Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-01-2014)
(e.g. Sep-02-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 375 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect, as always. Everything is easy and pleasant, from check in to check out. Hotel clerks are accommodating and personable- Jose and Josh are usually the ones to greet us and handle our check in. In the morning, Vangie and Kylene send us on our way with a smile. All four remember us from trip to trip and that is much appreciated and makes us feel welcome. Dolores is wonderful with the breakfast. The change in eggs is not to our liking- there used to be plain scrambled eggs and also hard-boiled eggs. Now there are mini egg and Velveeta cheese omelets, only. Despite the fairly new breakfast menu, HIEOT is always our hotel of choice in San Diego. June 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stress-free before a race? Yes! I would like to thank the staff at the Holiday Inn Express for making our stay very comfortable and stress-free. I've done a couple of races in San Diego, (Rock 'N Roll San Diego and the Hot Chocolate Race) and both times I've stayed here at this hotel. I've stayed with my family and my brother's family. The shuttle drivers were outstanding in driving us to Old Town, the starting line and picking us up, when we got off at the wrong stop. I know they are not suppose to pick us up, but the driver recognized the entire family on the wrong street and pulled over. I will continue to run my races and will continue to make reservations at this hotel. From management, to the staff in the lobby, to the kitchen staff and the shuttle drivers, they are polite and accommodating. Thank you. May 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place Clean and comfortable. Safe and secure parking as well as being close to everything that I needed.. May 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service Staff was helpful and very friendly. They let us know about all services available to us, such as transportation to eating facilities and local sights. May 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great experience WE WANT TO THANK YOU FOR MAKING OUR STAY A WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE. WE DO A LOT OF TRAVELING AND WE WANT YOU TO KNOW HOW WONDERFUL YOUR ENTIRE STAFF IS. WE DIDN'T MEET ONE THAT DIDN'T HAVE A SMILE AND SOMETHING NICE TO SAY. WE THINK THAT YOU ALREADY KNEW THAT BUT WE WANTED YOU TO HERE IT FROM US. JOEL AND JOELLE May 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Find! Our one-night stay at Holiday Inn Express in San Diego (Airpot/Old Town) was wonderful. We had made reservations, but when we disembarked from our cruise ship, it was still early in the morning. We called the hotel to ask if they would let us take our luggage there even though it would be hours before check-in time. Without hesitation, they told us that our room would be ready. They sent a courtesy van to pick us up at the port, and as promised, our room--clean and comfortable (great bed and great shower)--was ready. Next, the courtesy van took us to Old Town, and the driver gave us his card so we could call for our return to the hotel. The next morning, we had an early flight out, and the courtesy car was there to take us to the airport at 4:30 A.M. We still can hardly believe the wonderful experience . Such friendly staff, clean environment, great location, great rate and true customer service are not common in travel today. Did I mention their beautiful pool and patio? We will certainly stay there again when we visit San Diego. We recommend it highly! May 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by HI Express-Old Town Spent a week at this hotel. Centrally located to SD Old and not too far from SD Zoo and Balboa Park. Only weak point is the garage parking: very tight and limited space but it is free. We will stay at this HI Express next visit to SD April 27, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by My room not availabe upon checkin Although the mgt. think they did good by putting us in a King Suite and a huge nice Whirlpool spa tub....that does not compensate for 3 women traveling who have never even traveled together much less sleep in same room/bed. So in rolls the Roll away bed, (not what I had in mind for 2 nights) and third person in living room on sofa bed. Would have been nice if we would have been a family traveling or a couple.....but when three adult women expecting two separate bedrooms and a living room to separate, it doesn't quiet cut it. Although room was very nice and there was one good point of an extra bathroom...as the other suite bathroom was open and no one chose to take shower or luxury spa bath....with an invasion of privacy or someone having to leave the room until they finished and sit in the living room with the other person on their sofa bed. LOL....very disappointing...and I don't think the supposed 5000 points compensation even covered the inconvenience. Should at least have been given 2 free nights!...as that is how many I had to stay in king room with a roll away bed with 2 adult ladies…RIDICULOUS…and not a comfortable setting. Also, I was told two different reasons why I couldn't be given the reserved room. The so very nice man I was checking in with was very apologetic after I realized I was not getting room. However, he said they had given room to someone else. How can they do that when you had I reserved and prepaid....not understanding! He offered me some ridiculous small discount which I didn't accept and asked to speak to mgt in the morning. By morning the manager told me that someone had left baggage in room and the couldn't remove as they may be planning to stay. Neither one of these reasons