• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Nov-26-2014)
(e.g. Nov-27-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SAN DIEGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-08:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Petco Park - Home of the San Diego Padres
Distance From Hotel:1.2MI
Attraction:
San Diego Convention Center
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
San Diego international Airport
Distance From Hotel:2.6MI
Attraction:
San Diego Zoo
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • $16.00 Parking rate includes 24hr in/out privileges. Guests parking charges will be posted on their bills. It is a gated parking structure.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 16.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:136
  • Total number of suites:11
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:45
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:76
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:136
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
Welcome to our Downtown San Diego Hotel! Hotel guests can travel easily and rest soundly every night amid all the comforts of home at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego downtown. Families looking for a hotel near the San Diego Airport that also provides a convenient location to the most popular California attractions need look no further than our downtown San Diego hotel. Situated within walking distance of the Gaslamp Quarter our hotel also provides a shuttle to several other nearby attractions
View More
Welcome to our Downtown San Diego Hotel! Hotel guests can travel easily and rest soundly every night amid all the comforts of home at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego downtown. Families looking for a hotel near the San Diego Airport that also provides a convenient location to the most popular California attractions need look no further than our downtown San Diego hotel. Situated within walking distance of the Gaslamp Quarter our hotel also provides a shuttle to several other nearby attractions including Balboa Park, the San Diego Zoo and the Cruise Ship Terminal. Business travelers are also happy to know that our hotel is near the San Diego Airport and that we provide a complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport. Corporate guests appreciate staying at our hotel near the San Diego Convention Center and the San Diego Trolley because we make area travel easy. From the 24 hour business center to the well appointed meeting facilities, our property is fully equipped for connectivity and productivity. With our sparkling outdoor pool which boasts breathtaking views of downtown San Diego guests don't even need to leave the grounds to have fun.
View Less
Features
Our convenient location in downtown San Diego provides easy access to all the major attractions and businesses in the area. Our hotel is near the San Diego Convention Center and Petco Park. The Gaslamp Quarter and Horton plaza is within walking distance.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 116 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room, incredible beds/pillows and very helpful staff! Booked room for unexpected visit to Chula Vista -- using my accumulated points. Great stay....would definitely return to this hotel! October 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent choice!!1 love the place... only thing I would change is. 1 the pancake maker..not good.. a waffle maker is a better choice. 2. longer hours of the pool at night. 3. at last one more hour for checking out, by 12noon would be perfect. October 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable clean stay Comfortable nice and clean. Enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was nice and well stocked. Front desk helpful. October 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Uncomfortable beds The hotel was pretty good even if dated. However the beds were not comfortable at all. October 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Habitacion comoda Muy agradable y comodo lamentadolo solo estuve una noche ,pero pude descansar muy bien .Me gustaria saber de ofertas del hotel en otras temporadas,para aprovecharlas cuando viaje. October 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room and reliable internet connection I was here for a two night stay on business. Like that the 5 Freeway is so close to get on to and getting on line for email was fast and the connection was reliable. Would be back here for sure as staff are helpful and attentive to your needs. October 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Chula Vista I was in Chula on business. Very nice hotel, clean, bacon for breakfast. Would recommend. Good value. October 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Buen trato y buena ubicación. La ubicación del hotel es excelente pues está a buena distancia de los centros comerciales y del centro de San Diego. El trato del personal es muy cordial y prácticamente todos son bilingües inglés y español. Al salir dejé las llaves del carro dentro del maletero y Carlos de recepción me ayudó a conseguir un cerrajero de inmediato y estuvo atento hasta resolver ese contratiempo. September 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Recent stay in Chula Vista Holiday Inn My recent stay from 9/22 to 9/26 was a relaxing, accommidating and clean stay. I was there for business and it is a blessing not having to worry about my accommidation. Everything was spot on and I will stay at this hotel again. September 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by California visit hot weather I was staying in the hotel durning a very unusual hot time for California but the hotel room was very confortable,no problems durnig the stay September 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place great location Staff, food, pool, Jacuzzi, room and location all TOP NOTCH!!! September 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Express - Chula Vista Great place to spend the night. Great room and breakfast. Enjoyed the pool and there was plenty of parking. Staff was wonderful! September 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel for leasure Great hotel, Clean, the breakfast area is great. And it the staff is kind September 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service and Location This Holiday Inn Express was in a great location, easy to travel to tourist destinations. The complimentary breakfast was a great way to start the day. There were ample eating places nearby within walking distance. