Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Nov-21-2014)
(e.g. Nov-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 314 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Downtown San Diego Outstanding staff. They were professional and took care of my needs. The elevators could be updated as they were very slow. The breakfast was very good. the rooms were immaculate! September 4, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not a great experience at Holiday Inn Express I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express (downtown San Diego) for 2 nights (august 30 and August 31 2014). Though the location of your hotel is perfect (very close to gaslamp), i expected better quality rooms from the Holiday Inn brand. Here's a list: 1. The carpet was in a VERY BAD CONDITION that I couldn't get myself to step on it barefoot. 2. The bathroom - It was SUPER TINY that chances your stuff will fall off from the sink into the toilet are quite high 3. The toilet - the flush was so strangely powerful that it actually used to spit water out of it and get the toilet seat all wet All in all a very disappointing experience and I may not pick Holiday Inn Express in future. Devika September 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Top-notch staff I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Holiday Inn Express Downtown San Diego. The staff was super friendly, and I was impressed that they often acknowledged me as an IHG Rewards member. The breakfast bar was excellent, the beds were comfortable, and rooms were clean. I enjoyed using the pool, and the view of the city was breathtaking. I will definitely consider staying at this hotel again if I am in the area. September 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent service The staff was wonderful. The breakfast choices great and done to my satisfaction. Everything was great. September 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by hotel review Nice hotel in downtown San Diego. Close to downtown destinations. September 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to Stay We had a very good experience at this hotel, we were very busy and appreciated a good night's sleep. The breakfast was excellent and the location was perfect for us to get around San Diego. We recommend this hotel to others if they want a great place to stay at a very good price. August 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean room The hotel staff were very kind and courteous. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. During the month of June I had stayed at the Brookline property in Boston and had certain expectations of the quality of breakfast that certainly we're not met. I'm glad I was attending a health and wellness seminar. They were currently upgrading some areas and hopefully the dining experience will be among the upgrades. August 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 3 Day vacation in San Diego I have to recommend this hotel based off my experience with the staff member Bud! He was kind enough to recommend great activities in the city and chatted with us for a few hours about his experiences in San Diego during the happy hour. All the staff was friendly, the rooms were clean and there was free breakfast. Certainly in a great location and I walked to Balboa Park, Petco Stadium and to the Ferry Dock all within the same day (the weather was perfect so that helps!) Thank you Holiday Inn Express and thank you Bud! August 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 床铺舒适,服务一流 整体不错,床很舒服,卫生也不错,服务很好,地理位置也很不错,市中心。就是房间没有微波炉,冰箱也好像不好用。 August 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyed our SD, CA visit Beds were great--very comfy, balcony was used nightly--comfortable evening temperatures so we didn't need the AC on when we could open the doors. My spouse and I disagreed on the temp of the room after closing the balcony doors-I was comfy, but he was too hot. Overall he kicked off the covers and slept fine. Hotels generally include a stale pastry breakfast, but the hot breakfast buffet at this establishment was more than we expected and had a nice variety each morning and good coffee. The staff kept the food continuously refreshed and the room clean though it was always busy with patrons coming and going. The fruited water and lemonade in the lobby were a welcome amenity after arriving back from a hot day of touristy things. We enjoyed the happy hour and could walk to several great restaurants in the Gaslamp district with no fear for our safety. Parking and driving (and to some extent, walking) on the HILLY streets was not what we were expecting (in San Francisco, yes, but did not expect in SD - I guess we should have done more research!) and was the only problem with entering/exiting the parking garage. August 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice property Very nice hotel and surprising value for the location. Room was great, liked the balcony. Only gripe was parking garage very tight for large suvs. Staff very polite. August 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great stay Good value for the location, loved the shuttle, free breakfast, free internet and manager's reception. Would have liked two separate tvs in the jr suite but that is my only suggest. The staff was all very nice and would definitely recommend and stay here again! August 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 What I expected I always use pools in the evening at hotels and 2/3 nights I was there, the pool closed before posted hours. The pool also is only 3 feet deep all the way across. Not easy to swim what is essentially a big kiddie pool. The breakfast doesn't give many options for people with special diet restrictions. Primarily gluten/wheat free. Pretty much everything there was bread and cereal. Also, aside from about 2 restaurants close by, there aren't any food options in the area if you don't have a car. And all but one of the vending machines were out of order. The one that was working, was empty. Jayson at the front desk was very rude on multiple occasions. Good things - the room was clean, the price was right and the rest of the staff and shuttle drivers were fantastic. Good business center where you can use the internet. August 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel The staff were awesome and super friendly. Rooms were a good size. August 20, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Value for San Diego Okay I agree with others that the property is a bit dated with older carpets, furnishings and noisy A/C systems. Having said that, the property was clean, internet was great, hot water was plentiful and the staff from shuttle to managers were excellent (thanks Stan, Tameika and Renee). Called for airport shuttle and within 15 minutes they were there for a stress-free drive to the hotel. Greeted very warmly as a Gold Elite member and had room upgraded. Since I was there for a convention and couldn't take advantage of the amenities offered (manager's reception, discounted lunch & dinner), they instead gave me a bottle of wine which I thought was an excellent touch. I only stayed there one night as I had previously booked the Hotel Indigo (closer to convention center and with other work colleagues) for 2 nights but due to change of plans couldn't get in the first night. This hotel provided a great value and would certainly consider staying there again. August 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Bereavement reservation option We had