• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
(e.g. Sep-24-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Airport

  • Location: Airport
  • Closest City: SAN DIEGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:12
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Arabic
  2. English
  3. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Unfortunately we do not accept pets, however the Dr. Boyd's Pet Resort is located one block north of the hotel. You can visit thier website at www.drboyds.com or give them a call at 6192606060.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Old Town
Distance From Hotel:0.05MI
Attraction:
SeaWorld
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
San Diego Zoo
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
SeaPort Villege
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:125
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary street level and underground parking.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2011
  • Total number of rooms:123
  • Total number of suites:7
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:61
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:56
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:123
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:12
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
The Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport / Old Town is situated in an outstanding location in America’s Finest City. Located just off I-5 and I-8, guests will appreciate being less than a mile from the San Diego International Airport and minutes away from the Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Downtown (Gaslamp District), SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, world famous beaches, as well as many other popular area attractions.

Guest will appreciate free parking and
View More
The Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport / Old Town is situated in an outstanding location in America’s Finest City. Located just off I-5 and I-8, guests will appreciate being less than a mile from the San Diego International Airport and minutes away from the Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Downtown (Gaslamp District), SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, world famous beaches, as well as many other popular area attractions.

Guest will appreciate free parking and complimentary shuttle service to the airport, Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld, the Amtrak Train Station, as well as the Marine Corps Recruit Depot (MCRD).

Our guests will experience luxurious accommodations and a plethora of amenities including plush new bedding, a complimentary hot breakfast buffet, free wired and wireless internet, business center, fitness room, 24-hour deli and convenience store, outdoor heated pool as well as a 24-hour whirlpool.

