• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Nov-23-2014)
(e.g. Nov-24-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SAN DIEGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-08:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Petco Park - Home of the San Diego Padres
Distance From Hotel:1.2MI
Attraction:
San Diego Convention Center
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
San Diego international Airport
Distance From Hotel:2.6MI
Attraction:
San Diego Zoo
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • $16.00 Parking rate includes 24hr in/out privileges. Guests parking charges will be posted on their bills. It is a gated parking structure.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 16.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:136
  • Total number of suites:11
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:45
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:76
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:136
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
Welcome to our Downtown San Diego Hotel! Hotel guests can travel easily and rest soundly every night amid all the comforts of home at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego downtown. Families looking for a hotel near the San Diego Airport that also provides a convenient location to the most popular California attractions need look no further than our downtown San Diego hotel. Situated within walking distance of the Gaslamp Quarter our hotel also provides a shuttle to several other nearby attractions
View More
Welcome to our Downtown San Diego Hotel! Hotel guests can travel easily and rest soundly every night amid all the comforts of home at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego downtown. Families looking for a hotel near the San Diego Airport that also provides a convenient location to the most popular California attractions need look no further than our downtown San Diego hotel. Situated within walking distance of the Gaslamp Quarter our hotel also provides a shuttle to several other nearby attractions including Balboa Park, the San Diego Zoo and the Cruise Ship Terminal. Business travelers are also happy to know that our hotel is near the San Diego Airport and that we provide a complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport. Corporate guests appreciate staying at our hotel near the San Diego Convention Center and the San Diego Trolley because we make area travel easy. From the 24 hour business center to the well appointed meeting facilities, our property is fully equipped for connectivity and productivity. With our sparkling outdoor pool which boasts breathtaking views of downtown San Diego guests don't even need to leave the grounds to have fun.
View Less
Features
Our convenient location in downtown San Diego provides easy access to all the major attractions and businesses in the area. Our hotel is near the San Diego Convention Center and Petco Park. The Gaslamp Quarter and Horton plaza is within walking distance.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 421 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly place Had a good experience during my stay. I just did not like that I paid for a partial bay view room but I could not see any of the bay. Also please be informed that you have to pay for parking on top of the room. November 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by My stay at Holiday Inn-Bayside The stay was okay, I would prefer the new building, very nice. Only complaint is they mixed up my bill with my daughter's and 2 out of the 3 Shuttle drivers were very rude. November 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Service I was there for a WWII reunion with my father and other elderly guests. The property was a little spread out for them, and the staff could not have been more helpful or friendly about transporting them from their rooms to other events at the hotel. Everyone really appreciated this and made the veterans stay much easier on them. Thank you all! November 9, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by A bit off Pretty close to the airport but far from the city. Plat Ambassador member and got a view towards the parking in the back. Also got to chose between a bottle of water in my room and 500p at check-in and choose the water but there was no water in the room. Like always with HI the bed was good but except for that there was nothing thrilling about this hotel. November 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by New Contemporary Hotel Beautifully decorated with a great view of the San Diego Bay area. Excellent access from the airport with many restaurants/shopping within walking distance. November 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, simple, comfortable I do not believe in 10 ratings as there is always some way to improve November 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Bayside Holiday Inn Clean rooms, delicious room service, warm staff, great location! November 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love this place First, the location is awesome situated right across the street from the Marina in Point Loma. It is in a very quiet area without the noise of staying downtown. The property itself has gone thru many changes. It is well maintained and clean even the oldest sections. The staff is always friendly and helpful at every turn. Do not have anything but positive comments on this hotel. November 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Was in San Diego for a Military Reunion We were treated with respect and provided with many extras. The location is hard to beat. For a Military person there is a Navy Gas Station and Mini Mart right around the corner. I would recommend this hotel for individuals and groups. November 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel and Great Location We were in the new tower which was very nice !! The staff were all very friendly. November 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Reunion Destination Proved Wonderful This Holiday Inn complex fulfills your every need, from its convenience, scenic location, excellent hospitality and culinary services and cheery, welcoming staff. It was more than I expected and will become my standard for the future. Highly recommended, whether for a reunion or other gathering