• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-24-2014)
(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Airport

  • Location: Airport
  • Closest City: SAN DIEGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:12
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. Arabic
  2. English
  3. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Unfortunately we do not accept pets, however the Dr. Boyd's Pet Resort is located one block north of the hotel. You can visit thier website at www.drboyds.com or give them a call at 6192606060.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Old Town
Distance From Hotel:0.05MI
Attraction:
SeaWorld
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
San Diego Zoo
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI
Attraction:
SeaPort Villege
Distance From Hotel:2.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:125
  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary street level and underground parking.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2011
  • Total number of rooms:123
  • Total number of suites:7
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:61
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:56
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:123
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:12
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
The Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport / Old Town is situated in an outstanding location in America’s Finest City. Located just off I-5 and I-8, guests will appreciate being less than a mile from the San Diego International Airport and minutes away from the Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Downtown (Gaslamp District), SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, world famous beaches, as well as many other popular area attractions.

Guest will appreciate free parking and
View More
The Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport / Old Town is situated in an outstanding location in America’s Finest City. Located just off I-5 and I-8, guests will appreciate being less than a mile from the San Diego International Airport and minutes away from the Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, Downtown (Gaslamp District), SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, world famous beaches, as well as many other popular area attractions.

Guest will appreciate free parking and complimentary shuttle service to the airport, Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld, the Amtrak Train Station, as well as the Marine Corps Recruit Depot (MCRD).

Our guests will experience luxurious accommodations and a plethora of amenities including plush new bedding, a complimentary hot breakfast buffet, free wired and wireless internet, business center, fitness room, 24-hour deli and convenience store, outdoor heated pool as well as a 24-hour whirlpool.

