• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Apr-20-2014)
(e.g. Apr-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SANTA BARBARA
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

There is a 2 pet maximun per room.Dogs up to 50 pounds only.Pets must be declared at check in.Pets are allowed in designated rooms only.Pets must never be left unattended.Pets not allowed in food areas.Pets must be on leash when not in room.
Pet deposit amount  39.00  USD  per stay

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:35
  • Car Parking Available
  • Outdoor Parking. Limited Valet Parking.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 12.00  USD)
  • Valet parking fee  ( 12.0 USD )

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2005
  • Total number of rooms:61
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:37
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:24
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:61
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:CA2217

Enjoy Santa Barbara Hotel's Historic Charm

Classic touches of California Spanish Revival add to the historic feel of the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel Santa Barbara. The hotel's historic property, also known as the Hotel Virginia and built in 1917, features Malibu and Catalina tile-work, exposed brick walls and wrought-iron railings, all in a convenient downtown location.

With the hotel's location in Santa Barbara, the sights and sounds of the city are just steps away. Quietly
View More

Enjoy Santa Barbara Hotel's Historic Charm

Classic touches of California Spanish Revival add to the historic feel of the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel Santa Barbara. The hotel's historic property, also known as the Hotel Virginia and built in 1917, features Malibu and Catalina tile-work, exposed brick walls and wrought-iron railings, all in a convenient downtown location.

With the hotel's location in Santa Barbara, the sights and sounds of the city are just steps away. Quietly charming, Santa Barbara boasts stunning Spanish architecture at sites like the Santa Barbara Courthouse. The beach and Stearns Wharf are only a few blocks from the hotel, while the Santa Barbara Zoo is about two miles away. Don't miss a chance to see the Santa Barbara Mission, known as the "Queen of the Missions."

With free Wi-Fi access and a Business Center, corporate travelers find this downtown hotel is the perfect choice. Additionally, guests enjoy easy access to major area employers, such as the County of Santa Barbara, University of California, Lockheed Martin and ExxonMobil.

Modern conveniences merge with historical touches to create a unique feel, and Santa Barbara vacations are made easy with amenities like the daily, free Express Start Breakfast Bar and free access to Spectrum Gym. Room service is available from Mesa Cafe from 11am to 9pm, and the second-level balcony entices guests to relax while enjoying spectacular views of the city. Call us today!

