• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-21-2014)
(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SANTA BARBARA
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

There is a 2 pet maximun per room.Dogs up to 50 pounds only.Pets must be declared at check in.Pets are allowed in designated rooms only.Pets must never be left unattended.Pets not allowed in food areas.Pets must be on leash when not in room.
Pet deposit amount  39.00  USD  per stay

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:35
  • Car Parking Available
  • Outdoor Parking. Limited Valet Parking.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 12.00  USD)
  • Valet parking fee  ( 12.0 USD )

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2005
  • Total number of rooms:61
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:37
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:24
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:61
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:CA2217

Enjoy Santa Barbara Hotel's Historic Charm

Classic touches of California Spanish Revival add to the historic feel of the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel Santa Barbara. The hotel's historic property, also known as the Hotel Virginia and built in 1917, features Malibu and Catalina tile-work, exposed brick walls and wrought-iron railings, all in a convenient downtown location.

With the hotel's location in Santa Barbara, the sights and sounds of the city are just steps away. Quietly
View More

Enjoy Santa Barbara Hotel's Historic Charm

Classic touches of California Spanish Revival add to the historic feel of the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel Santa Barbara. The hotel's historic property, also known as the Hotel Virginia and built in 1917, features Malibu and Catalina tile-work, exposed brick walls and wrought-iron railings, all in a convenient downtown location.

With the hotel's location in Santa Barbara, the sights and sounds of the city are just steps away. Quietly charming, Santa Barbara boasts stunning Spanish architecture at sites like the Santa Barbara Courthouse. The beach and Stearns Wharf are only a few blocks from the hotel, while the Santa Barbara Zoo is about two miles away. Don't miss a chance to see the Santa Barbara Mission, known as the "Queen of the Missions."

With free Wi-Fi access and a Business Center, corporate travelers find this downtown hotel is the perfect choice. Additionally, guests enjoy easy access to major area employers, such as the County of Santa Barbara, University of California, Lockheed Martin and ExxonMobil.

Modern conveniences merge with historical touches to create a unique feel, and Santa Barbara vacations are made easy with amenities like the daily, free Express Start Breakfast Bar and free access to Spectrum Gym. Room service is available from Mesa Cafe from 11am to 9pm, and the second-level balcony entices guests to relax while enjoying spectacular views of the city. Call us today!

