• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
(e.g. Sep-24-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SAN DIEGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Petco Park - Home of the San Diego Padres
Distance From Hotel:1.2MI
Attraction:
San Diego Convention Center
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
San Diego international Airport
Distance From Hotel:2.6MI
Attraction:
San Diego Zoo
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • $16.00 Parking rate includes 24hr in/out privileges. Guests parking charges will be posted on their bills. It is a gated parking structure.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 16.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:136
  • Total number of suites:11
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:45
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:76
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:136
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
Welcome to our Downtown San Diego Hotel! Hotel guests can travel easily and rest soundly every night amid all the comforts of home at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego downtown. Families looking for a hotel near the San Diego Airport that also provides a convenient location to the most popular California attractions need look no further than our downtown San Diego hotel. Situated within walking distance of the Gaslamp Quarter our hotel also provides a shuttle to several other nearby attractions
View More
Welcome to our Downtown San Diego Hotel! Hotel guests can travel easily and rest soundly every night amid all the comforts of home at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego downtown. Families looking for a hotel near the San Diego Airport that also provides a convenient location to the most popular California attractions need look no further than our downtown San Diego hotel. Situated within walking distance of the Gaslamp Quarter our hotel also provides a shuttle to several other nearby attractions including Balboa Park, the San Diego Zoo and the Cruise Ship Terminal. Business travelers are also happy to know that our hotel is near the San Diego Airport and that we provide a complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport. Corporate guests appreciate staying at our hotel near the San Diego Convention Center and the San Diego Trolley because we make area travel easy. From the 24 hour business center to the well appointed meeting facilities, our property is fully equipped for connectivity and productivity. With our sparkling outdoor pool which boasts breathtaking views of downtown San Diego guests don't even need to leave the grounds to have fun.
View Less
Features
Our convenient location in downtown San Diego provides easy access to all the major attractions and businesses in the area. Our hotel is near the San Diego Convention Center and Petco Park. The Gaslamp Quarter and Horton plaza is within walking distance.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 357 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great harbor view hotel Great location close to harbor, airport and short drive to downtown. Great service and quality environment. September 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by a very good experience Ou r first day of vacation excellent accommodation. Pleasant staff great greetings clean room well maintained excellent September 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A short stay The hotel had a great location and adequate security, the grounds are well maintained and attractive. The food at the café was excellent and the staff was very helpful. The front desk personnel were very helpful at check out asked if I needed driving instructions or service to the airport. A short stay but well worth it. September 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Naval Reunion OE Division USS Midway Hotel exceeded my expectations. The staff always tried harder! September 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by overnight This is a great hotel very close to the airport. I would recommend it. September 5, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Some work needed Faucet in tub did not turn the water on. Called an it was repaired quickly. There were several times when there was a brown liquid on rim of sink. Drip was coming from vent above sink. I cleaned it up several times, I would think maid service would notice when cleaning and get it checked. Thought the same thing for broken tub faucet - why didn't maid service notice it was broken? I reset clock twice due to coming back and finding it flashing. Good thing I used phone for alarm, I've stayed here before without the issues. Parking was difficult most of the time. Overall not as pleased with hotel as previous visits. September 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Review We like our stay at this hotel & it was good experience . September 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice and comfortable We were in for a wedding at Shelter Cove. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was above expectation. All amenities were very nice. The only complaint was the bar/bartender on Saturday night. A number of guests of the Sunday wedding were also guests of the hotel. We decided to stay close for nightcaps. This was absolutely the least professional bar staff we experienced in the area. Did not know how to make simple drinks, ie...an Irish Coffee. The attitude toward our frustration of not getting the drinks we wanted was scary. A solid bar (money maker) at a hotel poolside is reason enough to stay again. Not so sure based on this experience. It is worth noting that one of the guests in our party owns and operates a successful bar and he found the whole experience laughable. September 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location This hotel was in the perfect location for our needs. We slept great, and really enjoyed this hotel. September 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Bayside Beats the rest!! Our family loves to stay at the Holiday Inn Bayside. The location is so convenient with kids at Point Loma Nazarene University, as well as the ease of parking and traveling around the San Diego area. September 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location We enjoyed our stay..Would recommend to others to stay there. Room was very nice and clean. The bathroom was on the small side,but worked