• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
(e.g. Oct-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SANTA BARBARA
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Chinese

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

There is a 2 pet maximun per room.Dogs up to 50 pounds only.Pets must be declared at check in.Pets are allowed in designated rooms only.Pets must never be left unattended.Pets not allowed in food areas.Pets must be on leash when not in room.
Pet deposit amount  39.00  USD  per stay

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:35
  • Car Parking Available
  • Outdoor Parking. Limited Valet Parking.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 12.00  USD)
  • Valet parking fee  ( 12.0 USD )

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2005
  • Total number of rooms:61
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:37
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:24
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:61
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:CA2217

Enjoy Santa Barbara Hotel's Historic Charm

Classic touches of California Spanish Revival add to the historic feel of the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel Santa Barbara. The hotel's historic property, also known as the Hotel Virginia and built in 1917, features Malibu and Catalina tile-work, exposed brick walls and wrought-iron railings, all in a convenient downtown location.

With the hotel's location in Santa Barbara, the sights and sounds of the city are just steps away. Quietly
View More

Enjoy Santa Barbara Hotel's Historic Charm

Classic touches of California Spanish Revival add to the historic feel of the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel Santa Barbara. The hotel's historic property, also known as the Hotel Virginia and built in 1917, features Malibu and Catalina tile-work, exposed brick walls and wrought-iron railings, all in a convenient downtown location.

With the hotel's location in Santa Barbara, the sights and sounds of the city are just steps away. Quietly charming, Santa Barbara boasts stunning Spanish architecture at sites like the Santa Barbara Courthouse. The beach and Stearns Wharf are only a few blocks from the hotel, while the Santa Barbara Zoo is about two miles away. Don't miss a chance to see the Santa Barbara Mission, known as the "Queen of the Missions."

With free Wi-Fi access and a Business Center, corporate travelers find this downtown hotel is the perfect choice. Additionally, guests enjoy easy access to major area employers, such as the County of Santa Barbara, University of California, Lockheed Martin and ExxonMobil.

Modern conveniences merge with historical touches to create a unique feel, and Santa Barbara vacations are made easy with amenities like the daily, free Express Start Breakfast Bar and free access to Spectrum Gym. Room service is available from Mesa Cafe from 11am to 9pm, and the second-level balcony entices guests to relax while enjoying spectacular views of the city. Call us today!

