• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: MOBILE
  • Distance From Hotel: 15.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

We do not allow pets. We do allow Guide Dogs.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
USS Alabama Battleship Park
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Imax Dome Theater
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Mobile Historic District
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI
Attraction:
Mardi Gras Museum
Distance From Hotel:0.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Can accomodate motorcoach and RVs.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Total number of rooms:103
  • Total number of suites:20
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:41
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:62
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:103
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
Mobile, Alabama hotel offers comfort and convenience.

Come and relax at our Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Mobile - Saraland near Mobile, Alabama. Our hotel is in the perfect location to reach all the major cities along the Gulf Coast.

Families looking for lodging near Mobile, AL will love staying at our new hotel, located just off I-65 in Saraland. Our hotel is convenient to numerous local attractions, including the Mobile Historic District, Hank Aaron Stadium, the
View More

Mobile, Alabama hotel offers comfort and convenience.

Come and relax at our Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Mobile - Saraland near Mobile, Alabama. Our hotel is in the perfect location to reach all the major cities along the Gulf Coast.

Families looking for lodging near Mobile, AL will love staying at our new hotel, located just off I-65 in Saraland. Our hotel is convenient to numerous local attractions, including the Mobile Historic District, Hank Aaron Stadium, the IMAX Dome Theatre and the Battleship USS Alabama. Other nearby attractions include the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail, Bienville Square and shopping at the Colonial Mall Bel Air.

Business travelers will be impressed by the comfort of our Mobile, Alabama accommodations. Situated in the suburban area of Saraland, our Alabama hotel offers you easy access to local companies, such as Shell Chemicals, Alabama Power, ThyssenKrupp and Martin Marietta. In addition, we provide a Business Center with a fax machine, copier, printer, a public computer and free high-speed Internet access, so you can stay in touch while you're on the road.

When you stay with us, you can enjoy our Mobile hotel's amenities, including a heated, outdoor pool with a whirlpool, a 24-hour fitness center and the complimentary hot breakfast bar. Book your reservation now to take advantage of our Mobile, Alabama hotel's great deals and rates.

