• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-31-2014)
(e.g. Nov-01-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: SAN DIEGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 8.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Tagalog

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Service Animals Only Please. Free of Charge.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
SeaWorld San Diego,San Diego Zoo, Balboa Park
Distance From Hotel:4.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:110
  • Car Parking Available
  • Safe and secured onsite parking is complimentary to all of our guests.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all IHG® Rewards Club members
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:113
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:48
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:65
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:113
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

The Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area is conveniently located off I-5 and is within minutes from San Diego International Airport, the Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Downtown (Gaslamp District), SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, world famous beaches, as well as a wide variety of restaurants, shopping and entertainment. The Holiday Inn Express SeaWorld Beach Area is Caterpillars' preferred hotel.

Guests will experience luxurious accommodations, free
View More

The Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld Beach Area is conveniently located off I-5 and is within minutes from San Diego International Airport, the Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Downtown (Gaslamp District), SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, world famous beaches, as well as a wide variety of restaurants, shopping and entertainment. The Holiday Inn Express SeaWorld Beach Area is Caterpillars' preferred hotel.

Guests will experience luxurious accommodations, free parking, and a host of amenities including plush new bedding, a complimentary full American hot breakfast buffet, free wireless internet, business center, fitness room and an outdoor heated pool.

Our exceptional location places you within a short distance from the Historic Old Town, Balboa Park, Seaport Village, Petco Park, Qualcomm Stadium, Coronado Island, La Jolla, shopping malls such as Fashion Valley, Mission Valley and Horton Plaza, USS Midway, Marine Corps Recruit Depot (MCRD), Point Loma, Marine Corps Air Station Miramar (MCAS), the Maritime Museum, as well as universities such as University of San Diego (USD), San Diego State University (SDSU) and University of California San Diego (UCSD).

Nearby businesses are CACI, SPAWAR, Raytheon, General Atomics, Booz Allen Hamilton, Qualcomm General Dynamics, and Caterpillar.

We're certain that you'll enjoy your stay in America's finest city, so Stay Smart!®