View Less
Features
Besides the hotel's prime location in downtown Santa Barbara, guests enjoy staying at this historic hotel for the many free amenities, including the Express Start Breakfast Bar and fast Wi-Fi access.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.2 out of 5 by 169 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Large clean room with great location The room and bathroom was comfortable, spacious and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. Location was great. Wine reception, supply of free water and wifi access made the stay even nicer. March 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Cozy room and excellent location Great stay. The hotel has a nice design that blends well with the area and it's very clean. Rooms are not large but they are very cozy and the beds are comfy. Noise can be heard from doors being opened and closed but it wasn't too much a bother. The location is amazing, you can easily walk everywhere. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Free parking would be an improvement. March 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, clean hotel, strongly suggested I have been in this hotel since 2007/2008 always the same good level. Always clean! Good value! the staff always effective! March 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient and great place to stay Had a great stay. The beds were super comfortable, which gave a really good night's sleep. The location is very convenient to the shops and restaurants, for it is walking distance. I will definitely stay here again, when in Santa Barbara! February 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Very close to all types of restaurants and shopping. Room is large and quiet. My colleagues stay at 2 other hotels in the area, one had a nicer room but very small and expensive, the other also smaller room and further away. Bed is OK. Noticed a lot of dust under the table when we had to plug in our phone charger. Breakfast is OK, nothing to write home about. Staff is friendly and helpful. February 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Close to great dining Close to great dining and transport. Parking was difficult at times but Valet available. February 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Another great stay Once again, another great stay at the Holiday Inn Express Santa Barbara! I didn't have my favorite room this time, and the room I had was great except for a little noise at night from the activities outside! When I checked out, Kim noticed I did not have my usual room accommodation and right away asked how this room was, which is really above and beyond! Thank you again Kim, Tanner and your staff for the exceptional service! I love coming here and you all are always so nice! February 15, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by good location The location is fine, but the trash t rucks come every day before 7 am and are the loudest trash trucks I have ever heard! There is not enough drawer space in the room. February 8, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff and pleasant experience overall Two issues: There seems to be a dance club on State Street very close to the hotel. We stayed in a room on that side of the building, and we could hear in our room the music coming from the club until very late at night, which was very annoying. Another issue is that we could clearly hear the sound of toilet flushing from our neighbor(s), which, I guess, is expected from an old building. Otherwise, it was a pleasant stay overall. We had a choice to go to a different hotel, but we chose Holiday Inn Express because I always liked their breakfast. January 27, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Nice location with friendly staff I was visiting with friends on a weekend. The staff was friendly and the room is very clean. The location is a big plus! January 16, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Very professional staff We didn't get two queen beds for the first night despite specific request at the time of reservation. There were some serious issues with terrible roller bed and fan noise at night, But we received great service from the front desk. Emmanuel, Tanner and Kim were very friendly and accomodating. January 8, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Review didn't get breakfast the last day because they ran out. offered to make more, but it didn't fit into our schedule. felt breakfast person didn't understand the importance of having enough food for all guests right up until breakfast is over, however, he was quite polite January 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by New Year's Eve This is a small property compared to other Holiday Inn Express. The room is rather small too but was clean and bed comfortable. I like the location since its only one block away from State Street where there is a variety of restaurants, wine shop, retail stores and bar--no need to drive. My family enjoyed our New Year's vacation and will come back and stay. January 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Helpful and Friendly Staff We stayed here for the second time over New Year's. The location is excellent for walking to restaurants and shops. We took the little trolley car when we wanted to go farther down the main street. Our double queen room was spacious: beds very comfortable and my daughter loved the pillow selection. The king room my other daughter stayed in was quite a bit smaller than the one they had two years ago. We faced the street which can be a bit noisy from the bar across the street. The staff was always helpful and friendly; we borrowed beach towels and got bottles of water whenever we asked at the front desk. I asked the maids a few questions and they, too, were very friendly and were able to help out. The last time we were here they gave us good advice about the best beaches to visit. If we visit Santa Barbara again we would definitely stay here; the atmosphere, service and value are great. January 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel Staff The hotel staff at check in and during the entire stay was very friendly and helpful. I will recommend this hotel to others and definitely stay here again. Thank you. January 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Location, Location, Location! The location of this hotel is perfect for walking to the beach and up and down State Street. The walls in the hotel are incredibly thin and you can hear everything the people in the room next to you are doing. It's an old building, and the noise comes with the territory. Staff at the hotel were all friendly and helpful. December 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Old Building The Hotel Virginia is a beautiful old hotel in heart of downtown Santa Barbara. The walls are old brick which adds to the ambiance. Beds are very comfortable and the room was clean and quiet. I will stay again. December 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place great location! We love this hotel and it seems to be a popular place too :-) love the room and closeness to downtown State Street. Will come again :-) December 25, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by This hotel really needs help I am a frequent traveler and have stayed at many IHG properties. I am almost always very satisfied with the experience. Unfortunately I have to stay at this Holiday Inn Express in Santa Barbara quite frequently and I continue to be incredibly disappointed. On my last stay (December 16 and 17, 2013) here are the three major issues: 1) After taking off my shoes I felt a sharp pain in my foot. When I checked, I discovered someone else's large toe nail was wedged into the bottom of my sock/foot. Yeah, that was a pretty gross experience. 