• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SAN DIEGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Petco Park - Home of the San Diego Padres
Distance From Hotel:1.2MI
Attraction:
San Diego Convention Center
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
San Diego international Airport
Distance From Hotel:2.6MI
Attraction:
San Diego Zoo
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • $16.00 Parking rate includes 24hr in/out privileges. Guests parking charges will be posted on their bills. It is a gated parking structure.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 16.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:136
  • Total number of suites:11
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:45
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:76
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:136
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
Welcome to our Downtown San Diego Hotel! Hotel guests can travel easily and rest soundly every night amid all the comforts of home at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego downtown. Families looking for a hotel near the San Diego Airport that also provides a convenient location to the most popular California attractions need look no further than our downtown San Diego hotel. Situated within walking distance of the Gaslamp Quarter our hotel also provides a shuttle to several other nearby attractions
View More
Welcome to our Downtown San Diego Hotel! Hotel guests can travel easily and rest soundly every night amid all the comforts of home at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego downtown. Families looking for a hotel near the San Diego Airport that also provides a convenient location to the most popular California attractions need look no further than our downtown San Diego hotel. Situated within walking distance of the Gaslamp Quarter our hotel also provides a shuttle to several other nearby attractions including Balboa Park, the San Diego Zoo and the Cruise Ship Terminal. Business travelers are also happy to know that our hotel is near the San Diego Airport and that we provide a complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport. Corporate guests appreciate staying at our hotel near the San Diego Convention Center and the San Diego Trolley because we make area travel easy. From the 24 hour business center to the well appointed meeting facilities, our property is fully equipped for connectivity and productivity. With our sparkling outdoor pool which boasts breathtaking views of downtown San Diego guests don't even need to leave the grounds to have fun.
View Less
Features
Our convenient location in downtown San Diego provides easy access to all the major attractions and businesses in the area. Our hotel is near the San Diego Convention Center and Petco Park. The Gaslamp Quarter and Horton plaza is within walking distance.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 401 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awsome Staff We really enjoyed our stay. We were visiting San Diego for our marine's graduation. The staff was wonderful. They arranged shuttles for us for dinner and arranged a driver to bring us to Seaport village for a day. I must say this was the most helpful friendly staff I have ever seen in the industry. They were genuine and courteous and made us feel welcome. I would recommend any family visiting MCRD or San Diego to stay here, Thank you so much. June 30, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Very friendly staff The staff was wonderful at this hotel. We had some issues, but they promptly did their best to take care of us. June 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff and good rooms As usual, Jose and Josh checked us in with efficiency and congeniality. I also need to commend Ghaedee on her personable and efficient way of handling her tasks with grace, whether she is keeping the lobby immaculate or assisting in the breakfast room. She is helpful and very nice while at it. Dolores runs a tight ship in the breakfast area. I only wish the hotel would change the egg omelets with Velveeta cheese for regular eggs in any shape or form (unfortunately, lactose intolerant). In the shower , in this day and age, a handle bar would be much appreciated- not that we are disabled but the floor in the tub is quite slippery, not skid resistant. Kaylee was nice as always, as we checked out. The staff and room amenities make this always our hotel of choice. Thank you, Airport-Old Town Holiday Inn Express. June 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service Great service, friendly staff and a great breakfast.. June 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by USMC Graduation The staff went above and beyond to make our stay wonderful. The shuttle service to MCRD, Sea World and Old Town is a perfect way to travel without worry about getting lost! June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by LO MAS COMODO EN SAN DIEGO EXCELENTE HOTEL EN SAN DIEGO, MUY BIEN UBICADO, LIMPIO Y EL PERSONAL MUY AMABLE. June 22, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Overcharged, improper communication No action besides complaining about wrong billing/overcharged at the front desk. June 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Service and location - Can't be beat. This hotel is one of the best I have stayed at. The free shuttle to the airport and also to the local resturants in Old Town took the stress off my trip. This hotel's service is remarkable. whoever is in charge of training is 5 star. Look no further because you may find a cheaper place to spend the night but you won't find a better one. June 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by go somewhere else to eat breakfast Everything is great except for the breakfast. The rooms are comfortable and very clean. We have gone there around 5 times and had no problems. June 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Ubicación excelente, atención de primera Fuimos de vacaciones a San Diego, y nos pareció la mejor opción en cuanto a hospedaje, ya que está en el precioso Old Town y con la facilidad de la estación de Trolebús y el tren muy cerca. La atención del personal excelente, todos súper amables y atentos. El servicio de shuttle súper bien. Definitivamente nos volveríamos a hospedar ahí. June 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and very nice room I was upgraded to a suite, which was quite a surprise. It was very nice and the service was great. I needed something close to the airport with a shuttle service and car storage. This satisfied all of my needs. June 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff and Clean Hotel This was a nice clean hotel with a great staff that was always very helpful with your needs. One complaint would be that every day we had to ask for 1 or 2 sets of towels and washcloths because they only left 2 or 3 even though I made the room reservation for 4 people. Our family stayed for 8 nights while vacationing in San Diego. They offer free shuttles to several attractions and to close by Old Town. You should know that some of the shuttles to places like the Zoo and Sea World only drop off and pick up once each day and the times won't give you a full day at either. We used the one for the zoo and had enough time to see most of it without being too rushed, but there's no way we could've used it for Sea World. The room seemed a little smaller than most Holiday Inn Express, but it is built on a very small property. The other inconvenience if you don't have a car is there's not really anything