View Less
Features
Besides the hotel's prime location in downtown Santa Barbara, guests enjoy staying at this historic hotel for the many free amenities, including the Express Start Breakfast Bar and fast Wi-Fi access.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 104 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Conditions of the Holiday Express It is always a pleasure to stay at this Holiday Express because of: checkin routine/room cleanliness/breakfast/availability of staff/ reservations at the Express/nd just the way the Express conducts business and as you might note I stay at the express most the time and this one is one of the best in all overnight and week experiences.Thanks August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable and relaxing We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Carpenteria in August, Monday thru Friday. Our room was clean, comfortable and what we asked for, close to the pool and downstairs. Breakfast was hot and a nice variety of food. The beach was close by, even walking distance. Restaurants were less than 5 minutes away. Housekeeping was very accommodating when we needed extra towels and it so happened we didn't pack our toothbrushes so they promptly brought us some. Thank you for a wonderful stay. August 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by VERY IMPRESSED! Stayed here for two nights and really love how they remodeled the property. The front desk staff were wonderful as I had originally booked a room for family for two nights and then decided at the last minute to drive up and have a room for myself for the second night in addition to their room. Although sold out, the nice front desk staff member found a room for me. This was much appreciated. Additional pluses -- beautiful lobby, nice business area with two desktop computers, pleasant pool and spa with comfy lounge chairs, a lot of parking spots for a property of this size but lastly and most important -- the guest rooms are top notch. Very comfortable beds for a relaxing night's sleep and nice room design with modern furniture accents. Small point worth mentioning...there was a very pleasant smell in the common areas and the guest rooms that did not go unnoticed! Also, the surrounding grounds are very professionally maintained. Generally I stay at Marriott properties but if I ever visit Carpinteria in the future I would stay here in a heartbeat. It's also a very quick drive to Santa Barbara for a superior choice of restaurants. August 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very clean and quiet area. A beautiful room to stay in. The room was clean and very spacious. My kids spent most of their time on the couch area playing. I called the front desk a few times, once at 2 a.m., and there was someone there to help me no matter what time it was. Our room faced the street but it was still a very peaceful area.The hotel is walking distance from Starbucks, Cvs, etc. I have stayed in other hotels in Carpinteria before but when I go back this hotel will definitely be my choice again. August 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to Stay ! Great place to stay in my hometown, staff was great , breakfast was excellent , kind of bias , since I was visiting my hometown , so I was just happy to be home . Would highly reccomend this hotel , especially for families . The beach is right down the street , shops are close by, you cant ask for a better place to stay. Not sure what constitue 2 star hotel to a 5 star hotel , but I would rate this a 5 without a doubt , looking forward to staying here and visiting beautiful Carpinteria very soon . August 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing atmosphere and great value Was in town for a wedding. Was able to relax at the hotel and it was a short distance to Santa Barbara. I was very happy with the rate I received for this time of year (summer). July 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service We had a great time. I was impressed with how efficient and timely manner the plumbers came to my room as I had just checked-in and noticed the bathroom sink was clogged. The plumbers reponded within minutes right after my call to the front desk. All the issues where fixed and had a great weekend!!! The room service was very efficient as well. My beds where nicely clean and done. Got towels almost immediately after my request. Awesome customer service!!! July 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Prepare To Be Amazed Having become familiar with "the Express" we now just book the brand, because we know we will get what we need. There is an "Express" in Carpinteria and so we took it, no questions asked. What a surprise! This place is the best one we have seen. It is just beautiful inside and out. The gardens fully surround the property. There is no vacant lot or warehouse or factory next door to look at, just a paradise in every direction. The interior has been redone with great attention to details, which impart an almost palatial magnificence, including the sweeping stairway in the lobby. The staff is friendly and casual but crisply professional and efficient. Carpinteria "Express" raises the bar for the rest of the chain. July 29, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by simple, no frills, good it's good for what it is...no complaints. rooms have been upgraded - good news July 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by First stop on Vacation I was a little nervous about booking a Holiday Inn Express at first, but all the reviews were favorable. We were so pleased with the hotel and our stay! The hotel is newly remodeled and looks great. The rooms were clean and breakfast had something for everyone. My husband and I sat outside in the patio area for breakfast while we waited for our teenagers to wake up. It was a very pleasant way to start the morning. The hotel is a short drive to the cute little town of Carpinteria. I would definitely recommend this hotel. July 25, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice large rooms Hotel is somewhat pricey for an "Express". Aside from the Front Desk personnel, staff is not very friendly. Breakfast selection is OK nothing to get to excited about. July 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel Michael, the manager, takes care of our hotel rooms every year for a family reunion. He a great guy, runs an efficient hotel. Rooms get cleaned early. Staff is very nice, breakfast is great. Very clean hotel. Can't say enough good things. July 22, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice but nothing extraordinary This is a nice hotel as many Holiday Inn Express hotels are but seemed a little overpriced. The staff was friendly and the place clean and not dated. July 16, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not interested in customer service We are a large family and booked 2 rooms. When we checked in the check in staff needed a charisma bypass. It was not a welcoming check in. Our rooms were located by the pool which was supposed to be closed at 10pm. On the second night there was a family reunion which went on partying by the pool until past 11.45pm, then continued to party in the room above us until after 1.45am when I informed reception. Upon check out I asked for a refund for last nights stay but was only offered a $100 credit for a room costing over $300 they did not care