• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-26-2014)
(e.g. Jul-27-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SAN FRANCISCO
  • Distance From Hotel: 2.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-08:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:10
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. French
  4. Tagalog
  5. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No pets allowed except service dogs.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Fisherman's Wharf
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI
Attraction:
AT&T Park Home of San Francisco Giants
Distance From Hotel:2.6MI
Attraction:
Ghiradelli Square / The Cannery
Distance From Hotel:0.3MI
Attraction:
Pier 39
Distance From Hotel:0.6MI

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2014
  • Total number of rooms:252
  • Total number of suites:36
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:144
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:108
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:216
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:10
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
  • FEMA Property Number:CA2505

San Francisco & Fisherman's Wharf is our Hotel's Neighborhood

Perfectly positioned in the heart of the wharf district, the Holiday Inn Express® & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf offers the hotel's guests an excellent location in the midst of the bustling waterfront area.

Leisure guests can spend a sunny day at Pier 39 or take a tour of Alcatraz while staying with us. Since our location is just two blocks from cable car lines, you can see the "City by the Bay" on one of our
View More

San Francisco & Fisherman's Wharf is our Hotel's Neighborhood

Perfectly positioned in the heart of the wharf district, the Holiday Inn Express® & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf offers the hotel's guests an excellent location in the midst of the bustling waterfront area.

Leisure guests can spend a sunny day at Pier 39 or take a tour of Alcatraz while staying with us. Since our location is just two blocks from cable car lines, you can see the "City by the Bay" on one of our iconic trolleys! Fisherman's Wharf offers souvenir shopping, world-class seafood and our lovable sea lions to enjoy. Take the family and explore the California Academy of Sciences and Walt Disney Family Museum. Golden Gate Park and Golden Gate Recreation Area are located in downtown San Francisco, too.

Our hotel's corporate guests appreciate the on-site Business Center. Levi Strauss, Williams-Sonoma and Diversity Alliance are nearby in downtown San Francisco. The hotel's location is also near the Financial District, Art Institute and Academy of Art University. Two spacious meeting rooms and free Internet access make life on the road easier.

We're the only Fisherman's Wharf hotel that serves a complimentary, hot breakfast to our guests. For relaxation or if you need a little help, visit our sister hotel and use the pool and concierge services. No matter what brings you to downtown San Francisco, our hotel's staff is waiting to welcome you. Book your stay today!

