• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Airport

  • Location: Airport
  • Closest City: SAN DIEGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:12
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Arabic
  2. English
  3. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Unfortunately we do not accept pets, however the Dr. Boyd's Pet Resort is located one block north of the hotel. You can visit thier website at www.drboyds.com or give them a call at 6192606060.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Old Town
Distance From Hotel:0.05MI
Attraction:
SeaWorld
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
San Diego Zoo
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
SeaPort Villege
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:125
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary street level and underground parking.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2011
  • Total number of rooms:123
  • Total number of suites:7
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:61
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:56
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:123
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:12
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
The Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport / Old Town is situated in an outstanding location in America’s Finest City. Located just off I-5 and I-8, guests will appreciate being less than a mile from the San Diego International Airport and minutes away from the Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Downtown (Gaslamp District), SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, world famous beaches, as well as many other popular area attractions.

Guest will appreciate free parking and
View More
The Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport / Old Town is situated in an outstanding location in America’s Finest City. Located just off I-5 and I-8, guests will appreciate being less than a mile from the San Diego International Airport and minutes away from the Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Downtown (Gaslamp District), SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, world famous beaches, as well as many other popular area attractions.

Guest will appreciate free parking and complimentary shuttle service to the airport, Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld, the Amtrak Train Station, as well as the Marine Corps Recruit Depot (MCRD).

Our guests will experience luxurious accommodations and a plethora of amenities including plush new bedding, a complimentary hot breakfast buffet, free wired and wireless internet, business center, fitness room, 24-hour deli and convenience store, outdoor heated pool as well as a 24-hour whirlpool.

