• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-12-2014)
(e.g. Jul-13-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Airport

  • Location: Airport
  • Closest City: SAN DIEGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:12
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Arabic
  2. English
  3. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Unfortunately we do not accept pets, however the Dr. Boyd's Pet Resort is located one block north of the hotel. You can visit thier website at www.drboyds.com or give them a call at 6192606060.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
SeaPort Villege
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
San Diego Zoo
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
Old Town
Distance From Hotel:0.05MI
Attraction:
Lego Land
Distance From Hotel:20.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:125
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary street level and underground parking.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2011
  • Total number of rooms:123
  • Total number of suites:7
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:61
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:56
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:123
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:12
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
The Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport / Old Town is situated in an outstanding location in America’s Finest City. Located just off I-5 and I-8, guests will appreciate being less than a mile from the San Diego International Airport and minutes away from the Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Downtown (Gaslamp District), SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, world famous beaches, as well as many other popular area attractions.

Guest will appreciate free parking and
View More
The Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport / Old Town is situated in an outstanding location in America’s Finest City. Located just off I-5 and I-8, guests will appreciate being less than a mile from the San Diego International Airport and minutes away from the Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Downtown (Gaslamp District), SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, world famous beaches, as well as many other popular area attractions.

Guest will appreciate free parking and complimentary shuttle service to the airport, Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld, the Amtrak Train Station, as well as the Marine Corps Recruit Depot (MCRD).

Our guests will experience luxurious accommodations and a plethora of amenities including plush new bedding, a complimentary hot breakfast buffet, free wired and wireless internet, business center, fitness room, 24-hour deli and convenience store, outdoor heated pool as well as a 24-hour whirlpool.