or just for a wonderful stay in San Diego by the bay. October 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hospitality and rooms The staff was so helpful and efficient with assisting 400+ with WWII vets and families. Food was excellent and rooms were clean and quiet. October 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Reunion Very good experience considering the amount of people involved in reunion. Good location, and views. Nice pool, and open area. October 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exceptioal Value As usual Holiday Inn is reliable, comfortable, and an exceptional value. The beds and pillows were comfortable, the rooms were quiet, and the conference accommodation's were excellent. Thank you, and you have my continued recommendation. Ray S October 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome Staff and Great Service First, Thank you to all the Front Desk staff, which I think I got a chance to speak to everyone at the desk at least once that Sunday, who helped make my sisters stay an awesome one. She was delighted with her room, said it was spacious and very clean. She said that it was the best weekend she ever had and would love to stay there again. The only comment I have is that trying to get an amenity to a room was the most challenging experience I had over the phone. Next time I think I'll go in personally to set it up, but thank you Roger and Keith with assisting me. October 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice facility Great location, terrific views, comfortable modern rooms in the new building. October 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed, convenient location, great views Very nice hotel in great location near marina and many restaurants. Very spacious and clean with great bed but pillows were a little to firm. Very nice bathroom and plenty of places for luggage. October 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Just outstanding!! Wonderful location with an outstanding staff. I would stay again in a heart beat and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a great and restful place to stay. October 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My new favorite in San Diego This is my new home in San Diego. Whenever I visit my son, this is where I will stay. It's convenient to the airport, downtown, Balboa Park, and the beautiful Bay! The restaurant has wonderful food, the room was comfortable, the staff responsive, the fitness center and pool incredible. There are lots of restaurants within walking distance too. Everyone was friendly and I can't wait for my next visit. I've stayed in several hotels in the area. The Holiday Inn Bayside is my favorite by far. October 22, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff and Comfortable Stay Very helpful and professional staff, pleasant and relaxing place to stay close to harbor, a bit of a slog to the outer buildings, rooms average re: decor, very quiet, adequately clean, would stay there again. October 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Room, friendly staff Nice room, friendly staff, clean interior and exterior. October 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Close to EVERYTHING and complete without it This place was great all by itself as a gathering place or overnight rest. But it is next door to San Diego Harbor and several fine restaurants, the airport, marina, downtown, and museums. All angles are covered. It's a great place to stay. October 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by DirecTV reception For some reason, the DirecTV signals for channels in the mid 700's (ESPN HD, HBO HD, etc....) didn't come in. Kept getting a "no signal" message. October 19, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very good for early flight I just stayed there because I had an early flight combined with an expiring free-night certificate, so it worked well. The hotel is nice but I was in late and out at 5AM --- so other reviews are probably better. There is a bar with sandwiches open until 11. The food isn't cheap but the sandwich made an ok dinner. October 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great location and staff very friendly we enjoyed the great location in front of the marina and the staff was very friendly October 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and a All in One hotel near SAN Airport 1. When traveling you can check in a night before to be nearby the hotel. 2. All in One: Hotel, Restaurant October 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff Outstanding service from the time I arrived to my departure. It met all my needs especially the location and the shuttle service. October 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasantly Surprised It's been a long time since I stayed at a Holiday Inn and the Bayside was a pleasant surprise in that it was a fantastic value for price I paid. The rooms were large, clean and quiet. The pillows were extremely comfortable. I would definitely recommend to anyone traveling in the area. October 14, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Airport stay Just coming in for the night. Rode in the shuttle with flight crew from an Airline whose hotel was further down from ours and the shuttle driver wanted to drop them off first to each one of there rooms and then drop us to hotel. Really? Our hotel room was changed to further location, it was suppose to be for our convenience...right, from poolside to back alley. Front desk help was very put out to help us get to the airport on time the next morning b/c she could not locate shuttle driver. It was obvious we were just number. Bad service from airport to checkout. October 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice It was a very comfortable hotel and the staff was very friendly. I would recommend this hotel. October 13, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>
Entrance on 7th Avenue, San Diego
Entrance on 7th Avenue, San Diego
Select to close.
Entrance on 7th Avenue, San Diego Reception Cortez Hill view of exterior
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Anywhere Check-In is a simple process that will help you start enjoying your travel earlier.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-23-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-24-2014)
Check Availability
Loading