• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
(e.g. Sep-24-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SAN DIEGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 1.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Petco Park - Home of the San Diego Padres
Distance From Hotel:1.2MI
Attraction:
San Diego Convention Center
Distance From Hotel:1.5MI
Attraction:
San Diego international Airport
Distance From Hotel:2.6MI
Attraction:
San Diego Zoo
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • $16.00 Parking rate includes 24hr in/out privileges. Guests parking charges will be posted on their bills. It is a gated parking structure.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 16.00  USD)

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:136
  • Total number of suites:11
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:45
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:76
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:136
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
Welcome to our Downtown San Diego Hotel! Hotel guests can travel easily and rest soundly every night amid all the comforts of home at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego downtown. Families looking for a hotel near the San Diego Airport that also provides a convenient location to the most popular California attractions need look no further than our downtown San Diego hotel. Situated within walking distance of the Gaslamp Quarter our hotel also provides a shuttle to several other nearby attractions
View More
Welcome to our Downtown San Diego Hotel! Hotel guests can travel easily and rest soundly every night amid all the comforts of home at the Holiday Inn Express San Diego downtown. Families looking for a hotel near the San Diego Airport that also provides a convenient location to the most popular California attractions need look no further than our downtown San Diego hotel. Situated within walking distance of the Gaslamp Quarter our hotel also provides a shuttle to several other nearby attractions including Balboa Park, the San Diego Zoo and the Cruise Ship Terminal. Business travelers are also happy to know that our hotel is near the San Diego Airport and that we provide a complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport. Corporate guests appreciate staying at our hotel near the San Diego Convention Center and the San Diego Trolley because we make area travel easy. From the 24 hour business center to the well appointed meeting facilities, our property is fully equipped for connectivity and productivity. With our sparkling outdoor pool which boasts breathtaking views of downtown San Diego guests don't even need to leave the grounds to have fun.
View Less
Features
Our convenient location in downtown San Diego provides easy access to all the major attractions and businesses in the area. Our hotel is near the San Diego Convention Center and Petco Park. The Gaslamp Quarter and Horton plaza is within walking distance.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 402 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff and comfortable room I would have liked a option to go to the bar and get a drink after a long day of traveling, this hotel did not offer that service. Front desk clerks were top notch and the shuttle to airport was very much a convience. February 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by EXCELLENT STAY We so enjoyed our stay at the motel in San Diego CA. The staff was very professional, but friendly. Our rooms were super, and the breakfast was unbelievably good! The shuttle service was over and beyond our expectations. A super facility - Hope to return soon! February 10, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Really Wanted to Like, but TRAFFIC NOISE "kills" it The staff were amazingly considerate and let us try multiple suites to try and minimize traffic noise. They had coupons for discounts at nearby eateries. The downside that just cannot be overcome is the incessant, loud, and invasive traffic noise at all times of the day and night. Another annoyance is that the pool area is not adjoined to the hot tub area. Parking is tight, very tight. We really wanted to like this property, but had to shorten a 3-day RSVP to just one night due to the lack of sleep from the highway noise. February 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Worth it Good price, there are 2 buildings, remember which you stay when check-in, left side or right side. February 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by THE PERFECT FIT We had the most wonderful time while staying at this hotel. The staff were above and beyond helpful. I can not make a single complaint about anyone. They all had smiles on their faces and were happy to help. The shuttle service to and from the airport, sea world and the zoo made our trip completely stress free. We will absolutely stay at this hotel again and recommend it to all of our friends. Thank you for a wonderful trip! February 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful staff & amenities My sister and I had the pleasure of spending two nights at your hotel. Every aspect of our visit was thoroughly delightful. It began with our being picked up at the airport by a most congenial shuttle driver, to our check-in with Vangie & Josh, who could not have been more helpful in suggesting the perfect spot for dinner (Miguel's was wonderful). Our room was clean & neat. While small, it was functional without being cramped. The complimentary breakfast was beyond our expectations, with well-prepared, nicely presented foods ranging from yogurt to cereal to sausage, pancakes & omelets. What a feast, and the wait staff was terrific. When it came time for my early morning departure, the shuttle van was ready & waiting at 5:00 a.m. There even was coffee available. Suffice to say, should the need ever arise to spend a short visit in the San Diego area, I will have no second thoughts about where to stay, and for the price, the Holiday Inn Express San Diego Airport-Old Town is a bargain. Thanks to all who made our visit a most pleasant memory…. January 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience The staff are very professional, friendly and always treat me very well. January 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff & Hotel I have stayed in various Holiday In Express Hotels, and have never had a bad experience. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and the shuttle vans and drivers are very prompt. The rooms are nicely updated with excellent water pressure in the shower, and extremely clean rooms I would highly recommend this hotel January 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent staff helps weary traveler! We arrived late but the desk staff greeted us pleasantly as priority club members (not every HIE has done that) and offered a shuttle for us to pick up late-night supplies for our stay. The room was quiet even though we could see I-5 from the window. The deck, hot tub and pool were great and the deck was perfect for meeting with friends. Shuttle service to and from MCRD was much more than we expected and the staff was always eager to accommodate any request. Maps, advice and suggestions were enthusiastically provided by the desk staff. The trolley stop is a short walk from the hotel and the trolley is easy to use. The hotel definitely lives up to the Holiday Inn Express standard in all regards. January 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good place for a short stay Very nice overall, nice service, nice rooms and good food. Close to the airport and downtown. January 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Helpful Staff & Great Shuttle Service We got to San Diego late, but the shuttle driver was quick to pick us up. The front desk staff helped us pick a room that would meet our needs and the shuttle driver ran us into Old a Town for a late meal and picked us up afterwards. Room was small but clean and functional. Breakfast was great, our luggage was stored for the day, and the staff gave us great advice to help us plan our day. January 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Morning desk staff needs attitude adjustment I have stayed here several times in the past. In fact, it's the only place I will stay in SD. I only complaint in the morning people at the front desk. We had a checkout slip put under our door when we got up. No big deal except when we went to leave, our door cards didn't work to get in the carport so we were stuck outside. After lugging our stuff to the front desk and trying to tell the lady(who seemed in charge but never made eye contact), she said "so you just need a new card?" Took my card, swiped it, handed it back to me and said "there you go". All this while never even looking up. No "sorry about that", nothing. A simple "we are sorry" and at least looking up would have been nice. Honestly, if it wasn't for the night desk people like Jose(love that guy!). I wouldn't go back. The lady made me feel like I was an inconvenience. January 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always go back We like this motel with excellent staff and closeness to Old Town. This was our fifth stay there and plan to go back on our next trip to SD. Rooms could be bigger, but a quality facility, overall. December 31, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by mr. stay was great,your front desk staff was exellent,the hot breakfest was also verry good December 31, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by much to close to the freeway The hotel sets within a few feet of I-5 freeway. Unless you have a room away from the freeway there is no way you can sleep. December 29, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Never Again The staff is fast talking and over charges. You don't find out till you get home! It was one of the reasons I will never return to this city!!! December 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service I recently stayed here for it's proximity to MCRD and the availability of shuttle service to the base. Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast offerings were varied and quite good. Shuttle drivers were excellent as was the entire staff. For anyone attending Family Day and Graduation at MCRD or even for a holiday, I would recommend this hotel. December 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 The Staff is so courteous and helpful! Jose and Ryan were great and the shuttle drivers were so helpful and friendly! I gave sleep quality a 4 only bc it's near the highway-however that gave me no problems. December 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Location; Excellent service Very nice place. Highway noise somewhat annoying at night. December 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service, great location. Stayed before and after cruise, very good location, comfortable bed, spacious room and bath. Super nice staff and drivers that take you to old town, cruise terminal and airport to name a few. I will stay again when visiting San Diego. Visitor from Indiana December 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Close to Old Town & great restaurants! We stayed at the hotel for two nights and found this hotel to be in a great location to: 1. Old Town (walking distance or you can take hotel shuttle) 2. Lucha Libre (walking distance to experience delicious food as seen on Man vs. Food) 3. Transportation to downtown San Diego -- the hotel also offered us transportation to the Convention Center which allowed us to walk along the harbor (USS Midway) and to Gaslamp Quarter Overall, it was a great value