• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-31-2014)
(e.g. Sep-01-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SAN DIEGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Petco Park - Home of the San Diego Padres
Distance From Hotel:1.2MI
Attraction:
San Diego Convention Center
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
San Diego international Airport
Distance From Hotel:2.6MI
Attraction:
San Diego Zoo
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • $16.00 Parking rate includes 24hr in/out privileges. Guests parking charges will be posted on their bills. It is a gated parking structure.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 16.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:136
  • Total number of suites:11
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:45
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:76
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:136
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
Welcome to our Downtown San Diego Hotel! Hotel guests can travel easily and rest soundly every night amid all the comforts of home at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego downtown. Families looking for a hotel near the San Diego Airport that also provides a convenient location to the most popular California attractions need look no further than our downtown San Diego hotel. Situated within walking distance of the Gaslamp Quarter our hotel also provides a shuttle to several other nearby attractions
View More
Welcome to our Downtown San Diego Hotel! Hotel guests can travel easily and rest soundly every night amid all the comforts of home at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego downtown. Families looking for a hotel near the San Diego Airport that also provides a convenient location to the most popular California attractions need look no further than our downtown San Diego hotel. Situated within walking distance of the Gaslamp Quarter our hotel also provides a shuttle to several other nearby attractions including Balboa Park, the San Diego Zoo and the Cruise Ship Terminal. Business travelers are also happy to know that our hotel is near the San Diego Airport and that we provide a complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport. Corporate guests appreciate staying at our hotel near the San Diego Convention Center and the San Diego Trolley because we make area travel easy. From the 24 hour business center to the well appointed meeting facilities, our property is fully equipped for connectivity and productivity. With our sparkling outdoor pool which boasts breathtaking views of downtown San Diego guests don't even need to leave the grounds to have fun.
View Less
Features
Our convenient location in downtown San Diego provides easy access to all the major attractions and businesses in the area. Our hotel is near the San Diego Convention Center and Petco Park. The Gaslamp Quarter and Horton plaza is within walking distance.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 326 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great location We were able to relax in San Diego. Location is perfect when visiting downtown San Diego. August 15, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Poor sleep quality Noise of air conditionr was so loud, and I did not sleep well. In addition to that, one group did check our around 3:00 am and they we so loud. That did really distarb our queality of sleep. It was one of worst Holiday Inn experience. August 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights recently. On arrival, a two double bedded room was swopped for a family room (kids in bunk beds) when the receptionist saw the kids. A good move! Although some aspects of the hotel are slightly dated, I believe it is being renovated and this did not spoil our stay at all. the pool area is spacious, with plenty of chairs, free towels and had more of a "holiday" feel to it. There is also a friendly bar in the afternnoons. There are plelnty of restaurants around and the hotel is situated over the road from the harbour, which also is being developed. Good access to everywhere. Recommend August 14, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Just too hot The room was too hot, the other buildings were too hot, and it was very uncomfortable anywhere but the lobby. August 12, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Staff Staff was not helpful or courteous during check in. There was a delay in getting a room due to rooms not being clean at the time of check in. August 6, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not a happy customer My stay was for one night, between flights. It was a late check in, so I did not get to the room until after midnight. The sink was dirty - black tarry stains in the sink. In the morning there was no hot water. I called the front desk. They told me to wiggle the knob (really?) Still no hot water. It was way too expensive, with no customer service and a cold shower to boot! August 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice for Families There is a nice pool area with hot tub. There is also table tennis, shuffle board, and a small putting green. The blackout curtains were excellent and the gated parking was good for security. August 5, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by poor value not recommended. I will definitely take a different hotel this week. (I am going to San Diego every week for the next two months.) August 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall a very nice stay From the first day until the last day the experience was positive. The room was nice and well kept. The food at the café was some of the best I have enjoyed at any former HI I have stayed. August 5, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Repeat Guests My son and I stay here when we come to San Diego for our vacation and ComicCon. In the past, it had some smoking rooms but that is not the case now. I was disappointed that I could not get a balcony room on Monday instead I was told all rooms were taken. Also, when I tried to get additional time on my Sunday checkout I was told only till 2 Pm. the hotel is full. the internet in the