Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-23-2014)
(e.g. Jul-24-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 125 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable Stay Stayed for 6 nights, staff very friendly and helpful. My only disappointment was I requested a river view room and was given a room facing the back. One suggestion I have, not everybody are early risers, would like to see the breakfast open longer say to 10:30. July 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by No complaints We were welcomed graciously, given our room immediately along with a great dinner recommendation, The usual breakfast -enough to get you on your way. Can't always say the guests are as gracious as the staff. July 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Wonderful place to stop over when traveling between Upper and Lower peninsula. Comfortable beds and warm breakfast! June 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Family Friendly We had a great experience, they accommodated my stay with my dogs perfect. June 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good review The only thing I didn't like was the location. I expected it to on the river near the Soo Locks and it wasn't. Otherwise, good stay. June 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Best in the area I work for LSSU, but off campus. When I'm in town, I always try to stay at the Holiday Inn Express. Better rates than other hotels in the area, and closer to campus and downtown SSM than others. The biggest problem I have ever encountered at this Holiday Inn Ex has been the high pitched squeal coming from the showers if you adjust them after it's already on. Other than that, stay here and you will not be disappointed. If you are disappointed, maybe it's you. June 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by room comfort when traveling i always look for a holiday inn express near my destination. I love the comfort of the bed and pillows and my room is always clean! May 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by overall I travel for work and regularly stay at your Holiday Inn express. The staff is always friendly and courteous. Room is comfortable and I would definitely recommend to others. April 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Night away from the kids My hubby and I decided to stay here for a night just to have a night away from the kids. We originally booked a king room with our Platinum priority club points. The staff were very friendly and upgraded our room to whirlpool. There where problems with the whirlpool and they immediately fixed the situation by upgrading us to a suite. We enjoyed the stay and customer service so much that we returned two weeks later and went straight for the suite, we paid for our room the second time, however the staff still made sure to acknowledge and thank us for being platinum members. April 9, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average at Best I have been staying at this particular hotel for the past 10 years and I stay about 20 nights per year. I am required to stay here because of company policy and rules. I was really disappointed with my stays this year. There were many things wrong with my rooms, things like not clean, broken shower curtain rods, heat was not controlable etc.... these are all things that could be and should be addressed by the maintenance staff and house cleaning staff before the room is even released for rent. The rooms are outdated, the bedding, including the mattresses are old and you just get the appreance of a older hotel. This particular property is located in an area where they recieve alot of snow and I know they run out of places to shovel the snow to. This year the issue was they would shovel the snow off the side walk, but shovel it between the cars, so you had to walk in the piles of snow to get to your vehicles. I would rather walk in the snow on the walk way then walk in piles between the cars. I will continue to stay at this property because I am required to, but I have stayed at other properties near by and they are not experiencing these issues. March 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always a solid choice I've been staying at this particular Holiday Inn Express for years for weeks at a time for company business. During all that time I've not once had an issue with the room, staff, or food. Also conveniently located next to I-75 for quick access on or off the freeway. Exercise room and hot tub are nice additions. February 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff! We stay at this Holiday Inn Express often and have enjoyed the warm atmosphere and friendliness of the staff. February 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great... during the week Sault Ste Marie isnt necessarily the posterchild for hospitality, but so far, I think this HIE is quite acceptable for any area. Always plenty of food in the morning, and the rooms are well appointed. Only had one issue so far with no hot water one morning...Not a very pleasant experience. Also, I think when the hotel is full, the wireless service is pretty poor. The manager should really consider improving this as many of the guests need the feature working well as part of their jobs. During the week is the best time to stay. Most guests are single occupancy business travelers who make little noise and leave early in the morning. However, avoid weeekends. There is a pool, and every time I have been forced to stay on a Friday night, I have found the place is inundated with kids making lots of noise. Very annoying. In addition, there tend to be, well...