View Less
Features
Have breakfast on us daily by stopping by our Express Start Breakfast Bar fully equipped with hot buffet options like omelets, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, and even our signature pancakes! Also take advantage of our fitness room, outdoor heated pool, and business center. For your convenience we also offer complimentary WiFi and complimentary parking.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 374 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good, respectful, and friendly service - Caring staff The location and flexible parking facility made our visit to the Zoo, Sea World, and the beach easy. We had no problems whatsoever in planning these visitations from this hotel. The staff was very service oriented and helpful. Evening dining was lacking in quality, freshness, and flavor. Meals during this time did not match the standards of the rest of the facility. Service was good but food was lacking. July 22, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Can't wait to go back! As far as the hotel-travel experience goes, we found the Crowne Plaza San Diego TOPS in all categories. Reception, restaurant, lounge & housekeeping staff all rated highly. Over-sized guest room was attractive and very comfortable. Convenience to downtown & wharf attractions, as well as the mall, was a huge plus. July 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Like being in Hawaii We stayed at this property for a family wedding. The staff was extremely nice from the time we checked in through check out. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The only hiccup we had was that the A/C while putting out some cool air really didn't seem to keep the room as cool as we would have liked for sleeping. The one thing that could make the rooms better would be to have small refrigerators in them instead of all the huge closets. July 20, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Entry key problems We had a party of six including children and grandparents. We reserved two hotel rooms for two nights each last Saturday. We called ahead to let the hotel know we would be arriving late. After a long day driving, we finally arrived at the hotel around midnight. Everyone was very tired and looked forward to a good night's sleep. We were assigned rooms on the high floor (6th floor) away from the noise, as requested. However, upon arriving at our rooms, we found that none of the six keys total for the two rooms worked. We were not able to open either of the two doors. A call to the front desk and 20 minutes later, a security guard came with a new set of keys. None of them worked either. Another call to the front desk, and we were told a maintenance person would be on their way. A good 20+ minutes later, a maintenance person showed up and re-programed the two doors and we were able to finally get inside the rooms. It was well past 1 am, and we had been standing outside of the rooms for at least 45 minutes. I can understand an occasional glitch, but we had the same problem with both rooms. I can also accept a 15 minute wait for the problem to be resolved, but unfortunately it took over 45 minutes, in the middle of the night. While we were waiting, we asked to be assigned to other rooms but were told there were no two other rooms near each other. Because we had both young kids and grandparents in our group, we decided it was important to stay close by. Other than the door problems, the hotel itself was fine. There were quite a lot of people at the bar near the front desk when we arrived at midnight. There were a lot of people by the pool the next morning. The room and grounds were acceptable. I would rate this a 3 1/2 star, not a four star hotel. July 18, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Four Night Stay The Hotel Staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is rather dated and the initial impression is that it is "dated". The walls are thin and you can hear neighbouring rooms and water pipes. Lots of families stay there during the summer so be prepared for kids at the pool. If you are coming for work/business you may want a room that does not face the pool. July 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff , rooms, and food were great! We stayed for a week. Our room was very comfortable, the grounds were beautiful, and the sushi was incredible!! The location was convenient for getting to area attractions. I would highly recommend this property! July 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Crowne Plaza Hotel San Diego, CA Great hotel. Could use more TV channels and the sink was running a little slow but overall a very nice stay. July 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Great staff to work with. Helped us out with all questions and concerns. July 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good experience My family started our 9 day California trip with a stop in San Diego and a stay here. It was a nice spot, not exceptional but a clean and comfortable stay. Nice pool and hot tub area and overall a good stay. July 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by loved the service There were 27 of us in town 4th of July weekend for a memorial service and the staff was wonderful. The courtesy drivers and the complimentary shuttle bus to Old Town and the trolley was unbelievably accommodating – you guys rock, thank you. I read some of the other reviews, the room was clean, the a/c was fine. The bathroom is a little dated and the tub is peeling, but we would stay there again, and so would the rest of the family. July 14, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Crown Plaza San Diego Breakfast should be better. The staff also should be more responsive to the requests of the gests. I may stay in the future if they improve their service. I requested room with view when I made the reservation. They could not keep their promise. July 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by improve water bottles in the rooms, improve the clean on floor rooms July 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service The staff was wonderful and so friendly. The room was large and I loved the decor. I enjoyed the heated pool very much,; it was so relaxing. My room was very clean and Irma from Housekeeping is a real gem. She loves her job and cares a great deal about the guests making sure all needs are met. I loved the amenities in my room I had a very relaxing stay and would stay here again. July 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Hotel We really liked the ambiance of the hotel. It was very clean and our room was well cared for by the staff. The pool was very nice and the kids loved it! Towels available at the pool were a nice amenity. Staff at the desk were very nice. Only downside was no ink in the printer at the time we wanted to print our boarding passes. Also, the automatic setting on the air conditioning in the room did not work, so it was "on" or nothing. We loved the balcony attached to our room. The courtyard was a very nice place to enjoy a meal with waterfall and jungle like setting and wonderful San Diego outdoor weather! We had a very nice stay here and slept comfortably. July 10, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by great pool area loved the pool area and had great sushi at the bar..had breakfast at islands they were busy so it got a little backed up at buffet.. had issues with the air conditioner in our room with leaking water twice.. the staff did switch us to different room at 1 am and