our room was very spotty. I had reported it and also told the front desk at check out that the first floor in the building with the souvenoir shop had poor service she was like, thats unusual. Its nice to sit on the balcony at night and that was the most disappointing, also the ice machine was broken all week too. August 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed excellent front desk service also good room service location is very nice,nice view from window. August 5, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Over Priced For This Visit Our first visit here is what caused us to return for a second visit, which we did not enjoy as much. We stayed in the older original section of the hotel. The bathroom and fixtures were small and outdated. It took over an hour to get service for a completely clogged toilet. We went to breakfast on checkout day and then when we returned to our room found the maid in there PRIOR to checkout time. They do have a nice pool there, and we LOVE the location. If we return, we will try the newer section of the hotel to see if the rooms are nicer. One big improvement over a previous visit two years earlier was in the restaurant. The menu and food were SUBSTANTIALLY improved over our prior visit. Based on the comfort of the room itself and a rude maid--it was over priced for that stay. The price might have been better if we had been in the newer section. The bathroom was really awful where we were. August 4, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Unhelpful staff and sketcy Rooms I am a travel agent and would not recommend this hotel to a client. The hotel appearance is wonderful until you try to fine your room. You have a 5 minute drive and then you have 2 flights of stairs to walk up to the room. THe stairs are hidden away and are dark.....very sketchy. The staff were not helpful, as I said I would not book any clients there ever! August 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasantly surprised We stayed at this location a couple years ago. It was fine, convenient, and served our need for a place to sleep. This year, this hotel wasn't our first choice, but from now on, it will be! Our great experience started a week before our arrival. I called to add an extra night to our reservation. Unfortunately, they couldn't because my initial res was made through a vendor, but they suggested I make a separate, 1 night res and they would enter a note to allow us to stay in the same room. Sweet! The day we were to arrive, I called at about 11:30am to ask if we could check in early. No problem! We were told to come by at 1pm. (Thanks, Christina!) We arrived to find a brand new, lovely hotel tower and lobby with gated, secure parking lots. The hotel staff were very welcoming (thanks, Brandon!) and always asked how our day was when we came in each night. The room was sooo quiet! We didn't hear anyone, only heard the occasional door shutting faintly. The room was clean, modern, and the mattresses were very comfortable and restorative. I even liked the large, sliding shutter doors (adjustable slats) instead of boring, old drapes. We ordered room service twice during our stay. (Note: they stop delivering at 8pm, so we had to pick up our order). Dinner was okay, not great, breakfast was great. Pancakes and French toast were yummy, and the eggs Benedict perfect. More highlights: - 20 min shuttle ride to/from convention center - Roomy refrigerator which we filled with drinks, milk, and yogurt we bought at the grocery store nearby - Close to many great restaurants in the Pt Loma and Liberty Station area - Using my company's corporate code saved us $$$ on that one night added reservation, so don't forget to check for discounts that may apply to you--worth it! We were so happily satisfied with our stay, I know we'll be back anytime we are in the area. August 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Food Service I appreciate Bing , Food server at Point Loma Cafe. She was excellent food server. She was fast and very nice. We were able to make it to the New Student orientation at San Diego State University because of her fast service. She should be recognized. August 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good except staff I wonder whether I can evaluate the staff just for one night. But according to the rule that we can know everything for one, the staff need to be more trained. Even they do not have eye contact. August 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent stay Stayed at HI Bayside from 7-20 to 7-23, 2014 for the balance of a family vacation. Staff was great and very accommodating to platinum members. I really appreciate the courtesy's they extended. We stayed in the newer section and were very happy with our suite accommodations. Beds and room were clean and comfortable, room was well laid out for our needs. We did have a bayside view which was nice, and the location was convenient to many of the SD attractions. Amenities were nice, pool area was basic but also nice with hot tub and some activities ( shuffle board, fire area, etc). Detached café and bar was also good quality food and convenient. Breakfast was not included in our room, but pricing was reasonable with good choices. Parking was also not included but reasonable and convenient at $10 a day, versus other SD hotels who charge significantly more. Staff was excellent and very accommodating. We had free Wi-Fi as platinum member so that made technology easy for entire family. My only comment is that the room/suite could have used a little more color/decorating as it was rather basic and neutral but this did not detract from our great experience. We did walk around the older part of the property and while charming, I'm pleased we were in the newer section. Overall a very nice experience. July 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by convenient location, decent value Large comfortable room. bathroom had sink outside of shower/toilet. Extra charge for parking. otherwise generally good and will be staying there again. July 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great service The stay was great. the staff was very helpful and attentive. The bed was very comfortable!!! I