• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SAN DIEGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Petco Park - Home of the San Diego Padres
Distance From Hotel:1.2MI
Attraction:
San Diego Convention Center
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
San Diego international Airport
Distance From Hotel:2.6MI
Attraction:
San Diego Zoo
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • $16.00 Parking rate includes 24hr in/out privileges. Guests parking charges will be posted on their bills. It is a gated parking structure.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 16.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:136
  • Total number of suites:11
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:45
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:76
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:136
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
Welcome to our Downtown San Diego Hotel! Hotel guests can travel easily and rest soundly every night amid all the comforts of home at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego downtown. Families looking for a hotel near the San Diego Airport that also provides a convenient location to the most popular California attractions need look no further than our downtown San Diego hotel. Situated within walking distance of the Gaslamp Quarter our hotel also provides a shuttle to several other nearby attractions
View More
Welcome to our Downtown San Diego Hotel! Hotel guests can travel easily and rest soundly every night amid all the comforts of home at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego downtown. Families looking for a hotel near the San Diego Airport that also provides a convenient location to the most popular California attractions need look no further than our downtown San Diego hotel. Situated within walking distance of the Gaslamp Quarter our hotel also provides a shuttle to several other nearby attractions including Balboa Park, the San Diego Zoo and the Cruise Ship Terminal. Business travelers are also happy to know that our hotel is near the San Diego Airport and that we provide a complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport. Corporate guests appreciate staying at our hotel near the San Diego Convention Center and the San Diego Trolley because we make area travel easy. From the 24 hour business center to the well appointed meeting facilities, our property is fully equipped for connectivity and productivity. With our sparkling outdoor pool which boasts breathtaking views of downtown San Diego guests don't even need to leave the grounds to have fun.
View Less
Features
Our convenient location in downtown San Diego provides easy access to all the major attractions and businesses in the area. Our hotel is near the San Diego Convention Center and Petco Park. The Gaslamp Quarter and Horton plaza is within walking distance.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 410 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect location! We were very happy with the location of the hotel. We went to two Padres game and the room overlooked the inside of the stadium. It was spectacular! We walked well over 20 miles in the city and were thankful the hotel was centrally located and easy to find after all that walking. Definitely a wonderfully accommodating staff as well. Thank you for a relaxing stay! August 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic stay Having travelled throughout California and Nevada for over a month we finished our stay with 3 night at the indigo San Diego. We informed the hotel that it was our honeymoon and Nicolette could not have been more helpful. She personally made our stay enjoyable and I was very impressed with the service she provided us. She is a credit to the hotel. The hotel itself was perfect with everything that was required. The hotel bar provided a lovely view to watch baseball from and the hotels location was perfect to explore the local area. I would definitely recommend this hotel. August 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome service I had a great stay as usual and Nicolette went above & beyond to help me. I had lost my phone in a cab earlier in the day and when she heard of my dilemma she took it on herself to make additional calls to the cab company. She got further than I ever would with them. In the end, I got my phone back. The staff is always fantastic here and this is just another example of how well they service the guests. Love this place. August 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding view The view on the terrace was amazing overlooking the Petco Stadium. Our bed was so comfortable we did not want to leave. The staff was great and never greeted you without a smile. With this type of service we will plan on making this hotel one of our favorites for future travel. August 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Great appearance and room. The hotel staff was courteous and the room was excellent. Within walking distance to everything. Not only the district, but also convention and Midway. August 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel Comfortable, chic, friendly staff. Great location. August 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Totally worth the money Romantic stay with my girlfriend for a weekend, it was wonderful August 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Service was great as usual We come to San Diego once a year