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. September 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service The hotel was clean and staff was great. Especially Carlos at the front desk. Enjoyed are stay and would recommend to others. September 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by San Diego Holiday great 房间整洁舒适,位置出行方便,停车场距离合适,服务周到及时,早餐味道不错,结账迅速,预定管理非常棒,周边设施也非常的便捷,非常适于出差旅行 September 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Really convenient and good service. The stay was for two nights at the end of a two week vacation from UK . One week spent in Palm Springs and the second week in Ramona. This stay was prior to our return home. The hotel was .really convenient for Downtown San Diego and Coranado . We have stayed in Holiday Inn Express Hotels in UK many times and this hotel in Chula Vista more than came up to our expectations. September 3, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Ants in rooms Staff is excellent . But there ants in some rooms and they do not have much to do abt it. Staff is very very helpful though ,Every one who works there is awesome . September 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by JoseR Check in/Check out - No issues, greeted as a platinum member. Booked 10 rooms using points and cash for a large family reunion, easy to book on line and received 500 points for each room as bonus for being a priority club member. Front desk, maintenance and all service personnel were attent and very friendly, more than the average I have seen for the Holiday Inn family, The only downside is on the breakfast area, where only one person was present during the rush hour, missing hot water and fresh coffe ocassionally. September 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Experience When we made our reservation, we were prepared to adjust to any less accommodation not to our standard. However; in speaking to the front desk staffs and observing the housekeeping of the facility, we were amazed to know and feel that we as a family, made the right choice in selecting your facility. August 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent stay Well pleased with up grades since it was Comfort Inn. Enjoyed out stay and happy to see that Carlos is still there. Comfortable room and good breakfast. Only negative was desk chair; wornout and wouldnt go up or down. August 21, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good stay @ Holiday Inn Express Went down to San Diego area to meet friends who RV, stayed at closest Holiday Inn Express, convenient location, close to freeway, clean, safe, with a good breakfast included. best place to stay in area for the price. August 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Simply Wonderful! I can't think of a single complaint during our visit; the staff was pleasant, very clean room, nice finishes (granite) and a ton of breakfast options from eggs and sausage to oatmeal, pastries, fruit and yogurt. Plus, they keep brewed coffee available for guests all day long...a "perk" not even offered by our $300 a night hotel up north. We booked a kitchenette room for our family of five and it worked out great! The full size frig and two TVs were appreciated, and amazingly, there was plenty of space for 5 adult-sized people in this generously large room. Comments previously posted by guests indicating a sketchy neighborhood are much exagerated. It's a basic, working class urban commercial area with many options for dining including a Wendy's two doors down and an awesome Mexican restaurant directly across the street. Although perhaps not the cheapest lodging option available in San Diego, this hotel is well worth the rate. I'd stay there again in a heartbeat. August 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Buen Fin de Semana Muy buen alojamiento, lo que esperaba, el trato del personal fue excelente. August 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 1st trip to San Diego Breakfast was the same each morning but was cooked very well. There were many choices from eggs, bacon, sausage, cereal, pancakes, oatmeal or yogurt. Housekeeping did an excellent job. Beds were very comfortable. When we first arrived and got up to our room, our door key cards did not work. We called downstairs and the manager, Tiffany ran up 4 floors to bring us new room key cards. I was amazed as she was off duty but made sure we were taken care. She also acknowledged that I was a rewards member and that made me feel very welcomed. Each day we returned from Comic Con, The staff, Marielana, always asked us how our day went at the con. Plenty of places to eat within 5-15 drive. 2 blocks from the trolly that took us down to the San Diego Convention Center when we didn't want to drive back and forth. My only issue is that we were so busy with Comic Con that we didn't get a chance to use the pool. August 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and comfortable bed Clean and comfortable. Easy to get to sites we wanted to visits. Area was okay. Had people to come up to us late at night when we returned from site seeing that asked for money. Should have more security at night. The breakfast was good. The staff was friendly and helpful. August 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay We stayed here for three days to visit the San Diego area. Check-in with friendly staff, room OK with sufficient facilities like a refrigerator. Nice swimming pool and jacuzzi. Breakfast is good with lots of choices. Located near the highway and several restaurants and supermarket nearby. Only negative thing is the noise we had from the central airco on the roof outside our room (at the back of the hotel). Overall we and the kids enjoyed our stay very much. August 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Chula Vista In my opinion this was the best hotel in the area. Clean, comfortable and very courteous and friendly staff. Well pleased with my overall stay and will stay here again when I return to the area. August 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Staff is the best We arrived late evening and were greeted by a very friendly, professional staff person. All staff members at this location were wonderful, as usual. We stay here to visit friends nearby and will definitely stay here again. Room is clean, and even though our room was located close to the elevator on the first floor, it was very quiet. Great pillows!! August 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean Hotel The hotel room was clean, staff was friendly, bed was very comfortable August 8, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>
Entrance on 7th Avenue, San Diego
Entrance on 7th Avenue, San Diego
Select to close.
Entrance on 7th Avenue, San Diego Reception Cortez Hill view of exterior
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Anywhere Check-In is a simple process that will help you start enjoying your travel earlier.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Nov-26-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Nov-27-2014)
Check Availability
Loading