Our exceptional location places you within walking distance of the trolley station, Historic Old Town and a variety of restaurants, shopping and entertainment. Guest will enjoy being a short distance from Balboa Park, Seaport Village, PetCo Park, Qualcomm Stadium, Coronado Island, La Jolla, shopping malls such as Fashion Valley, Mission Valley and Horton Plaza, USS Midway, the Maritime Museum, as well as universities such as USD, SDSU and UCSD.
View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Express Airport/Old Town Area is centrally located in San Diego. We offer free parking, complimentary shuttle to and from the airport and major attractions, free wireless internet throughout the hotel, and a hot complimentary breakfast buffet served daily.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 260 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 CLEAN ROOM ALL WAS WELL EXCEPT ONE DAY CLEANING PERFORMANCE NO ONE IN THE OTHER ROOM AND NEVER THE DONKEY IRON REARRANGED. OTHER SERVICES WERE WELL IN GENERAL January 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome Hotel in Downtown San Diego Awesome location in downtown where you can reach many of the tourist attractions in San Diego. Additional point for this hotel is that they have a shuttle bus which can help you go around San Diego. This shuttle is not only gonna send you to several attractions, the shuttle will pick you up too. January 7, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by San Diego We travel a lot and stay at Holiday Inn's in the areas they are available. We arrived at the Holiday Inn-San Diego after a long car ride. We got out keys and went up to the room. The room looked lived in and was a mess. We dragged all of our luggage back down to the lobby. We had to wait a while to get an elevator because only one of the two were in working order. We explained the situation to the hotel staff and they looked at us like we had two heads. They gave us a new key and we went to another room. We didn't even get an apology which was very unlike the normal Holiday Inn staff. Several times we called down to the desk to arraign a cab ride and the calls went unanswered. We went downstairs and there were two front desk employee's just talking to each other. We weren't really sure why they didn't answer the phone. To say the least this was the worst Holiday Inn we have ever stayed. Luckily they are not all like that. January 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location and staff My son and I stayed at the Holiday Inn Downtown San Diego for five nights in December and it was an unexpected treat! The location is superb (walking distance to Gaslpamp with multiple restaurants) and the staff in this hotel is outstanding - so friendly and willing to help. I'd like to specifically mention Renee, the Relationship Manager at the hotel, who was so helpful. Free breakfast was a great beginning of our day and my son loved the pancakes:)The room was large and clean, the beds were very comfortable. Free hotel shuttle takes you from/to the airport, Zoo and other places of interest, so one could easily get by without using a car and worrying about parking. We've been frequent travelers and spoiled by 5-star hotels but this Holiday Inn Express exceeded all our expectations and we would definitely stay there again. January 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best stay in downtown San Diego The Holiday Inn Express is the best spot to stay when you come to San Diego. It's in the heart of the city and close to all the attractions. Within walking distance to numerous restaurants and shopping locations. You get a wonderful hot breakfast that's included with every night's stay. The staff are friendly and super helpful! December 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by KUDOS FOR THE BEST SMILING STAFF OUT OF ALL HOTELS I STAYED IN THE YEAR 2013 I must say young but excellent staff members. Pick up facilities and the driver ....excellent. Impressed with the maturity even most staff were young. Great location in all the aspect. Walking distance for down town. I feel like to stay for one month during my first free time. Impressed. KEEP IT UP December 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Business in San Diego This is an older property; but, it's well maintained for its age. The room was large and clean. The Internet service was fast. The staff was friendly and attentive. Overall, a great place to stay for that business trip to downtown San Diego. December 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Absolutely the Best Staff and Great Location with a Fantastic View I have never given a hotel I've stayed in a 5 star rating and we travel quite a bit, but this place deserves it. There was not a person on this staff that wasn't the best. Pedro, Alex and Stan (I believe that was his name# - shuttled us and did a great job. When they said they would be there, they were there. Suzette at the front desk was so patient with me as we had a little mix-up in reservations #there were 11 of us - 6 rooms). Adriana at the front desk was also very helpful and always smiling as was every member of this staff. Breakfast was great. Better than the standard hotel breakfast. Renee, the GM, came around one morning during breakfast and asked every table how was there stay. She answered all my emails prior to our arrival from SC, promptly and was very courteous and professional. I've never had a GM at a hotel so caring as to how their patrons were doing. Also, Elizabeth I believe was the Asst. GM, was just as pleasant and accommodating. They had a great Happy Hour in the evening. One small item - Hotel is old but has been renovated #which, by the way Lobby, was done beautifully). The rooms are good size and up to date, although bathroom is very small. But it worked for us with no problems. The Staff more than made up for age of the building. Would stay there again in a heartbeat. Walked about 3 blocks to local Irish pub. Food very good. I think name of restaurant was Scout. Ask for name at front desk. Everyone in my group is ready to go back and stay at this Holiday Inn. December 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff!! All staff from the housekeepers to the GM were absolutely amazing! December 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Job! Lovely hotel, wonderful location and friendly, welcoming and knowledgeable staff! December 12, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Horrible room My husband & I spent one night on Dec. 7, 2013. We were expecting a nice, comfortable room to be able to enjoy our stay in San Diego. We have stayed at several different Holiday Inn Express hotels in different areas and have been pleased. This room we were stuck in was awful. Very very old fixtures and decor. Not very clean & very cramped small space for a king size room. No view of any sort, which we had requested. When we asked to be moved to another room and not on the first floor, we were told there was nothing available. Our stay was not a pleasant experience & we will not stay at that hotel again & we definitely will not recommend it. December 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great service How many places will store your suitcases after checkout and waiting for a late plane? How many hotels offer free shuttle service to various locations around the city? This one