• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Apr-16-2014)
(e.g. Apr-17-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SAN FRANCISCO
  • Distance From Hotel: 2.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-08:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:10
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. French
  4. Tagalog
  5. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No pets allowed except service dogs.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Fisherman's Wharf
Distance From Hotel:0.2MI
Attraction:
AT&T Park Home of San Francisco Giants
Distance From Hotel:2.6MI
Attraction:
Ghiradelli Square / The Cannery
Distance From Hotel:0.3MI
Attraction:
Pier 39
Distance From Hotel:0.6MI

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2014
  • Total number of rooms:252
  • Total number of suites:36
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:144
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:108
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:216
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:10
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:4
  • FEMA Property Number:CA2505

San Francisco & Fisherman's Wharf is our Hotel's Neighborhood

Perfectly positioned in the heart of the wharf district, the Holiday Inn Express® & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf offers the hotel's guests an excellent location in the midst of the bustling waterfront area.

Leisure guests can spend a sunny day at Pier 39 or take a tour of Alcatraz while staying with us. Since our location is just two blocks from cable car lines, you can see the "City by the Bay" on one of our
View More

San Francisco & Fisherman's Wharf is our Hotel's Neighborhood

Perfectly positioned in the heart of the wharf district, the Holiday Inn Express® & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf offers the hotel's guests an excellent location in the midst of the bustling waterfront area.

Leisure guests can spend a sunny day at Pier 39 or take a tour of Alcatraz while staying with us. Since our location is just two blocks from cable car lines, you can see the "City by the Bay" on one of our iconic trolleys! Fisherman's Wharf offers souvenir shopping, world-class seafood and our lovable sea lions to enjoy. Take the family and explore the California Academy of Sciences and Walt Disney Family Museum. Golden Gate Park and Golden Gate Recreation Area are located in downtown San Francisco, too.

Our hotel's corporate guests appreciate the on-site Business Center. Levi Strauss, Williams-Sonoma and Diversity Alliance are nearby in downtown San Francisco. The hotel's location is also near the Financial District, Art Institute and Academy of Art University. Two spacious meeting rooms and free Internet access make life on the road easier.

We're the only Fisherman's Wharf hotel that serves a complimentary, hot breakfast to our guests. For relaxation or if you need a little help, visit our sister hotel and use the pool and concierge services. No matter what brings you to downtown San Francisco, our hotel's staff is waiting to welcome you. Book your stay today!