fine. September 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent stay at new property The Holiday Inn Bayside new building provides excellent accommodations and a great night sleep. Decor and functionality is excellent for both business and leisure purposes. Would highly recommend for casual user needing access to major attractions in area as well as marina. Really appreciated the staff being accommodating to virtually every need. September 3, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Smelly room The main part of the hotel seems nicer but the side drive up rooms are old, smelly and in need of better decor. The parking lot is also pretty terrible. I would like to try the main hotel rooms and see. They did give us 2 free drinks and 2 breakfast vouchers worth $7.50 for their cafe so overall it wasn't a bad value so I may give them another chance since my daughter moved to school in the area and they give 10% to the university. September 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by one great stay This was a pleasure getaway for me. Everything was great from the room, food, bar, employees, location...all of it September 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to relax Very nice Couldn't think of anything negative to say. My daughter is at SDSU and we visit frequently have stayed in much more expensive hotels. none that we liked any better. September 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A special place Probably the nicest room we've stayed in, in quite some time! Two comments however--the lack of any mirror except in the bathroom was very inconvenient--and for a hotel of this quality, we were quite disappointed to be awaken at 5 am by the sounds of a vacuum cleaner and cleaning in a room quite near to us. That shouldn't happen! September 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay for the price and location We booked the room the same night we went to San Diego- the hotel has just been renovated and looks inviting and soothing as soon as you step in. The rooms were great and the furnishings were no less than a 5 star hotel room! September 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect for Fishing Trip Conveniently located nearby the marina and docks. An excellent choice for the fisherman planning to use a night or two before and after their trip. Parking is excellent and staff was very accommodating to every need. Would highly recommend the new building which has larger rooms and baths. More room overall to spread out and very new, clean and comfortable. August 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful place to stay Our first visit to San Diego was from August 14 to 21, 2014. Not only did we love San Diego, but the Holiday Inn Bayside was an excellent choice of hotel. The location was ideal, as we were not driving but were able to take advantage of the local bus service. The room was very comfortable and the food was very good. August 31, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by being able to rent bikes is a plus everything about the hotel is fair the best part was the bike rental August 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The Best hotel value in San Diego I've stayed here on business and leisure for years. Great location: near airport, Shelter Island, beaches; amenties: new fitness center, wonderful restaurant and bar, huge pool and recreation area; the new building looks and feels like a 4+ star hotel. The function/meeting space is phenomenal! Friendly, professional service. It's like coming home. I wouldn't stay anywhere else. August 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stranded in San Diego My plans to meet others in San Diego were canceled unbeknownst to me until I stepped off the plane. Being stranded at the airport was not my plan for the weekend. My go to was Holiday Inn. Was able to secure a room at a fantastic price. They picked me up within ten minutes and delivered me back the same. What could have been a disaster turned into a wonderful weekend. Thank you Holiday Inn! August 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Air Conditioner Was a little noisy 100% of the time and never shut off. Had to shut it off to sleep then the room became hot. August 27, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Staff less than friendly The staff at the hotel were less than friendly. I believe this is a large component of any stay. I have always had good luck at Holiday Inn's, but will never frequent this one again. August 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice! Generally my experience has been great at this property. August 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Room Review Room had a funky odor, but other than that, it was a good stay. We enjoy the pool area very much. Perhaps the hot tub area should have a sign limiting time use. The breakfast area attached to the hotel was delicious and the potatoes were fantastic. Parking was okay. I felt safe parking my vehicle in the parking lot because of the security arms that are located at the entrance and exits of the parking lots. August 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed, convenient location, and clean room Good front desk service & convenient location. The bed is comfortable and the room is nice and clean. We got a view from window. The cafe is also good but not the coffee. I would recommend this hotel August 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great place nice and clean stayed here for 2 nights on a 3 week trip to states and was very happy with hotel location all staff very helpful and all facilitys are in good clean condition, room was clean and bathroom modern great pool August 20, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by anything better in the area? The internet connection is really bad and unstable. August 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good value, conveniently located Located a short drive to the harbor area, this is my preferred hotel to stay at when sailing in San Diego. August 19, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>
Entrance on 7th Avenue, San Diego
Entrance on 7th Avenue, San Diego
Select to close.
Entrance on 7th Avenue, San Diego Reception Cortez Hill view of exterior
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn at least two free nights, 50,000 bonus points or 10,000 miles. Book Now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-24-2014)
Check Availability
Loading