View Less
Features
Besides the hotel's prime location in downtown Santa Barbara, guests enjoy staying at this historic hotel for the many free amenities, including the Express Start Breakfast Bar and fast Wi-Fi access.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 63 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good place to be This is a comfortable hotel. It met our needs for our time at Carpinteria. July 17, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Maintenance Needed We had an awful lot of issues here; broken grout in bathroom, sink that drained slowly, sticky bathroom floor, stains on carpet, TV that didn't work, a bug... and a bathroom door that wouldn't unlock from the outside, causing us to get locked out of the bathroom more than once. They couldn't seem to fix the door. It took maintenance quite a while to get to our room after we reported the problem; we were told this was because he was busy with other guests... was the whole place falling apart or what? The manager did refund a small portion of what we paid for the room. I do feel the property is not up to the standard I have experienced at other HIE properties and I do not feel I got my money's worth. Oh yeah, and the toaster didn't work. It was just one thing after another. July 14, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Comfertable bed but foul oder I checked in & went straight to my room, although upon arriving I smelled a oder that smelled like urine. I didn't think much of it so I didn't say anything. The next day we packed up to leave & my son a four year old was playing with his ball in the room & when it went under the bed to grab it he came back with and handed me a dirty diaper. I grabbed it & tossed it in the trash. I sat there & said to myself that was the foul smell. So I called the front desk & they sent the head housekeeper to come & take a look, she did & got the information down & said I would be getting a call from the manager. Well I have never even received that call. I waited a few days & when I planned to stay at the Holiday Inn again I gave her a call & she stated "He never call I am sorry" so I had told her that I planned to stay again & she went a head & have me a discount which was like $30.00. Till this day I never received that call & that $30.00 discount in my opinion was not enough. I suggest the maids actually take the time & make sure to look under the beds. June 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A new place to stay, instead of in Santa Barbara Thank you so much for the best place to stay in the area. The room was large and so comfortable....great beds. Front desk personnel were so helpful with directions, restaurant options, etc. And the breakfast was the best......so much variety and good choices. The women who work in the breakfast area should be commended. They constantly were refilling areas of food and drinks, and the tables were cleaned immediately after someone left. Sorry I did not have time to use the pool, but the workout room was great. I will return again! Kathy June 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasant Surprise Booked two rooms, less than a week before arrival. Thought price was a little high. Surprised to be charged extra for a double Queen as compared to a King. Happily they located our rooms only a few doors apart. Rooms were very clean , comfortable and quiet with unexpected amenities. The beds were clean and comfortable. Very nice entry - landscaping neat and pleasing to the eye. Staff very friendly helpful and curteous - in fact I left a phone charger in the room and they mailed it back to me at no charge. Not the usual MO for hotels these days. Town of Carpenteria and beach very close. Very happy with the stay. Will be back with the rest of the family. June 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stop off for that last run to LAX! Great location for the traveller with vehicle and bags to sort before a long flight! May 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyed It! What an enjoyable town and location. I wish I could have extended my stay however the traffic to commute to Santa Barbara is a gamble so sadly I had to leave Carpinteria. The staff was nice - remember this is laid back beach area so understand it is a different pace and a different generation - chill and relax that is what this location says to me. The restaurants in the town are memorable and the 6 miles I did not the beach walk / run was fantastic. People have commented on the carpet - the rooms were great and seemed extremely clean however the wear and color of the hallways seemed exactly like an open air near the beach carpet would be like - I sleep in the room and mine was excellent. I do not care about the halls carpet as it could be concrete I just drag my luggage across it to my clean room Will stay here again if I ever have the opportunity! May 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 ...wish I was in Carpenteria more often!!!! LOCATION: a quick stroll across the street to the beach for a brisk morning refreshing walk. RESTAURANTS: what a selection of GREAT food establishments all VERY close (within minutes) pizza, chinese, coffee, burgers, subs, thai, cafe (ZOOKERS=WOW). STAFF: friendly & helpful! from the front desk to housekeeping and maintenance, all happy to help and ready to roll. even the FREE breakfast crew was ready to meet our needs! PROPERTY: room was clean and stocked. halls and carpets fresh and maintained. landscape was colorful and sculptured. May 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good service Thank you very much. It is confortable stay at your hotel. May 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Surprisingly Nice I was quite leery of staying at a Holiday Inn Express. I'll admit I can be a bit prissy when it comes to where to stay. And I must say it was a surprisingly nice experience. Clean room with lots of smaller amenities. Great value. A far cry from the holiday inn's from the day's of yore. I would absolutely stay there again. April 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great service overall we had excellent experience, just didn't understand why we should pay extra 20$ for a bed that was already there.... April 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience, comfort and value Multiple things good about this hotel: Close to Santa Barbara and the ocean You don't need a 2 night minimum on weekends Upscale rooms, beds and overall look Such a great place and value near Santa Barbara. Great Staff! April 12, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Unacceptable bathroom fan noise In