• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Airport

  • Location: Airport
  • Closest City: SAN DIEGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:12
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Arabic
  2. English
  3. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Unfortunately we do not accept pets, however the Dr. Boyd's Pet Resort is located one block north of the hotel. You can visit thier website at www.drboyds.com or give them a call at 6192606060.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Old Town
Distance From Hotel:0.05MI
Attraction:
SeaWorld
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
San Diego Zoo
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
SeaPort Villege
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:125
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary street level and underground parking.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2011
  • Total number of rooms:123
  • Total number of suites:7
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:61
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:56
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:123
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:12
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
The Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport / Old Town is situated in an outstanding location in America’s Finest City. Located just off I-5 and I-8, guests will appreciate being less than a mile from the San Diego International Airport and minutes away from the Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Downtown (Gaslamp District), SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, world famous beaches, as well as many other popular area attractions.

Guest will appreciate free parking and
View More
The Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport / Old Town is situated in an outstanding location in America’s Finest City. Located just off I-5 and I-8, guests will appreciate being less than a mile from the San Diego International Airport and minutes away from the Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Downtown (Gaslamp District), SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, world famous beaches, as well as many other popular area attractions.

Guest will appreciate free parking and complimentary shuttle service to the airport, Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld, the Amtrak Train Station, as well as the Marine Corps Recruit Depot (MCRD).

Our guests will experience luxurious accommodations and a plethora of amenities including plush new bedding, a complimentary hot breakfast buffet, free wired and wireless internet, business center, fitness room, 24-hour deli and convenience store, outdoor heated pool as well as a 24-hour whirlpool.