Our exceptional location places you within walking distance of the trolley station, Historic Old Town and a variety of restaurants, shopping and entertainment. Guest will enjoy being a short distance from Balboa Park, Seaport Village, PetCo Park, Qualcomm Stadium, Coronado Island, La Jolla, shopping malls such as Fashion Valley, Mission Valley and Horton Plaza, USS Midway, the Maritime Museum, as well as universities such as USD, SDSU and UCSD.
View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Express Airport/Old Town Area is centrally located in San Diego. We offer free parking, complimentary shuttle to and from the airport and major attractions, free wireless internet throughout the hotel, and a hot complimentary breakfast buffet served daily.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 345 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Smelly room The main part of the hotel seems nicer but the side drive up rooms are old, smelly and in need of better decor. The parking lot is also pretty terrible. I would like to try the main hotel rooms and see. They did give us 2 free drinks and 2 breakfast vouchers worth $7.50 for their cafe so overall it wasn't a bad value so I may give them another chance since my daughter moved to school in the area and they give 10% to the university. September 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by one great stay This was a pleasure getaway for me. Everything was great from the room, food, bar, employees, location...all of it September 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to relax Very nice Couldn't think of anything negative to say. My daughter is at SDSU and we visit frequently have stayed in much more expensive hotels. none that we liked any better. September 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A special place Probably the nicest room we've stayed in, in quite some time! Two comments however--the lack of any mirror except in the bathroom was very inconvenient--and for a hotel of this quality, we were quite disappointed to be awaken at 5 am by the sounds of a vacuum cleaner and cleaning in a room quite near to us. That shouldn't happen! September 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay for the price and location We booked the room the same night we went to San Diego- the hotel has just been renovated and looks inviting and soothing as soon as you step in. The rooms were great and the furnishings were no less than a 5 star hotel room! September 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect for Fishing Trip Conveniently located nearby the marina and docks. An excellent choice for the fisherman planning to use a night or two before and after their trip. Parking is excellent and staff was very accommodating to every need. Would highly recommend the new building which has larger rooms and baths. More room overall to spread out and very new, clean and comfortable. August 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful place to stay Our first visit to San Diego was from August 14 to 21, 2014. Not only did we love San Diego, but the Holiday Inn Bayside was an excellent choice of hotel. The location was ideal, as we were not driving but were able to take advantage of the local bus service. The room was very comfortable and the food was very good. August 31, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by being able to rent bikes is a plus everything about the hotel is fair the best part was the bike rental August 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The Best hotel value in San Diego I've stayed here on business and leisure for years. Great location: near airport, Shelter Island, beaches; amenties: new fitness center, wonderful restaurant and bar, huge pool and recreation area; the new building looks and feels like a 4+ star hotel. The function/meeting space is phenomenal! Friendly, professional service. It's like coming home. I wouldn't stay anywhere else. August 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stranded in San Diego My plans to meet others in San Diego were canceled unbeknownst to me until I stepped off the plane. Being stranded at the airport was not my plan for the weekend. My go to was Holiday Inn. Was able to secure a room at a fantastic price. They picked me up within ten minutes and delivered me back the same. What could have been a disaster turned into a wonderful weekend. Thank you Holiday Inn! August 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Air Conditioner Was a little noisy 100% of the time and never shut off. Had to shut it off to sleep then the room became hot. August 27, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Staff less than friendly The staff at the hotel were less than friendly. I believe this is a large component of any stay. I have always had good luck at Holiday Inn's, but will never frequent this one again. August 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice! Generally my experience has been great at this property. August 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Room Review Room had a funky odor, but other than that, it was a good stay. We enjoy the pool area very much. Perhaps the hot tub area should have a sign limiting time use. The breakfast area attached to the hotel was delicious and the potatoes were fantastic. Parking was okay. I felt safe parking my vehicle in the parking lot because of the security arms that are located at the entrance and exits of the parking lots. August 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed, convenient location, and clean room Good front desk service & convenient location. The bed is comfortable and the room is nice and clean. We got a view from window. The cafe is also good but not the coffee. I would recommend this hotel August 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great place nice and clean stayed here for 2 nights on a 3 week trip to states and was very happy with hotel location all staff very helpful and all facilitys are in good clean condition, room was clean and bathroom modern great pool August 20, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by anything better in the area? The internet connection is really bad and unstable. August 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good value, conveniently located Located a short drive to the harbor area, this is my preferred hotel to stay at when sailing in San Diego. August 19, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by room service was very good I felt that this may have been a new hotel and there were many little things that needed finishing (the bathroom looked as if the tiles needed to be finished as the mortar was still on the tiles). August 16, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great location We were able to relax in San Diego. Location is perfect when visiting downtown San Diego. August 15, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Poor sleep quality Noise of air conditionr was so loud, and I did not sleep well. In addition to that, one group did check our around 3:00 am and they we so loud. That did really distarb our queality of sleep. It was one of worst Holiday Inn experience. August 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights recently. On arrival, a two double bedded room was swopped for a family room (kids in bunk beds) when the receptionist saw the kids. A good move! Although some aspects of the hotel are slightly dated, I believe it is being renovated and this did not spoil our stay at all. the pool area is spacious, with plenty of chairs, free towels and had more of a "holiday" feel to it. There is also a friendly bar in the afternnoons. There are plelnty of restaurants around and the hotel is situated over the road from the harbour, which also is being developed. Good access to everywhere. Recommend August 14, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Just too hot The room was too hot, the other buildings were too hot, and it was very uncomfortable anywhere but the lobby. August 12, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Staff Staff was not helpful or courteous during check in. There was a delay in getting a room due to rooms not being clean at the time of check in. August 6, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not a happy customer My stay was for one night, between flights. It was a late check in, so I did not get to the room until after midnight. The sink was dirty - black tarry stains in the sink. In the morning there was no hot water. I called the front desk. They told me to wiggle the knob (really?) Still no hot water. It was way too expensive, with no customer service and a cold shower to boot! August 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice for Families There is a nice pool area with hot tub. There is also table tennis, shuffle board, and a small putting green. The blackout curtains were excellent and the gated parking was good for security. August 5, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by poor value not recommended. I will definitely take a different hotel this week. (I am going to San Diego every week for the next two months.) August 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall a very nice stay From the first day until the last day the experience was positive. The room was nice and well kept. The food at the café was some of the best I have enjoyed at any former HI I have stayed. August 5, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Repeat Guests My son and I stay here when we come to San Diego for our vacation and ComicCon. In the past, it had some smoking rooms but that is not the case now. I was disappointed that I could not get a balcony room on Monday instead I was told all rooms were taken. Also, when I tried to get additional time on my Sunday checkout I was told only till 2 Pm. the hotel is full. the internet in the our room was very spotty. I had reported it and also told the front desk at check out that the first floor in the building with the souvenoir shop had poor service she was like, thats unusual. Its nice to sit on the balcony at night and that was the most disappointing, also the ice machine was broken all week too. August 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed excellent front desk service also good room service location is very nice,nice view from window. August 5, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Entrance Entrance Lobby Lounge Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Check Availability
Loading