and the manager did not even come out of the office to discuss the issue. We are touring the west coast and staying in IHP hotels for the complete stay spending over $10,000 now i will be changing to a new hotel chain. July 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Remodel I stayed here with my family and we all loved it. The setting is beautiful with outdoor seating for breakfast and great landscaping. All the staff are friendly and helpful. We will definitely return the next time we visit Santa Barbara. July 12, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and family friendly If you stay here be sure to request room in middle of hall and not near stairwell because the door slams shut. And request room on the opposite side of Carpenteria Street due to the road traffic. we got no sleep the first night. The second night we slept better because we used earplugs. The bed was very uncomfortable. Hotel is right down street from a wonderful quaint shopping area and many great restaurants.The entire area and city is great. July 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by 床铺舒适 整體評價不錯,早餐時間如果可以再延長會更好.客房舒適度整體評價不錯,電視節目方面如果可以多增加中文頻道會更好. July 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable stay! We stay at this inn at least once a year when we go to Carpinteria for Rods and Roses. Our stay has always been a very pleasant experience, and this year was no exception. Though the hotel has always been very well kept and clean, we noticed a number of upgrades this year. Very nice!! July 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and clean room The bed was really comfortable and got a really good night sleep. The room was very clean. Also loved the refrigerator and microwave. I am a tea drinker and usually will not use the coffee maker because it always has the lingering coffee taste in a cup of tea. The microwave allowed me to heat my water for a nice cup of tea in the morning. :) July 8, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great breakfast, lot's of choices. This is a nice clean facility. Recently renovated. They are still having some minor electrical issues. The rooms are big, comfortable and modern. Makes you feel very comfortable. The breakfast is included which makes this a great value, especially if you have kids, which I do. The breakfast is good and they give you lots of choices. The pool is a bit small and they could use a few more chairs. I would stay here again and recommend it to my friends. July 3, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Clean Rooms but Poor Breakfast choices and Service We recently stayed at this Holiday Inn for a short vacation near the beach. Looks like hotel is upgraded recently and although it is little expensive for a holiday inn rooms are nice and clean. Wireless internet is good and had fast check in and check out. However even though there is a flat screen TV in the room there is no High definition. The complimentary breakfast area is small and too crowded. There is virtually nobody there to assist and took long time to even refill the food which is pretty much gone by the time they refilled it. Had tough time scrambling through the area with a 4 year old. If you are looking for a clean hotel near the beach within a reasonable budget I recommend this hotel. However prefer going to a nearby IHop for breakfast. July 2, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed in Carpinteria Needs workers who care about who they are serving. June 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good position for nearby beach Newly decorated and re-furbished, this is a very comfortable motel. Beds are superb. Ask for a room not overlooking the Freeway for peace and quiet. Pool area also refurbished and poolside furniture is comfortable, although more might be required. Staff very helpful and knowledgeable. Hotel directory not available in the room and, depsite it being requested 4 times and promised one would be found, it never materialised. This meant we had no details to hand re facitlities, times etc. Washing and drying facilities were appreciated for holiday travellers! Lovey beach nearby with free parking and many restaurants in the near vicinity. Highly recommended. June 24, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Oustanding Hotel Great accommodation, awesome staff. Professional & friendly. Clean, fresh paint & new furniture. Great to have microwave & frig in room. Pool area clean nice June 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Had a good stay Hotel was recently remodeled so the rooms are fresh and clean with new funiture and carpet. Front desk clerk is pleasant and helpful. I stay here at least once a month. June 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Newly renovated Hotel Clean and Comfortable. The food can use some upgrading June 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenience transformed Have stayed at this property as it is proximate to family in the area. However, was able to experience the completed remodel this past visit and I now am looking forward to the next time spent IN the hotel. All the changes made were improvements and done in a tasteful palette: colors that are calm and relaxing, furniture choices and placement create a more spacious feel in the room, and luxury touches . . . comfortable beds, linens, bath products were upgraded. Dining area incorporated better use of space to accommodate more people . . . which is busy in this location. Heated pool a hit with the kids; relaxing downtime for adults in lovely setting. Definitely would recommend this location to anyone traveling to Carpinteria/Santa Barbara area. p.s. Glad they kept the smiling/polite staff that I always encounter! June 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice family hotel with convenient hot breakfast Great place to stay to enjoy this quaint beach town. Be sure to go to Tony's Italian Restaurant June 9, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by comfotable A little overpriced for the experience. Nice room and a good breakfast. Hotel down the street is a third of the price for as nice rooms. May 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel! Very clean hotel room. Room deco was very cozy and extremely clean. Breakfast is great with a lot of different choices. Staff was friendly. Plenty of parking spaces. Love the fact that there are many electric outlets in the room that are easy to find. Also love that plenty of disposable cups are provided to ensure hygiene. Check-out was very fast and easy, you only need to leave keys inside the room. Location was great. A/C was perfect, bed was very comfy. Water pressure was very good. But I do not like the bathroom door that it closes but itself, I have to use a shoe as a stopper. But overall it is a very excellent hotel. Strongly recommend! May 30, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>
Hotel Lobby
Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Hotel Lobby Historic Charm in the Heart of Santa Barbara. Entrance Hotel Exterior View from Hotel Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Front Desk Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Stay connected with free high speed internet at Holiday Inn Express ®. Click to learn more.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-21-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-22-2014)
Check Availability
Loading