2) Empty tissue box when I checked in and when I returned the next day. I had to ask the front desk for Kleenex. 3) Room was on the Haley Street side...very noisy. The windows are horrible...very leaky. If anyone is on the street talking, it sounds like they're in you're room. I absolutely hate those rooms. In the past I've had all kinds of other problems: a) The AC compressors have drain pipes that literally drip from the ceiling into the sink. I'm not kidding -- I've never seen anything like this. b) The cheap college dorm refrigerators are loud and noisy c) The internet usually doesn't work d) The pancake machine was out of service e) Etc.... This hotel really needs a change in management and some serious renovations. December 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by recent stay I was very pleased with the overall quality, amenities, location, and good service at this hotel. There were many to choose from, but I would definitely return here again. December 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good for tourist It's on the state street, so it's very convenience to shop around there. The staffs are care a lot for the customers. Parking is $12 per night but I can still park there after checking out. Deffinitely recommend this hotel. December 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing Place Above all the Staff are knowledgeable about the area and friendly. Willing to assist with restaurants, tours, shopping. Rooms are extremely comfortable. I have stayed here 3 times over the past year Each time I found the experience amazing. December 4, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Centrally located but too noisy I stayed over the weekend at this hotel. It is centrally located and right in the heart of downtown. The room I got was right next to the main road and there was too much noise from outside as well as from the room above us. I could not sleep for quite sometime because of the noise. I will consider some other place next time. December 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Go for the location, stay for breakfast This is a charming older building with lots of Santa Barbara charm. The location is excellent for strolling downtown and don't miss the second floor patio, great spot for your morning coffee. The complimentary breakfast was great, eggs, bacon, pancakes, plus the usual continental type items, generous in my opinion. Double bed room was suitable for our family of four although the beds were like sleeping on a trampoline, very bouncy if your partner moved you did too. The staff was mostly friendly, although at 9pm at night and 6 months pregnant I would have thought one of the young men behind the counter would have helped me with the luggage cart. The next day I noticed another couple having to unload their luggage at the curb themselves too. November 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff The staff is very friendly and personable. They are very helpful with any questions about the local area. November 20, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Front desk transferred scammer to room Hotel was of average quality. I was very concerned to receive a call one night on the room phone. The man said he was calling from the front desk. He said the computers had crashed and he needed to manually re enter our info. He then asked for my credit card number that I payed with. I told him I was not comfortable with that and I would go down to the front desk and give my info. He said there was a long wait at the front desk and we could take of it over the phone. I again declined to do so. When I went down to the front desk I talked to the manager and he informed me I had avoided a scam as nobody from the hotel had called. He also informed me he was the one who transferred the caller to our room. He said he was very busy and thought they had asked for me by name. They did not know my name just that I was a guest. Left me with a bad and unsafe feeling. November 17, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Way too Pricey We went with a group so had to stay there. They got their rooms for over $100 less than we did! This was very disappointing! When we looked at the Santa Barbara Inn, the prices were much better! Also, the parking lot is very small and they continued to move our car. We came back from a walk and our car was sitting out front and running!!!! Rooms are great and I loved the brick. The balcony outside is very nice to sit and relax with a drink. November 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Not a bad hotel We just had a weekend getaway and stayed in the hotel for couple nights. Overall it was not bad. Everything was pretty good except our room was located on the ground floor. we kept waking up due to the noise the passerbys and cars were making. I assume the hotel didn't have some sort of noise-cancelling windows installed. Other than that everything else was pretty good. The staff was very professional and helpful. November 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hop, Skip and a Jump. I have been coming to this hotel for the past five years, and I will continue to come back, for I just love the location. It is within just a minute of state street, and only a ten minute walk to the pier. When my sister/friend come, we can shop awhile, come back to the hotel, rest awhile, and then start all over again. Our room was particularly good this year, for it seemed larger. Also, I think you have just finished painting, for everything looked particularly clean and bright. We had lots and lots of towels and light. One thing I would like to suggest is some kind of mat for inside the bath tub. I am always a little wary of getting into a tub without one of these, although I appreciate the hand hold at the side of the tub. The breakfast you offer is particularly good, seeming to get better every year,for there were plenty of choices and a wonderful young man making sure everything was kept clean and tidy. Oh! I just hate the plastic cards that open the doors. Ours never seemed to work, and we had to have help several times. Overall, however, the experience was just as good as we have been used to. Keep up the good work. November 11, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed Any room on the street side is to noisy, the older style windows do not help much with the noise. Could not close the drapes, a very bright morning. November 7, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 next>>
Hotel Lobby
Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Hotel Lobby Historic Charm in the Heart of Santa Barbara. Entrance Hotel Exterior View from Hotel Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Front Desk Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Seniors over 62, enyoy our discounted rate
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-22-2014)
Check Availability
Loading