View Less
Features
Besides offering an excellent location in the Fisherman's Wharf area in San Francisco, our hotel's facilities boast the complimentary Express Start Breakfast Bar and free Internet access in each room.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 229 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Although the front of the hotel was under construction, the staff immediately pointed out the "detours" and indicated if we needed any help to let them know. They were extremely kind and courteous and provided excellent directions for getting around to the places we needed to be. April 9, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor food and service but cheap and near to subway I've stayed at this hotel as well as at the Holiday Inn on Van Ness many times. Neither of them delivers the level of comfort and service of other Holiday Inns and Holiday Inn Expresses that I've stayed at around the country. The Civic Center location is conveniently located right near the subway (though this section of Market St. is not known for being the prettiest part of the city#, and I get a pretty good corporate rate, which are the two reasons that I stay here. The rooms do not have refrigerators. The front desk staff is generally pretty friendly, but often quite slow. The food at the restaurant is poor. In the last few months, I've had the pizza, the burger, the sliders, and the steak, and the only item that was even remotely edible is the pizza. During my most recent stay, the usual bartender was not there, and when I asked to order food, the fill-in told me I should go sit in the restaurant instead. I sat alone in the restaurant eating cardboard pizza. There are some good restaurants a short walk away on Folsom like Citizens' Band, Soma Inn Café, and Triptych, but sometimes I'm just looking for the convenience of grabbing a bite to eat on my way back to my room. If you are not looking to be close to the subway, then I would recommend the Van Ness Location over this one. The Van Ness location #I haven't stayed there in about 6 months because of the distance from the subway# has a better restaurant, and the bar has pool tables and televisions too. Also, the rooms have fridges and it's right around the corner from a Whole Foods. That location also has a number of good restaurants and bars nearby on Polk. If you do need to use the subway though, you have to take the 47 bus or the 49, which are two of the most disgusting busses around. Honestly, given the choice between walking #about a 20 min. walk# and taking the 47 or 49, I highly recommend getting some exercise. April 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and great value Hotel at great location - within walking distance to shopping areas like Union Square and Westfield, close to City Hall and Asian Art Museum. Also near the cable car ride at Powell Street, and to take the Big Bus Hop On/Hop Off rides. The BART is also close to hotel and makes rides to other areas or to the airport easily accessible. April 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service The lobby is very inviting and clean. The seating areas were spacious and conducive to relaxing, waiting for other people, etc. My interaction with the staff were great. They were always pleasant and helpful. When I arrived in the morning, no rooms were available yet as normal check-in is at 3:00 pm. That was the first time I ever had to wait to get a room. However, I was able to leave my bags at the hotel while I tended to the reason for being in town. The elevators require a room key to get to your room. The business center requires you to have a room key. The bathroom in the lobby requires a room key. This is a good thing (in addition to the security guards) considering the number of people in the surrounding area off hotel property who sleep on the sidewalks. I was a bit perturbed because the fitness room was not available 24 hours, but after receiving an explanation from a member of the hotel staff of the reason, I understood and went about my business. However, he did offer an option for me to go to an off-site location with whom they have a business arrangement. The restaurant in the hotel provides a breakfast buffet for about $20 (no pancakes and waffles. I should have inquired) . The price seems high, but it's in a restaurant of a hotel in San Francisco. Should I have expected anything different? I didn't eat dinner because the selections seemed limited. Again, I was in San Francisco where the options of dining seemed limitless. If I didn't want to be out in the town, the restaurant offered the convenience of not having to leave the hotel, not to mention room service. I was surprised that a mini-fridge was absent. Although there was a cabinet for one, it wasn't until I bought ice cream that I realized there's no fridge. I never had trouble getting a parking space. The reason I also selected Amenities as a con is because at check-out, I learned two things. $20 nightly for a mini-fridge and local calls are $1.00 each. March 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Title Over all, I liked this hotel! My only gripe is that I wish that my room was as renavated as the lobby was! It had that Motel Smell about it when I first arived and I to unload a bottle of Ferbreaze on the place. I did like the bed though, the sheets and pellows where great and the staff was very helpful. March 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Stay As a visitor coming into town from the East Coast of the US, my first trip to San Francisco was made even better by the courteous and attentive staff at this Holiday Inn. Seriously - any request I had was treated seriously, and handled cheerfully. The staff also easily obtained taxis and transportation for me when I needed it, and every day I came home to an amazingly clean room. It was a busy time, too, during the Game Developer's Conference but the staff was amazingly adept. March 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Stay; Good Location Attended Game Developers