View Less
Features
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in Mobile - Saraland is a new hotel offering you premium amenities, which include free high-speed Internet access so you can stay connected while in Mobile.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 76 reviewers.
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by 3 weeks business stay Requested a room on first floor two weeks in advance and was not able to get it. Parking lot way too small for number of rooms. Had parking issues almost every day. Hotel had nice outdoor area and pool area. But, not one of the several gas heaters were working. Outdoor fireplace did not work. Average night lows were in the 40s. The pantry was regularly out of reg flavor cream for the free coffee. And while most of the staff were polite and cheery, there was one lady (I think she worked day shift) that really had no business at front desk. Regularly rude and unpleasant. For example, she scolded me one evening for using the female restroom in the lobby. The lobby restrooms are a single toilet restroom with a locking door. Really no difference from men's to women's. With a really slow elevator to get to the room, and the men's room locked, I think this lady would rathered me go in my pants in the lobby than use the lady's room, and found it appropriate to call it out to me in front of other guests and coworkers. Actually considered checking out and finding another hotel. April 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wow! Couldn't have been better! The hotel surpassed our expectations! Front desk service was impeccable. The room was spacious and clean! Location for Mardi Gras was perfect. Both Lorenzo and Chad were exceptional! Highly recommend!! March 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful, helpful staff during Mardi Gras We stayed during the last 2 days of Mardi Gras. Everyone we encountered was very helpful and friendly. We had a parking situation that Lorenzo handled professionally. We enjoyed our stay and will return!! March 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by General We had a good stay. Good value for the time of year. Good location and easy accessibility. Recommending adding a few more serving items in the suites. We had a few guests over and had to purchase paper/plastic ware or take turns eating. March 7, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay for the Mardi Gras parades The Staff and room were fantastic. I always enjoy staying at this hotel. The only complaint that I had for this trip was the TV reception. We kept losing the reception during the couple of days we stayed. Not typical of past stays though so hopefully this will be fixed. February 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by What a GREAT place to stay... My husband and I have stayed here twice in the last 6 months, once for a wedding, and once with our 3 young children for Mardi Gras. Each stay was just immaculate. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and I slept better here than I do at home both visits--and we have a newer, double pillow-top mattress at home! The location of the hotel is perfectly convenient to the local attractions without being too close the to cluttered/chaotic parts of downtown. Although there is a reserved parking lot for the hotel guests, the only suggestion that I would make is for there to be more parking or a parking deck; there didn't appear to be enough parking to accommodate all the guests when we were in town for Mardi Gras. This wasn't an issue for us at all since there were other nearby places to park, but I wanted to give an honest review by mentioning it. The Cupboard is such a great and useful idea, that I immediately think of it when I'm searching for a hotel. It came in handy several times, especially when we brought the kids to stay. The movie rentals are a nice perk, and the staff was unbelievably kind each time we called on them. We really enjoy staying here, and we've been meaning to try some of the big, prestigious, skyscraper hotels in the area when we're in town, but we simply can't resists how pleased we've been with staying at this Candlewood. I highly recommend it to anyone looking for somewhere simply cozy and affordable in the area. February 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great service I would explicitly like to mention great customer service by Chad during my stay at candlewood suits in mobile, Alabama. He was very helpful in providing information about the city and taking care of specific room requirements. Thanks Chad. February 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best kept secret in Mobile. Oh WOW!!!! We loved our stay. The staff went all out. By far the best hotel in the downtown district. February 12, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Need new management and sales team Request for information from the sales person went unanswered. General Manager was not helpful and has been difficult to deal with and rude. She and has run off all of the people that worked at the Candlewood in Mobile that were helpful and nice to customers. General Manager and Sales Person should be replaced if you expect to keep your customers. I am not going to recommend your hotel any longer and will encourage everyone I know to stay in other hotels, if they continue to operate that hotel. The owner should be made aware of the problems there. January 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Weekend Get Away place For the GoDaddy Bowl Parade We live in this county, but we decided to get a room downtown and enjoy all of the festivities for the GoDaddy Bowl Parade without having to worry about driving. The room was nice. Staff was courteous and helpful. Our only complaint was we went to bed exhausted and did not stop to think to check the alarm clock. It went off at 4:13 a.m. Also, the alarm clock in the room next door to us went off five minutes later. We realized that to make the 6:00 a.m. flight out of Mobile, you would have to leave that early, but I recommend that Housekeeping Staff check alarm clocks to be turned off for the weekends. Guests checking in on Friday night may not remember either. Thanks! January 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff Staff made our visit complete; we wanted to stay downtown for the New Years Eve Celebration. January 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Warm and safe environment Wonderful and friendly staff. Very clean and well lit location. We were even impressed by the fact that you could not access the elevator without a keycard. Our first impression upon arriving was "warm and safe environment". If ever traveling through Mobile again, we would definitely stay here without hesitation. We had difficulty finding the hotel from the front side of it. We found it by accident from the back side because we were making the block to look for it. But the staff acknowledged that they are aware that GPS and maps don't tell people to drive around to the back.....that it is hard to notice them from the front side. They were very apologetic for this. January 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by A comfortable stay... Overall Good experience at this hotel. Room location not too good next to elevator. The nights I was there, there were some rowdy youngster running around the halls and having loud conversations while riding the elevator.... so my sleep was interrupted both nights I was at hotel. Still I understand this can not always be helped by the staff and certain situations may occur. I did not call the front desk or mention it the following day, but next time I will. I am due to be back at this location in April and will plan at staying at the same hotel due to overall experience, friendliness of staff and convenience to my destination. November 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Loved this hotel!! My family and I decided to take a quick family trip for one night to explore the USS Alabama. I chose Candlewood because it seemed to have the best cutomer reviews and I was able to use some of my reward points. I can't say enough good things about this place. Great customer service especially Cat who was working the front desk when we checked in. She was funny, friendly, and helpful especially when our tv cable was fuzzy. Her tip worked and our tv worked fine for the rest of the night. When it was