• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
(e.g. Jul-30-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SAN DIEGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
San Diego Zoo
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI
Attraction:
Petco Park - Home of the San Diego Padres
Distance From Hotel:1.2MI
Attraction:
Qualcomm Stadium
Distance From Hotel:7.0MI
Attraction:
San Diego international Airport
Distance From Hotel:2.6MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • $16.00 Parking rate includes 24hr in/out privileges. Guests parking charges will be posted on their bills. It is a gated parking structure.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 16.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:136
  • Total number of suites:11
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:45
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:76
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:136
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
Welcome to our Downtown San Diego Hotel! Hotel guests can travel easily and rest soundly every night amid all the comforts of home at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego downtown. Families looking for a hotel near the San Diego Airport that also provides a convenient location to the most popular California attractions need look no further than our downtown San Diego hotel. Situated within walking distance of the Gaslamp Quarter our hotel also provides a shuttle to several other nearby attractions
View More
Welcome to our Downtown San Diego Hotel! Hotel guests can travel easily and rest soundly every night amid all the comforts of home at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego downtown. Families looking for a hotel near the San Diego Airport that also provides a convenient location to the most popular California attractions need look no further than our downtown San Diego hotel. Situated within walking distance of the Gaslamp Quarter our hotel also provides a shuttle to several other nearby attractions including Balboa Park, the San Diego Zoo and the Cruise Ship Terminal. Business travelers are also happy to know that our hotel is near the San Diego Airport and that we provide a complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport. Corporate guests appreciate staying at our hotel near the San Diego Convention Center and the San Diego Trolley because we make area travel easy. From the 24 hour business center to the well appointed meeting facilities, our property is fully equipped for connectivity and productivity. With our sparkling outdoor pool which boasts breathtaking views of downtown San Diego guests don't even need to leave the grounds to have fun.
View Less
Features
Our convenient location in downtown San Diego provides easy access to all the major attractions and businesses in the area. Our hotel is near the San Diego Convention Center and Petco Park. The Gaslamp Quarter and Horton plaza is within walking distance.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 60 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Bed was a little hard but very friendly service. Bed was a little hard but overall had a very positive experience. The staff was very friendly and professional. August 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location and service Ideal location for a Filipino guest. Close to Filipino restaurants and shops. Excellent service from staff. BUT I need my points corrected. Overall great experience. I will come back again. July 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff - welcoming and friendly I stayed at this hotel for a month while recovering from surgery. I picked the location because it was easy to get to and there were a lot restaurants and stores nearby. I found all of the staff very friendly and welcoming. Everyone from the front desk staff, to the breakfast staff, maids, maintenance guy were always happy and helpful. Ashley the manager was very polite and helpful. July 22, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Uggggh! Right from the time I drove into this hotel till I checked out, it was a nightmare. The entrance raised my apprehensions. The check in was reasonably ok with no upgrades available for a Platinum member as the property has no suites. I carried my bags to a smelly elevator, getting off to a smelly corridor with dirty old carpets and then onto a two queen bedroom with damp air and old smelly carpets with no place or furniture for the bags, After placing my bags on the floor, I stepped into the washroom that barely had standing room. It was too late in the day (10.30 pm) for a tired traveler to look at other options. Next morning, after an average breakfast, I went online and booked another Holiday Inn Express hotel in San Diego using my points and cancelled my stay at this hotel for the second night. The service for check out was good and I felt like being released from Alcatraz prison as I stepped out. It is shocking how this is even an IHG property and how it has got some good reviews on other sites.. Either those are manipulated or those people have never stayed in a decent hotel. July 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Could not have been more pleased The room was very clean and very comfortable. The front desk clerk was so kind and polite. We would love to stay here again. July 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome Stay We enjoyed every minute of our stay. The room was comfortable and very clean. The breakfast area was very clean and was very good. We felt safe in our room and in the rest of the motel. We especially liked the helpfulness of the staff. Ashley (checked us in on our first day) was the greatest. She was so helpful and always had a smile on her face. She gave us great recommendations on where to eat and where to visit. She even printed us a map to find an area that was great to buy souvenirs at that wouldn't cost outrages prices. We would recommend this motel to anyone who is visiting the San Diego area. June 30, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good for One Night The hotel looked clean, but when you walked into the room it had an odor. A little air fresher would of helped. Also the room was very small. We have stayed at other Holiday Inn where the standard rooms are a little bigger. The breakfast was okay, but I've had better. The staff was friendly and very helpful. June 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good It's a good hotel to stay. we had a good time It's a good hotel to stay. we had a good timeIt's a good hotel to stay. we had a good timeIt's a good hotel to stay. we had a good timeIt's a good hotel to stay. we had a good timeIt's a good hotel to stay. we had a good time June 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My go to hotel whenever I have business in San Diego. I travel to San Diego county a once a month for my usual 3-6 day business trip. My drivetime is anywhere from 2-4 hours depending on traffic, time of day exc. I'll be very honest I have had some of the more interesting drives going to San Diego county. Everytime I make the journey to this hotel, Brenda or Erica is always there to great me (with an inviting smile), and make me feel like a special guest. I have come into this hotel on more than one time exhausted beyond belief. The staff always has everything ready for me to check in with a simple swipe of my card. The hotel itself has a easy parking area to the south,east and west of the hotel. Parking spaces are nice and wide to ensure less damage to the guests' vehicles. The rooms are always clean, beds are always made. May 30, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by