for a short get away and this has become our favorite place to stay. August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One night in San Diego Whilst travelling back to San Diego Airport I found myself with an overnight stay in the city. Previously I had used the airport hotel but with a bit of spare time I wanted to take he opportunity to do a bit of sightseeing. This hotel is located in the gas lamp area of town with plenty of bars and restaurants to choose from and the Baseball stadium within throwing distance. The outdoor bar area has a great view of the park and is a nice place to chill out. Will definitely be staying here again when i return to the area. August 7, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by This Hotel is for the DOGS! Literally. It seemed like everyone had a dog. This hotel must cater very heavily to travelers who bring pets with them. The room floor was not carpet but it was not wood either. it seemed like a cheap vinyl that looked like wood and stuck to your feet as you walked across it. The valet service is overpriced for the area and there is no self parking. We asked for wash cloths multiple times before anyone finally brought them up to the room. The room had an unpleasant odor (from pets of the past, I presume). The first night there we were awoken by someone beating on the door, which we did not answer as we had the "do not disturb" sign out. Then the phone started ringing as the front desk wanted us to let someone into the room because we had ordered room service, which we did not. We visit San Diego and stay downtown about 3 trips a year. Awful service. NEVER AGAIN! August 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 1 minor issue Not a huge issue, but there was no laundry bag in the room. I carry an extra just in case so it was not a big deal, just an over site. August 6, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Horrible - DO NOT STAY THERE Avoid this property at all costs. Not only was the service staff inattentive and poorly trained, but they tried to revoke a confirmed guest room on the 7th night of start, essentially trying to kick out multiple guests during one of the busiest conventions in the city. Additionally, management thought that said, busiest time of year, was appropriate to go on vacation so there was virtually no educated or trained hotel management at the property during this time. August 5, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel; Great Location; Poor House Cleaning I am extremely disappointed with the cleanliness and maid service of my room. 1. Room service tray from Sunday night was still in my room when I returned Monday afternoon. 2. No shampoo or conditioner was replaced, knowing that two women with long hair were using the room. 3. Coffee mugs were left on counter and not cleaned. No new coffee mugs were replaced. Then, the coffee refill was all decaf- when the caffeine coffee was used. 4. Floors were not cleaned. A toothpaste cap fell on the floor and was still in the bathroom when we left; we left it there as an experiment, and it remained there during the length of our stay. 5. The beds were haphazardly made- without the pillows being organized and pretty as when we arrived. This continued throughout the week. 6. Used towels were thrown on top of luggage with clothing rather than taken out of room; dirty towels left on bathroom floor. 7. Old food left on counters rather than being removed from room. 8. Drinking glasses were used and not cleaned. August 3, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed We stayed 3 nights, first night we checked in at 12 am after a long day in Disneyland we got to the room they had given us a single bed instead of a double which is what we booked and also asked for a crib and we got no crib, so with my 3 year old asleep and also my 18 month asleep we had to move to another room, the rest of the trip was average the place is nice but I have payed less for a room and stayed at nicer hotels, staff was average, they did nothing to rave about, won't stay there ever again and don't recommend it. August 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Best pet friendly hotel This hotel does a great job of making families and pets feel welcome. I would recommend highly. We stayed for two nights with our kids and two pooches and they had a blast (kids too). The hotel restaurant and 9th floor hangout accommodates the pets with free treats and their own water bowl. The room was clean and you would not know that a pet might have stayed there before. It was very close to great restaurants and Petco Park. I would have given 5 stars, but our initial greeting was not as fabulous as we were expecting (although everyone else was superb), and I think the hotel could do a better job of rinsing off the tree areas that surround the hotel. Having your first breath of air be that of pet urine... Not a plus. Outside of that? Now our choice for San Diego. August 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by ComicCon Visit I don't like being gouged so badly on the price because of ComicCon. I understand that all the other hotels do the same thing. It makes the stay a little unbearable when it comes time to pay the bill. I can understand a little increase but not 3 times the normal price. I don't like being taken advantage of. August 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Warm, friendly staff, extrememly dog friendly hotel The staff was genuinely warm and friendly and helpful. We