with the breakfast, hotel shuttle to various attractions and shuttle to/from the airport. Staff was also very friendly and would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in San Diego as its central to everything especially if you are not wanting to rent a car. December 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay! Well worth every penny! I had seen great reviews of this hotel, and brought my boyfriend with me to stay here for a night in SD (the night before the Jay-Z concert at the Arena 10 minutes away). Everything was perfect. The receptionists were very kind and funny, the room was extremely comfortable, clean, and roomy (1 queen bed), and the hot breakfast was superb (I brought up breakfast food to our room - a chef generously provided me a tray and said it was no problem). We were lazy about going out and decided to order pizza for delivery, and the receptionist gave us a good tip about not using any brochures thrown into our room under the door - he provided us numbers that were reliable (we chose Domino's, ha). Check in was quick and smooth, and check-out was just the same. Parking was great too - you don't have to pay any additional fees for parking. Everything was efficient- thanks, Holiday Inn Exp! December 10, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Front Desk service Front Desk help seemed more interested in conversation amongst themselves than to welcome and acknowledge Platinum members for our stay. We were assigned a room on the side of the hotel which I-5 runs up against. I would have thought that perhaps they would have "upgraded" our room to the quieter side of the hotel. Breakfast staff was very friendly and helpful. December 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Would return again Rooms spacious and very clean. Mattress very comfortable, but needs new firm pillows. Great towels. The shuttle services offered far exceeded my expectations...excellent!!! Like having a fridge and microwave in the room. Would like a second chair in the room, so that one of us does not need to sit on the bed. December 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Superb service My friend and I stayed here for one week in Nov 2013 and we both enjoyed the experience. Wonderful knowledgeable staff, excellent room, free shuttle bus, convenient location, inclusive breakfast. If we go back to SD we will stay here. December 5, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good Staff and Clean Our stay was nice, the staff were great. Price was good. Great location centrally located if you like to drive. They do have a shuttle service, which we did not use. Parking is very tight, but it is free. Also free internet service. Free breakfast buffet, nothing fancy, but adequate. These items have to be included for comparison purposes when looking at other hotels in San Diego. Negatives were the freeway noise on the rooms in the back although it was not as bad as we thought it would be. The beds were tough sleeping. The walls do not block adjacent noise, you can hear everything. We did request a room on the opposite side of the freeway, but were placed on the freeway side, not a huge deal. Good place to stay if you are on a budget, and like to drive to locations and have a small car. Walking distance to Old Town. If you are looking for a resort atmosphere, this is not your place. December 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable and clean Rooms were clean which is most important to me. The hotel is obviously old, but has been updated. Granite in bathrooms, flat screen tvs, new bedding with nice, sheet-covered comforters. Parking is a little strange, as it is located under the building. The elevator was down, so we had quite a walk, down the vehicle ramp, to get to our vehicles. Included breakfast was very nice with lots of options and nice hours (6-10) so we could sleep in. Jacuzzi was a nice temperature and not busy, even when the hotel was full. The hotel is directly next to the freeway, which takes away from the ambience when walking outside, but the noise didn't bother us as we just left the air on, so didn't hear it at all. Overall good experience. December 4, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Bad experience We have used Holiday Inn Express for many years and I would have to say the one in San Diego (airport) was the worst we have ever come across. We are in our middle 70s and the placed us in a room on the third floor the furthest point from the breakfast area and gym. The elevator went out and wasn't fixed during our stay therefore we had a lot of stair walking along with lugging our luggage down the stairs to the parking garage. The room was noisy as between midnight anf 4AM we were awakened by prople sitting out on the patio below us talking and laughing. I confronted the person on duty and he gave me the appearence that he could care less. H.C. Fenn December 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very helpful Staff Next to the freeway, but good sound proofing. Pillows seemed well used, a common IHE concern. The front desk staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and to help find things in the area. December 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful front desk staff I stayed at this hotel for three nights in Nov 2013 and, therefore, had the opportunity to talk to several different staff members at the front desk. They were all very friendly, helpful, and accommodating. They gave great directions to the airport and helped me print an item during my stay. November 25, 2013
<<prev 5 6 7 8 9 ... 15 next>>
Entrance on 7th Avenue, San Diego
Entrance on 7th Avenue, San Diego
Select to close.
Entrance on 7th Avenue, San Diego Reception Cortez Hill view of exterior
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-24-2014)
Check Availability
Loading