• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-02-2014)
(e.g. Aug-03-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Airport

  • Location: Airport
  • Closest City: SAN DIEGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:12
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Arabic
  2. English
  3. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Unfortunately we do not accept pets, however the Dr. Boyd's Pet Resort is located one block north of the hotel. You can visit thier website at www.drboyds.com or give them a call at 6192606060.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Old Town
Distance From Hotel:0.05MI
Attraction:
SeaWorld
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
SeaPort Villege
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
San Diego Zoo
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:125
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary street level and underground parking.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2011
  • Total number of rooms:123
  • Total number of suites:7
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:61
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:56
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:123
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:12
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
The Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport / Old Town is situated in an outstanding location in America’s Finest City. Located just off I-5 and I-8, guests will appreciate being less than a mile from the San Diego International Airport and minutes away from the Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Downtown (Gaslamp District), SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, world famous beaches, as well as many other popular area attractions.

Guest will appreciate free parking and
View More
The Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport / Old Town is situated in an outstanding location in America’s Finest City. Located just off I-5 and I-8, guests will appreciate being less than a mile from the San Diego International Airport and minutes away from the Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Downtown (Gaslamp District), SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, world famous beaches, as well as many other popular area attractions.

Guest will appreciate free parking and complimentary shuttle service to the airport, Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld, the Amtrak Train Station, as well as the Marine Corps Recruit Depot (MCRD).

Our guests will experience luxurious accommodations and a plethora of amenities including plush new bedding, a complimentary hot breakfast buffet, free wired and wireless internet, business center, fitness room, 24-hour deli and convenience store, outdoor heated pool as well as a 24-hour whirlpool.

Our exceptional location places you within walking distance of the trolley station, Historic Old Town and a variety of restaurants, shopping and entertainment. Guest will enjoy being a short distance from Balboa Park, Seaport Village, PetCo Park, Qualcomm Stadium, Coronado Island, La Jolla, shopping malls such as Fashion Valley, Mission Valley and Horton Plaza, USS Midway, the Maritime Museum, as well as universities such as USD, SDSU and UCSD.
View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Express Airport/Old Town Area is centrally located in San Diego. We offer free parking, complimentary shuttle to and from the airport and major attractions, free wireless internet throughout the hotel, and a hot complimentary breakfast buffet served daily.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 214 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by EXCELLENT SERVICE THE HOTEL HAD EXCELLENT SERVICE THE STAFF WAS GREAT THE FRONT DESK PERSON WAS EXCELLENT!!!! HOWEVER THE PARKING IS TERREBLE. August 19, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by HORRIBLE!!! Our room was SUPER HOT....air cond't didn't work well r the unit was too small and old for the size of the room. The workers had to bring us a floor fan because all the other rooms were booked and it was still hot! The bathroom was also rediculously tiny...only 1 person could be in there at a time and even then it was cramped. Go elsewhere! Run, DON'T walk :) August 19, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Avoid this Holiday Inn Express First let me start by saying that I'm a regular IHG member and I always choose to stay at Holiday Inn Expresses due to the value, the comfort, staff and ease of the properties. Oh how I was wrong this time. On arrival I was greeted by a seldom looking woman really with no interest what so ever, Ok we all have bad days. Next went to the room yes its an old property but clean and tidy, after approx. 30 minutes in the room I decide to go back down to the car to retrieve my luggage (now I'm travelling with my mother and Aunt both middle aged# parking station is located under the property for a daily fee something I was not aware of, after returning to the room my swipe key wont work.. I go back downstairs as we have all gone to the car to get the luggage as we have a lot due to travelling for 6 weeks, so now I have my mother and aunt standing at the room door with 5 bags while I go back downstairs to get the key sorted. at the front desk same woman I explain the issue she says oh really! then proceeds to advise that the machine that encrypts the keys has been removed for work so name way of making a new key!!! can you believe this its right on 4pm a heavy check in time!! Yes there are x2 other party's checking #but sorry no room key you will need to wait# I'm told it will be 20 minutes. After 15 I return to the front desk as this enough we have driven from Las Vegas we are tired, would simply like to freshen up and go and have some dinner and look around San Diego a bit its our first time to this city. I then find a duty manager on the desk a very pleasant young man who explains yes that the machine has failed however he will return with me to let me in. we finally get into our room and then decide to go for some dinner this is 30-40 minutes later #still no new room keys# we go for dinner. on return approx. 