Room 141 when we turned on the bathroom light the fan made a terrible grating noise. The loudness of this noise was exceeded only by the screeching when the light and fan were turned off. Unacceptable for the price. March 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Location Located just a block from a beautiful walk along the bluff. March 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient and quiet. This was a very comfortable hotel and so easy to get to. I look forward to staying here again. I wish they had some weight equipment at this location. The only exercise equipment was a couple of treadmills. The fridge froze everything I bought at the store (veggies, yogurt, beer). There was no way to turn it down so I unplugged it. I think the Holiday Inn needs to improve on breakfast selection as there is always only an alternate between scrambled eggs and an egg and "cheese" omlette. Also, their coffee leaves much to be desired. February 15, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Worse stay ever... My first couple minutes in the lobby set the tone for the entire trip. During check in, the guy could not find my reservation. After ten minutes of checking files and conferring with the other guy at the desk, he realized I was already checked in. Apparently, the person who checked in a few hours before me had a similar name as mine. Our first names are identical; however, the last names are not close. No big deal. they eventually got it corrected. Breakfast is nothing to cheer about. The is bacon is always burnt and brittle (it is better used for a salad topping). Sausage patties are swimming in a pool of grease in the warming pan. No variety of available fruit. An apple would not hurt. Still not too big of a deal. I do not eat breakfast everyday. This next problem should not have lasted my entire stay without it being addressed. The desk chair in the room was broken. The spring that allows the chair to rise is missing. I'm a fairly tall guy and do like sitting at a desk where my chin is just a couple inche from the table top. Heck, the coffee table top was higher than the broken chair. The morning after checking in, I bought this to the attention of the lady at the front desk. She made a note to have it addressed. I thought it was a simple fix. Swap chairs from a room that is not occupied. A couple days later I made the same request. Again the lady jotted a note. I asked twice more during my stay to have the chair replace with the same results...nothing happened. Not even a reason why they have not taken any action. This is totally unsatisfactory for such a simple problem February 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by TV Problems The biggest problm we had was the TV Service. We had the staff come and try to resolve the problem but they were not able to correct the poblems. The problem was you couldn't turn theTV on/off or adjust the volume from the remote. This meant that you had to get up from bed to make any changes beside channel changes. The cable box worked well but not the TV, even if you selected "TV" on the remote. The comment from the staff was they have had alot of problems with the TV's and they are due for replacement. January 25, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by I can't get a receipt It will be a week tomorrow since we checked out, and I still don't have a receipt due to the Hotel's computer problems and lack of service. That's after my follow-up phone calls and email attempts. The property is a "refreshed" older property that is different than the NEW Holiday Inn Express facilities you may be familiar with around the country. Overall, I'd stay away from this one. January 20, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by not a good experience I have stayed at this hotel many times. The last time I stayed the room smelled really bad. I asked for another room and your staff was happy to help. In the second room I found fleas in the bed. My dogs have never had fleas. They are very spoiled and get every treatment available. I told the front desk and they said they would advise housekeeping. I showed them the several flea bites on my arm, but got no compensation. Even though I stay at your hotel several times a year this last experience has made me think twice about staying there again. January 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Place, Good for Kids Motels in this area are pricey so this was actually reasonable for the area. I try and stay at this chain because they are consistent with what your going to get. Always clean and nice. Plus breakfast which is great if you have kids. I hadn't seen any reviews of this particular Holiday Inn Express so was hoping it was like the others ive been to and it was. January 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Well done! We stayed here New Years Eve, the night before we headed off to the Rose Bowl. The room was clean and comfortable. Shower good. No frills, but that's the way I like it. Breakfast is the usually garb-and-go-stuff, but that's all that was needed. January 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay It's been quite a while since I have enjoyed a stay as much as I did at your property. Everything was near perfect from. Fast professional check in (great desk staff), nice comfortable room, manicured grounds, nice breakfast setup, and even a great pool and jacuzzi. I will be back and stay again. January 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Overall very nice hotel. We booked 3 rooms via the Holiday Inn website for the best rates. Very comfortable , clean rooms even in the pet rooms. Pleasant and helpful staff as well. January 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxing experience and great service. We recommend staying at Holiday Inn Express-Carpenteria. When planning our next visit to Carpenteria, we will be looking forward to making our hotel reservation at this location. November 3, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice property I stayed in the Holiday Inn Express recently due to a family birthday in town. The location is convenient to the beach and local amenities. My room was quiet and clean so I was very happy with my stay. The price is a little high for what you get however; it is very near to SBA and I believe it is the nicest chain hotel in Carpinteria. October 8, 2012
<<prev 2 3
Hotel Lobby
Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Hotel Lobby View from Hotel Front Desk Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Historic Charm in the Heart of Santa Barbara. Entrance Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.