Our exceptional location places you within walking distance of the trolley station, Historic Old Town and a variety of restaurants, shopping and entertainment. Guest will enjoy being a short distance from Balboa Park, Seaport Village, PetCo Park, Qualcomm Stadium, Coronado Island, La Jolla, shopping malls such as Fashion Valley, Mission Valley and Horton Plaza, USS Midway, the Maritime Museum, as well as universities such as USD, SDSU and UCSD.
View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Express Airport/Old Town Area is centrally located in San Diego. We offer free parking, complimentary shuttle to and from the airport and major attractions, free wireless internet throughout the hotel, and a hot complimentary breakfast buffet served daily.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 391 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect location & great room for the money We found the hotel on line. We thought the location was perfect for our needs. We ate in the restaurant twice (breakfast) and it was just enough. Our room was taken care of each day by Olivia who left it clean & dust free. We stayed three nights and couldn't find anything negative. Even though there was remodelling going on, it caused no problems. I hope we can return someday to see the "new" look. February 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by communication and food The room was clean and the area was nice. On the other hand, there were communication problems within the staff. In one case, I was charged for parking and was added to my room rate, but my friends for the same event, was not charged on their room rate. I had to ask to get that changed. I was offered tickets for free breakfast and my friends had to ask. I purchased a supper and the vegetables were undercooked and had woody pulp. Although, there was a generous free breakfast, the food was terrible. The bacon was dripping with grease. I did not use my additional free tickets because the food was unacceptable. February 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Winter break I cannot express how nice all the staff was to us during our stay! The restuarant food was fresh, good and affordable! Great front desk and everyone always asking if you were okay or needed anything. Nice location too -- very easy to find from airport. January 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel stay Stayed in the new building. Great rooms. Better than most hotels I have stayed. I live on the road and sleep four nights a week in hotels. ..Keith at the front desk was AWESOME. THANK YOU Keith. I rebooked to stay again next week when I return for business. January 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff and location I was there for a work conference and entire complex was easy to navigate and comfortable. I use a manual wheelchair and requested a wheelchair accessible room and actually got one that met all my needs (this doesn't always happen because even in this day and age, some still have no clue what accessibility is#. There are a lot of places within walking #and accessible wheeling distance) to eat and/or enjoy some cocktails. I would go there again for vacation. January 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good place for visit San Diego Good place to enjoy the bay and the city. If free parking will be more better. January 14, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by 1 Queen Kids Room TINY They took a standard room(which is small to begin with) and added a wall, painted some animals on it and called it the kids room. If you have any bags at all you'll find it very congested. On the plus side, its a $15.00 taxi ride to Sea World and free shuttle to airport. Also, majority of the hotel is a few hundred yards from main desk. its a long hike with bags and kids in tow. Ask for assistance. January 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Value Hotel Overall it's a good value and good stay. We booked the hotel online, holiday inn directly. Found the promo with early check-in and late check-out. Check-in Time shows 11am and Check out was 2pm. Breakfast included. When we checked in shortly after 11am, the front desk told us it's impossible. Showed the confirmation, it surprised him... Well.. we booked as is. The room was not available. Too bad.. but can't get it.. so, we went to SeaWorld. The room was good. facing to garden and walk to pool & Jacuzzi easily. Tile flooring is better than stinky old carpet. The bed was comfortable. Sink & mirror is outside of the bathroom, I liked it. The coffee maker doesn't look clean, so we didn't make coffee in the room. There was no coffee at the lobby either. Breakfast was at the café onsite. included continental breakfast is 1 small juice, 1 coffee and 1 baked good (muffin, pastry..# $7.50. not really good. we could use that amount toward other orders on menu. average $10 - 15 per person for breakfast #if not continental breakfast#. Heater in the room was NOT WORKING. called Front Desk at night, freezing cold. Front Desk said, "All I can do is to send security and show you how to turn on it" I said, "I know how to use this. It's not working!" Someone came the next morning and tried to show me how to turn on the heater. NO IT'S NOT WORKING! Maintenance guy found out that the heater really didn't work. It took 20 min. or so and he fixed it. But he told us it would be noisy. Yes. well.. other than the heater problem, it's good. We enjoyed the heater swimming pool #outside# and Jacuzzi. It's opened until 11pm. January 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed but! We really enjoyed our stay at Holiday Inn Bayside, we found the room very clean and the beds comfortable. The hot tub and pool and games were very accessible, didn't enjoy seeing a bunch of kids under age 10 playing in the hot tub for hours, no room for any adults to sit in and enjoy. Also if you plan on staying there make sure you lock away all valuables. We made the mistake one day of leaving a $300 watch and a pair of oakly sunglasses out, and of course when we returned they were missing. Went to front desk and they said someone would investigate. We received one call saying they were checking out who cleaned the room etc. Never heard anything back after that. Oh yeah, the restaurant attached to the hotel, the food was awesome, price was great and the service was the best! January 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One of the best hotels i've stayed in From the time I arrived to the time I left the staff, particularly Christina and Erica treated me exceptionally well. I was upgraded into the new building and given a room with an excellent view of the bay. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone who asks. Thank you to ALL the Holiday Inn Bayside staff that I dealt with and those who I didn't see for your professional service. December 26, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible Trouble With the Parking Gate Implementation of the new parking gate system could not have been worse. Both tickets they gave me failed to work. After checkout I could not even leave for the airport. The gate wouldn't open so I used the intercom to call in and the clerk actually asked me to park my car and walk to the front desk instead of just pushing a button to let me out. That's their idea great customer service! December 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by spectacular!!! Generally Holiday Inn Express is very good in most aspects. Very good smiling cutomer service agents , clean rooms beautiful area. While I check out , I never forget the politeness and excellent service I got from the agent. Thank You. December 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great accommodations! Most comfortable bed we've slept in a hotel! Stayed in bed way past checkout time.no view though. Room was huge. Executive king with sleeper sofa and desk. Had friends stop by and lots of room for everybody. Separate dressing area from shower/toilet great for us girls who need some extra time and space to get ready. Only complaints: the seperate building we stayed in was a significant distance from building where lobby was located. Had to drive or ten min walk. In heels, no fun. Also, took over 30 mins for a toothbrush to be delivered. I had to call them a second time to remind them. Again the proximity between buildings may be reason. Otherwise, couldn't complain about our room. Good times! December 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent and convienient We had an early flight in the morning and had to be at the airport by 6:00AM. We opted to stay at the Holiday Inn to be close to the airport