Our exceptional location places you within walking distance of the trolley station, Historic Old Town and a variety of restaurants, shopping and entertainment. Guest will enjoy being a short distance from Balboa Park, Seaport Village, PetCo Park, Qualcomm Stadium, Coronado Island, La Jolla, shopping malls such as Fashion Valley, Mission Valley and Horton Plaza, USS Midway, the Maritime Museum, as well as universities such as USD, SDSU and UCSD.
View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Express Airport/Old Town Area is centrally located in San Diego. We offer free parking, complimentary shuttle to and from the airport and major attractions, free wireless internet throughout the hotel, and a hot complimentary breakfast buffet served daily.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 251 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by enjoyed my stay I enjoyed my stay. Very nice rooms and great customer service! July 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Vacation Hotel The staff is friendly and very attentive. They were exceptional. its close to many of the major attractions. Will definitely stay here next time I am in San Diego. July 24, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Very convenient location Overall the people at the front desk busy but did their best. Did not like that you had to have valet parking sometimes had to wait awhile for the car only 1 man working valet. July 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Professional Front Desk Very informative and helpful to provide us with necessary local and traffice information. The only concern is the additional US$16/day parking fee. July 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff Staff very helpful, friendly. Centrally located, free transport to popular areas. July 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 2014July14&15 The pool was perfect for my 6 year old Having the drink social hour was a great part of vacation Good location downtown Shuttle drivers were very courteous and gave info on getting around town July 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by nice, clean a little outdated, and parking was somewhat inconvenient, but over all a nice place July 17, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Downtown Holiday Inn When I was single, staying at a downtown hotel this would of been good. Location, price, was as expected. Now that I'm older with a family, I have different expectations. This is still a good hotel, staff was great, location great. Downside major disappointment was breakfast, not to sure if its hotels fault but it was busy. Had other tourist in line crowding and shoving my 6 yr old son in line. Hotel staff place a tray of eggs, and it was like a stampede. Room was comfortable, internet was very good and free. Parking at 16 dollars a day is to be expected in a downtown area, so not complaining about that. Conclusion, if I was in area for nightlife great hotel, but for a family, I would prefer a different hotel. July 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable For the price the hotel was comfortable. The hotel is within walking distance of the Gas Lamp Quarter. July 14, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn San Diego Downtown The staff was outstanding, especially manager Budd and assistant Ms. Rene. The breakfast offering was also excellent. Improvements needed: older hotel, terribly small bathroom. Too pricey for this Holiday Inn, but I understand renovations are expected. July 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by a banging 4th of july we decided to go to san diego for weekend. upon arrival we were greeted a warm welcome. jayson was alert efficient and a very good host/checkin. he found us places to eat gave us a great room and informed us of shuttle service which helped due to the fact of my wifes handicap. shuttle to the beach was less than 5 min for fireworks. what a great night. in the morning before eating comp breakfast renee had to verify. what a host!! she recommended the shuttle to sd zoo where we had a blast! EXCELENT STAFF July 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown Generally nice hotel. The pool is very small and there was no hot tub. The room was clean, but was outdated. Bathroom was clean, but very small. July 9, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Less Quality than expected This has been the lowest quality of all Holiday Inn where we have stayed. The hotel looks old and dirty. In our view, the room carpet requires change. We found it expensive to the quality we perceived. On the other hand, the service staff was warm, caring and gentile. Thank you! July 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by 2nd stay Very convenient for me. Leisure visit-family. Love the towel and pillow quality. And the complimentary happy hour-unique and so hospitable! July 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Freindly and great breakfast Over all good expereince. The staff was great and the rooms very confortable. Was able to walk around the area and see the water front. Two things need to work on was update the decore little (kind of old look) and no free parking. Had to pay for parking. June 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed clean rooms Clean rooms with comfortable bed. Bathroom a little small but everything else was good. June 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Buena ubicación para paseos pedestres Un buen lugar para comenzar a recorrer y conocer la ciudad, en pleno centro de San Diego. June 27, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Room in poor repair and to pricey for the condition Please see previous comments regarding the condition of the room. June 25, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Hot Room AC was off when I got in my room. Took 12 hours to get to comfortable temp. Fan kept cutting off at night when the compressor did. This woke me up several times. Other than AC issues, everything was good. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 3 day stay A really nice hotel, and probably the best HI Express I have stayed at. Breakfast is the usual, but the rest of the hotel and the staff were great. Close enough to walk to the main bars and restaurants as well as the waterfront. The free shuttle on offer to the airport is a bonus. June 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Location, location, location You can walk to the harbor, seaside village, gas lamp district and little Italy. The shuttle will take you to areas outside walking distance. The staff helped me with charging my phone, splitting my bill, locating a store in close proximity to the hotel just to name a few. They were all very friendly. June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Conveniente ubicación y accesabilidad Me gustan estos hoteles porque es grato tener un lugar seguro para estar cuando viajas. June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff, unexpected happy hour. Overall a great stay. Staff was awesome, remembered me by name after seeing me one time. The happy hour was an unexpected surprise. The breakfast was the standard HIE, the staff did a wonderful job keeping everything full. June 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 房间隔音质量有待提高 隔音不好,而且空调噪音较大,导致夜间噪音大。有时有莫名的 外部声响。房间的私密性也需要进一步改善。......... June 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfort and service Perfect location. Near amenities, yet very quite location. Attentive staff and very professional. June 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Stay in downtown S D I stayed in down town San Diego holiday inn the location is good the staff are friendly but room toilite is very small June 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff I would have liked to have bill in hand at checkout instead of waiting for an online copy. I still don't know if my corporate discount was applied. Also, I did not like paying for parking at the hotel parking lot. June 12, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and excellent staff. The front desk staff does a very efficient job to make sure that you have an excellent memorable stay. Tamika and Jason go out of their way to accommodate you in any way that they can. I can't forget Alex who drives the shuttle, and was very helpful with information on recommending what area attractions to see. The breakfast has an excellent selection. My only complaint was that the restaurant on their website has closed. June 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by San Diego Su ubicación en la ciudad y su café por la mañana son de lo mejor June 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Vacation Ever The Staff was amazing to my Husband and I on our Anniversary. Our room was up graded and they had the best breakfast . The Shuttle service was very good and took us to and from the Airport and the Zoo and Harbor. We would stay again on our next visit to San Diego Down Town location. June 10, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Entrance Entrance Lobby Lounge Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-19-2014)
Check Availability
Loading