• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-29-2014)
(e.g. Aug-30-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SAN DIEGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Petco Park - Home of the San Diego Padres
Distance From Hotel:1.2MI
Attraction:
San Diego Convention Center
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
San Diego international Airport
Distance From Hotel:2.6MI
Attraction:
San Diego Zoo
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • $16.00 Parking rate includes 24hr in/out privileges. Guests parking charges will be posted on their bills. It is a gated parking structure.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 16.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:136
  • Total number of suites:11
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:45
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:76
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:136
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
Welcome to our Downtown San Diego Hotel! Hotel guests can travel easily and rest soundly every night amid all the comforts of home at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego downtown. Families looking for a hotel near the San Diego Airport that also provides a convenient location to the most popular California attractions need look no further than our downtown San Diego hotel. Situated within walking distance of the Gaslamp Quarter our hotel also provides a shuttle to several other nearby attractions
View More
Welcome to our Downtown San Diego Hotel! Hotel guests can travel easily and rest soundly every night amid all the comforts of home at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego downtown. Families looking for a hotel near the San Diego Airport that also provides a convenient location to the most popular California attractions need look no further than our downtown San Diego hotel. Situated within walking distance of the Gaslamp Quarter our hotel also provides a shuttle to several other nearby attractions including Balboa Park, the San Diego Zoo and the Cruise Ship Terminal. Business travelers are also happy to know that our hotel is near the San Diego Airport and that we provide a complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport. Corporate guests appreciate staying at our hotel near the San Diego Convention Center and the San Diego Trolley because we make area travel easy. From the 24 hour business center to the well appointed meeting facilities, our property is fully equipped for connectivity and productivity. With our sparkling outdoor pool which boasts breathtaking views of downtown San Diego guests don't even need to leave the grounds to have fun.
View Less
Features
Our convenient location in downtown San Diego provides easy access to all the major attractions and businesses in the area. Our hotel is near the San Diego Convention Center and Petco Park. The Gaslamp Quarter and Horton plaza is within walking distance.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 89 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service. Love the staff. Carlos is great and very personable Real nice hotel. Have stayed there before, but this time it was real noisy. Could hear the people next door..A LOT!!! This time I woke up to a spider crawling on me. I guess that happens. Good thing I'm not afraid of spiders. Overall it's a nice place April 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Busy Week We came in a busy week. Even though our room got cleaned every day, it was done very late in the day. The breakfast was the best part; the pancakes, the eggs and the yogurt were great. The heated pool was a superhit with my children 11, 15 and 19. It was 8 feet deep just perfect for this age group. March 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great family hotel!! We traveled to San Diego from LA to visit the San Diego Zoo. We picked this hotel because it was close to I5 and close to the zoo. Checked in on 2/19 and found that it was very clean and the staff was very friendly. The room was updated and comfortable for our family of five. Kids loved the swimming pool and Jacuzzi. The hotel also features free wifi and hot & cold breakfast. Overall a very good experience at this Holiday Inn Express hotel. We have stayed at many Holiday Inns all over the country and this one ranks up there in comfort and value. A+++ February 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by GREAT PERSONEL READY TO ASSIT Its ok and enjoyed staying there due to the nice personnel. the rooms are clean and the hotel seems like its under going some renovations. But over all I enjoyed my overnight stay. Will recommend to other people who need a place to stay over night around that area. January 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excelente estancia. Excelente estancia! Buena atención del personal, habitaciones limpias y en muy buen estado; a pesar de estar en una area muy transitada es poco el ruido. A+ January 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable, clean room and great front desk service We were there to visit our daughter. I had checked up on the hotel through trip advisor, but still didn't know what to expect. We were given a room that was newly redone and it was great. I didn't care too much for the area, but overall, people were nice. I found the front desk staff to be AWESOME and very helpful, especially FRED! We didn't have a problem with the food, there was always enough. I would recommend this hotel to others and we will stay here again when we come back to town. Thanks a bunch!!! January 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good for the price,comfortable not the best location but best stay for the price, will recommend the place,comfortable ,clean great staff January 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff Hotel was good, located close to I5. The actual area was a little sketchy but no problems. Breakfast was a zoo, no seats, almost all food out. Great, helpful guy at the desk. Typical HIE quality. January 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by It's ok Had a nice stay except for the breakfast. Lots of high calorie food and very tasteless. January 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay everything was great I highly recommend this place to stay. December 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice location and great service Great service with friendly staff. Breakfast was also enjoyable - nice variety of food available with convenient hours. Front desk was also very prompt. Location was convenient - approx only 15-20mins away from the beaches and downtown. November 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by overall always clean & a great friendly staff threw out. always remember us & welcome us back. November 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service. I would like to say that i would recommend this Hotel to anyone that is looking for a nice clean an relaxing night an comfort at this hotel. Over the last 5 months my experience here has been awesome . The staff here are always willing to help you with what ever your needs may be know matter what time it may be . The staff here has treated me with the upmost respect an for that anytime that i'm in the area i will stay here . Keep up the good work . October 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice Clean and nice hotel. Front desk employee very helpful and kind. I will stay there again. Close to everything you need. October 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good stay, nice staff The staff was friendly and the service was good. The room was roomy and clean, very nice, the tv seemed kinda small for the room but it was nice. The only thing I didn't like was they changed my reservation an nobody notified me. The change my 2queen bedroom to a 1 king bed with pull out couch, it still housed 4 people, but they should have at least called an told me they were changing it. Other then that it was a good experience. Would stay there again September 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable stay and great service Front desk receptionist was very nice and friendly. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was decent. September 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value in the San Diego Area Stayed for two nights at this property. Convenient to the 5 freeway and only 10 - 15 min to Downtown SD. Loved the free parking and free breakfast. Really saved me some money on this trip. Staff were very friendly and the breakfast was very fresh and a nice variety. Would stay here again. August 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very good stay, convenient location First time here, I read mixed reviews but anyway decided to stay in this HIE, the facilities aren´t new but the property has been recently updated. Rooms are kind of small but clean and are very well equiped with mini fridge and microwave oven. Service was excellent, being a club memeber I got my bag of goodies and the check in and out processes were fast and easy. Breakfast is traditional HIE, special mention to the people that run the brakfast area, everything was clean and neat, the food was very good also. The surrounding area is not pretty, but it has some good points, there are a lot of restaurants at a walking distance. The hotel is very close to downtonw San Diego and to the Tijuana border, so it is very convenient. Definetly I would stay again at this property. August 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exceptional Staff for a "chain" hotel We have made this our favorite hotel in the San Diego area. The staff is exceptional. The moment you check in to the time that you check out it feels like family has welcomed you into their home. Yes, you can find a less expensive place to stay near by, however this Holiday Inn Express is a diamond. August 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Value Quiet, comfortable rooms. We had 6 adults sharing a suite and the staff had six towels already in the room. The staff readily accommodated our request for a late checkout. Liked the automated pancake maker at breakfast--they turned out nicely. August 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and Friendly Staff I loved everything about this hotel. The only unpleasant part of my trip was the guests at the pool being very loud, but the pool closed at 10 p.m so it wasnt that bad. August 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very good value Friendly staff, clean quite room and excellent breakfast! August 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by My Stay The staff was excellent, very warm, welcoming and helpful. I wasn't pleased with the location although I did appreciate seeing security personnel there in the evening. Had I known ahead of time what the surrounding area was like I would have booked a room elsewhere. The hotel could do with a re-vamp of the elevator and carpeting. August 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Pool area very nice and room wax clean and comfortable! Very nice hotel and would stay again when in the area August 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice and clean, great service Carlos at the front desk made us feel right at home the minute we walked through the front doors. Rooms were very comfortable and clean. Great breakfast too. Also, hotel is located near the tram that wii take you right to Petco Park in just a matter of minutes, or any where else for that matter. I would highly recommend this hotel. August 4, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by clean, comfortable, staff was great. rooms are a little too small but it was a great stay. July 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean comfortable room Clean comfortable room. Quiet eventhough my room was next to the conference room and an event was going on there. overall good value July 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient and clean Convenient for our trip to airport. Very clean and July 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall Experience Very good internet and WiFi service. Swimming pool and facility is very clean. Staff and service is commendable. July 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great sevice Checking in was easy and fast. great customer service. My kids love the pool and exercise room. Overall great sevice. July 4, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 next>>
Entrance on 7th Avenue, San Diego
Entrance on 7th Avenue, San Diego
Select to close.
Entrance on 7th Avenue, San Diego Reception Cortez Hill view of exterior
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-29-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-30-2014)
Check Availability
Loading