• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-23-2014)
(e.g. Oct-24-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SANTA BARBARA
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

There is a 2 pet maximun per room.Dogs up to 50 pounds only.Pets must be declared at check in.Pets are allowed in designated rooms only.Pets must never be left unattended.Pets not allowed in food areas.Pets must be on leash when not in room.
Pet deposit amount  39.00  USD  per stay

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:35
  • Car Parking Available
  • Outdoor Parking. Limited Valet Parking.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 12.00  USD)
  • Valet parking fee  ( 12.0 USD )

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2005
  • Total number of rooms:61
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:37
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:24
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:61
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:CA2217

Enjoy Santa Barbara Hotel's Historic Charm

Classic touches of California Spanish Revival add to the historic feel of the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel Santa Barbara. The hotel's historic property, also known as the Hotel Virginia and built in 1917, features Malibu and Catalina tile-work, exposed brick walls and wrought-iron railings, all in a convenient downtown location.

With the hotel's location in Santa Barbara, the sights and sounds of the city are just steps away. Quietly
View More

Enjoy Santa Barbara Hotel's Historic Charm

Classic touches of California Spanish Revival add to the historic feel of the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel Santa Barbara. The hotel's historic property, also known as the Hotel Virginia and built in 1917, features Malibu and Catalina tile-work, exposed brick walls and wrought-iron railings, all in a convenient downtown location.

With the hotel's location in Santa Barbara, the sights and sounds of the city are just steps away. Quietly charming, Santa Barbara boasts stunning Spanish architecture at sites like the Santa Barbara Courthouse. The beach and Stearns Wharf are only a few blocks from the hotel, while the Santa Barbara Zoo is about two miles away. Don't miss a chance to see the Santa Barbara Mission, known as the "Queen of the Missions."

With free Wi-Fi access and a Business Center, corporate travelers find this downtown hotel is the perfect choice. Additionally, guests enjoy easy access to major area employers, such as the County of Santa Barbara, University of California, Lockheed Martin and ExxonMobil.

Modern conveniences merge with historical touches to create a unique feel, and Santa Barbara vacations are made easy with amenities like the daily, free Express Start Breakfast Bar and free access to Spectrum Gym. Room service is available from Mesa Cafe from 11am to 9pm, and the second-level balcony entices guests to relax while enjoying spectacular views of the city. Call us today!

