• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Airport

  • Location: Airport
  • Closest City: SAN DIEGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:12
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Arabic
  2. English
  3. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Unfortunately we do not accept pets, however the Dr. Boyd's Pet Resort is located one block north of the hotel. You can visit thier website at www.drboyds.com or give them a call at 6192606060.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Old Town
Distance From Hotel:0.05MI
Attraction:
SeaWorld
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
San Diego Zoo
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
SeaPort Villege
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:125
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary street level and underground parking.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2011
  • Total number of rooms:123
  • Total number of suites:7
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:61
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:56
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:123
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:12
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
The Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport / Old Town is situated in an outstanding location in America’s Finest City. Located just off I-5 and I-8, guests will appreciate being less than a mile from the San Diego International Airport and minutes away from the Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Downtown (Gaslamp District), SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, world famous beaches, as well as many other popular area attractions.

Guest will appreciate free parking and
View More
The Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport / Old Town is situated in an outstanding location in America’s Finest City. Located just off I-5 and I-8, guests will appreciate being less than a mile from the San Diego International Airport and minutes away from the Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Downtown (Gaslamp District), SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, world famous beaches, as well as many other popular area attractions.

Guest will appreciate free parking and complimentary shuttle service to the airport, Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld, the Amtrak Train Station, as well as the Marine Corps Recruit Depot (MCRD).

Our guests will experience luxurious accommodations and a plethora of amenities including plush new bedding, a complimentary hot breakfast buffet, free wired and wireless internet, business center, fitness room, 24-hour deli and convenience store, outdoor heated pool as well as a 24-hour whirlpool.