satisfy me! Hmmmm, wonder which story was the truth! April 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable overnight stay We stayed at the hotel only one night at the end of a cruise. The hotel staff was very friendly; the room was large and comfortable and very clean. Morning breakfast was great. Overall pleasant stay. Hghly recommend this hotel. April 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by convenient to airport nice, clean hotel. the staff was very friendly. excellent shuttle service to san diego international airport. April 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Recent three-night stay, Holiday Inn Express - Airport/Old Town We thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay at this hotel. Despite its proximity to the airport, we didn't hear a single take-off or landing. Although I-5 is right outside the hotel, we only had to contend with vehicle noise while sitting on the patio, particularly during the evening rush hour. Otherwise, this is a very soundproof hotel. All staff were courteous and respectful. We loved the variety of shuttle services provided and, despite a few "longish" waits, we were able to take in all desired local attractions within the hotel shuttle service area. Shuttle drivers, Fernando in particular, were great and very congenial. The breakfast staff were very efficient and kept the service area fully stocked with a welcome variety of hot and cold dishes. We can certainly recommend this property and its services, and wouldn't hesitate to stay again if and when we get back to beautiful San Diego. Bob and Joy, Sherwood Park, AB Canada April 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location! We have stayed here 4 times now in the last year as it is close to the airport. They have a shuttle service that runs 5 AM until midnight which many hotels don't go that late. Their shuttles will also drop you at nearby Old Town for dining or you can walk there in under 15 min. Hotel staff is very cordial and makes you feel welcome. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Breakfast is very good and served in a large room so you don't feel crowded. We will definitely stay here again when we are in town. April 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful experience I can't say enough about this hotel. The staff was friendly, accommodating, and helpful. We were allowed to check in early, which was great because we were so tired. The room was clean and comfortable. Every question we had was answered by the staff, and they even showed us on a map how to get to where we wanted to go. Anytime we stay in San Diego again, I will definitely want to stay here. April 18, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great for Price/Bad Customer Service I just returned from vacation with my boyfriend; it was our first vacation together so we were very excited! Our room was very clean and the breakfast was good, but that is were the positives end for us. The front desk staff were not friendly. We found them to be very rude and short with us. When we first arrived and asked about shuttles they told us to get a taxi or rent a car. Those two options would have been VERY expensive! On our own we found the city bus and trolley station. We found that for $5 a day it took us to all of the places we wanted to go! IT WAS WONDERFUL!!!!!! Everytime we wanted to take a shuttle, they would give us a wait time and it was always at least 10 mins more. And one night we called to be picked up at their one shuttle location and it look 45 mins after we were told 20. April 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay and Location My wife and I stayed for 4 days. The room was clean, great location, and overlooking the pool. the bus service to and from the airport was the reason we booked with this place, and it was an excellent incentive, The front staff was helpful and pleasant, Though we asked them if we needed a passport for a visit to TJ, two staff members said "no". thats not true. Everybody needs a passport to re-enter the country, we found out. The breakfast was good. Plentiful and fresh. We don't have one complaint about this great free service IHG provides. One thing I think that needs to be corrected , is the van drivers shouldn't be texting or talking on the phone while they bus guests to and from destinations. Its still against the law and our driver was on the phone the whole trip to the airport. But I'd book with them again and have joined their rewards club. Thank you for a great stay. April 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice stay, great staff. My husband accompanied me in a trip for a conference, and we had some extra time to explore San Deigo. I really appreciated the shuttles to the convention center, zoo, and airport. We did not rent a car, but utilized the nearby trolley in addition to car service, so getting around the city was easy. We enjoyed walking to and from Old Town. Breakfast was appreciated. It's nice to have a number of hot options. The cinnamon rolls are delicious! The hot tub was enjoyable. We had a room facing San Deigo ave, but I can imagine that the rooms on the other side of the building. The fitness center is very small with 3 pieces of cardio equipment; my husband was disappointed by the lack of weights. All in all, would be happy to stay here again. April 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room and service Our stay was short but very comfortable. Very nice room and breakfast. April 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great job! Thanks for your service We stayed a night and left our car on your stay and park package. You were very prompt in taking us to the airport and picking us up at the cruise terminal. We really