comped our room though.. would come back to hotel..hopefully the air will be colder and work properly July 10, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not up to Crowns Standards We are faithful Crown customers but this property was sub standard. The room's Wi-Fi never had a strong enough signal, the room was very noisy facing the freeway you couldn't open the door at night due to the freeway. The entire property needs an upgrade its old and worn. During our 4 night stay we noted stains in the furniture and carpet and the maid service was very poor, leaving trash behind twice and not replacing used items as needed. The staff defiantly didn't go out of their way to help, overall I felt we overpaid for what we got. July 10, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Bad Dirty hotel and loud guests. The hallways were dirty, the people partied until 4:00 AM AND NO ONE FROM THE HOTEL TRIED OR ASKED THEM TO QUIET DOWN. Very disappointing... July 9, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Just ok Expected more, not what we are used to from Crown Plazas. Air conditioner did not work properly, either ram all the time or we had to shut it off. Trees shedding berries were not cleaned up, just allowed to be ground into the sidewalk. July 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by 4th of July Getaway Hotel Staff was amicable, responsive, and helpful. Restaurant was a great amenity. July 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location and Comfortable Spot Would recommend this place. The service was good, the grounds are quite nice and it's centrally located to get to downtown and the beach quite easily. July 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Our favorite We love this hotel. It is always clean and the staff super nice. Love the tropical look and the pool is awesome. Enjoyed lunch and drinks poolside. It's close to everything including beaches, SeaWorld, Old Town, downtown, and the Zoo. July 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Average stay Carpet a little drab. outer doors not locked at not, did not feel secure. overall an average stay, price was ok.....centrally located to the places we wanted to see. July 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome Place! Wedding/Reception was held here. Lots of positive changes to facility and grounds. Out of town guests truly enjoyed their stay and the pool. Everyone had a great time. July 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Quiet Room The 8th floor room was quiet and clean. Lots of amenities for business travelers. July 6, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Tiny old rooms This hotel has seen better days. Old and in need of serious physical updates. e.g. Elevator was out for my entire stay. Promised room was not available at checking made due with tiny room. Motion sensing light kept turning off while showering. Breakfast buffet was poor in quality. July 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Professional and friendly staff made my business trip enjoyable From the moment I checked in at the front desk until I checked out the staff was very helpful and friendly. My short business trip was made enjoyable and relaxing thanks to the amenities and comfort of the Crowne Plaza San Diego Hotel Circle. I will alway look forward to future stay here. July 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel beautiful city I usually stay downtown San Diego, but due to packed hotels I stayed up in Mission Valley. This hotel definitely was great. Very laid back and close to the mall and many restaurants, right off of I-8 it was very easy to get to all major highways north and south. July 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service, average hotel. The service is excellent but the property itself is very average. There is nothing remarkable about the rooms, the restaurant or the grounds. The hotel is centrally located to most area attractions and the concierge service is exceptional. For the price you are not getting exceptional value. If service is important you could do worse, if ambience is important you could do better. July 1, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by the worst Crowne Plaza I have stayed in - The A/C is not cooling the room to a comfortable temperature that is conducive to sleeping so do not stay here if you're looking to get some good rest after a long day's work. - In case you want to get up early so you could eat breakfast, do not bother because you're not missing a whole lot. - The room, furniture, bed and pillows shows their age and probably need to be upgraded or replaced. June 30, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Total Dump. Strange, strange property. I literally logged onto this IHG website to make sure that I was at the right place. Ish. This property is so dated, and so out of touch with rates and amenities, I am really surprised its even a Crowne Plaza. Location is great, but at Hotel Circle, you have your choice of every brand and name of hotel. I made reservations here because of the reputation of IHG, Crowne Plaza and my experience with hotels in the IHG portfolio. This place is a mistake! We arrived and had one room for three nights, and another for our parents for two nights. We reserved online. No matter! Adam at the front desk changed our preferences for two Queen beds for an adult & two kids to an 'upgraded' room with a King bed. I protested and he told me they were sold out. Is that my problem? Amazingly (sarcasm) he was able to find an ADA room. We get to the room after a several minute explanation of how to get there to find a security lock that doesn't work, stained ceilings, stained and soiled carpets and decor and furnishings from the late 80s. The wallpaper in the bathroom had rust on it. I forbid my kids from taking off their shoes. Gross. My parents room was a bit cleaner, but smelled of disinfectant. And by smell, I mean so overwhelming, we left the doors open to ventilate it. We decided to stay one night, and I went to the front desk to see if there was by chance another room, or another hotel that they could recommend. Nope! We ate dinner at a painfully average coffee shop in the hotel. I was surprised that we were smacked with an added on 18% gratuity for the service. I have not seen that before for a party of 6. No matter. Next morning, we broke out and literally booked with a competitor across the highway. Sad,sad property. Bizarre experience. June 30, 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 14 next>>
The Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld/Beach Area welcomes you
The Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld/Beach Area welcomes you
Select to close.
The Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld/Beach Area welcomes you Experience the wonders that Historic Balboa Park has to offer. Stroll your way to a good time on the Pacific Beach Boardwalk Relax in Pacific Beach all year round with our amazing climate. Have an Elephant size good time at The World famous San Diego Zoo Be dazzled by the beauty that Pacific Beach has to offer. Our welcoming Front Desk Staff looks forward to meeting you. The Holiday Inn Express San Diego SeaWorld/Beach Area Exterior Just minutes away from The Amazing Sea World San Diego!
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Seniors over 62, enyoy our discounted rate
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-31-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-01-2014)
Check Availability
Loading