View Less
Features
Besides the hotel's prime location in downtown Santa Barbara, guests enjoy staying at this historic hotel for the many free amenities, including the Express Start Breakfast Bar and fast Wi-Fi access.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 126 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience This hotel was well managed and very clean. It felt safe and secure as well. September 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great relaxing place to stay From the service on the desk a big thank you to Antonette,very service minded with a huge smile. We would highly recommend a stay. Many thanks Siv and Rod September 16, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by No sleep next to exercise room If you are unfortunate unough to be given the room next to the exercise room, get moved immediately if possible. A business trip with poor sleep is never good for business. September 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Minor Issues I experienced 2 minor issues with my stay. The rooms have door closers that slam the doors closed pretty loud. Not great if you need to get to sleep early (which I did). The pillows were all jumbo size and I spent all night wrestling with them. No smaller (normal) size pillows were available. All in all, it was a great stay and I'll go back when I'm in the area again. September 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great renovated rooms. Excellent breakfast. Very recently renovated. Good size rooms with comfortable beds. Excellent breakfast. Close to beach for a run or walk. Convenient from the highway. September 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great place to stay nice service, clean room, breakfast included, comfortable beds, quite September 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great for family vacations We stayed for three nights at the hotel, and it was a great stay. The staff was very attentive, and when the A/C at the room stopped responding, they immediately changed us to a new room. The location was fantastic, very close to the Carpinteria State Beach, and also very close to the local Vons, CVS. The breakfast was very good (the juice a little too sweet, but other than that, the variety was great) I would highly recommend other families to go on vacation to this city at this hotel. My wife was very impressed by the quality of the facilities (she mentioned that the bed and pillows were very comfy for her), and the price was very good too. additionally, the front desk staff was very knowledgeable of the area, and directed us accordingly. The hotel made it a great family vacation. September 2, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient This location is great if you are in for a wedding or hiking and not crowded beach access. Free breakfast has good choices but not very much is fresh. I would say that if you just need a clean room and a place to stay while in town you can't do better. Parking is easy as is street access. Just a clean, well maintained hotel without the frills. Has been absolutely perfect for my stays in which I come for easy non-crowded beach access, exercise (hiking and jogging) and a convenient place to use as my base. Great mini refrigerators in the rooms are great if you have special dietary needs. September 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Accommodations at HIE Carpinteria, CA Time and again we have enjoyed this hotel. All staff on the premises are courteous and friendly. We always feel as though we are on a vacation at this hotel whether it is business or time away from our busy routine. Such a great hotel to stay at, breakfast has a great variety of choices. Rooms clean and newly renovated. We hope to get back REAL soon! August 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Location of hotel and rooms This hotel is in a very nice location and I love the grass around the hotel. Also, they are dog friendly which is a plus for me. August 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfy beds and helpful kitchenette The bed was comfy and luxurious with a nice variety of pillows. The room I stayed in was quiet, away from the freeway. The kitchenette was helpful for an easy meal and in-room tea and snack. My only complaint was that the shower head sprays too wide of a circle and it was hard to wash my hair. But the internet access, comfortable sofa and a nice desk more than made up for that. Would definitely choose this hotel again. August 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beach Friendly Stay Nice amenities for a stay near the beach for families. Laundry facilities, in room micro wave, fridge, sink and dish washing facilities. Nice pool and exercise facilities, near restaurants and shopping center with all necessities. August 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place for a Getaway Wonderful place to go to get away from the hustle of the big city!! August 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place for Central Coast Friendly efficient staff. Great housekeeping Rooms and public areas exceptionally clean and well maintained. August 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasent stay The room was clean and spacious. The beds were comfortable. The linens were very nice. I would definetly stay at this hotel again. August 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable stay. We stayed two nights. Our days were spent in Carp and it was nice to get back to the room and relax. August 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Check-in Great place and love the experience…one area of possible improvement might be in checkin support and time…often waits there when I arrive and just a little understaffed…otherwise just excellent from start to finish…thank you for the great service and experience! August 16, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Holiday Inn Express Carpinteria is in a great location close to the beach, and is a quiet place for some much needed R August 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Holiday Inn We really enjoyed the Hotel and staff. We were also driving a large moving truck and found ideal space to park the beast overnight. August 15, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice location, nice people very good. People is nice, breakfast is good. location is good. internet speed is okay. August 14, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor experience If you take away the usual standard advantages of the IHG family (clean rooms, confy beds) everything else was a disaster. The hotel is conveniently positioned between a freeway and the main road, so wherever you sleep it will ne noisy. I arrived at 12.30 and I