does!!! Thanks for a great stay in San Diego. December 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location, good value Can't beat this hotel for value with the downtown opportunities and great gas lamp area restaurants. November 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable room and excellent staff My wife and I stayed for a week and had a great time. The hotel is centrally located and we could walk to the Gaslamp Quarter and past the Convention Center to the Seaport Village. Although we rented a car, the hotel provides transportation to Balboa Park, the Zoo and several other locations. We drove our rental to Torry Pines State Park, La Jolla, Old Town, Cabrillo National Monmument, Coronado, North to Oceanside and East to Cuyamaca State Park and took in all the sights that we came to see. Along the way we found some great restaurants and brew pubs to have lunch and dinner in Old Town, Little Italy and several other locations. November 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staying place in San Diego I had stayed in many hotels in USA, but I must say this hotel was very nice. Staff at front desk very nice and helpful, shuttle service is excellent and so do breakfast. Overall, I enjoyed my stay. I wonder if all Holiday Inn Express in USA, have same level of excellence???? November 19, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by San diego The overall impression is old, worn, and dirty. Floor lay out is confusing. It is located very close to gas lamp, which is nice. I assume this is why they skimp maintenance and cleanliness. The parking fee of $16 was never mentioned until check in. The registration driveway can't fit two cars. November 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Value with Excellent Customer Service I was recommended to stay here when my company needed a hotel for a few people heading downtown for a conference. From booking the hotel to checking out...everything was superb. We really enjoyed ourselves. It was walking distance from pretty much anywhere in downtown and they even had a nice happy hour downstairs by the lobby a few nights we were there. Great Place! November 11, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Fair Hotel not great everything is Ok in the hotel , but I don't like the fact that there is no GYM in the hotel and the bathroom is small November 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Customer Service Team My wife and I stayed for 3 nights and the service at your counter and on the phone was courteous, friendly and helpful. We were not rushed off the phone or ignored at the counter. We stopped with questions on several occasions and always received the information we needed. You staff is the best!!! October 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff was exceptional I stayed here as my presentation was next door.. usually i stay at premium hotels but I would say the friendliness of the staff and extra attention (phoned twice to make sure there was not anything more they could do) was impressive. October 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service The hotel staff was outstanding and welcoming. The room was dated but very clean. I loved the 60's architecture of the building, but would have like the rooms to be a little more up to date. I would stay there again. October 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice visit The staff was very polite and helpful. The shuttle service to various locations was a great plus for staying here. We did not have to use taxis or rent a car. Too bad the bathroom was so small. October 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by All the way around, great value I had a wonderful experience at this Holiday inn Express. All staff very friendly and happy to be of service. Beds wonderfully comfortable, breakfast tastey but the same every morning. The location was perfectly situated downtown, so close to everything. If you couldn't walk there was free shuttle service. I thought it was a decent deal that included breakfast and fit a tight budget for 5 nights including multiple fees and taxes. October 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable. Good location. Nice hotel. Good location. Rooms are comfortable. Staff is helpful. Nice view from the balcony. October 19, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Value and a Great Location. Very Good Location. Old Property tough. My only complain if any is that, there was no room service on one of the days (I stayed there for 3 nights). I care less. October 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Most cozy bed that I have EVER had at a hotel!!! Loved it!! Hotel is on a hill about 8 blocks from the water's edge. Great view. Walking two blocks to the east we were able to find the 'metro' or trolley or whatever it is called -- station ... so very convenient. October 12, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by My First Stay The Hotel is located away from the Major Restaurant but they are in walking distance of the hotel. The Hotel is old and the bathroom needs to be updated. The manager's meet and greet was absent any service. There was no one from the hotel at the bar to serve the customers. Overall the hotel needs a make over. October 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great breakfast Stay for 4 days, breakfast choices were pretty good, you can make a breakfast sandwich with the eggs( scramble or omelette depends on the day ) with bacon or sausage patty with english muffin,bread, toast or bagel. They have a pancake maker, it was good., fruit,cereal. Just like anyplace that doesn't have central air,its always slight noisy,never seen a toilet with flush handle instead of water tank. everything else was great, sleeping was quiet which is great sine I don't sleep very well unless I'm super tired. Parking::if you stay overnite, you can find a meter space nearby only 2 hour parking around neighborhood. room was good size with 2 beds. I enjoyed my stay and hope I can stay again next year. October 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 great stay great rooms service everything overall was great... October 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Short visit Overall I had a good experience. Checking in was easy however there was some issue with the key card which forced me to have to go back down to the front desk twice. I arrived at around 11pm and was greeted well but when I got to my room to open the door the key didn't work. I had to go back down stairs get a new key, then when I briefly stepped out to grab a bucket of ice I was locked out of my room a second time. I was a bit frustrated because I was in my pj's and couldn't get in my room. After going back down a second time because of key issues the front desk was great about addressing the problem and gave me a complementary goody bag which I appreciated. When I got back upstairs to my room again the key continued to give me trouble but after the 6th or 7th time of trying the key finally worked. Overall the experience was positive and the variety of options for breakfast the following morning was great! October 8, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 10 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Entrance Entrance Lobby Lounge Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-24-2014)
Check Availability
Loading