time for dinner, she gave us some suggestions on some restaurants in the downtown area. We chose Moe's and ate some delicious bbq!! The room was spacious and clean. It had a full size fridge and dishwasher. The cabinets were fully stocked with dishes and accessories. Too bad we weren't staying longer. One more thing, we ate a delicious breakfast before we left at the Royal Street Cafe which was right across the street. Great food and service there too!! I highly recommend this hotel!! October 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Absolutely Fabulous I have nothing but nice things to say about this property. The building and all the rooms appear and even smell to be brand new. Everything is kept immaculate, the lobby is nice, and the seating area outside the lobby around the pool is a wonderful area to unwind. Well worth the money, even if you are only staying one night and not an extended stay. August 26, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay during a difficult time Unfortunately, I was in Mobile due to a death in my family. Staying at the Candlewood Suites Downtown was a pleasant surprise! The hotel was immaculate, the staff was kind and the rooms were nice. The staff was amazingly friendly and accommodating. I arrived a day early and they took care of us with no problems. Thanks for making a difficult time a lot easier! August 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Staff The nicest folks I've ever seen at a hotel. Thank you! August 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location, Great Value The Candlewood Suites, Mobile provides a very comfortable space for a good price. I thoroughly enjoyed my room and the amenities provided therein. The staff is very nice and helpful as well. My one complaint is that the workout facility is both outdated and in bad shape. Most of the equipment (which was limited) was not working, so that was a bit of a problem as I put an emphasis on working out while traveling. But, in general, a good spot, all-in-all. August 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The Best At the time of this review the hotel rates a 4.9 so it is hard to improve on that. The high grade is well deserved as I found out at first on a business trip and now as a guest with my family on multiple occasions. My wife and I are particularly impressed with how clean and fresh the property is, It is soo nice. I look forward to throwing a couple steaks on the grill and enjoying them by the pool side when we have a little more time. IHG should use this hotel as an example of how to do things!!! Thank you, we look forward to coming back. July 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A GREAT PLACE TO STAY! I would strongly recommend Candlewood Suites to anyone who is visiting Downtown Mobile and desire hotel accomodations downtown.. The suite was very clean and spacious. Candlewood Suites is a great hotel for any family vacation and business trip. The staff was professional and amenties were superior and I will surely stay again. July 24, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Customer Service My family and I stayed there on our way to and from Orlando, FL. Our first stay was fine. But on our return stay, our requested room type was changed by the staff. I would think I should have at least received a call to see if that would be okay. The room type they switched us to was not able to accommodate comfortably, 2 adults and 2 children. I wanted 2 queen beds and was given 1 king and a sleeper sofa. When I requested the room I reserved, the front desk person gave me a hard time and said it was my fault I had my room switched because of my priority club preferences (in so many words). Once a mistake is identified, you should acknowledge it and attempt to correct it if you can. That is good customer service. June 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by CANDLEWOOD WONDERFUL STAY, ROOM CLEAN AND READY AT CHECKIN. GREAT STAFF, VERY HELPFUL WITH OUR QUESTIONS. MANY AMENITIES THAT MADE FOR A VERY COMFORTABLE STATE. HOME AWAY FROM HOME. I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO EVERYONE. May 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Highly recommended! Our 3-night visit was our first to Mobile, AL, and the downtown area was such a pleasant surprise! The downtown has many wonderful, quaint areas, and Candlewood Suites is right in the middle of it all. We redeemed reward points, so of course the value was excellent! The first night was in not quite as comfortable of a room and bed, but the staff was able to upgrade us for the last 2, and everything was fantastic! They made us feel like the most important guests they had, and kept checking with us to make sure we were completely satisfied. There was also a customer appreciation "Fiesta Night" on our last evening there, with a wonderful dinner provided by a local eatery. The food was awesome, and it was so nice to sit outside in the courtyard area with other guests and just enjoy the food, evening, and socialization. The owner of the hotel was also there, and mingled with everyone, always making sure everyone was enjoying their stay. The entire staff, management and owner are some of the best we've ever encountered! Would very highly recommend! May 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by If You're In Downtown Mobile, Stay Here I stayed here for six weeks and when I go back to Mobile, I am definitely going to stay there again. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The staff was friendly and accommodating. And, unlike most other hotels in the downtown area, the parking was free. April 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by I'LL be Back Travelling from Australia I have stayed in a few different hotels within the Mobile area over the past 6 years and have found Candlewood Suites by far the best. The staff is very friendly and helpful with a great sense of humour. Outdoor facilities are great for winter or summer having BBQ’s, fire pit, heaters and a pool. Location is a 3 minute walk from downtown where you will find a number of places to eat and drink. Rooms are comfortable and well furnished, cleaning staff do an excellent job. You will always have a fantastic stay due to the staff and guests being so friendly. The photo is of a spread that some quests got together and put on. I’ll be back. March 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by My stay at Mobile I love this hotel period!!! The staff is amazing, the rooms are clean and organized. It is walking distance to anything and everything a person could need on a stay in Mobile. I will never stay in any other hotel but this one on my trips to Mobile. March 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay I rarely write reviews, but was so happy with my stay at the Candlewood in Mobile that I felt I had to. My husband and I stayed here for approx 6 weeks and we were lucky enough to be there over Mardi Gras. The location is perfect, all of the staff are incredibly helpful and super friendly. We also have a dog and he was made welcome too. There are parks and many grass areas close by for walking. I hope that we get to go back soon. March 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Mardi Gras everythingwas great we really had a very good time. Was the first time ever going to a mardi gras. will book again next year at the same place. March 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Will definitely come back! Great location, great price, nice rooms, comfy beds. January 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great people and beautiful property We were only here overnight. However, we were very taken by the friendliness of the staff. They greeted us with a smile and answered all our questions and gave us directions and ideas for places to go. The room was well furnished and clean. We would definitely stay here again. January 17, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Awards

Quality Excellence Award Winner

Quality Excellence Award


Second only to the Torchbearer Awards, The Quality Excellence Awards are created to honor hotels who have maintained high standards in product quality, hotel operation and customer satisfaction as measured by our guests

Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-21-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-22-2014)
Check Availability
Loading