near this hotel. Old Town is within walking distance but it is a pretty good walk and taking a shuttle or walking every day to get to a restaurant did get a little old, especially when Old Town doesn't have much variety with most of the restaurants being Mexican. June 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Room, Great Service, and Great Location This place is great. It is located in a great area, not far from all of the attractions that San Diego has to offer. The rooms were clean, staff was excellent, hospitality services were amazing. The free breakfast is one of the best I've ever had. I loved my stay here! June 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable beds and excellent customer service We always stay at this hotel when flying in and out of San Diego. June 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent hotel! very pleasant stay in comfortable, very clean, well cared for hotel...conveniently located near downtown and Old Town. no noise disturbances of any kind - good breakfast and excellently appointed room. very good value - good choice! June 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service , Perfect Location Best Hotel in Old Town. Great Location and friendly staff. June 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, accomodations and service Outstanding overall review. All aspects of hotel were great. June 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by best hotel stay EVER.r We started our stay with a BANG.....We crashed our rental car into your garage wall. We turned it in and your front desk crew sprang into action trying to help us see the sights without a car. WOW, everyone went the extra mile to help make our stay WONDERFUL. Every day (we stayed for seven). we did something different being guided by your folks. Wonderful Lunches and dinners along with economical ways to get there and back was the rule . The Manager, Kyelne, heard the discussion one of the days early in our stay and began contributing ideas for dinners and sights when we asked the front desk crew what to do today. Best hotel experience we ever had. I have never stayed at a Holiday Inn Express before. We have discovered a new home away from home. June 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Recent stay Excellent hotel. Only downside is proximity to nearby freeway. June 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Breakfast bar The only problem I have with this and all Holiday Inn Express hotels is that I can not eat the breakfast as there are no gluten free alternatives and I am celiac. June 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Property We have stayed at this property in the past and it has always be a great experience. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. The pantry is well stocked with a wide variety of food selections. Our room was very clean and comfortable as were all common areas. We very much enjoyed the breakfast buffet. It contained a large variety of brekfast items. The fresh coffee was the best. We will stay at this property again when in the area. June 9, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor facility GREAT staff The staff at this property were VERY good....loved them. The property however.....the ironing boards with ATTACHED iron and holder would keep me from staying at any property that has this if i know ahead of time. The floor above our room 'creaked'...this was also noticeable to the rooms on either side of us #2 of our children#. The TV & microwave were rather archaic. I am basing this review on the fact that I stay at a Holiday Inn property #usually HIEX# virtually every week and this was one of the poorer ones. BUT, ONCE AGAIN, the staff were phenomenal!! June 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by San Diego Stay We had a very nice stay at Old Town Holiday Inn Express. It was very convenient to I-5 and Old Town. It would have been a little quieter if our room was on the north side of the building. The highway side was a little loud when there was a passing semi or loud motorcycle. As my daughter pointed out, it all ended up being "white noise" after a while. Everything else was just fine. We would stay there again. June 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Prima Hotel für Aufenthalt in San Diego Zentrales Mittelklassehotel mit gutem Preis-Leistungsverhältnis. Leider Probleme mit Internetzugang, Verbindung wurde immer wieder getrennt. Sonst aber alles ok. June 7, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Too noisy Even staying on the side of the hotel away from the highway, I could still hear the highway noise through the seams of the floor and wall from the parking garage the floor below! Also, the AC does not stay continuously on so you will hear outside noise every time it shuts off. The staff was nice though. Wouldn't recommend if you are affected by outside room noise. June 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pre Cruise Hotel Stayed here 2 nights before our cruise. Picked up at the airport and shuttled to hotel. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean, as was the bathroom. We were within walking distance to Old Town and used the shuttle to the San Diego Zoo and back. Would definitely stay here again, the next time we are in San Diego. June 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect, as always. Everything is easy and pleasant, from check in to check out. Hotel clerks are accommodating and personable- Jose and Josh are usually the ones to greet us and handle our check in. In the morning, Vangie and Kylene send us on our way with a smile. All four remember us from trip to trip and that is much appreciated and makes us feel welcome. Dolores is wonderful with the breakfast. The change in eggs is not to our liking- there used to be plain scrambled eggs and also hard-boiled eggs. Now there are mini egg and Velveeta cheese omelets, only. Despite the fairly new breakfast menu, HIEOT is always our hotel of choice in San Diego. June 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Stress-free before a race? Yes! I would like to thank the staff at the Holiday Inn Express for making our stay very comfortable and stress-free. I've done a couple of races in San Diego, (Rock 'N Roll San Diego and the Hot Chocolate Race) and both times I've stayed here at this hotel. I've stayed with my family and my brother's family. The shuttle drivers were outstanding in driving us to Old Town, the starting line and picking us up, when we got off at the wrong stop. I know they are not suppose to pick us up, but the driver recognized the entire family on the wrong street and pulled over. I will continue to run my races and will continue to make reservations at this hotel. From management, to the staff in the lobby, to the kitchen staff and the shuttle drivers, they are polite and accommodating. Thank you. May 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place Clean and comfortable. Safe and secure parking as well as being close to everything that I needed.. May 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service Staff was helpful and very friendly. They let us know about all services available to us, such as transportation to eating facilities and local sights. May 13, 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 15 next>>
Entrance on 7th Avenue, San Diego
Entrance on 7th Avenue, San Diego
Select to close.
Entrance on 7th Avenue, San Diego Reception Cortez Hill view of exterior
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-20-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
Check Availability
Loading