• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Apr-18-2014)
(e.g. Apr-19-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SAULT STE MARIE
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0KM
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 19
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:3
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. French

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No Pets allowed. Only guide dog or service animals allowed on property.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Essar Centre
Distance From Hotel:0.2
Attraction:
OLG Casino Sault Ste. Marie
Distance From Hotel:0.55
Attraction:
Canadian Heritage Bushplane Museum
Distance From Hotel:1.2
Attraction:
Agawa Canyon Tour Train
Distance From Hotel:0.1

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:100
  • Car Parking Available
  • Free Guest parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all IHG® Rewards Club members
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:115
  • Total number of suites:6
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:38
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:75
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:115
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:3
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie hotel is the place to stay for an unbeatable value in the heart of the downtown entertainment district. Our Sault Sainte Marie hotel is situated near the Sault OLG Casino and the Agawa Canyon Tour Train and directly across the street from the Essar Sports and Entertainment Centre, the Galaxy movie theatre, and the Station Mall Shopping Centre. Our hotel is also located near Sault Ste Marie’s major businesses including Essar Steel, the Sault Area Hospital, the
View More
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie hotel is the place to stay for an unbeatable value in the heart of the downtown entertainment district. Our Sault Sainte Marie hotel is situated near the Sault OLG Casino and the Agawa Canyon Tour Train and directly across the street from the Essar Sports and Entertainment Centre, the Galaxy movie theatre, and the Station Mall Shopping Centre. Our hotel is also located near Sault Ste Marie’s major businesses including Essar Steel, the Sault Area Hospital, the Ministry of Natural Resources, and Ontario Lottery and Gaming. Enjoy friendly service, comfortable accommodations and all the essentials needed for a relaxing break. For those who like to stay in shape, our Sault Sainte Marie hotel has it all, from an indoor heated swimming pool, whirlpool and sauna to an on-site fitness center. Start your morning with FREE Express Start breakfast included with every guestroom, access free Wi-Fi Internet from your laptop or use our front lobby workstation. We have the ideal meeting space for your upcoming conference or event. Handicapped-accessible rooms and well-appointed suites are available and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult.
View Less
Features
Newly renovated. Convenient downtown location across from the Essar Centre, OLG Casino, Station Mall, and Galaxy Theatre. Complimentary breakfast and free high speed internet access. Indoor swimming pool, hot tub, sauna, and fitness centre.
Announcements
2014 SPECIAL MEETING OFFER: Book a min. of 25 room nights and select 2 of the following options: - 50% OFF your meeting room rental - Two complimentary coffee breaks - One complimentary morning and
View More
Announcements
2014 SPECIAL MEETING OFFER: Book a min. of 25 room nights and select 2 of the following options: - 50% OFF your meeting room rental - Two complimentary coffee breaks - One complimentary morning and afternoon snack - One complimentary upgrade for every 15 room nights booked (Offer valid from Jan 1-Aug 31/14.) To book, please contact: Megan Rose- mrose@diamondhotels.ca | 613-549-7858 ext. 2555
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 84 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Room The staff was very friendly. They made the bed every day and brought clean towels to the room without asking. The hotel was very clean and the free breakfast was good. August 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Experience We thoroughly enjoyed our long weekend at this hotel. The room was very clean and comfortable. The pool and hot tub were wonderful. Staff was friendly and efficient. Would highly recommend this property if you are in the area. August 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by The Place to Stay in the Soo Fast friendly check-in at the front desk...the rooms were clean and up to date. Many hotels in the U.P. seem to have been forgotten in time, but this Holiday Inn is very modern. The pool area is sort of a add-on but was still nice to relax with a swim or in the hot tub. I didn't see a work-out room, which would be a nice addition. The location is minutes from downtown Sault St. Marie and the college (Lake Superior State) was right across the street. If your in town for a hockey game or staying for a summer vacation, its a nice hotel. I'll stay here again. You are not within walking distance of most hings and thier is no nearby restaurant, only a gas station with a store. But you can be at the Antler Bar or Soo Brewing Co. within minuets in the car. Also, the entrance to I-75 is right in front of the hotel...which is nice for that quick 1-1/2 hour drive to Taquamanon. August 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Sault Ste Marie, Michigan We had a great stay at this hotel. The only downside was the availability of restaurant facilities nearby. August 4, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by A little dirty Found some hair in the shower and around the bathroom door. But other than that it was clean August 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room & breakfast area We found the staff courteous and helpful. Lobby area was nicely decorated. Room was large and clean. Nice breakfast selection. August 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Second stay.... Again, a great experience. Our