• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-02-2014)
(e.g. Oct-03-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Airport

  • Location: Airport
  • Closest City: SAN DIEGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:12
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Arabic
  2. English
  3. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Unfortunately we do not accept pets, however the Dr. Boyd's Pet Resort is located one block north of the hotel. You can visit thier website at www.drboyds.com or give them a call at 6192606060.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Old Town
Distance From Hotel:0.05MI
Attraction:
SeaWorld
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
San Diego Zoo
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
SeaPort Villege
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:125
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary street level and underground parking.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2011
  • Total number of rooms:123
  • Total number of suites:7
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:61
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:56
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:123
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:12
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
The Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport / Old Town is situated in an outstanding location in America’s Finest City. Located just off I-5 and I-8, guests will appreciate being less than a mile from the San Diego International Airport and minutes away from the Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Downtown (Gaslamp District), SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, world famous beaches, as well as many other popular area attractions.

Guest will appreciate free parking and
View More
The Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport / Old Town is situated in an outstanding location in America’s Finest City. Located just off I-5 and I-8, guests will appreciate being less than a mile from the San Diego International Airport and minutes away from the Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Downtown (Gaslamp District), SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, world famous beaches, as well as many other popular area attractions.

Guest will appreciate free parking and complimentary shuttle service to the airport, Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld, the Amtrak Train Station, as well as the Marine Corps Recruit Depot (MCRD).

Our guests will experience luxurious accommodations and a plethora of amenities including plush new bedding, a complimentary hot breakfast buffet, free wired and wireless internet, business center, fitness room, 24-hour deli and convenience store, outdoor heated pool as well as a 24-hour whirlpool.