(insert noun here) on snowmobiles showing up on the weekends. You know, the kind who love their cans of bud light and like to open up their room doors to party in the halls? Happened twice to me so far. I had to "inform" the guests that not everyone staying there is interested in raging til the wee hours. Nothing to do with the hotel though. So in the end, I enjoy this hotel during the week. The staff is very kind and willing to accomodate me no matter what the question. It's the weekend clientelle that can sometimes be a real frustrating experience. I travel roughly 4 months out of the year. February 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Winter Rules I have stayed here on many occasions over the past year or so. Every time is just as good as the last, very nice & would recommend staying here to anyone. Thanks! February 6, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Slow WiFi Ruins A Good Experience! The only negative thing I experienced during my stay was exceptionally slow WiFi. I was there for business, and this made it very difficult to work. It's a shame because other than that, my stay was great - a great property, great staff, good breakfast, and a clean and comfortable room. I can't stay again, though, because I have to be in a place where I can efficiently get my work done! January 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by easy to get to and quiet every thing was very good except for the stations choices of channels on the TV , there was not very good coverage of sports stations, like espn,golf channel, hunting shows. For as much as you charge for the rooms you could upgrade the coverage. January 2, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Staff was friendly, but room was not clean I travel on a weekly basis for work so I am definitely used to staying in hotels, some very nice, some average. I am familier with Holiday Inn Expresses and consider them average but comfortable. Unfortunately, with this particular stay, my room was not clean upon first walking in. There was large old urine spots on the toilet seat along with tiny brown specs. There was also a smooshed dead spider on the bathroom floor. Ew! I immediately cleaned it off but now wish I would have brought in management to see it for themselves. Then the next day I came back from work to find a tissue on the floor, my fast food trash still laying out, and the bathroom still had water spots left on the counter. I mean, come on. At that point, I didn't know whether or not my bed sheets were clean. Needless to say, the stay wasn't great. I told the woman at the front desk of my complaint and she simply asked for my name and room #. She didn't even apologize and I never heard anything else about it. I expect more from Holiday Inn. I won't be staying there again. December 19, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very good stay! Everything very clean and comfortable Visiting family in town. enjoyed the great breakfast and pancakes YUM!!! Took our grand daughter to the pool to swim - she loved it. Our room very clean with a refrigator, microwave, tub, comfortable king bed. We will stay again. December 14, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Nice warm, clean, enjoyable room. Great food for breakfast and good newspaper to read. Thanks. December 10, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A great place to stay! We stayed for over a week...the room was comfortable and the staff was friendly and helpful. The pool/hot tub was clean and was open hours that made it available for relaxing when we needed it. The breakfast was great!! They change it a little each day so on an extended visit like ours you don't have to eat the same thing every day. Comparable to having a restaurant breakfast...eggs, sausage or bacon, biscuits and gravy, fruit, waffles and a variety of yogurt and cold cereals. The in-room Wi-Fi worked perfectly with a strong signal and there was also available wired in-room internet. November 30, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible Bed. We have stayed at this Holiday Inn in the past and enjoyed ourselves. This time we barely slept a wink all night because the mattress was terrible. When we laid on it we both rolled to the center of the bed and it also squeaked when we sat on the side of the bed. It is the worst stay we have had in a hotel... November 28, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent experience The Hotel was very clean and relaxing. The staff was super polite and very eager to help. We had a very good time visiting Grandkids. The pool could have been a little warmer and the Jacuzzi a little coller for us older folks but was comfortable. My wife could not get into the pool beacuse it was too cold for her circulation problems. The rooms were very clean and the Breakfast was very good and hot on a cold day. November 28, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room and great staff This was a very enjoyable experience for my wife and I. I was impressed with all the staff, even the housekeepers when out their way to acknowledge us. I wish that I had gotten their names to share with you. October 24, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Location and Great Service I have traveled as a district Manager and stayed at this hotel previously. It was very nice. My job changed and I have not been here in several years. Since then, it has newly remodeled rooms, new very comfortable matresses, flat screen TVs, wireless internet, refrigerator in our room plus great amenities such as pool, whirlpool, great breakfast with many choices and excellent service. I highly recommend the Holiday Inn Express Sault St Marie. October 12, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, comfortable, and a great value! This is probably the only hotel at which I will stay when visiting Sault Ste. Marie. It's clean, the beds are comfortable, and it is a great value. I always know what to expect at the HIE. On my last visit the front desk worker was very helpful in recommening a running route and explaining how to get access to the track at the Norris Center at LSSU. The hotel is pretty quiet overall and I like that. October 9, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable,Clean. The staff was friendly,. Room was clean. Breakfast was good. Everything we were looking for in a one night stay. We will definitely return. October 8, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and attractive Would have liked to have had a room with a view. Were told none were available but later found out they were only not at discounted rate. SavvySenior October 6, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5