Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-23-2014)
(e.g. Sep-24-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 216 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff; high weekend rates; lousy bacon! I enjoyed my 3-night stay. Front-desk staff and room cleaners were outstanding. However, the room rate was going to more than double Friday night, so I did not stay longer. There were plenty of room available Friday, but more than doubling the rate (in the fall, not the summer tourist season) was too much. Also, the bacon was under cooked and slimy both days that it was offered for breakfast. October 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We enjoyed our stay This hotel was very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Before we arrived, I thought the room was on the pricier side compared to hotels in Monterey but I think it was reasonably priced for the area considering the location, the underground parking, and complimentary breakfast. We wish the pool towels were a little bigger, they were just slightly larger than a hand towel and definitely smaller than our room's bath towels. We also got one of the suites which we found to be very spacious and thought the refrigerator and microwave were very convenient. It seems that the suite was designed to have a partition between the beds and the pull-out sofa but there was not physical divider between them. Overall it is a very nice hotel and we would stay there again if we were visiting Santa Cruz. October 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly, professional service and very relaxing This was our third stay at the Santa Cruz HIE -- this time for a college visit. Each visit has been very comfortable, clean, relaxing, easy and convenient. The staff, in particular, deserves kudos for always being very friendly, welcoming, and helpful. If our daughter attends UCSC, we will be regulars! October 23, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Unreliable service This Inn is in a dubious part of town, and nowhere within walking distance to get anything good to eat unless you want McDonalds or Dennys ( where we waited 45 mins to get food). There was no complimentary water in the room, which we have had at every other Holiday Inn we have been to. When we went for breakfast, at 9am , there was no hot food and nowhere to sit except a dirty table outside on a very cold morning. BUT, our biggest complaint was not receiving the wake up call we requested the night before. As we needed to be in Santa Rosa at a particular time, this caused us to have a very stressful trip. If we had needed to catch a plane we would've missed it. I left my email address for someone to contact me with an explanation, but four days later I haven't heard from them. NOT IMPRESSED. There was also a problem with my IHG rewards number, which they promised to sort out and let me know what had happened - again, not a word from them regarding this. October 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Sleep Quality The mattress was thin and hard. When I called the front desk the gentlemen offered to bring a pad which helped somewhat. The pillows were good. The shower head is different then any other Holiday Inn that I have stayed in. I thought the renevation were to be consistent throughout all the hotels, however the shower spray was a light misty spray and it was difficult to get the shampoo out of my hair. The staff was professional, courteous and very helpful. October 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel in edgy location This HI Express is sparkling and new looking inside, and staff were very helpful and friendly. Garage was adequate, but needed security at the entry, as the surrounding neighborhood was not nice. There was a great deal of police activity just outside the hotel, October 14, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Very Uncomfortable Very Uncomfortable, I will never stay at this hotel again. Upon a long drive, we had to wait for the 3pm check in time despite our rooms being ready as the State of California did not pay for an early check-in. After checking in on the very first day the stench of pot was overwhelming in my hallway to the point I received an enduring headache. The bed was very hard and uncomfortable, as was the chair. Luckily there were enough pillows for me to fashion my own makeshift bed to sleep on. The hotel is noisy, from hallway noise to next room noise it was not enjoyable. The breakfast was ok, when there was gravy to go with the biscuits, but that was apparently a rare specialty. The floor in the bathroom seemed to be stained and rather dirty. No recognoition was given for beinga Rewards Club Member. September 30, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Room was clean. We were given 2 complimentary waters. everything was great except the entry light didn't work, the overhead bathroom light didn't work & we couldn't get the heat to work. Those are all important. But otherwise the hotel was fine. Price was reasonable, desk clerks were great. September 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Spacious Bedroom, comfortable bed and fabulous breakfasts. We were in Santa Cruz to visit the Boardwalk and found the hotel located further from the Boardwalk (2 miles) than I thought. However, the hotel was convenient for the PCH and Highway 17 so Proa and Cons for Location balanced itself. What impressed us most was the variety, quality and facilities on offer for breakfast, the best we found on our 3-week road trip vacation around California. Our room (234) was good -- nice, clean & spacious, with comfortable beds and good showers in the bathroom. The pool and gym facilities looked good too, but we couldn't get time to use them. Overall, good value and well worth a visit again when next in the area. September 30, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by loud climate control Overall a very nice hotel. Sadly the climate control van of the hotel was very loud during the evenings and nights, when having a room at the first floor. Rest of the room a bit dark, bathroom was really okay although the flush of the toilet a bit harsh. Sadly the breakfast was a bit poorly. Although staff was helpful enough when something wasn't there. We had a pleasant stay but it didn't result in a good due to the van during the nights. September 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Customer Service Thank you for the enjoyable couple of nights we spent in Santa Cruz. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms and facility were clean and comfortable. We had a room by the pool and did wake up to noise in the middle of the night but not bad enough to complain. September 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service My stay was comfortable and pleasant. All the staff are friendly and attentive to all my needs each time I stay. September 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and convenient location. Our stay was comfortable and pleasant. All the staff were friendly and attentive to all our needs. In terms of location, it was close to the highway which made it easy to visit other places like San Jose and San Francisco. My only complaint would be the parking. It was on the small side, so we had to double park on our first night. September 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great place to stay Unable to change the neighborhood environment, the rooms made up for the lack of ambiance. September 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient Convenient location, comfortable room, quiet and the pool was just the right temperature. September 23, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Stay only if no choice I had to work nearby and possibly needed to stay overnight. Not knowing wether I would be able to check out on time the next day, I actually booked and expected to pay for two nights. I did this about a year ago at the same hotel with no issues. This time, on the evening of the second day when I called to request to checkout early in addition to paying for two nights at the hotel I was told I would be charged an "early checkout fee " of $25. Flabbergasted, I asked why and got a response of "I am not going to argue with you." I have absolutely no clue why checking out earlier than expected even why fully expecting to pay for all nights reserved isn't greeted with exuberance by the hotel. Do they have some sort of problem with Escorts? Can't think of any other reason for their foolishness. About the hotel in general, it takes forever to check in one person due to all if the required things the front desk clerk must say. They have to act as tour guide; pray you don't get someone in front of you who wants to explore to town. There are no movies on demand, just lame HBO. It's like an '80's throwback where you have to hope to turn on the TV when your desired show starts. The free underground garage is poorly designed and smells like a men's bathroom. The elevator room looks like you are in the projects. Upstairs is better but when you exit the elevator grab your coat, the hallways are cooled to frigid. The room is cute enough (for a Holiday Inn), the bed has no horrible bedspread. Weird the the bathroom was humid like someone had just showered in it. Wonder if fan working correctly. September 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great front desk staff Katrina and the rest of the front desk staff were wonderful! September 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good service, nice hotel stay Yolanda the reception personnel was very helpful in advise on what to do in the city. The breakfast was pretty good with the given selection of hot and cold offerings. September 8, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by stinky sheets everything looked clean, but when I entered my suite the sheets smelled like they have not been washed . The staff was friendly and understanding, but at times inpatient. I wished I had more information on restaurants near by or maybe some room service. September 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Staff and Service. Some noise in Suites. Everyone we interacted with was friendly and competent! The suites are all in the front of the building, with the most road nose, and 5AM garbage truck pick up. Despite that, I'd recommend. JG September 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great Mtn biking great mtn biking in the area. hotel is very new and Chris and Joe at the front desk were great resources. September 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Could have better TV channel selection Very few TV channels. Thankfully MSNBC and CNBC, but very few other useful channels. August 31, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by garbage pickup at 5am Woke to the sound of smashing glass just outside my window. Apparently the hotel is aware of the tuesday morning schedule next door but can't do anything about it. Some warning would have been nice. August 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by This is a very nice hotel in a very nice town! This is a very nice hotel in a very nice town. We enjoyed our brief stay in Santa Cruz, the boardwalk in the morning is fun, the Roaring Camp train is fun and the Redwoods are spectacular. The restaurants are very good, we had a lot of fun at the Santa Cruz Diner, and appreciate the managers recommendations. August 24, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by No Recognition and Low Service As a Platinum member of the Priority Club, I stay in many Holiday Inn Express locations around the U.S. - This was the worst experience I have had with any location!! No Upgrade, okay, I understand that but the room was really poorly maintained. The maid service didn't even empty the wastepaper basket when the room was serviced!! In addition, I am an insulin dependent diabetic. I have NEVER been at a Hotel this size who did not have portable refrigerators available. I was told this location only has one (1)!!! Most places who do not have portable refrigerators, have offered an alternative but even when I asked to have the Manager call me, I never heard from anyone past the clerk at the front desk who took the message and told me there were no refrigerators. If your a frequent traveler, my advice is to stay away from this Hotel!! August 22, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Bring tv for the kids... We have three young boys, and we really needed a couple of family/cartoon tv channels to help us all relax a little bit in the room. There were no family channels (disney, nick, cartoon network, etc.). They were all adult content channels. I guess we watched less tv, but it is nice to be able to unpack and relax a little while the parents need to organize and re-group. August 22, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice facility Hotel would be wise to have some rooms withe two queen beds or two double beds. Site needs a Jacuzzi. Pool was average. August 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Spacious room at a great value Excellent room! Our family of 5 had the most space during our west coast road trip! Clean and delicious breakfast. The only negative comment is that there is a severe lack of parking!!! August 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience This was our first time staying at a holiday inn and it was great! We will continue to choose holiday inn as our first choice hotel. Only thing i could complain about was parking was tight but there were plenty of spaces available and free too! We loved the room it was clean and the bathroom was so beautiful! It was modern and maid service accommodated us to the full extent! This was the perfect hotel for what we were looking for! We loved it!!! August 19, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Probably the best on Ocean St. We are really glad we chose this hotel after driving around town and seeing the other options that we passed on. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was better than we expected and the staff worked very hard to make sure that food was fresh and plentiful. Our boys loved the pool which was heated to a very comfortable temperature. Our rooms had a nice high ceiling which helped make the room comfortable. A few issues should be addressed by the hotel, however. Our AC unit would not allow us to have the fan running constantly and, as a result, turned on and off all through the night waking us up. This made for some difficult sleeping. Also, having kids with us we were hoping that there would be some kid channels on the TV for them to watch as we wound down to bedtime. There were not. Overall, we were very happy that we stayed at this hotel, especially after seeing the others around town. These issues are minor and wouldn't keep us from staying there again but should be addresses if HIE wants to get the best ratings. August 19, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 next>>