Our exceptional location places you within walking distance of the trolley station, Historic Old Town and a variety of restaurants, shopping and entertainment. Guest will enjoy being a short distance from Balboa Park, Seaport Village, PetCo Park, Qualcomm Stadium, Coronado Island, La Jolla, shopping malls such as Fashion Valley, Mission Valley and Horton Plaza, USS Midway, the Maritime Museum, as well as universities such as USD, SDSU and UCSD.
View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Express Airport/Old Town Area is centrally located in San Diego. We offer free parking, complimentary shuttle to and from the airport and major attractions, free wireless internet throughout the hotel, and a hot complimentary breakfast buffet served daily.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 266 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Awful Staff Plain and simple - awful. The ice machine wasn't working on the third floor. I called the front desk THREE TIMES and finally someone answered the phone. I called to let the front desk know that the ice machine was not working and asked that someone help me get ice. The person at the front desk said that I could go downstairs and get the ice myself. I'm more than happy and able to get the ice, but the front desk was completely rude about the machine being broken. About an hour later a manager came up and asked what was wrong. I told her that the ice machine was broken. What bothers me is that (1) she didn't know what the problem was when she came upstairs, (2) she apologize for the inconvenience, (3) she never offered to help. I've never stayed at a hotel with such rude and unhelpful people ever. August 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by solid service Not a bad hotel for the price. Nice location, easy walking to Balboa Park and the downtown entertainment district. August 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Downtown Uptown We had a great stay here. Our room was nice, great balcony and views. However the intersection below our room was very busy and noisy. The single pane windows let it lots of noise and heat. Ask for a west facing room. August 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Book this hotel! Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown, thank you so much! I truly enjoyed staying with you. First of all, you had one of the friendliest, nicest staffs of any hotel I've stayed in. Your staff was grade A+ from check in, to the parking lot, to breakfast and the cocktail reception. Recommendations for stuff to do? Got it! Directions to the beach? Here's several. Where should I go eat? We'll tell you (and give you vouchers for an awesome Italian place across the street). Second, your rooms were spacious and comfortable. Sure, this isn't the newest property, and it might be starting to show its age, but we can't hold that again you, and you're doing the best with what you've got, as it's clear that this Holiday Inn Express is well maintained. Third, you have a great location -- downtown, with easy access to the airport, Naval installations, and freeways. I never felt like it was difficult to leave you or to return to you thereafter. Finally, I'd be remiss not to mention your value. Your rates are more than reasonable, particularly with an above-average HI Express breakfast included, as well your beautiful pool. I was a little confused about the "room safe" charge (I hadn't even requested a room safe!), but that was taken off the bill automatically. Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown, you're a superb Holiday Inn Express, and I'll certainly be staying with you again the next time I'm in San Diego. Thanks! August 11, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by 房间小,服务尚可 非常一般,前台服务人员冷漠,但还算专业。早餐基本是快餐,连餐具都是一次性的,但食品质量还可以。房间非常小,洗手间也很小,不方便。 August 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Older property, but quite nice I saw complaints about the age of this property, but I found that to be charming and fun. I liked the classic California feel of it. The staff, when we checked in, went beyond expectations to take care of us as my purse had been stolen in Arizona earlier in the day and we arrived late and discouraged. Reward Club status was acknowledged with a lovely welcome basket. The room was fine - clean and spacious enough for us. Yes. The bathroom is a bit small, but we weren't troubled by that. The shuttle service was particularly welcome as garage parking does take some attention and effort, but I didn't find it as awful as some reviewers say. We also enjoyed the evening happy hour with tasty food from a local restaurant. Breakfast was especially nice (compared to other HIEs we stayed in on this 14 day trip). Big thank you to the staff who made things feel a bit better after my huge loss. August 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by what I would have liked to have in the hotel I was really hoping to use a fitness center. And my being a senior person, I could not do any walking outside because the hotel is surrounded by steep hills. August 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good travel experience I like the Holiday Inn Express in downtown San Diego. It is close to the Trolley and the shuttle service provides quick access to the San Diego International Airport. August 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A nice stay It was comfortable to stay at. It was just what I needed for the trip. It is a little bit out of the way, but close enough to where I needed to be August 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel with good location The hotel is situated centrally - a number of good cafes and restaurants are situated within 5-minutes walk. It is only 15 minutes walk to Gaslamp Quarters. The room is spacious, comfortable and clean. It has a balcony which overlooks the beautiful city. There are good variation of food at breakfast (which, is complimentary). There are also complimentary lemonade and water as you walk in the hotel. Free shuttle service is available to selected locations. This made travelling a lot easier and hassle-free. Ask the helpful and friendly staff about it. They are prepared to recommend or advice on tourist attractions in the city. August 4, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by nur zum Schlafen ok - sonst eher nicht zu empfehlend Das Hotel ist sichtbar in die Jahre gekommen. Die Zimmer und die Anlage sind deutlich abgewohnt. Die Balkontür hatte 3 unterschiedliche Verschließmechanismen, von denen 2 nicht mehr gingen (vermutlich auf Einbruchsversuche zurückzuführen - daher wurde ein neuer Mechanismus eingebaut). Das Frühstück war noch ok - nichts Besonderes aber auch nicht schlecht. Die Lage ist für Besucher des gaslamp district gut, da nur wenige Blocks entfernt. Die Gegend selbst ist aber nicht sonderlich einladend. Auf unserer Rundreise durch den Westen der USA als Durchgangsstation gewählt und das schlechteste von den 15 Hotels der Reise. August 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by well located It is a great place to stay to get to all the attractions you need to get to. July 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice I enjoyed my stay a great deal. The hotel was very clean and well arranged with modern décor that made you feel comfortable. The staff was helpful, well mannered and very familiar with the area and events. They were always smiling and willing to help. I booked my room late during a huge convention so it was a little pricy, but the hotel and the staff made me feel like it was money will spent. July 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value for money This hotel offers great value for money for the budget traveller. It provides free airport transfers, and the stay comes with breakfast and free WiFi. Although the breakfast spread is limited compared to the more pricey hotels, it is sufficient for the budget traveller. I would recommend this to budget travellers, and definitely consider staying there again if I am in the region again. July 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay in convenient area I was very happy with my overall stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Downtown San Diego. The only issue I had, which really isn't an issue, is that the sausage gravy for the biscuits and gravy was not filled until I was finished with my breakfast. This is only an issue because that gravy happens to be my favorite. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anybody staying in the area. July 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by enjoyed my stay I enjoyed my stay. Very nice rooms and great customer service! July 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Vacation Hotel The staff is friendly and very attentive. They were exceptional. its close to many of the major attractions. Will definitely stay here next time I am in San Diego. July 24, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Very convenient location Overall the people at the front desk busy but did their best. Did not like that you had to have valet parking sometimes had to wait awhile for the car only 1 man working valet. July 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Professional Front Desk Very informative and helpful to provide us with necessary local and traffice information. The only concern is the additional US$16/day parking fee. July 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff Staff very helpful, friendly. Centrally located, free transport to popular areas. July 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 2014July14&15 The pool was perfect for my 6 year old Having the drink social hour was a great part of vacation Good location downtown Shuttle drivers were very courteous and gave info on getting around town July 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by nice, clean a little outdated, and parking was somewhat inconvenient, but over all a nice place July 17, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Downtown Holiday Inn When I was single, staying at a downtown hotel this would of been good. Location, price, was as expected. Now that I'm older with a family, I have different expectations. This is still a good hotel, staff was great, location great. Downside major disappointment was breakfast, not to sure if its hotels fault but it was busy. Had other tourist in line crowding and shoving my 6 yr old son in line. Hotel staff place a tray of eggs, and it was like a stampede. Room was comfortable, internet was very good and free. Parking at 16 dollars a day is to be expected in a downtown area, so not complaining about that. Conclusion, if I was in area for nightlife great hotel, but for a family, I would prefer a different hotel. July 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable For the price the hotel was comfortable. The hotel is within walking distance of the Gas Lamp Quarter. July 14, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn San Diego Downtown The staff was outstanding, especially manager Budd and assistant Ms. Rene. The breakfast offering was also excellent. Improvements needed: older hotel, terribly small bathroom. Too pricey for this Holiday Inn, but I understand renovations are expected. July 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by a banging 4th of july we decided to go to san diego for weekend. upon arrival we were greeted a warm welcome. jayson was alert efficient and a very good host/checkin. he found us places to eat gave us a great room and informed us of shuttle service which helped due to the fact of my wifes handicap. shuttle to the beach was less than 5 min for fireworks. what a great night. in the morning before eating comp breakfast renee had to verify. what a host!! she recommended the shuttle to sd zoo where we had a blast! EXCELENT STAFF July 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown Generally nice hotel. The pool is very small and there was no hot tub. The room was clean, but was outdated. Bathroom was clean, but very small. July 9, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Less Quality than expected This has been the lowest quality of all Holiday Inn where we have stayed. The hotel looks old and dirty. In our view, the room carpet requires change. We found it expensive to the quality we perceived. On the other hand, the service staff was warm, caring and gentile. Thank you! July 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by 2nd stay Very convenient for me. Leisure visit-family. Love the towel and pillow quality. And the complimentary happy hour-unique and so hospitable! July 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Freindly and great breakfast Over all good expereince. The staff was great and the rooms very confortable. Was able to walk around the area and see the water front. Two things need to work on was update the decore little (kind of old look) and no free parking. Had to pay for parking. June 30, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Entrance Entrance Lobby Lounge Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Seniors over 62, enyoy our discounted rate
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-02-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-03-2014)
Check Availability
Loading