90 minutes later we asked the front desk for the keys we are given them and go upstairs guess what the keys don't work!!! I venture back down stairs advise the duty manager he is apologetic and returns with me and sees that there does appear to a issue with the door and keys. we get in finally. Next day I'm down the street grabbing some drinks etc my mother and aunt are in the room. they leave the door un latched as yes we are still having issues with the key work #however they are in the room# my mother is behind the door where the luggage rack is sorting some items in her case when a young man and woman decide to push the door open as prank not only knocking her but scaring her my mother gives them some of her mind in fear and closes the door. we report this to the duty manager he comes to the room and apologies and will report this to this to the security guard #who I will add stands at the front desk talking to the staff) not much guarding happening. to cut the story short we locate the property ambassador during a breakfast one morning and explain to her what has been happening she is very accommodating and we are finally moved to another room half way through our stay. long story short I would not recommend this hotel. August 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This is a nice one OK. It's supposed to be economic, and maybe lacking a few features, but not this one. Staff is willing to help, very friendly. Breakfast is just OK, it does the job, no complains. Rooms are neat, clean, and comfortable. Everything works and you can really relax. Having a small fridge makes it versatile. Bathroom is small, but clean. If you missed something just call any member of the staff, they will help you. Parking is small, but does the job. Overall, I will recommend this one in the San Diego Area, it's better (by far) than others with more name. August 16, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by good value but parking situation is horrific! location is nice. close to downtown, seaport village, convention center and gaslamp village. rooms are adequate, lounge area near front desk and patio area are very nice! Breakfast choices are very good also. A particular staff member was very obnoxious. She yelled my name and announced I was a gold member to everyone the first morning I went down to breakfast which I found annoying and quite unnecessary. She also was very loud in the breakfast room when everyone was enjoying their breakfast, she was yelling at kids 'what do you wanna be when you grow up? do you want to watch cartoons? Who wants to watch cartoons?' Again, very annoying! The next morning this same staff member insisted the doors going out to the patio be open after we had closed them because of cigarette smoke wafting in from the outside. She addressed my friend as 'sweetie' and said we could close one door. The parking situation is a nightmare! The parking garage has 100's of posts and clearance between the post is great only if you are driving a VW beetle! . August 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good service and clean place It was a good experience to use this hotel.l found it to be above my expectation.The warmness of the staff especially the ambassador was very good.i want to recommend it for anyone for its good service. August 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice staff and great location Great location! So convenient to everything. You do not need a car while staying at this location. There is a shuttle to/from the airport and other tourist attractions. Wonderful! The bathroom was extremely small - no real counter space for any toiletries. But, we weren't spending a lot of time in the room - so we managed. August 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by GREATEST HOSPITALITY MANY XEPTIONAL ISSUES WE EXPERIENCED AS A FAMILY DURING OUR 3 DAYS VACATION IN HOLIDAYS INN DDOWMTOWN SAN DIEGO; THE GENEROUS HAPPY HOUR INCLUDES FREE DRINKS AND SNAKES, SHATTLE SERVICE FROM THE HOTLE TO MANY TOURISM AREAS, AND FRIENDLY FRONT DISK STAFF. August 13, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Old hotel with horrible parking garage The parking garage is quite scary. It is extremely difficult to drive in it (having to back up multiple times to get around tight turns). One of the elevator banks in the garage was not working, and there was nothing directing you to another bank of elevators. We walked around and around until we found it. The room was quite worn out, but not dirty. The walls were scraped, and the carpet was worn. The bathroom is extremely small. The door will not open completely due to the toilet. The hallways were drab and uncomfortable. Housekeeping woke us up at 8 AM to clean the room... we couldn't get back to sleep, so we just left. The balcony is nice, but uncomfortably close to the pool. The view is amazing, and the location is decent. August 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The Perfect Place to Stay in San Diego This hotel has a perfect location just above the city center. The hotel has a terrace with a wonderful view. A small outdoor pool is great for relaxation from the city life. Parking is accessible by the elevator and access to and from the freeway is very easy. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in San Diego at the Downtown Holiday Inn. August 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable The experience was good over all, I'm just disappointed that they would charge for parking. I've never heard if such thing. parking should always be a complimentary thing and with a big chain duck as the holiday inn, it was a real disappointment. August 6, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by No shuttle and no breakfast There are a lot of reasonably priced accommodation choices around the San Diego airport but after some research online, by email, and by phone the Holiday Inn Express San Diego stood out because they offered a free airport shuttle and complimentary breakfast. This is a great deal if you are traveling with constantly hungry kids and are on a budget. We had an overnight layover with an early departure so I had some questions about breakfast arrangements. I was feeling pretty good after my email from Holiday Inn Express San Diego said in part "We can provide a breakfast bag to go around 5:00 a.m at your request as long as you make arrangements the day/nigt prior", and in another email, "there is absolutely no charge for the shuttle. It is a complimentary service that we provide to our guests. Breakfast bags are also complimentary. You can pick one up the evening before you depart, or the morning of. We do have someone at the desk 24 hours a day, so any time that works for you to pick one up, feel free to do so." There was no shuttle and no breakfast. July 2 -after the assurances of the earlier email I still called the front desk the day before we arrived and explained that we would be arriving at 8:35pm the following day and would like to use the complimentary shuttle for 4 people. The front desk said "no problem, just call us when you arrive". July 3 8:30pm -called front desk when we landed. The front desk said there was no driver so they could not provide a shuttle. They said they were "authorized" to reimburse up to $15 for a cab ride. A short negotiation with the cab driver got us an $18.50 flat rate and I rounded it up to $20 for hitting every green light through downtown San Diego. Not a big expense but frustrating after the emails and phone calls to confirm that we would have a shuttle. If you are left stranded at the airport and get the taxi rebate offer remember to get a receipt from your cab driver. July 3 9:30pm -there were no bag breakfasts available at that time but I was assured they did this all the time and there would be bag breakfasts available in the morning. I said that I would like to "make arrangements" per the email I had received but I was told it wasn't necessary. July 4 5:00am -from the front desk worker -"Jeez guys, it's been one of those mornings. I'm all out of breakfasts. Let me see if I can get anyone in the breakfast room." After holding the phone for a couple minutes he disappeared into the back and we waited the 15 minutes until the shuttle took us to the airport. At the airport the comparable to a bag breakfast for 4 ran just under $30. This property is OK and if they deliver on their promises it is an excellent value. In this situation there were other options that would have been a better value and nothing was worth the frustration of starting our vacation on this disappointing note. This hotel set the bar high and then walked right under it. August 4, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible hotel There was no shower towels in the restroom and they didn't have any available intill late morning. In addition our room was not made until after 5PM, not being able to rest in comfort. Also, the restroom was the so small you couldn't even spread out your belongings. In conclusion, the parking in the bottom was tiny that are SUV was hard to manipulate around the curves that the parking structure had. I wouldn't reccomended this hotel unless they had good rates. The price was high compared to what they had to offer. August 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Handicapped room was excellent Very friendly and clean. Enjoyed our brief stay and will use again. July 30, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Staff, Solid Breakfast, Terrible Wi-Fi The staff was very nice. I did have an issue with payment. I reserved the room under my name and credit card. My brother-in-law checked in first and they asked for his credit card. The room was charged to his credit card instead of mine so I had to call the hotel after arriving home to have the charges reversed and placed on mine. Jenny at the front desk was very helpful but it was a bit frustrating that the charges weren't placed on the original card. It makes no sense to me that, as the person who rented the room, I was never asked if I wanted to change credit cards. If we wanted it charged to my brother-in-law, we would've made the reservation with his card. The breakfast was fine. I wish there was more fresh fruit - the bananas were past their prime, so I stuck with some strawberry yogurt. My brother-in-law enjoyed the pancake machine and shot a Vine video of it. My biggest problem was the wi-fi. It just didn't work. I was there for three days and was unable to connect to the internet. I had a similar problem at the last HI Express I stayed at in Tulsa, OK. It's very frustrating and I wouldn't recommend staying there to anyone who 100% needed working wi-fi in their room. July 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Place to Stay We had a great stay in this hotel. The staff was very helpful and even though they had a busy weekend when we checked in, we were still able to get a room right away when we checked in. I liked that the room had it's own mini fridge. Also the parking was fairly accessible through the elevator. It was clean and had a great view of the city since it sits on top of a hill. Was not expecting breakfast but they had a great variety on the days we were there. Definitely staying here again. July 27, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by MrJWC The bed was comfortable, the service was terrific. The location for Comic Con was great. The price however, was terrible. It is highway robbery that they get away with such high rates just because an even is in town. It is not only this Hotel, it is all Hotels in the area. I did like this Hotel, and will come back next year since I do want to attend Comic Con once again. I guess I will just have to pay the price and start saving now. Thank you. PS The value would not let me do anything but excellent, hmmmm July 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Wonderful place to stay! We always have a good experience staying at a Holiday Inn property, but this time was even above and beyond. The rooms were extremely clean, and I am very picky (I own a cleaning company), the staff was incredibly helpful! Jeanette even took time over the phone to help me understand where in San Diego we would be, and made me confident in my choices. Midge is a super star and a huge reason we were so happy. This woman was on top of everything, and any corporation would want to keep this woman happy, as she exemplified the perfect guest experience. No easy task, during Comic Con weekend. Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable! Julie and Dave M. July 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean comfortable rooms, wonderful Happy Hour, great location. One of the nicest Holiday Inn's I have stayed at. Would recommend staying here. July 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Home away from home This was a good place to stay. Staff was very friendly. Good food at the hotel and bar. Older hotel but has been updated. July 22, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Tiny bathroom and overpriced. The price for an over night stay was outrageous even if it was gay-pride week-end. The bath is so small only one person can be in it unless the other person is in the tub. The counter space is almost nonexistent. The bed was short sheeted. The worst Holiday inn Express experience of our lives. July 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by THE STAFF MAKES THE HOTEL!!!!! I am a international traveler ive, stayed at some of the best hotels in the world.The holiday inn exspressin down town San Diego is a lil run down .......BUT........its not the marble and granite that impresses me, its the housepitality and kind warm hearted peole who work there.I feel like family ehrn im there.it starts in the morning at breakfast till i get back with the free wine and beer at the bar for happy hour.i use to stay at the manchester hyat on the harbor with a window veiw of the ocean.The staff there are nice but there not first name nice.I will always stay at the holiday inn exspress when i head to S.D.they deserve a call from some one important to let them know how much of a fine job they are doing.GOD BLESS!!!! K.M UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF DEFENSE July 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Atmosphere, Location and Service Was a great stay enjoy the service from friendly personnel. Nice location walking distance from night life and great restaurants. Beautiful view from hotel balcony. Complimentary Breakfast was delicious. July 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by San Diego My Favorite place The staff here makes this my favorite place to stay in San Diego. Trisha and Maybell are always helpful, courteous and polite. The Happy hour is a great way for guest to relax and meet new friends. The view is awesome and the breakfast is always good. If you need a cup of coffee there is always some made in the foyer. July 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very conveniently located Excellent facilities, great happy hour and shuttle service appreciated. Would stay again. July 14, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Express San Diego our over all stay was poor. starting with the parking which is very difficult to maneuver through for any size car. And the cost was far to much(an additional ($16.00).Parking should be included with the cost of the room. The Hotel it self is very old and out dated especially the shower and furniture. The couch looked filty. The way the room was designed was very poor. Only one bed had a full view of the TV. The elevator was very, very slow and no ventilation. For the cost, I would not recommend this hotel. July 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location and Great Staff This was my first time to San Diego and the location and staff could not be better. The staff was very accommodating. The hotel runs shuttles which was most convenient. The breakfast was perfect. Happy Hour daily, what more can you ask for! Great stay and would recommend this hotel to everyone. July 10, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by hotel amenities The room was nice and clean and the staff was great. The hotel itself had a tight parking garage & small pool, the elevators were very slow and the breakfast was so so (the pancake machine did not work and it took a while to bring out a new batch of scrambled eggs). Other than that, the price was adequate for what we got. We did enjoy the free cocktail hour too. That was a nice touch, although I would recommend bringing out mixed nuts to munch on, not just goldfish crackers. July 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 The staff made my stay My brother got married at the El Cortez and I stayed one night at the Holiday Inn Express. Tricia and Midge made sure that my room was ready early and took care of my family and I during our stay. They made parking and checking it very easy for all of us. Thank so much, ladies! July 5, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not a good choice The room was not a good choice. The bathroom sink was held up with a stick! The toilet was so old and loud I didn't want to use it! The bathroom was also so small only one person at a time could use it. It felt very cheap and for the price of the room, it was totally not worth it! The hotel overall seemed very old and cheap with no upgrades at all. I would have gladly paid a little more for a nicer room and bathroom anywhere else. July 4, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Entrance Entrance Lobby Lounge Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-02-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-03-2014)
Check Availability
Loading