View Less
Features
Besides offering an excellent location in the Fisherman's Wharf area in San Francisco, our hotel's facilities boast the complimentary Express Start Breakfast Bar and free Internet access in each room.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 298 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic stay Unique location with spectacular view from the room over the city and bay. Walking distance to Union Square or Fisherman's Warf. Excellent service from all staff. Spacious rooms. Highly recommendable. November 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room , great staff Great room (newly renovated) with an incredible panoramic view of SF Bay and Oakland Bay! The friendly and professional staff could not have been more welcoming! Thanks for a great weekend stay! November 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good but a bit too noisy Overall a good stay with this hotel. Street noise is rather too penetrating and disrupted sleep with window already shut tight . Calls to front desk did take long to get response. November 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good-Average Stay I stay at the "Golden Gateway" for business and usually have no issues. However, my last stay they put me in a two double bed room that reeked of cigarette smoke. What I don't understand is why the maid didn't notice and try to cover up the stench. There are only two employees at the front desk that I like to deal with. The rest of the staff is mediocre at best. If your looking for a great value the Holiday Inn Golden Gateway has some of the best rates. What you save in good prices sometimes comes back to haunt you in other ways. Overall decent hotel for the price. November 14, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by let me breathe. No fresh air available in the room. The windows are now sealed shut "for your safety". This is what I was told by the helpful person at the desk when I asked how I could rid the room of heavy paint fumes. At one time the windows opened. This is evident by the design of the track. Now however they have been sealed. Are we now to consider ourselves more suicidal than when we were younger? or is the chance of a "bad" person to climb 16 stories up the outside of the building to enter and steal my toothbrush greater than in the past? (there is a safe in the room) to safeguard my valuables, such as they are. I was told to "turn on the air conditioner. Why would I want to "condition" the terrible air which was recycled, not exchanged or filtered for fresh? San Francisco is blessed with good air from the Pacific, a decent breeze can flush air heavy with fumes...FUMES.. from paint and new construction. The assumption I must draw is that the Holiday Inn group believes the chances I might hurl myself from the window or do a criminal act outweigh my discomfort from sleeping poorly because of an energy consuming noisy device that does not clean poor quality air...The carpet was clean, new and still outgassing as new synthetic carpet does. Thank you for taking such good care of me because evidently I am considered by the wise and benevolent corporation incapable of doing so for myself. However I am able to generate sufficient capital to gain entry to their hallowed halls, after which I don't matter...GOT YOUR MONEY, NOW LEAVE PLEASE...Sound familiar? Incidentally please put decent coffee in the room, I will pay the additional seven cents to cover the cost or should I bring my own with me in a tool box to open the window? WHY DO YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO "MODIFY" MY REVIEW? November 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome Stay and Tremendous Staff! I had such a great stay at this hotel. No complaints at all. Just wish I had longer to hang out. Great location. Quiet , comfortable room and your staff are beyond friendly, pleasant and helpful. So nice to experience that type of friendliness and warmth in a place of business such as this. Keep up the great work and I Iook forward to another stay soon! November 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Met and went past my expectations. Everything I asked for was delivered. I enjoyed my stay and would return there if the occasion comes up. November 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good value Comfortable clean centrally-located hotel. Very friendly staff. Restaurant needs better food quality and options though November 7, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Far too noisy, and few/no vegan/healthy menu options While the staff tries very hard to serve their guests, the hotel itself has only a half-complete feel to it renovation. Both the windows and the HVAC units appear to be straight out of the 70's, and it shows: the remarkably noisy heaters and street noise that passes through unimpeded into the rooms makes sleep difficult. Lastly, the restaurant menu choices appear to favor remarkably poor food choices with little or nothing for vegans that prefer to avoid the dozens of diseases that come from consuming animal flesh. Sadly, a poor example of what a Holiday Inn should be. I hope the management finishes the renovation correctly, and soon. November 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Hotel Very clean, friendly staff, good location, and excellent room layout. Concierge staff very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended. First choice for future trips to San Francisco. November 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Spectacular View We were on the 23rd floor on the corner of the building and the view was spectacular. This was an expensive room but it was worth it and very comfortable. We were close to our daughter who lives on Nob Hill and they were just married on Saturday night in Sonoma. The location was perfect. We were very pleased with our stay. November 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service, convenient location, stunning views Very friendly staff. At check-in, "Baker" was very helpful and friendly, and made us feel at home. Room was always clean and had everything that we needed. The view and location are perfect for first time visitors November 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service, comfortable bed and great view! This is the first time we stayed at the Holiday Inn Golden Gate and we were pleasantly surprised. Beautiful room, great view and very friendly staff! Next time we visit family in San Francisco we will stay there again! October 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel for the price Nice hotel for the price. As a Platinum, I was upgraded to the 25th floor with a great view of the city. Location is just okay, depending on where you want to be in the city. Added bonus of cable car turnaround right outside the hotel. All staff was friendly, particularly Anthony at the front desk. October 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good position, excellent bed and services Found the hotel to be on the Tram line which made transportation very easy. Extremely comfortable room/bed and coffee machine first class and easy to use ! Did not use the pool facilities. Would stay again and recommend. Did not recognise UK IHG Priority Card Member and therefore no points ! October 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by nice stay lots of eating place nean by from high end to cheap.. transportation close by.... hotel bar need to open earlier then 4:30 pm October 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location, friendly staff, good value Clean & comfortable room. Excellent view of the SF bay fm the 26th floor room. Slight mix up on our request for early arrival inadvertantly