appreciated that. Thanks for the great job! April 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by DON'T MISS THIS ONE! A GREAT hotel with a GREAT staff. Quiet, comfortable room. Good Breakfast. Walking distance (or will shuttle) to Old Town, shopping, dining, etc. Safe area to stay and to walk. Staff is always there for you ... helpful, courteous - the best! Front Desk personnel Juan, Vangie, and Josh were "above and beyond", as were all the shuttle drivers we had. They will shuttle you to and from most reasonable destinations as well as the Airport and Cruise Ship Terminal. They have some discount coupons for dining locations. We stayed twice on this last trip (first for 2 nights) then a month later for 1 night. Both times were great with not one complaint! We had a great time with them and will definitely recommend them and return again. March 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Extra friendly service We arrived at 1am and there had been a mistake in booking resulting in no room available at this property for our weary family. Alexander solved our problem promptly by booking us in a nearby hotel for the night where we were treated like royalty. Again, this was in the middle of the night! Alexander then went on to insure the booking was corrected and went out of his way to make us feel welcome. The entire staff was kind, the property is very clean. It is close to the freeway and airport but the noise was not an issue. We were in town to attend the family day and Marine graduation ceremony at the nearby MCRD and the hotel shuttle was a great way to get back and forth. Wonderful experience! March 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great for Park and Fly I was greeted by friendly staff and was given all the details about park and stay. This is fabulous. Besides a great deal on parking, the proximity to the San Diego Airport (going and being picked up), was remarkable. I love the pillows, the bed, and the towels. The food was good and was continually stocked to keep it fresh. When I returned from my trip I was greeted with just as much enthusiasm as when I initially arrived even though I did not stay the night. They fixed a fresh pot of coffee for me so we could have a cup on out way home and even included a bag of snacks and bottled water. March 17, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Stay away The hotel is on the side of a highway. All you hear is cars, trucks, and buses non stop. You won't get much sleep here. Also, the hotel is in a state of disrepair. The TVs are all grainy and they seem ok with that. March 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice and quiet a few blocks from Old Town The Room was nice and clean. The only "Con" was the uncomfortable Mattress :/. Other then that, I would still come back to this Holiday Inn Express. Only a few blocks from Old Town. March 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We'll be back! Spending three days in San Diego without a car gave me pause for no reason. The shuttle service at this location is EXCELLENT! Alex, one of the drivers, is second to none with promptness and pleasant personality. Every person behind the desk was helpful and courteous. Kyleen (I'm sorry to not have her name exactly correct) even offered to retrieve my airline boarding passes for us while we were out having fun at Sea World our last day there. The only negative was the location of our room which was located adjacent to the Interstate. I would request a room on the front of the hotel for my next stay. Overall the hotel is clean and well maintained. March 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by overnight Resonable hotel, nothing special. Breakfast could be better March 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by It was a great place to stay will stay there again. Stuff was very friendly and very helpful could not have asked for any thing else. Shuttle was also very good and pretty much ran all night. The breakfast was out standing have never had a breakfast like that at any hotel and for free. March 7, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Unable to sleep The location is great by Old Town SD; however, our room was facing the highway and the noise from it prevented us from sleeping all night. I should have left the bathroom fan and the TV on all night, it would have been less noisy. And the staff is well aware of that problem, if I consider the expression on the front desk clerk when I complained at checkout. Also, both my wife and I got severe stomach cramps from breakfast, we will not go back. March 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Excellent service My stay was very enjoyable. Staff very courteous, and helpful. Shuttle staff very nice and helpful. Overall stay very pleasant. Rooms clean and very comfortable. Would highly recomend this hotel. March 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable, quiet room and great service We only spent one night at this HI Express and wish we could have extended our stay. From the check in experience to the van to the airport, it was all outstanding. An excellent value close to the airport. February 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean rooms and great shuttle service I have stayed at many Holiday Inns before. The hotel was well kept and had a good breakfast options. The shuttle around San Diego was awesome and eliminated the worry of getting around. It is located on a freeway but you did not hear the traffic in the room. However, one staff member was not very pleasant when asking questions and finding out information. It did not make us feel very welcome. Other then that the stay was great. February 24, 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 14 next>>