was superficially advised that until 3 pm I was not going to get my room, despite the fact I had my 2 years old with me. Then I left to go to work and later my wife called to inform me we were not upgraded at all despite I was promised differently being a platinum member. Finally at 5 pm they give us a suite on the main floor apologizing. The walls in this hotel are like thin paper and it felt like some elephants were walking upstairs all night. Then the bill came: I was charged two nights instead of one plus with an extra charge of 35 $ a night. The staff apologized, a problem in the system which is understandable. While I was there some other customers complained about the noise and more. That is not understandable. IHG hotels are marvelous, this one is not. August 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel Newly Renovated and a Great Staff We've stayed here many times over the past several years. It's walking distance to town and the beach and the staff has always been wonderful. The new renovations are great. the rooms are clean and newly refurbished with refrigerators, microwaves and sinks. but you have to request them way ahead of time. The pool is small but well maintained and great for kids to cool off in. Breakfast is adequate and the staff keep it clean and stocked. For the money it's a great value on the California Coast. August 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Conditions of the Holiday Express It is always a pleasure to stay at this Holiday Express because of: checkin routine/room cleanliness/breakfast/availability of staff/ reservations at the Express/nd just the way the Express conducts business and as you might note I stay at the express most the time and this one is one of the best in all overnight and week experiences.Thanks August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable and relaxing We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Carpenteria in August, Monday thru Friday. Our room was clean, comfortable and what we asked for, close to the pool and downstairs. Breakfast was hot and a nice variety of food. The beach was close by, even walking distance. Restaurants were less than 5 minutes away. Housekeeping was very accommodating when we needed extra towels and it so happened we didn't pack our toothbrushes so they promptly brought us some. Thank you for a wonderful stay. August 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by VERY IMPRESSED! Stayed here for two nights and really love how they remodeled the property. The front desk staff were wonderful as I had originally booked a room for family for two nights and then decided at the last minute to drive up and have a room for myself for the second night in addition to their room. Although sold out, the nice front desk staff member found a room for me. This was much appreciated. Additional pluses -- beautiful lobby, nice business area with two desktop computers, pleasant pool and spa with comfy lounge chairs, a lot of parking spots for a property of this size but lastly and most important -- the guest rooms are top notch. Very comfortable beds for a relaxing night's sleep and nice room design with modern furniture accents. Small point worth mentioning...there was a very pleasant smell in the common areas and the guest rooms that did not go unnoticed! Also, the surrounding grounds are very professionally maintained. Generally I stay at Marriott properties but if I ever visit Carpinteria in the future I would stay here in a heartbeat. It's also a very quick drive to Santa Barbara for a superior choice of restaurants. August 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very clean and quiet area. A beautiful room to stay in. The room was clean and very spacious. My kids spent most of their time on the couch area playing. I called the front desk a few times, once at 2 a.m., and there was someone there to help me no matter what time it was. Our room faced the street but it was still a very peaceful area.The hotel is walking distance from Starbucks, Cvs, etc. I have stayed in other hotels in Carpinteria before but when I go back this hotel will definitely be my choice again. August 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to Stay ! Great place to stay in my hometown, staff was great , breakfast was excellent , kind of bias , since I was visiting my hometown , so I was just happy to be home . Would highly reccomend this hotel , especially for families . The beach is right down the street , shops are close by, you cant ask for a better place to stay. Not sure what constitue 2 star hotel to a 5 star hotel , but I would rate this a 5 without a doubt , looking forward to staying here and visiting beautiful Carpinteria very soon . August 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing atmosphere and great value Was in town for a wedding. Was able to relax at the hotel and it was a short distance to Santa Barbara. I was very happy with the rate I received for this time of year (summer). July 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service We had a great time. I was impressed with how efficient and timely manner the plumbers came to my room as I had just checked-in and noticed the bathroom sink was clogged. The plumbers reponded within minutes right after my call to the front desk. All the issues where fixed and had a great weekend!!! The room service was very efficient as well. My beds where nicely clean and done. Got towels almost immediately after my request. Awesome customer service!!! July 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Prepare To Be Amazed Having become familiar with "the Express" we now just book the brand, because we know we will get what we need. There is an "Express" in Carpinteria and so we took it, no questions asked. What a surprise! This place is the best one we have seen. It is just beautiful inside and out. The gardens fully surround the property. There is no vacant lot or warehouse or factory next door to look at, just a paradise in every direction. The interior has been redone with great attention to details, which impart an almost palatial magnificence, including the sweeping stairway in the lobby. The staff is friendly and casual but crisply professional and efficient. Carpinteria "Express" raises the bar for the rest of the chain. July 29, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>
Hotel Lobby
Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Hotel Lobby Historic Charm in the Heart of Santa Barbara. Entrance Hotel Exterior View from Hotel Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Front Desk Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-23-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-24-2014)
Check Availability
Loading