and take advantage of the free shuttle service. This was the best decision we made in a long time. The staff was friendly and informative. We stayed in the new section of HI and felt we were special guests. The shuttle service leaves every 15 minutes and we were at the airport within five minutes. Great experience, would highly recommend it and will definitely do it again. RK Westland, MI December 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent place to stay! First time in San Diego. Comfortable , clean, stylish & reasonable Restaurant was good & convenient. Staff was customer friendly Would definitely return here & recommend here! December 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Response We had some minor issues in the room and they were all handled promptly. Kudos to the front staff and engineering staff. Point Loma Cafe is excellent for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Very friendly staff. We will be back. December 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location Great location in San Diego if you have an early flight out of the airport. Clean and modern. December 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Affordable for amenities. Pros- across from marina and lots of eateries, attractions. Wish we had more time. Hotel had bikes available for free use, plus outside billiards, ping pong and clean looking pool and spa. Cons- bathroom too small (towels kept in shower), not enough ventilation- however, shower head pressure best ever. No view/balcony (not an issue unless you don't plan to spend much time in room# window had no opening #an issue for us who enjoy fresh night air to sleep) Appeared to be seedy area. Felt it was a good overall value. December 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent facility! We choose to stay near the airport in San Diego and our stay with Holiday Inn in their new building has been our best experience. The restaurant there is charming, good food and friendly courteous staff. Will choose Holiday Inn next trip! December 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Holiday Inn I've stayed at I got a Suite in the newer building, so my review is only for the new building as I never stayed at the old. Clean. Spacious. Amenities were all there. Great views. Had a nice patio as well. Check-in was a breeze and the staff was courteous. November 26, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by New building isn't worth the $$ We came to San Diego for a week for my son's graduation from Marine boot camp. I spent considerable time researching a place to stay that would have a view. I am a loyal Holiday Inn customer and try to stay there when I can so I was a bit biased to stay here. We booked a room in the new building for big $$ and talked the in-laws into doing the same. My father-in-law enjoys having a view. Our 3rd floor rooms were nice......but where was a view?? We had a good view of the buildings across the street and a few small boats in a marina. In hindsight I would've booked a room in the old building for much less money and a comparable view of nothing. The rooms are called bayside, which is geographically correct, but you wouldn't know it by looking out the 3rd floor windows. The dryer in the 3rd floor laundry must be one of those fancy zero energy models because it took about $5 in quarters to actually dry the clothes. How about a little heat?? Elevator was broke the morning we were leaving so had to haul heavy luggage down the stairs. At least it going downhill. I expected more for the cost of the rooms. November 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by nice stay I enjoyed my stay. The hotel is being expanded and a lot of money appears to be put into renovations including the room. I got a very good rate and it even included an airport shuttle. The pool was well kept. My only area of dissatisfaction was that the pool area was taken over for several hours by some reception, which appeared to be a funeral luncheon. While I understand the hotel needs to book events, why have this take over the pool area. I didn't feel comfortable crashing their event to take a swim and I doubt others would either. November 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great View and Great Weather Stayed in a new room on the Bayside and just loved the view of the harbor. Loved the large windows and wooden slat shades. The bed comfort was top notch. Close to the airport and still nice and quiet. I always enjoy my stays at Holiday Inns. November 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Pros: The service and staff were great. Also, the location is wonderful. Lastly, the rooms were very clean. Cons: My state rate was high and it did not include breakfast. My initial room was poor, but I was given another room the next day. Lastly, I was charged for items that I did not purchase. Overall, using a 10 point scale, I would rate this place an 8.5. Note: I travel a lot and stay at numerous high end hotels. November 20, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Oaid extra for poolside The pictures on the website of this property are severely misleading. Poolside as it was called on the website was no where near being beside a pool. I paid extra for a second floor turn to the right pool view. Main building looks nice but I was in a satellite building with open outside entrance. Room was old and not very clean. Balcony was open to anyone. I will not stay hear next time in am in San Diego. It is close to the airport though. November 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Bayside SanDiego Our stay was the highlight of an 8 day road trip. The staff took care to make our stay special, we were celebrating a milestone. The room was beautiful and spacious overlooking San Diego Harbour. Free use of bicycles was a bonus and something we enjoyed so much. Thank you Holiday Inn for taking such good care of us, we will definitely be back. November 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Lovely stay on a beautiful San Diego day We had reserved two rooms in the new building and were given top floor with stunning view of the marina sparkling at us just across the street. We were off a cruise ship so arrived mid-morning; since the hotel had been sold out the night before, our rooms were not yet available. Felt that the staff were doing all they could to get them ready and let us into our rooms as soon as possible. Generally, the staff was terrific, cheerful and accommodating. Rooms are well-appointed with ample furniture and nice wood shutters on the windows instead of the typical drapes. Beds were very comfortable, bath well-supplied with towels. We dined for lunch and breakfast at the Point Loma Cafe next door. Excellent! The menu was varied, food quality was fine and plentiful portions. The staff in the Cafe were terrific - friendly and helpful - made us feel like family. November 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice hotel, great bed Two Negatives: we did not receive Priority Club amenities that we get at other Holiday Express properties and found someone else's hair on the bedding. November 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Experience The staff were very polite and helpful. But the building is old November 12, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 Received noisiest room in the house! I was on a journey and had a night in San Diego booked at this IHG property. After booking I found a lower rate so that I received after the BRG T&C a comp night. At checkin the front desk told me that I get an upgrade of a room with balcony on the 5th floor - sounds nice but wasn't! During the night a penetrating loud noise from the roof in addition with the elevator and vending machine - which was all beside the room let me sleep only some hours. Further a sporadic rattle which I couldn't locate and every time I fall in sleep happened let me stand up in bed. I'm not sure If I had get such a poor room with a regular paid stay and not with the comp BRG. But as a loyal Platinum member I can't accept such a treatment even with a BRG stay! For my next stays in San Diego I/my friends choose definitely an other IHG Hotel or an other Brand because that was the worst experience that I had in a Hotel since years. November 9, 2013
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 14 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Entrance Entrance Lobby Lounge Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Seniors over 62, enyoy our discounted rate
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-24-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
Check Availability
Loading