a tragic death in our family and had to come to San Diego at the last minute. My airline (Delta) told us that we might get a bereavement reservation charge. I was told when I called Holiday Inn SD that there were NO rooms available at that lower charge. I was disappointed: I thought, how can a person plan ahead for this kind of need? However, our room was perfect for what we needed and I only wish that we could've gotten the bereavement price as the whole trip was more than we were prepared to pay for and a break on the hotel would've helped a bit. August 14, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Downtown San Diego Overall, my experience at the Downtown H.I.E. was good, although I was not greeted as a member of IHG Priority Club member. What disappointed me the most was the lack of air conditioning in the common areas of the hotel. The staff is friendly and helpful and the hotel location is great. August 14, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointment Stayed here several times in the past for both business and pleasure...... will not return based on this recent stay with adjoining rooms for my family August 13, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Awful Staff Plain and simple - awful. The ice machine wasn't working on the third floor. I called the front desk THREE TIMES and finally someone answered the phone. I called to let the front desk know that the ice machine was not working and asked that someone help me get ice. The person at the front desk said that I could go downstairs and get the ice myself. I'm more than happy and able to get the ice, but the front desk was completely rude about the machine being broken. About an hour later a manager came up and asked what was wrong. I told her that the ice machine was broken. What bothers me is that (1) she didn't know what the problem was when she came upstairs, (2) she apologize for the inconvenience, (3) she never offered to help. I've never stayed at a hotel with such rude and unhelpful people ever. August 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by solid service Not a bad hotel for the price. Nice location, easy walking to Balboa Park and the downtown entertainment district. August 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Downtown Uptown We had a great stay here. Our room was nice, great balcony and views. However the intersection below our room was very busy and noisy. The single pane windows let it lots of noise and heat. Ask for a west facing room. August 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Book this hotel! Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown, thank you so much! I truly enjoyed staying with you. First of all, you had one of the friendliest, nicest staffs of any hotel I've stayed in. Your staff was grade A+ from check in, to the parking lot, to breakfast and the cocktail reception. Recommendations for stuff to do? Got it! Directions to the beach? Here's several. Where should I go eat? We'll tell you (and give you vouchers for an awesome Italian place across the street). Second, your rooms were spacious and comfortable. Sure, this isn't the newest property, and it might be starting to show its age, but we can't hold that again you, and you're doing the best with what you've got, as it's clear that this Holiday Inn Express is well maintained. Third, you have a great location -- downtown, with easy access to the airport, Naval installations, and freeways. I never felt like it was difficult to leave you or to return to you thereafter. Finally, I'd be remiss not to mention your value. Your rates are more than reasonable, particularly with an above-average HI Express breakfast included, as well your beautiful pool. I was a little confused about the "room safe" charge (I hadn't even requested a room safe!), but that was taken off the bill automatically. Holiday Inn Express San Diego Downtown, you're a superb Holiday Inn Express, and I'll certainly be staying with you again the next time I'm in San Diego. Thanks! August 11, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by 房间小,服务尚可 非常一般,前台服务人员冷漠,但还算专业。早餐基本是快餐,连餐具都是一次性的,但食品质量还可以。房间非常小,洗手间也很小,不方便。 August 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Older property, but quite nice I saw complaints about the age of this property, but I found that to be charming and fun. I liked the classic California feel of it. The staff, when we checked in, went beyond expectations to take care of us as my purse had been stolen in Arizona earlier in the day and we arrived late and discouraged. Reward Club status was acknowledged with a lovely welcome basket. The room was fine - clean and spacious enough for us. Yes. The bathroom is a bit small, but we weren't troubled by that. The shuttle service was particularly welcome as garage parking does take some attention and effort, but I didn't find it as awful as some reviewers say. We also enjoyed the evening happy hour with tasty food from a local restaurant. Breakfast was especially nice (compared to other HIEs we stayed in on this 14 day trip). Big thank you to the staff who made things feel a bit better after my huge loss. August 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by what I would have liked to have in the hotel I was really hoping to use a fitness center. And my being a senior person, I could not do any walking outside because the hotel is surrounded by steep hills. August 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good travel experience I like the Holiday Inn Express in downtown San Diego. It is close to the Trolley and the shuttle service provides quick access to the San Diego International Airport. August 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A nice stay It was comfortable to stay at. It was just what I needed for the trip. It is a little bit out of the way, but close enough to where I needed to be August 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel with good location The hotel is situated centrally - a number of good cafes and restaurants are situated within 5-minutes walk. It is only 15 minutes walk to Gaslamp Quarters. The room is spacious, comfortable and clean. It has a balcony which overlooks the beautiful city. There are good variation of food at breakfast (which, is complimentary). There are also complimentary lemonade and water as you walk in the hotel. Free shuttle service is available to selected locations. This made travelling a lot easier and hassle-free. Ask the helpful and friendly staff about it. They are prepared to recommend or advice on tourist attractions in the city. August 4, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by nur zum Schlafen ok - sonst eher nicht zu empfehlend Das Hotel ist sichtbar in die Jahre gekommen. Die Zimmer und die Anlage sind deutlich abgewohnt. Die Balkontür hatte 3 unterschiedliche Verschließmechanismen, von denen 2 nicht mehr gingen (vermutlich auf Einbruchsversuche zurückzuführen - daher wurde ein neuer Mechanismus eingebaut). Das Frühstück war noch ok - nichts Besonderes aber auch nicht schlecht. Die Lage ist für Besucher des gaslamp district gut, da nur wenige Blocks entfernt. Die Gegend selbst ist aber nicht sonderlich einladend. Auf unserer Rundreise durch den Westen der USA als Durchgangsstation gewählt und das schlechteste von den 15 Hotels der Reise. August 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by well located It is a great place to stay to get to all the attractions you need to get to. July 30, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 12 next>>