoo. July 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Average stay Carpet a little drab. outer doors not locked at not, did not feel secure. overall an average stay, price was ok.....centrally located to the places we wanted to see. July 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome Place! Wedding/Reception was held here. Lots of positive changes to facility and grounds. Out of town guests truly enjoyed their stay and the pool. Everyone had a great time. July 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Quiet Room The 8th floor room was quiet and clean. Lots of amenities for business travelers. July 6, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Tiny old rooms This hotel has seen better days. Old and in need of serious physical updates. e.g. Elevator was out for my entire stay. Promised room was not available at checking made due with tiny room. Motion sensing light kept turning off while showering. Breakfast buffet was poor in quality. July 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Professional and friendly staff made my business trip enjoyable From the moment I checked in at the front desk until I checked out the staff was very helpful and friendly. My short business trip was made enjoyable and relaxing thanks to the amenities and comfort of the Crowne Plaza San Diego Hotel Circle. I will alway look forward to future stay here. July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel beautiful city I usually stay downtown San Diego, but due to packed hotels I stayed up in Mission Valley. This hotel definitely was great. Very laid back and close to the mall and many restaurants, right off of I-8 it was very easy to get to all major highways north and south. July 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service, average hotel. The service is excellent but the property itself is very average. There is nothing remarkable about the rooms, the restaurant or the grounds. The hotel is centrally located to most area attractions and the concierge service is exceptional. For the price you are not getting exceptional value. If service is important you could do worse, if ambience is important you could do better. July 1, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by the worst Crowne Plaza I have stayed in - The A/C is not cooling the room to a comfortable temperature that is conducive to sleeping so do not stay here if you're looking to get some good rest after a long day's work. - In case you want to get up early so you could eat breakfast, do not bother because you're not missing a whole lot. - The room, furniture, bed and pillows shows their age and probably need to be upgraded or replaced. June 30, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Total Dump. Strange, strange property. I literally logged onto this IHG website to make sure that I was at the right place. Ish. This property is so dated, and so out of touch with rates and amenities, I am really surprised its even a Crowne Plaza. Location is great, but at Hotel Circle, you have your choice of every brand and name of hotel. I made reservations here because of the reputation of IHG, Crowne Plaza and my experience with hotels in the IHG portfolio. This place is a mistake! We arrived and had one room for three nights, and another for our parents for two nights. We reserved online. No matter! Adam at the front desk changed our preferences for two Queen beds for an adult & two kids to an 'upgraded' room with a King bed. I protested and he told me they were sold out. Is that my problem? Amazingly (sarcasm) he was able to find an ADA room. We get to the room after a several minute explanation of how to get there to find a security lock that doesn't work, stained ceilings, stained and soiled carpets and decor and furnishings from the late 80s. The wallpaper in the bathroom had rust on it. I forbid my kids from taking off their shoes. Gross. My parents room was a bit cleaner, but smelled of disinfectant. And by smell, I mean so overwhelming, we left the doors open to ventilate it. We decided to stay one night, and I went to the front desk to see if there was by chance another room, or another hotel that they could recommend. Nope! We ate dinner at a painfully average coffee shop in the hotel. I was surprised that we were smacked with an added on 18% gratuity for the service. I have not seen that before for a party of 6. No matter. Next morning, we broke out and literally booked with a competitor across the highway. Sad,sad property. Bizarre experience. June 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Very beautiful facility. The staff was very helpful and personable. Don't pass up an opportunity to stay here June 25, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Charming, dated, comfortable Pleasant stay at an older vintage hotel; some would say it needs an update. I myself am not picky; I enjoyed the island theme and the attractively designed courtyards, pool, and common areas. Greatest needs for improvement are in dining- quality of food in both the restaurant and the conference area was subpar (though the service was good). Also, my internet connection would go away and have to be reacquired frequently; also, some websites were not available for inexplicable reasons (notably: join.me ) June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 overall good experience staff very friendly and helpful. fair price. free shuttle to sea world, zoo, et al. Cons: Internet is slow and unsteady. Room is a bit noisy close to the highway, but not very serious. June 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel! I have been staying at this Crowne Plaza when I travel to San Diego for almost ten years, and I love it! My only complaint would be that the AC for the poolside rooms aren't as good as the AC for the golf course side rooms. Other than that, I LOVE this place, and can't recommend it enough! The staff is incredibly polite and helpful, the rooms are very comfortable, and