Conference; very convenient location and a good stay with excellent staff. March 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good Value. recommend staying here but eat somewhere else. I was in San Fran on business and family joined for the weekend. We moved from a much more expensive hotel to this Holiday Inn. We thought that this hotel was better than the more expensive hotel. The only complaint was that the breakfast was really expensive and so was dinner. So eat elsewher. Starbucks just around the corner and walgreens just a few blocks down from there. We walked many places from this hotel and felt safe. Most of the city gets a little scarey at night. Pan handler's are all over and pretty aggressive. Tour bus picked us up right out front. And city hall and the farmers market were a few blocks away. We would happily stay here again. Thanks March 22, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy construction next door Front desk staff was great. Adequate number of elevators. Dining room food was good. Area a little "seedy" for strolling. Hall carpets needed re-stretching. Construction on hotel front and on nearby building. March 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Value for Money I stayed in the hotel for one night at the beginning of a week in the US on business, it was the best of the hotels on my trip in terms of value for money and customer service. Notably the friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff was a feature, the front-desk in particular. March 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent staff Our stay was made easy with the help of all the staff we me from check in to breakfast. Assistance with where we could find and how to use public transportation. We will stay with you again. March 19, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Smoking Smoking at the entrance to the lobby in the enclosed garage a real nuisance and probably not allowed by SF ordinance. Not nice. March 14, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Holidy Inn Civic Center The buffet was way over priced for the little choices you have and nats everywhere.......... and the noise from the construction work is too much. I am a premiere and you guys should have offered me 1000 points per night instead of 500 for putting up with the noise and nats (bugs) in the bar and dinning room area. March 8, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not Bad The room could've been cleaner. The carpets looked dark and old, and I was hesitant to step on them bare footed. I guess I could've asked for slippers, but I wish they were just in the closet. Corners of the rooms were dusty/dirty, near where I put our stuff. I saw rust on the shower racks and stains on the shower curtains. Beds were clean and neat. No issues with sleeping. Staff was too busy, not pleasant. I stepped thru the ihg reward line, but they questioned that it's for ihg reward members online. I felt like I had to defend myself. The separate line was nice I guess. Just shows that they're really busy and need it... Parking garage is ok. It's a bit cramped, but there's many levels. Kind of pricey... March 3, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Bad Service As a Gold member I have never been treated with disrespect as what happened in San Francisco. Because we had to make 3 different reservations due to using points for one night in the middle of our stay, we had to continuously (3 Times) travel to the front desk and check out and check back in. On the Sunday 02 February we attempted to check to follow through with the process in the Priority Check in line. Your promise to Priority Club Members, only to be told this line is closed by Ana. She was rude and inconsiderate, and as we walked past me she flipped her hand at me making her statement. I would not re approach the counter due to this. So my partner went to check us back in, asked for the front counter agents name, after explaining what happened, Management was never even offered to help resolve onsite. I believe this agent was posibly from Hawaii, I don't have a name. No apology from her neither for the events earlier in the events earlier in the day. I do travel periodically for Federal Government Business and leisure, and this really makes me wonder how important are the IHG members? March 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel, Great City I always enjoy staying here. Close to most things I need and there is plenty of parking and places to eat close by. The restaurant has a great breakfast buffet and the varieties of menu items are just right. The staff always makes me feel welcome as they do to all people who come in. They are very accommodating to many groups. I just like it here. February 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel and Excellent Staff I love staying at this Holiday Inn due to it's convenient location, clean and comfortable rooms and wonderful staff. The employees always greet me by name, YES they remembered my name and are super friendly. Kudos to Benny, Ana and David the front desk manager, they are always fast and efficient and are truly genuine. I am looking forward to seeing the new front of hotel when it is completed. One request that I have is to work on the sliding glass doors in the room, they are very hard to open and need repairing or replaced. February 13, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Worst location and internet The internet during the entire stay was too slow to so any work....the front desk staff mentioned that it will improve, but I did not experience any improvement during my stay. The area around the hotel was looking scary at most of the times. February 10, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel Stay The first night, I was placed on the 14th floor. Maybe there is a reason a hotel has no 13th floor, but this room was haunted by what must have been either roof-top fans running all night, which I could clearly hear or there is a dragon snoring up there. When I asked for a new room the next