noted as a late arrival and therefore had a rather extensive wait b4 gaining access to the room. However, in view of the room we did get, in retrospect the wait was somewhat more tolerable. In that regard, we want to especially acknowledge and thank Anthony at the front desk. Also, the maid service was excellent. October 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Incredible service, great rooms, perfect location This hotel has the best service I've ever received anywhere. We've been staying at this hotel for the past 5 years, and they've never let us down. Their employees could teach customer service. October 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Our San Francisco Experience What a hotel!! We truly enjoyed our stay for 3 nights while we toured San Francisco. The best part of our room on the 26th floor was the spectacular view! The corner room was awesome! Our room was beautifully furnished and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. The shop on the main floor provided good tips for our tours and transportation. We were able to rent a car with ease for the remainder of our California adventure. Lastly, we were able to print our boarding passes for your flight home right in the hotel. I highly recommend this beautiful hotel! October 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by a bit dusty around the edges I think a crevice tool needs to be used on the carpets. It seems there is about an inch of carpet from wall that doesn't get vacuumed up. The rest of the carpet is vacuumed, just not closest to the baseboard which means accumulated detritus. October 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect to be in San Francisco Nice, friendly Staff, perfect Location to discover the City (the Cable Station "California Street" to the Market street is just arround the Corner. Nice and clean room (we where at the 25th floor) with a great overview. Good breakfast with nice staff there too ... all in all very perfect stay! October 10, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Thin walls, cramped room If I had visited this hotel prior to booking a conference here for my international group, I would have found a different property. When I first arrived, the hotel seemed nice enough, albeit the service was less than desirable. Within 5 minutes of checking into my room, I could hear talking in the hall, quite loudly from inside my room, beside the bed. Since I was very close to the elevator, I was concerned with late night noise from returning guests. I called the front desk, asking for a different room and was met with a sarcastic response. I ended up keeping the room because I was not guaranteed that any other room would be quieter. They did promise me ear plugs, which took them hours to deliver. To their defense, they did bring a tray, with an eye mask, chocolate covered strawberries and a bottle of wine. I am not sure if they were truly apologetic for their lack of customer service, or they realized that I was a meeting planner. We also had a conference attendee travel from Japan for our conference and they lost his reservation and bumbled that too. I would not recommend this hotel for conferences. October 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and very nice room We stayed in the King executive room with a corner window with NW view of the city and the bay. It was lovely! The price was average to high for this city and location, but the price was pretty good for this room. It felt luxurious to be there. Great bed and pillows, clean and well stocked bathroom, great tv and accommodations. We really enjoyed our room. Having available parking is also great but it was pricey at $40/night. This is SF though, so we expected to pay for it and it was very nice not to have to worry about parking down the street or worrying about street parking. The location is great because within a 2-3 block radius there are numerous bars and restaurants. Perfect for our overnight couple night getting away from the kids and enjoying an evening in the city. We did not use the pool or restaurant but had a drink in the bar. There was happy hour on the weekend so that was nice. The hotel gift shop was also very nice. I live in the bay area and saw lots of things I wanted to get for family. The best part of the staff were the cleaning women. We ran into them multiple times getting into and out of the elevators and they were so nice to us. Gave us a warm greeting each time. October 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by excellent staff the staff is excellent. they were all professional and accomodating, from the manager of rooms to housekeeping and the bartender and wait staff. October 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent reception Lets get the negative out of the way......During our 17 day travels in Canada and the US, we stayed in 8 hotels/motels - some very modest - before booking in with you and in 7 of them we had free access to a computer. You could do better! We liked your location, ameneties and especially Mr Baker who booked us in. We arrived early - 12 noon - and Mr Baker went out of his way to get these two tired travellers in a room.....he made our day! October 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice and comfortable rooms. Nice welcome. Very polite and service oriented front office staff. Cosy and clean room with nice view. October 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and space room Clean and space room; Good view of the city; convenient location. Everything is fine except shortage of bell boys! October 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good solid hotel as a base for travelling sf Bed and rooms were comfortable Staff were friendly and overall a solid hotel October 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by my favorite hotel in SFO This hotel staff is very friendly, and it is in a good location!! So, I always stayed this hotel when I visit to SFO. This time, they prepared us the nice room on top floor.. Thank you! October 7, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Customer Service I have stayed at this hotel several times in the past couple months and have experienced a very mixed bag of customer service. My last stay was by far the worst. Several times I was told a special request was not possible even though they had fulfilled the same request before. Special requests such as a feather pillow from room service have taken up to 2 hours to fulfill and my last request was only fulfilled after three phone calls and a trip to the front desk to speak to the manager. This hotel books many, many large tours and consequently there are constantly tour buses outside, often blocking the taxi stand and the entrance to the hotel. On my last trip, I tried getting a taxi from behind the taxi stand because a bus was blocking the actual stand. I hailed a cab who was pulling up to the curb just as the bellman with another customer in tow sequestered the cab and put the other customer in the cab ... my cab. He then hailed another cab for me and left me on the curb. The cab driver would not pick me up, saying he was going the other direction so there I stood without a cab or any help whatsoever. I then spoke with someone at the front desk who promised to "take care of" me. Another 15 minutes and still no cab in sight. I finally ordered my own Uber black car and after at least 45 minutes of hassle, was on my way to work, paying double the price of a cab. I will not be staying in this hotel again. October 6, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 11 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Hallway Front Desk Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.