• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Dec-17-2014)
(e.g. Dec-18-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SAN DIEGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-08:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Petco Park - Home of the San Diego Padres
Distance From Hotel:1.2MI
Attraction:
San Diego Convention Center
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
San Diego international Airport
Distance From Hotel:2.6MI
Attraction:
San Diego Zoo
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • $16.00 Parking rate includes 24hr in/out privileges. Guests parking charges will be posted on their bills. It is a gated parking structure.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 16.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:136
  • Total number of suites:11
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:45
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:76
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:136
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
Welcome to our Downtown San Diego Hotel! Hotel guests can travel easily and rest soundly every night amid all the comforts of home at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego downtown. Families looking for a hotel near the San Diego Airport that also provides a convenient location to the most popular California attractions need look no further than our downtown San Diego hotel. Situated within walking distance of the Gaslamp Quarter our hotel also provides a shuttle to several other nearby attractions
View More
Welcome to our Downtown San Diego Hotel! Hotel guests can travel easily and rest soundly every night amid all the comforts of home at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego downtown. Families looking for a hotel near the San Diego Airport that also provides a convenient location to the most popular California attractions need look no further than our downtown San Diego hotel. Situated within walking distance of the Gaslamp Quarter our hotel also provides a shuttle to several other nearby attractions including Balboa Park, the San Diego Zoo and the Cruise Ship Terminal. Business travelers are also happy to know that our hotel is near the San Diego Airport and that we provide a complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport. Corporate guests appreciate staying at our hotel near the San Diego Convention Center and the San Diego Trolley because we make area travel easy. From the 24 hour business center to the well appointed meeting facilities, our property is fully equipped for connectivity and productivity. With our sparkling outdoor pool which boasts breathtaking views of downtown San Diego guests don't even need to leave the grounds to have fun.
View Less
Features
Our convenient location in downtown San Diego provides easy access to all the major attractions and businesses in the area. Our hotel is near the San Diego Convention Center and Petco Park. The Gaslamp Quarter and Horton plaza is within walking distance.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 455 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Confortable met expectations Had moderate expectations and was met by the hotel. A complimentary breakfast would have been good. December 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place to stay ! Neat and relaxing rooms in the new part of the hotel.Did a good job in balancing cost, comfort, etc. December 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice and clean Stayed for one night. Room was nice but bathroom was a bit snug. Not a lot of room where sink is. Over all nice hotel good location. December 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Love the new part of the hotel, very nice setting They did a great job here in the new part. Has a relaxing feel and everything brand new. Will put this property on my pick-list for a future stay in the San Diego area December 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Bayside San Diego Es la tercera vez que me hospedo en este hotel y como siempre todo estuvo, excelente. Su nueva torre totalmente remodelada ofrece habitaciones comodas y modernas a un precio justo. December 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding Experience We just stayed at this facility and were extremely pleased with all aspects of the stay. I elected the "add breakfast" option and that was an excellent move. The breakfast was outstanding and the serving team was impeccable The section of this facility where our room was located was recently renovated and had that "new and clean" smell. My wife was very impressed with this hotel........and that takes something for her to say she was impressed. With the location on the bay, we walked down the street and saw a lot of the bay area with all of the expensive boats!! Great experience...........recommend this location highly!! December 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great value in SD This is a large Holiday Inn hotel with multiple buildings of varying age. The newest building up front is very nice and looks like it was recently constructed in last couple years. I was traveling for business and would rate the location and value very high for San Diego hotels. This hotel is <7 mins from the Airport and 10-12 minutes from downtown. I would stay here again. There are a few drawbacks. The cafe on the grounds is not good but there are many local restaurants and pubs either within walking distance or a short drive. The bar is dated and needs a full refresh. Also, the gym is small and poorly equipped December 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfection at its Finest The hotel staff - were professional friendly and well trained. The rooms- were immaculate and cleaned everyday in a timely fashion. The food- both room service and the attached restaurant were exceptional all in value, selection and very tasty! The pool- was clean with plenty of chairs and towels and offered ping pong and mini golf as well. The value and location- were the best in San Diego. Close to the water and airport. December 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice Nice big sliding glass doors very clean,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, November 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quick overnight stay before my flight I chose this hotel because it was near the airport and had a free shuttle. November 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A Solid Choice As a parent of a Point Loma Nazarene University Alumi, and missionary to Mexico, I am a frequent guest at Holiday Inn Bayside, San Diego. I have always had a pleasant stay and restful nights sleep, without compliant (unless there is a guest that is 'heavy footed' on the floor above!) The rooms are well stocked with linens, bath/shower supplies and most importantly CLEAN! The facility is safe and very convenient to all areas and main routes in San Diego. The newest tower addition to the facility is simply beautiful - I just hope the remainder of the guest rooms receive this updated decor and environmental energy/water savings. November 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Zuvorkommender Service und gute Zimmerausstattung War nur eine Nacht im Hotel, würde es aber für einen längeren Aufenthalt jederzeit wieder buchen. November 