• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-29-2014)
(e.g. Aug-30-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Airport

  • Location: Airport
  • Closest City: SAN DIEGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:12
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Arabic
  2. English
  3. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Unfortunately we do not accept pets, however the Dr. Boyd's Pet Resort is located one block north of the hotel. You can visit thier website at www.drboyds.com or give them a call at 6192606060.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Old Town
Distance From Hotel:0.05MI
Attraction:
SeaWorld
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
San Diego Zoo
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
SeaPort Villege
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:125
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary street level and underground parking.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2011
  • Total number of rooms:123
  • Total number of suites:7
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:61
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:56
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:123
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:12
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
The Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport / Old Town is situated in an outstanding location in America’s Finest City. Located just off I-5 and I-8, guests will appreciate being less than a mile from the San Diego International Airport and minutes away from the Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Downtown (Gaslamp District), SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, world famous beaches, as well as many other popular area attractions.

Guest will appreciate free parking and
View More
The Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport / Old Town is situated in an outstanding location in America’s Finest City. Located just off I-5 and I-8, guests will appreciate being less than a mile from the San Diego International Airport and minutes away from the Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Downtown (Gaslamp District), SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, world famous beaches, as well as many other popular area attractions.

Guest will appreciate free parking and complimentary shuttle service to the airport, Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld, the Amtrak Train Station, as well as the Marine Corps Recruit Depot (MCRD).

Our guests will experience luxurious accommodations and a plethora of amenities including plush new bedding, a complimentary hot breakfast buffet, free wired and wireless internet, business center, fitness room, 24-hour deli and convenience store, outdoor heated pool as well as a 24-hour whirlpool.