day, after explaining my situation, it would have been nice to hear "I'm sorry." Instead, I was clearly told to make sure my bags were packed, as they wouldn't move me otherwise. Returning that evening, I had to explain the process as if this was a new request until the #very courteous# clerk found a Post-it note with my new room number on it. I would have thought an update on my computerized reservation would have made sense, but call me old-fashioned. That night, I ate in the hotel. I ordered the delicious ravioli and from the limited side dishes, asked for potato chips and french fries. Clearly this was a bad combination as I spent part of the late night throwing up in the bathroom. I haven't thrown up in years and haven't since then, so draw your own conclusion. The other nights were not restful either, as the fan kept turning on and waking me up. Generally, I am a very sound sleeper,so this - coupled with the street noises ten floors below - did not make for a restful sleep. And a minor point -- when guest puts "Do Not Disturb" on the door, please do not call that guest's room to acknowledge the "Do Not Disturb." That means the guest does not want to be disturbed. It seems clear to me, but again, I have my ways. On the plus side, almost all of your staff is excellent and friendly. The location to the Civic Center is very convenient. February 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room internet service constantly failing After staying at this hotel several times, I still can't understand why the room internet service keeps being interrupted. January 28, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Intermittent WiFi and Caution re location Beds comfortable, room clean and adequate. WiFi reception on top floor was intermittent and weak and would regularly drop out. The location is great for the BART (Bay Area Rapid Transport) from the airport, being a 50 metre walk from the Hotel. Located in downtown and 'tenderloin' area so was a little unnerving walking around area at night. January 27, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Sofa bed was broken and air conditioning was too loud. No refrigerator. Parking too expensive January 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Great Stay We selected this hotel for its convenience to Union Square as well as the BART station. Bart was just around the corner block from the hotel- about a 2 minute walk, and Union Square was about a 7 block walk. The parking lot was extremely secure, but a little confusing to try to figure out how to get to the hotel from it. Follow the signs. The lobby design is updated and contemporary and the staff was extremely friendly and knowledgeable. Room was cozy/ updated and perfect for our one night stay. We made it to last call at the bar and the bartender was very friendly and very accommodating. I would stay here again. January 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by PROPERTY IS IDEAL BUT NOT THE STAFF NOT THE HONEST STAFF. WORST EXPERIENCE IN MY ENTRE CARREIER OF THE STAYIN IN THE HOTELS. I TRAVELLED MORE THAN 100 ( ONE HUNDRED) COUNTIRES BUT THE CHECKING STAFF WAS NOT HONEST IN HIS REMARKS. OTHERWISE PROPERTY IS IDEALLY LOCATED VERY NEAR TO TRAIN STATION , 30 MINUTES WALK TO DOWN TOWN, BREAK FAST IS VERY COSTLY . December 19, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good Value The hotel was very clean and a good value. However, the hotel is definitely not located in the best area of the city, unless you are looking to stay around the civic center. November 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Will come back.... Nice and clean Hotel with friendly Staff. Big Rooms with nice views. Quiet at night. That's what a traveller wants..:-) P.S. The Breakfast is to expensive..... November 28, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Convenience Great location to both Muni & Bart at Civic Center Station. But, this station is very dirty. A lot of homeless camp out at this station. On my last visit a homeless woman, with obvious mental issues, was urinating on the sidewalk just outside the entrance of the hotel. Seeing this made me seriously consider is it all worth it to stay here. If I were a woman, I would not walk to or from this hotel late at night alone. However, once inside the hotel it is all together a different experience. The entire staff is friendly & very accommodating. November 25, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Mixed experience We liked the location of the hotel in the middle of down town. Especially the staff in the restaurant was very friendly and service oriented. The rooms were adequate, but the public space is a little out dated. One thing is not acceptable wssdisappointing: the wifi connection. It just didn t work a part of our stay. We had to leave our room and go to the elevator area for a connection. Ofcourse we asked the reception for improvement. They gave as a reason: the hotel was fully booked. In general: in its present state and performance the holiday Inn does not live up to expectations. Little improvement can have a huge positive impact. November 23, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Stay Seemed to be a lot of construction outside and a great number of panhandlers/homeless. Limited Menu November 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Central Location This hotel is great for the location its at if you plan to visit San Francisco. It also offers secure and easy parking, usally not available in San Francisco. Hotel was very modern looking. It was also spotless. The rooms were a bit dated/plain along with the balcony. November 17, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior The Great Room Hotel Lobby The Great Room Hotel Lobby The Great Room Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Stay connected with free high speed internet at Holiday Inn Express ®. Click to learn more.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-26-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-27-2014)
Check Availability
Loading