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding Property! I stay in a lot of IHG properties during the course of a year, but this one is the best, hands down! From the moment we walked in the front door, we were greeted warmly by the staff, checked in quickly, and were assigned a room that can only be described as perfect. The view was wonderful. The housekeeping staff took such good care of us, and it really helped in making our stay more enjoyable. The cafe offered a good variety of meals, and the lounge was an enjoyable place to watch a ball game and have a drink. I have nothing but good things to say about this hotel, and will happily stay here again when I am back in the area. November 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convience and comfort the location to the airport is excellent, less than 5 min ride to the airport can be beat! along with the convenience the hotel was very clan and comfortable. The dinner at the Hotel restaurant was very good and reasonably priced too. November 28, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Inconsistent If you get in the new building it's a nice stay but the staff is extremely inconsistent; stayed there a month ago and was told parking was free based on my gold status then this trip was told they've never done that. Also had some weird issue with a maintenance space next to my room making a strange noise at all hours that was loud enough to wake you. When I asked about it I was told, "We'll send maintenance to look into that..." After a week it was still there so I guess Maintenance couldn't do anything about it. Sounded like some sort of alarm going off at odd times. November 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by staff staff was extremely helpful to recommend area attractions November 25, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good value Hotel is good in value but the service at the restaurant was not so good. Free breakfast is for "continental breakfast" only, the voucher gives you $7.50 credit at the restaurant. The room was clean but quite noisy with fan going around somewhere even with the heater/ac was turned off.. probably from outside? November 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location across from Point Loma Marina and Restaurants Property was good and enjoyed walking along the marina full of yachts, fishing boats, and seafood restaurants. November 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location for fishing Great location and the new additions give beautiful views of the Marina. We took a San Diego Highlights tour of the city with Another Side o f San Diego tours. We were escorted the entire time with a very knowledgeable host. The hotel staff were not aware of this tour but I highly recommended it to the staff upon our return. The hotel staff are great and the restaurant has excellent food. No need to locate another place to eat. November 24, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Clueless The first room I was placed in was 80's retrofit nothing what I was looking at online !! That was my first pet issue. After a week I went to the front desk then requested another room, they obliged with what was more to what I had reviewed before I arrived. Then came the completely inconsistent billing. At that point I had enough and moved to another location. I do want to stress there were a few ( A Morning desk Clerk and an accountant) That tried very hard to make everything correct but aside from them my stay was less than enjoyable. November 24, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by OK OK. Nothing special. The rooms in the oder sections of the property are dated and worn. November 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good value for the money good value for the money - location, breakfast, hotel amenities November 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Value Great location Monitored parking, nice courtyard, immediate access to the marina. Only complaint was the hot tub was not functioning properly/filled with ice cold water. November 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience! This is a great experience. I had a room in the new tower and it was a great overall experience! November 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed, lovely view We love the New Bayside rooms, such a nice view. Love hearing the National Anthem every morning! November 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Stay at the HI San Diego Bayside Was here only for one night, didn't take advantage of the pool or public areas, but got a good night's sleep in a room in the smaller highrise that was all that I expected and more. Staff was welcoming and attentive, check-in/check-out was fast and efficient. Would stay here again, no problem. November 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Recommend Rooms were nice, clean and taken care of. Friendly staff. Recommend to others November 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and comfortable My overall stay was excellent. However, there were two things that I had a problem with. First was that room service delivered me a tray off food that I placed on my bed. The bottom of the tray was covered in pancake syrup. I had to clean it off the covers before bed. I also did not like the setup of the dresser so close to the entrance and felt that it was too narrow when taking my luggage off the cart. I prefer a bench or the top of dresser to place my opened suit case on. There was no bench and the tv sat on top of dresser. (Maybe tv could hang on the wall) That being said I would stay there again. November 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service and Location We went for a weekend away, and we certainly picked the right property! It's located just north of Shelter Island, close to Point Loma, and adjacent to Old Town. We stayed in the new Tower building with a view of Shelter Island. The room had 2 queen size beds and a very generously-sized bathroom with a shower with a built-in seat. Breakfast was not included in our rate, but we ate at the hotel's cafe both mornings and enjoyed good, reaonably priced meals. Everyone we interacted with at the front desk was helpful and friendly, and I was recognized for my Platinum status. November 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location; Great Hotel Hotels located near airports can often be at one end of the accommodation spectrum or another: either elegant and super expensive, or a bit down on their heels and less pricey. While both an older hotel, and one which has a more modern addition, Holiday Bayside is neither. Rather it offers a comfortable, affordable for San Diego experience and great convenience to Lindbergh Airport. Our room was clean and quiet, providing just what we needed when our flight was cancelled. November 18, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>
Entrance on 7th Avenue, San Diego
Entrance on 7th Avenue, San Diego
Select to close.
Entrance on 7th Avenue, San Diego Reception Cortez Hill view of exterior
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Anywhere Check-In is a simple process that will help you start enjoying your travel earlier.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Dec-17-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Dec-18-2014)
Check Availability
Loading