Our exceptional location places you within walking distance of the trolley station, Historic Old Town and a variety of restaurants, shopping and entertainment. Guest will enjoy being a short distance from Balboa Park, Seaport Village, PetCo Park, Qualcomm Stadium, Coronado Island, La Jolla, shopping malls such as Fashion Valley, Mission Valley and Horton Plaza, USS Midway, the Maritime Museum, as well as universities such as USD, SDSU and UCSD.
View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Express Airport/Old Town Area is centrally located in San Diego. We offer free parking, complimentary shuttle to and from the airport and major attractions, free wireless internet throughout the hotel, and a hot complimentary breakfast buffet served daily.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 63 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean comfortable room Clean comfortable room. Quiet eventhough my room was next to the conference room and an event was going on there. overall good value July 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient and clean Convenient for our trip to airport. Very clean and July 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Experience Very good internet and WiFi service. Swimming pool and facility is very clean. Staff and service is commendable. July 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great sevice Checking in was easy and fast. great customer service. My kids love the pool and exercise room. Overall great sevice. July 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fred This is a very nice hotel and is very clean. I would recommend it to any traveler. July 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service All accomodations requested were already in the room. Very friendly staff. June 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by 5 day Home Away From Home I have always had good experiences at Holiday Inn Express. And this stay was no exception! The staff was very friendly and helpful. Loved the variety of breakfast food choices as I am diabetic and need a balance of protein and carbs. The swag bag at check-in was an extra perk. My room was nicely appointed with a very comfortable bed, updated TV and many stations. I would definitely recommend this property. June 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay Excellent front desk employees. The room was clean and the bathroom as well. Enjoyed out stay here again if in the area. THANKS June 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Helpful night staff We arrived late at night after flying into SanDiego. The staff helped us with our bags, got and helped set up a crib, and found us a place to park near the door. We were tired and the the extra help was greatly appreciated. It was all done with a very positive attitude. June 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good value; accommodating staff Attractive; clean; courteous and accommodating staff; good value in San Diego area and close to main highways; good breakfast choices. Our room was down the hall from the ice machine which made noises and people used it at late hours; that was somewhat annoying but not a deal-breaker; my husband didn't seem to notice it. Glad we weren't next to it, though. I would stay in this hotel again - in another room - if we were to need local lodging again. June 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent hotel in Chula Vista My family and I stayed at this Holiday Inn Express as a Priority Club member for 3 nights in June. I received a goodie bag when I checked in. That was very nice of the hotel!. The hotel honored my request for upper floor room. Several restaurants are within walking distance of the hotel, especially Wendy's restaurant. Breakfast was excellent for 3 mornings. Room service was excellent. The only downside to the hotel is the internet speed is very slow, especially when I'm used to high-speed internet at home. Ice machine is only on 1st & 3rd floor, a big inconvenience as I was on 4th floor. Lastly, the elevator is slow. My family and I would definitely come back to this Holiday Inn Express and all the Holiday Inn Express in this country. June 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place in bad surroundings Nice and clean hotel; next to Highway but not in a very pleasant area. Friendly staff; present for Platinum member. Good value and very nice breakfast. June 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice The hotel was great, but a couple bus loads of kids were there at the same time. They can get loud and bunch up in the breakfast area making it difficult to find a seat. They also dominate the pool so families don't feel as welcome. June 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by staff friendliness although I have forgotten the name of the individual who checked us in, I will not forget how much he made us feel welcome. His friendliness and outgoing personality in answering all the questions both I and my guest had made us feel right at home. I will definitely recommend this hotel to all my friends. It's location to good dining and easy on /off of interstate made my trip to the airport just as smooth as if I was staying in downtown san diego. May 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Staff I wish I could give Carlos and Maria 10 stars!! They were wonderful and made our visit very pleasant. The hotel is nice and clean, all the things you would expect a Holiday Inn Express to be, but the staff went above and beyond! Thank you! May 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by clean rooms, excellent staff, happy to stay. i have stayed at the holiday, many times and i always have been very happy with my stay here. i recommend this place. May 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room and excellent service Just one nigth, but really needed. Bed and pillows were very comfortable. Attention from staff was excellent. Breakfast, nice. Only one little problem: the minibar wake me up at midnigth. Please revise the minibars to be more silent. April 18, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable hotel The hotel is a good place to visit to visit your friends and family. The breakfast is normal so don't get your expectations to high because the breakfast is standard. Every other day you will find either scrambled eggs or omelettes. April 8, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by home away from home it is nice to know that there is a good hotel chain who is constantly oponening their doors for yoou every single day of the year with more than 200 new hotels being opened annually. i suggest that you do pick a good hotel that it is cheap because the money that we have do not grow on trees. April 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by The hotel was very cosy... The security guard was very friendly and made me feel like i was at home. March 27, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by My Experience I opted for a sweet with two queen beds and our stay was for four days during Memorial weekend. Location of Hotel is approximately two blocks down from a trolly stop on same side with lots of eateries. Although the room was comfortable, clean and mail service was excellent. My experience was not.. First morning my friend and I thought we take advantage of the complimentary breakfast. While eating, I noticed the attendant and front desk person (both females) were discussing something, while somewhat looking our way. In effort to avoid embarrassment in front of others. I stud up and approached this person, who later I came to find out she was the front desk manager (female) and I asked if something was wrong. She responding by asking if we were staying there. I responded by saying yes, she intern nicely asked to see my room key card, so I showed it too her. This was very uncomfortable for my friend and I. Which pretty much ruined it for us going forward, with respect to feeling comfortable and being able to relax. March 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay! I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this Holiday Inn. My wife and I spent our honeymoon travelling up and down Southern California. We had enough points for 2 weeks in California so we stayed at Holiday Inn's to stretch our points. This was probably the best one we stayed at. It was recently renovated (6 mo.) so every thing was like new. Everything was good. Room was clean and smelled good. Bathroom was great. Lobby and other common areas was well kept and decorated. Staff was good. It was really nice. No cons at this hotel. The only "complaint" I could come up with is the AC was a little loud but that is like one tenth of one percent of my overall experience. Great hotel, staff, breakfast. Great stay. Chula Vista itself was skeptical but we only stayed there to be in the vicinity of San Diego and enjoy the coast. I recommend this property. February 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful staff I have stayed at this hotel intermittently for 3 months while working in Tijuana. The staff is great, extremely accommodating. I have had packages sent to my room from my company several times, they are always waiting for me in my room when I arrive at night. Same when I turn my laundry in. The front desk personnel has gone above and beyond to make me feel welcome and take care of my needs. In my 6 years of frequent travel with my career, I would rate this as the friendliest hotel I have ever stayed at. They also always do their best to get me my favourite 1st floor room when I book the hotel. I especially want to thank Carlos for his hospitality and helpfulness. I utilise the gym at least every other day during my stay, the equipment is in good shape. This is a great hotel, and I have recommended it to everyone I work with whose travels bring them to this area. February 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excelent location between San Diego and San Ysidro I stayed for 6 nights with my family in december-january and the overall experience was very good; excellent relation cost-benefits. We didn't need to rent a car 'cause the troley station is very near. January 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff - Great Locaion My second stay at this Holiday Inn Express. The location is great. The staff is exceptional. Hotel beautifully decorated for the holidays. December 10, 2012
<<prev 2 3
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Entrance Entrance Lobby Lounge Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-12-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-13-2014)
Check Availability
Loading