will stay at this hotel again in future visit. close to the airport!!!! July 29, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Adequate The room was okay, but I would expect better quality in general. Also, I was not happy that the room smelled like smoke and it is listed as a non-smoking room. I also expect the linens and sheets to be cleaner. July 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place to stay Convenient location. close to the harbor, would recommend to other business partners July 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Parking Lot View Stayed this past weekend for Comic Con and I wasn't wowed but the Hotel wasn't bad either. I'll break this review into a quick pro's/cons for reference I stayed in the new tower the older rooms didn't look as nice. Pro's: Comfortable bed Clean Con's Most rooms have a view of the parking lot and not the bay $10 to park per night No free breakfast No room upgrade as IHG platinum July 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by San Diego Vacation I would like to thank the staff of Bay side holiday inn San Diego, they are very courteous and professional and the rooms are clean and comfortable. They also honored my military discount and the location is second to none. July 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This is "The Best Hotel and the Best Staff" Everyone is so kind always willing to help you, The staff is extremely nice. The rooms are beautiful. I love to be here. July 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff very attentive to requests Family vacation value great. Great location, secure parking, restaurant great for breakfast, activities for children very nice. Swimming pool needed some attention. July 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Stay Great location with easy at getting to work locations. July 26, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Decent Visit Our room was decent, but was overdue for some attention to the details. There was peeling wall paper and crooked, dated light switch covers. It may sound petty, but these things show that the lack of attention to details. There was dust on the light switches and plugs as well as corners of the bathroom counter. The towel rack inside the shower is a poor idea. We had to find a place to put the towels to keep them from getting wet when we used the shower. The mattress on one of the beds was comfortable, but the other bed had a terrible, soggy, lumpy mattress. It made for a rough night's sleep for half of our group. It would have been nice to have windows that open, even just a few inches. In order to use the coffee pot, we either had to unplug the refrigerator or the television. There was a lot of noise in the building and we were no where near the elevator or ice machine. The restaurant and gift shop were very convenient and had just the right stuff to make our long weekend great. July 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great restaurant service, daily housekeeping not great We had breakfast every day in the cafe and the service was amazing. A wait staff person named Bing was amazing. She was kind, friendly and extremely efficient. In addition, the food was very good. With regard to housekeeping, we were checked into a room that was not cleaned and they had to give us another that was clean. Our room was not tended to every day. If we had our DND sign out for 15 minutes to take a shower, we did not get our room cleaned that day. When we asked for fresh towels since our room wasn't cleaned, they would bring 3 hand towels and 3 wash cloths (we had 4 in the room) and the next time we had to ask for towels they brought us only bath towels (3) and no hand towels or wash cloths. Other than the housekeeping issue, the hotel was nice, the beds and pillows were very comfortable! The pool area and laundry areas are great. July 23, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Front desk was not pleasant We stayed Saturday night for a wedding that was taking place at Bali hai. After driving home from the wedding we saw that we lost our parking pass to get in the hotel. Front desk helped us get in but there was no available parking. After calling front desk she said we can park on the street, wich I didnt feel comfortable with that since we were paying the $10 parking fee. She then offered for us to park at the check in parking spot, but then I mentioned we were staying at the second location and checking out would be a hassle since we had lots of luggage. She then basically called me a princess for not wanting to walk to the car and that she would have someone pick us up with the golf cart. Overall the room was nice, the house keepers were great but the rudenesss of the front desk agent made our stay uncomfortable. July 23, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worst experience we have had at holiday inn My husband arrived a day before me to a room that smelled terrible. He arrived late because he was at a conference. I arrived midday the next day to find it was a motel style room, window was beside a major roadway, the smell of smoke covered up by so e cleaning chemical caused respiratory problems for me. When my husband arrived from conference we agreed we couldn't stay in this room a minute longer. The only room left, we were told, was called the Zoo room which had bunk beds and a small queen bed. We had booked for a king. It didn't smell bad so we had no choice but to accept it. The air conditioner was loud and nit very efficient. It was old looking we were very uncomfortable in the queen bed. As Gold Elite customers we should have been booked in a room that fit what we had asked for in our booking. This facility in General was just a step above a No Tell Motel. We are both very disappointed that we weren't treated better with the room choice. July 22, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>
Entrance on 7th Avenue, San Diego
Entrance on 7th Avenue, San Diego
Select to close.
Entrance on 7th Avenue, San Diego Reception Cortez Hill view of exterior
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-31-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-01-2014)
Check Availability
Loading