Our exceptional location places you within walking distance of the trolley station, Historic Old Town and a variety of restaurants, shopping and entertainment. Guest will enjoy being a short distance from Balboa Park, Seaport Village, PetCo Park, Qualcomm Stadium, Coronado Island, La Jolla, shopping malls such as Fashion Valley, Mission Valley and Horton Plaza, USS Midway, the Maritime Museum, as well as universities such as USD, SDSU and UCSD.
View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Express Airport/Old Town Area is centrally located in San Diego. We offer free parking, complimentary shuttle to and from the airport and major attractions, free wireless internet throughout the hotel, and a hot complimentary breakfast buffet served daily.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 96 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent stay Well pleased with up grades since it was Comfort Inn. Enjoyed out stay and happy to see that Carlos is still there. Comfortable room and good breakfast. Only negative was desk chair; wornout and wouldnt go up or down. August 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good stay @ Holiday Inn Express Went down to San Diego area to meet friends who RV, stayed at closest Holiday Inn Express, convenient location, close to freeway, clean, safe, with a good breakfast included. best place to stay in area for the price. August 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Simply Wonderful! I can't think of a single complaint during our visit; the staff was pleasant, very clean room, nice finishes (granite) and a ton of breakfast options from eggs and sausage to oatmeal, pastries, fruit and yogurt. Plus, they keep brewed coffee available for guests all day long...a "perk" not even offered by our $300 a night hotel up north. We booked a kitchenette room for our family of five and it worked out great! The full size frig and two TVs were appreciated, and amazingly, there was plenty of space for 5 adult-sized people in this generously large room. Comments previously posted by guests indicating a sketchy neighborhood are much exagerated. It's a basic, working class urban commercial area with many options for dining including a Wendy's two doors down and an awesome Mexican restaurant directly across the street. Although perhaps not the cheapest lodging option available in San Diego, this hotel is well worth the rate. I'd stay there again in a heartbeat. August 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Buen Fin de Semana Muy buen alojamiento, lo que esperaba, el trato del personal fue excelente. August 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 1st trip to San Diego Breakfast was the same each morning but was cooked very well. There were many choices from eggs, bacon, sausage, cereal, pancakes, oatmeal or yogurt. Housekeeping did an excellent job. Beds were very comfortable. When we first arrived and got up to our room, our door key cards did not work. We called downstairs and the manager, Tiffany ran up 4 floors to bring us new room key cards. I was amazed as she was off duty but made sure we were taken care. She also acknowledged that I was a rewards member and that made me feel very welcomed. Each day we returned from Comic Con, The staff, Marielana, always asked us how our day went at the con. Plenty of places to eat within 5-15 drive. 2 blocks from the trolly that took us down to the San Diego Convention Center when we didn't want to drive back and forth. My only issue is that we were so busy with Comic Con that we didn't get a chance to use the pool. August 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and comfortable bed Clean and comfortable. Easy to get to sites we wanted to visits. Area was okay. Had people to come up to us late at night when we returned from site seeing that asked for money. Should have more security at night. The breakfast was good. The staff was friendly and helpful. August 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay We stayed here for three days to visit the San Diego area. Check-in with friendly staff, room OK with sufficient facilities like a refrigerator. Nice swimming pool and jacuzzi. Breakfast is good with lots of choices. Located near the highway and several restaurants and supermarket nearby. Only negative thing is the noise we had from the central airco on the roof outside our room (at the back of the hotel). Overall we and the kids enjoyed our stay very much. August 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Chula Vista In my opinion this was the best hotel in the area. Clean, comfortable and very courteous and friendly staff. Well pleased with my overall stay and will stay here again when I return to the area. August 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff is the best We arrived late evening and were greeted by a very friendly, professional staff person. All staff members at this location were wonderful, as usual. We stay here to visit friends nearby and will definitely stay here again. Room is clean, and even though our room was located close to the elevator on the first floor, it was very quiet. Great pillows!! August 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean Hotel The hotel room was clean, staff was friendly, bed was very comfortable August 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff The staff at this location are amazing. They go out of their way to accommodate you and make your trip a great experience. Make sure you have the breakfast-it was great. Wide variety of choices. The pool was clean and inviting, even though we didn't use it. The rooms were well kept and the beds extremely comfortable. We had an unpleasant experience with the central reservation people, but the staff at this location went out of their way to correct the situation! Thank you for a wonderful relaxing week. August 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay! I stay here occasionally and this has to be the nicest hotel in the Chula Vista area; much better than anything within a 5 mile radius. The cost is a bit much for what it is. I have stayed at a nicer hotel in the Gaslamp district for less. August 6, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Overall experience during stay The property should be upgraded such as carpets, staff should be more friendly to guests, and common areas of the hotel should be maintained and cleaned to meet IHG standards. August 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Staff The staff at the hotel was WONDERFUL. The hotel was amazing and not far from San Deigo. I would recommend this hotel. July 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Hotel, shady area The hotel itself was nice, however the area of town it is in can make someone a bit uncomfortable. For that reason I would say the price of this hotel is quite high for the surrounding area. I would not do a lot of walking from the hotel to anything nearby. July 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay Great Stay. Easy to find location by the freeway and close to the blue line rail station. Carlos at the front desk was very friendly and made our stay. He provided great local information and always greeted us with a smile. Definitely would come back. July 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff Room was nice, clean, staff was great. location good, resturants nearby were great. July 23, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Just OK I have stayed at numerous Holiday Inns all over the world, and this is one where I would have to say is just OK. Not so good looking location. July 22, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Bad customer service from front desk agent Upon making my reservation, I requested 2 double beds based on my family size. Upon check-in I was assigned a King room. I proceeded to ask MariaElena if there were any 2 bed rooms available. She stated the hotel was "sold out". A guest checking in right before us, got a 2 bed room and was requesting a King room. I pointed this out to MariaElena which she proceed to tell me she "can't switch the rooms" and a family of 5, 3 small children, according to MariaElena can sleep on a King bed since "it's a big bed". I couldn't understand the logic for not being able to switch us since the rooms each of us needed were readily available and we were both checking out on the same day. Please invest on customer service training for your employees. July 21, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 Fair hotel, scary area Hotel is located in a less than desirable area of San Diego. The property is however, well kept and clean. Rooms are very dark in design and drab - depressing. Front desk hassled me regarding government rate despite credentials, this was highly annoying and unappreciated. The gym is small with low quality equipment that didn't work properly. July 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excelente hotel, cómodo, limpio y tranquilo. Excelente hotel, cómodo, limpio y tranquilo. Una gran opción para ir de compras a los outlets en un fin de semana. July 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast Area Would recommend having rice steamer and sauces added. Rice is a good morning starch staple to be added to breakfast. July 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Service The room was a double room with a couch and double tv's. The stay was really nice. We stayed 6 days and had a wonderful time there. My best experience was the fact that I left my wedding ring in the room and realized it after my return to Mississippi. I called the hotel and spoke with Carlos. He said there were people in the room but once they check out, he would check the room and call me back. He called me back within 4 hours to tell me he found the ring. Can I say how thrilled I was with Carlos. He then mailed the ring to me the same day. Bless you Carlos! July 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean room, frienndly staff and good breakfast Overall, I was quite pleased with my stay here. The room was clean, the staff upon check-in was very friendly and the breakfast was pretty good the next morning. There is a pool here, it's a small pool (I didn't use it) however it did look clean. The only thing that I wish was that the hotel was a little closer to downtown San Diego. It's about a 15 minute drive (more with traffic). Overall, we had a nice stay. July 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excelente Servicio Excelente servicio. Personal muy atento y habitaciones comodas. Buena ubicacion July 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by excellent breakfast and service The breakfast and the service were exceptional. The security personnel were involved and accommodating. The staff were attuned to our needs. July 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay The staff were very helpful during our stay at Holiday Inn Express Chula Vista. Room was great and clean. Comfortable bed and soft pillows. Amenities were a plus. Complimentary breakfast was great as well! We plan to stay here again next time we are in the area :) June 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excelente Estancia Excelente atención, servicio, habitación, por eso es mi lugar favorito. June 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good place to stay The hotel was pretty busy. There was a kids soccer tournament in town. So there was a lot of kids. We like kids but we were there to relax and enjoy our evening after a wedding we attended. When we arrived around 3pm the pool was full of kids. We got ready to and went to the wedding we were going to. We arrived back at the hotel around 830pm. The pool was still full of kids and a lot of screaming going on. Kids being kids. Would have been nice to have the pool closed to kids at a certain time so others could have enjoyed the pool with out all the kids and the screaming. The next morning we got up late and went down to have breakfast around 930 in hopes of missing all the kids. But we guessed wrong. The breakfast area was full. The food selection was really good and the quality of the food was a lot better then we expected. Had to wait for a table to set and enjoy breakfast. When one cleared we had to rush to it as people that were after us tried rushing to it. We would stay here again though. June 24, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by computer connect my last visit i had internet connection issues -- unfortunately - nothin'hs changed June 15, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Entrance Entrance Lobby Lounge Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
Check Availability
Loading