had a 6 month old French bull dog with us and felt comfortable taking him everywhere. He got lots of attention from the staff. I felt safe walking out front of the hotel in the night with our dog. Loved hanging out at the rooftop bar that had the grassy area for our dog. July 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Suite and Staff We always love the room or suite that we are in. The staff treats us and our chihuahua great! No other hotel is so accommodating to our pet! July 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Great spot for going to a ballgame, the bars in the quarter or for a walk along the marina. July 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Modern Room and nice shower First time I stayed at the Indigo line of hotels in the Priority club, normally I stay at Holiday Inn Expresses. This hotel was very up to date and had a nice modern room. The shower was very roomy. July 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff The Hotel Staff was great! The location was great and the rooms were well kept. Kudos to the Indigo team for keeping a very clean hotel. July 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Highly Recommend I was impressed with the highly competent and professional check in staff during my visit. Nicolette in particular went out of her way to make sure we were taken care of while our room was being prepared for us. The room was clean, quiet and well appointed, with a great view. The hotel bar was great, as well..I would highly recommend staying here, and I will certainly be doing so in the future. July 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel with attentive staff, centrally located I need to mention the good attitude of the Valet service. Well done, gentlemen! Very efficient, very helpful, very friendly. Room was fine and not noisy despite being above the roof top bar Overall a very pleasant experience and hotel is recommendable. Good location too. July 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by House keeping My housekeeper Alma is excellent!!! Front desk staff, Raul July 23, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by PERSONAL POCO AMIGABLE Hola: Soy viajero frecuente por motivos de trabajo y también por placer. Generalmente uso los hoteles de la cadena "IHG" y siempre me he sentido muy satisfecha, salvo esta ultima ocasión que me hospedé en este hotel. El personal de recepción muy poco amable, definitivamente sin ganar de ayudar en ningún sentido. Me hospedé alli porque en breve asistiremos a un evento en el Centro de Convenciones y viajeré con un grupo grande de clientes. Definitivamente este hotel NO será la opción para llevar a cabo mi evento July 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location and nice room Great location for taking in a game at Petco Park. It was just a short walk away. There are great restaurants and bars in the area as well. July 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Color me Indigo Excellent hotel across the board. Competent helpful staff, excellent standard room with a wide entrance hall and lots of space, comfortable bed and quality linens, all the standard accoutrements for a high end hotel in the room and blissfully quiet. No noise from other rooms. I could see the baseball stadium from my window so perhaps when the Padres are playing the noise would trickle in. Ate breakfast at nearby Café Chloe, a French bistro, a lovely choice. My one negative observation is that the dining and room service menu could use a refresh--in the land of fresh fish the calamari appetizer arrived over breaded and bland. Obviously frozen and pre-prepared. Too many restaurants take these types of shortcuts to decrease costs, but it's a short term gain. July 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pet friendly, Reasonable price After calling around, this was the best pet friendly hotel we found for a reasonable price. We were very pleased with the facilities. The rooftop bar was awesome and the room was trendy and clean. The only downside was the parking they offered was expensive. July 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great choice This hotel was great. I will be studying for a masters program at a school in the area and will need to be in San diego twice a month for the next year. I am looking forward to becoming a regular at this hotel and highly recommend it to everyone. My stay here could not have been better. July 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent location The hotel is situated in an ideal location for dining, shopping, public transportation access and outdoor activities (very close to Petco Park stadium). A very clean and contemporary hotel with an accommodating staff. Nearly all of the activities we attended were within easy walking distance of this hotel. My only knock on this location would be the lack of a pool, which would have been nice to have as an option for downtime - it is a space-tight location however and understandable why a pool would not "fit". All in all a really enjoyable stay... July 10, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>
Entrance on 7th Avenue, San Diego
Entrance on 7th Avenue, San Diego
Select to close.
Entrance on 7th Avenue, San Diego Reception Cortez Hill view of exterior
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Earn at least two free nights, 50,000 bonus points or 10,000 miles. Book Now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
Check Availability
Loading