It's all window dressing Well when we arrived we were pleasantly surprised...walking into the lobby, it smelled freshly cleaned and looked like it had recently had a cosmetic makeover. All the decorations were modern and brightly, pleasantly colored. Check in was smooth and courteous. The ride up in the elevator was scary...very DARK inside and they make the most unsettling noises. Elevator opened onto our hallway, which also looked like it had been recently redecorated...new carpets, fresh wall paper...but be warned ceilings are barely 7ft tall. Nasty ceiling tiles obviously are hiding the addition of the sprinkler system and other facility systems. Felt creepy walking down the squat hallway. Room was lovely! Fresh everything, curtains, furniture, flooring. Bathroom was tiny but impeccably clean. Room came with fridge and microwave, king size bed (too soft) and full size hide a bed sofa (without any kind of linens whatsoever!). Called the front desk and poor attendant was "the only person in the building" and could/would not bring us proper bedding. We had to fetch it ourselves. And then we only were given a comforter, a flat sheet and this bed scarf thing...DUH, where's the pillows, bottom sheet & mattress pad. Guy was too harried to do anything about it so we made do. We reported a broken ice machine on our floor and were simply told to use another floor's. Was not repaired in the 4 days/3 nights we were there. Air conditioning didn't work so great, froze one half of the room but lacked proper power to circulate in the whole room leaving half of it stuffy. Jacuzzi continues to be broken (see other reviews)! We were there 3 nights...one guest said she had spoken to the front desk about it and it was to be repaired Monday...hot tub never did work! And let's not forget the fact that at no time during the 3 days were there pool towels available!!! Breakfast...what a joke! Stale pastries (every day), dried out breads, rubbery/weird/tepid eggs, and GROSSLY watered down juices. Bacon & sausage was okay. Eating with tiny plastic implements is just ridiculous...doll house sized plastic ware. You'll see in other reviews the property owner blames this on corporate and what they are allowed to serve...poor excuse for stale products however. Other guests were rude! There was a kids basketball team there. And adult guests were on the public balcony playing music and drinking beer. TVs were blaring and we could hear EVERY footstep through the thin walls & ceiling. Called the front desk about the rowdy kids & adults and it was handled within minutes. Staff was a mix of helpful and helpless! Overall, it was an OK hotel but it is better when viewed from afar. The new decor doesn't make up the other missteps. And lastly, the owners, reply to these reviews sort of says it all...lots of excuses for the same complaints. We visit San Diego 1-2 times a year and I'm not certain I would stay at this Hilton property again. May 23, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Platinum Member expectations As a Platinum member of Priority Club rewards program I have come to expect at least acknowledgement upon check in of my status and the amount of business I generate for this brand. This visit I found the front desk personnel [at check-in] were anything but cordial, he did nothing to impress me. Future trips to San Diego I will find another property to patronize. April 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Clean Hotel with Helpful Staff All areas of the hotel looked and smelled very clean! The staff was very helpful when we asked about dining suggestions. The room wasn't huge but it was adequate for two adults and two children. They recognized me as an elite Priority Club member and provided a little "goodie bag" -- which was a nice touch. The breakfast was very good each morning - with the signature Holiday Inn Express hot breakfast options. April 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff First, the negatives: The rooms are a bit on the small side (the sink, mirror etc. are in a vestibule outside of the bathroom), there is no pancake maker (Most locations have this and I enjoy it) and it's just about impossible to pull into the parking lot without your car bottoming out. That said, this is a great property. The rooms and the hotel itself are well appointed and clean. The GM was there to check me in and was very helpful and friendly. The recognition was great. I was addressed and thanked by name and given a small welcome/gift bag, which is always nice. At the end of my business trip I have a free afternoon and asked the young lady behind the desk for some options. She asked a few intelligent questions and then provided an excellent plan including some great tips regarding parking and routes. I followed her advice and it worked out wonderfully. Great local knowledge and understanding of my goals. April 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good value and location There are not a lot of choices in this part of San Diego. The Hotel was a very good value with great service. February 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by room attendant-knocking at your door at 9am comfortable bed, besides the hotels room attendant. check out time is at 11am but room attendant/house keeping knocking in your door at 9am to ask what time are we checking out. we've check in there so many times, and it always happen. though we already told the front desk that we are checking out late, still they will bother and disturb you. February 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Super disabled fascilities and room Perfect disabled room with a fantastic hospitality and a Perfect Service November 29, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Marginal Facility We had no specific issues besides the fact that the Jacuzzi (hot tab) was broken, unrepaired and not available for us to use. The hotel is not as appealing as other similar facilities, but was not bad either, just average. November 28, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great choice Clerk was very kind, efficient. Rooms clean Beds very comfortable Superb... November 8, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by BarbaraJC We enjoyed our 4 night stay at this hotel. The housekeeping staff was very efficient as were other staff members with whom we had contact. It is located in a 'safe neighborhood' with free parking and Internet. We would stay there again if we are back in the area. October 29, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and tidy The staff were courteous and helpful and the room was spotless. Its a bit out of town for the sights and a car is necessary if you're a tourist. The cooked breakfast selection was limited, but good if you're into healthy options. You has to eat off plastic plates with plastic knives, forks, spoons. I appreciate this cuts down on cleaning, but it was like being at a childs party having food. Overall an excellent stay. October 25, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by all the same regular work review, the room was dry and dark, breakfast was ready ahead of schedule October 22, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good wand friendly front desk The front desk u Is the main contact. They r good then then overall experience may be good. October 12, 2012
<<prev 2 3
Entrance on 7th Avenue, San Diego
Entrance on 7th Avenue, San Diego
Select to close.
Entrance on 7th Avenue, San Diego Reception Cortez Hill view of exterior
Select to close.
Your chance to win 1 of 5 Hollywood Experiences and more
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-29-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-30-2014)
Check Availability
Loading