the food is quite nice. I love the enclosed forest area, and look forward to bringing my family here when I vacation in San Diego. Thank you! June 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Management problem When we booked the hotel we were quoted one price. When we arrived at the hotel they had a price which was higher than what we wanted to pay. The internet cost us the first night and we did not use it again since we were told it would be free. The personnel at the hotel were outstanding and as stated the Crown Plaza is an outstanding facility. June 18, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Recommend as Last Option I would recommend this hotel as the last option. It served its purpose to achieve our goals. The staff was friendly and helpful. However, for a Crowne Plaza Hotel, this particular one failed to fulfill my expectations of what I had experienced at other Crowne Plaza Hotels. We stayed in NY, and Miami and were satisfied. This experience was not the same. June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience. My only complaint has to do with the fact that we didn't get to fully enjoy all that the hotel has to offer. Our stay, due to our schedule being hectic, was not all that it could have been. We did, on our last night manage to walk around the property and see how lovely the property, the pool, and the restaurant all were. Everyone was friendly, the beds were comfortable and everything was very clean. Thank you. June 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Better Than I expected I was a little concerned because of a few reviews I had read prior to my visit. I attended a Convention at Qualcom Stadium and was expecting to deal with one of the biggest complaints which was the $12.00 parking fee. To my surprise, this fee was waived. I also expected to pay for Wi-Fi and this was complimentary. I assume these were part of the agreement with the organization that made the original arrangements but, either way, I was pleasantly surprised. The staff was great, including the Front Desk personnel, the Concierge, The Sushi Chefs, The bartender (who gave us 3 small sample drinks of local brews to try) I also received prompt response from your housekeeping staff for supplying me with additional bath towels at 9:00 p.m. The room was very comfortable with a nice view of the golf course. And, finally, I was informed that most of the rooms do not include a microwave or refrigerator but I requested both and both were provided. I had a great weekend, thanks to The Crowne Plaza. June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing Experience My family first stayed in your hotel over 30 years ago. We enjoyed our stay so much that we have stayed with you as often as possible since. Room service is prompt and friendly. The pool is perfect. And the atrium is relaxing and my favorite place to sit and read! I have always, and will continue, to recommend your facility! June 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by individual Room Very pleased with room overall. more than satisfied. June 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 outstanding staff hotel staff made stay very enjoyable and the ambiance was great June 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Oldie but Goodie! Stayed at the hotel in late May for business. It's an older property and is starting to show it's age but it is a great value and the staff more than make up for any surface age the place is starting to show. A special shout out to Josephine my housekeeper, she did an incredible job making my room up everyday and kept it fully stock with what I needed. Many thanks to the staff as they made the stay better than what I expected! June 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel Location Was Excellent The hotel was closely located to my points of interest: San Diago Old Town, Naval Base San Diago, and the Petco Ball Park. June 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Annual Military reunion of 100 to 200 members Everyone was delighted with the trees, bushes, flowers, pool, meeting rooms, etc. The one thing that set you apart from any of the hundreds of hotels I have stayed at in my lifetime...was your employees! They laughed! They went out of their way to be helpful and even worked the "impossible" to can do. Every part of our stay was great. But your employees must be congratulated and thanked, as we all did. There are a lot of military reunions in this country. You might solicit those many. BUT...you might find a better way to display our flag on it's staff (in the meeting room). A ball or eagle and not just screws to hold it to the staff. June 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by San Diego visit Quiet, ambiance was good and every one was very accommodating . Hotel is centrally located to main attractions in the area. Due to our membership in IHG we were upgraded to the Club Lounge level, very excited and a nice surprise! We'll be back !! June 11, 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 13 next>>
The Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld/Beach Area welcomes you
The Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld/Beach Area welcomes you
Select to close.
The Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld/Beach Area welcomes you Experience the wonders that Historic Balboa Park has to offer. Stroll your way to a good time on the Pacific Beach Boardwalk Relax in Pacific Beach all year round with our amazing climate. Have an Elephant size good time at The World famous San Diego Zoo Be dazzled by the beauty that Pacific Beach has to offer. Our welcoming Front Desk Staff looks forward to meeting you. The Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld/Beach Area Exterior Just minutes away from The Amazing Sea World San Diego!
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-20-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
Check Availability
Loading