Our exceptional location places you within walking distance of the trolley station, Historic Old Town and a variety of restaurants, shopping and entertainment. Guest will enjoy being a short distance from Balboa Park, Seaport Village, PetCo Park, Qualcomm Stadium, Coronado Island, La Jolla, shopping malls such as Fashion Valley, Mission Valley and Horton Plaza, USS Midway, the Maritime Museum, as well as universities such as USD, SDSU and UCSD.
View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Express Airport/Old Town Area is centrally located in San Diego. We offer free parking, complimentary shuttle to and from the airport and major attractions, free wireless internet throughout the hotel, and a hot complimentary breakfast buffet served daily.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 89 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Chula Vista In my opinion this was the best hotel in the area. Clean, comfortable and very courteous and friendly staff. Well pleased with my overall stay and will stay here again when I return to the area. August 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff is the best We arrived late evening and were greeted by a very friendly, professional staff person. All staff members at this location were wonderful, as usual. We stay here to visit friends nearby and will definitely stay here again. Room is clean, and even though our room was located close to the elevator on the first floor, it was very quiet. Great pillows!! August 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean Hotel The hotel room was clean, staff was friendly, bed was very comfortable August 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff The staff at this location are amazing. They go out of their way to accommodate you and make your trip a great experience. Make sure you have the breakfast-it was great. Wide variety of choices. The pool was clean and inviting, even though we didn't use it. The rooms were well kept and the beds extremely comfortable. We had an unpleasant experience with the central reservation people, but the staff at this location went out of their way to correct the situation! Thank you for a wonderful relaxing week. August 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay! I stay here occasionally and this has to be the nicest hotel in the Chula Vista area; much better than anything within a 5 mile radius. The cost is a bit much for what it is. I have stayed at a nicer hotel in the Gaslamp district for less. August 6, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Overall experience during stay The property should be upgraded such as carpets, staff should be more friendly to guests, and common areas of the hotel should be maintained and cleaned to meet IHG standards. August 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Staff The staff at the hotel was WONDERFUL. The hotel was amazing and not far from San Deigo. I would recommend this hotel. July 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Hotel, shady area The hotel itself was nice, however the area of town it is in can make someone a bit uncomfortable. For that reason I would say the price of this hotel is quite high for the surrounding area. I would not do a lot of walking from the hotel to anything nearby. July 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay Great Stay. Easy to find location by the freeway and close to the blue line rail station. Carlos at the front desk was very friendly and made our stay. He provided great local information and always greeted us with a smile. Definitely would come back. July 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff Room was nice, clean, staff was great. location good, resturants nearby were great. July 23, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Just OK I have stayed at numerous Holiday Inns all over the world, and this is one where I would have to say is just OK. Not so good looking location. July 22, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Bad customer service from front desk agent Upon making my reservation, I requested 2 double beds based on my family size. Upon check-in I was assigned a King room. I proceeded to ask MariaElena if there were any 2 bed rooms available. She stated the hotel was "sold out". A guest checking in right before us, got a 2 bed room and was requesting a King room. I pointed this out to MariaElena which she proceed to tell me she "can't switch the rooms" and a family of 5, 3 small children, according to MariaElena can sleep on a King bed since "it's a big bed". I couldn't understand the logic for not being able to switch us since the rooms each of us needed were readily available and we were both checking out on the same day. Please invest on customer service training for your employees. July 21, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 Fair hotel, scary area Hotel is located in a less than desirable area of San Diego. The property is however, well kept and clean. Rooms are very dark in design and drab - depressing. Front desk hassled me regarding government rate despite credentials, this was highly annoying and unappreciated. The gym is small with low quality equipment that didn't work properly. July 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excelente hotel, cómodo, limpio y tranquilo. Excelente hotel, cómodo, limpio y tranquilo. Una gran opción para ir de compras a los outlets en un fin de semana. July 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast Area Would recommend having rice steamer and sauces added. Rice is a good morning starch staple to be added to breakfast. July 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Service The room was a double room with a couch and double tv's. The stay was really nice. We stayed 6 days and had a wonderful time there. My best experience was the fact that I left my wedding ring in the room and realized it after my return to Mississippi. I called the hotel and spoke with Carlos. He said there were people in the room but once they check out, he would check the room and call me back. He called me back within 4 hours to tell me he found the ring. Can I say how thrilled I was with Carlos. He then mailed the ring to me the same day. Bless you Carlos! July 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean room, frienndly staff and good breakfast Overall, I was quite pleased with my stay here. The room was clean, the staff upon check-in was very friendly and the breakfast was pretty good the next morning. There is a pool here, it's a small pool (I didn't use it) however it did look clean. The only thing that I wish was that the hotel was a little closer to downtown San Diego. It's about a 15 minute drive (more with traffic). Overall, we had a nice stay. July 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excelente Servicio Excelente servicio. Personal muy atento y habitaciones comodas. Buena ubicacion July 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by excellent breakfast and service The breakfast and the service were exceptional. The security personnel were involved and accommodating. The staff were attuned to our needs. July 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay The staff were very helpful during our stay at Holiday Inn Express Chula Vista. Room was great and clean. Comfortable bed and soft pillows. Amenities were a plus. Complimentary breakfast was great as well! We plan to stay here again next time we are in the area :) June 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excelente Estancia Excelente atención, servicio, habitación, por eso es mi lugar favorito. June 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good place to stay The hotel was pretty busy. There was a kids soccer tournament in town. So there was a lot of kids. We like kids but we were there to relax and enjoy our evening after a wedding we attended. When we arrived around 3pm the pool was full of kids. We got ready to and went to the wedding we were going to. We arrived back at the hotel around 830pm. The pool was still full of kids and a lot of screaming going on. Kids being kids. Would have been nice to have the pool closed to kids at a certain time so others could have enjoyed the pool with out all the kids and the screaming. The next morning we got up late and went down to have breakfast around 930 in hopes of missing all the kids. But we guessed wrong. The breakfast area was full. The food selection was really good and the quality of the food was a lot better then we expected. Had to wait for a table to set and enjoy breakfast. When one cleared we had to rush to it as people that were after us tried rushing to it. We would stay here again though. June 24, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by computer connect my last visit i had internet connection issues -- unfortunately - nothin'hs changed June 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable, clean and quiet. We were in town for a graduation and after a long day looked forward to relaxing. The room was great and the beds very comfortable. We will stay here again when in town visiting. June 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good but needs updating Good value in comparison to the prices of other places in the area. Staff was super friendly and helpful. The beds were excellent (for me), firm and not worn out. We really liked that they used sheets instead of those old comforters. I liked that they had the pillows labeled on the cases as firm or soft even though I don't like feather pillows. Although i'm sure if I'd asked, I could have got a foam pillow instead. I didn't like that there was no fan in the bathroom and the bathroom sink drained very slow. The air conditioner worked well, although it would have been nice to have just a fan function to circulate air. I did take a peek at the filter in the conditioner just out of curiosity and it was pretty caked with dust. While entering the front entrance, it would have been nice to have automatic doors or a button (a handicap one) to open the door seeing my hands were full of luggage. The breakfast was excellent! A ton of choices and nice breakfast hours. The fitness center was pretty good; I used the treadmill and it was nice; lots of features and worked well. I liked that it had water, tv, sani wipes and towels. Overall I would stay again because of the friendly staff, good value and location close to downtown San Diego. June 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Chula HIE Great place to stay for the money. Had a small issue with Ants in my room but it was quickly taken care of by the staff. June 11, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible reception and front desk service When I was first greeted, the front desk person was unfriendly and didn't even smile at me. Eventhough he recognized me as a Platinum member, he didn't even offer anything much to make my stay more comfortable. The other front desk staff are also as unfriendly as they were busy chatting among themselves. Rooms were just ok. June 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excelente estancia Todo fue muy bien, las instalaciones de la habitacion excelente, solo recomendaria instalar otro elevador ya que se satura el unico disponible. April 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service and Convenient Acess I have been staying at the Holidiay Inn Express in Chula Vista, CA for the past 7 weeks and could not be happier with my choice! The location is right off the highway; very easy access and the parking works out very well. The staff is really what sets this place apart -everyone, and I do mean everyone! From the front desk staff on all shifts to folks serving breakfast. - everyone is really pleasant and helpful at all times. Breakfast is available before 5:30am which is really nice on the early morning departures. I will continue to use this location and have been recommending to all of my colleagues that travel to the area. April 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by outstanding I say outstanding since I stayed at a Pueblo, CO holiday Inn and it was average. I enjoyed everything the holiday Inn in Chula Vista had to offer. The staff was great and my biggest fear are the bathroom towels and they were outstanding. Thank you Holiday Inn. .. April 3, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Entrance Entrance Lobby Lounge Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-29-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-30-2014)
Check Availability
Loading