second stay at this location and once again....truly enjoyable. Was really busy with sports teams but didn't reduce the great experience. Unbelievable breakfast. August 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by One of the best! There are so many good things to say about this Holiday Inn Express. First, the breakfast choices are the best. It is the only HIE where I've stayed recently to have the biscuits and gravy every day. The breakfast area is large and the food supplies are always well-stocked. Next, my room was very quiet. I didn't hear much noise from the nearby rooms, including one that left beer bottles in the hallway more than once. There is adequate parking, and the staff (especially Mike) was always helpful. My only complaint is thing--upon checking in, when I went to use the shower the next morning- I found a used bar of soap still on the ledge of the shower along with a hair that was far longer than any I have on my head. I addressed this with Mike, who made sure things were taken care of and asked me about it the next time our paths crossed. I spent 10 days at this motel, have stayed there previously, and can't wait to go back again. August 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Time We stayed for 2 nights just before 4th of July. Our room was clean and just off the elevator. The breakfast had good variety, and had different hot items both mornings. Nice pool and hot tub area, with an adult only time at night. That was really nice. The front desk was very helpful with restaurant suggestions and directions to local attractions. August 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by .Clean and comfortable Came to Sault Ste. Marie for a weekend outing with my parents. All we were looking for was a comfortable clean place to stay over night. That is exactly what we got. We weren't interested in the pool area but it did look clean too. The breakfast the next morning was good. Had a decent variety. I am especially fond of sausage gravy and yours tasted like real gravy, not canned, so if it was canned you have found a quality product. Only thing that I had an issue with was minor. As I came off of the interstate didn't see your little sign at the road so drove past the first time. I might blame my navigator a bit he said he saw it just didn't realize that was where we were going. July 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room We had a King room and it was great. Big tub with jets that my husband enjoyed to bubble away his sore muscles after a long day. The staff were great. The automatic pancake machine was awful. The one pancake that came out was about the size of a half dollar. ;) Other that that, I would stay with this hotel again. July 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasantly surprised We decided to stay in Sault Ste Marie on our way to Munising because the rooms there were way too expensive. I was pleasantly surprised by the Holiday Inn Express Sault Ste Marie. The beds were comfortable, the atmosphere was calm and quiet and it was reasonably priced. The breakfast was good too. I would definitely stay here again. July 22, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by need better beds Stay was ok, pool, hot tub and location of hotel was great, but bed was not comfortable, staff was great with giving us places to eat in town but are AAA discount was not included in are final bill and I was told it was to late to get the discount -thank you July 13, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Over crowded, poor value Horrible experience trying to get the complimentary breakfast. Stood in line for a place to sit due to overcrowding. Food kept running out and no one really cared. When one books a large crowd, one makes arrangement to seat and feed them. Alternately one extends breakfast hours till their guests have been fed. Apparently not at this establishment. Did not get the usual Gold perks either. Definitely not going back there! July 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by All was great, except the air conditioner! We love Holiday Inn Express and pretty much always stay at one. We stayed in one of the two room suites and was very pleased with the room. The breakfast options were wonderful, as usual. The housekeeping was a little inconsistent during our stay. The first day they did not replenish our bathroom items, washcloths, or coffee. The second day these things were restocked. The biggest complaint was the air conditioner. The "old school" air conditioner in one of the rooms worked great but the digital air conditioner would not cool the room unless it was set on 50 degrees....the proceeded to cool the room to 50 degrees. It would not cool to a reasonable 68 degrees. We had to chill the room, bump it up, then when I would wake up at 2ish in the morning burning up I would chill it again. The maintenance guy checked it out and said everything was alright. We just dealt with the air as it was. So, if you're wanting to avoid a hinky air-conditioning unit...avoid room 403! Oh yeah...on a side note Kim was an awesome front desk worker (don't know the professional title for her job) that helped get our crib set up and always had something pleasant to say. Even though I think she worked a LOT of hours while we were there she always had a smile on her face! July 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and fantastic customer service 5 stars all the way!!! We have absolutely no complaints. Our room was perfect and the breakfast was wonderful. Just loved our stay!!! Thanks so much!!! July 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place to Visit We just made our annual visit to the Soo and the Holiday Inn Express. We received the requested room and usual fine service from an excellent staff, with some new faces and a couple of familiar ones. We had great week. In our opinion this is Thee place to stay in the Soo. July 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly Staff The entire experience was great. Very clean common areas as well as our room was always clean. The staff was helpful, friendly and very courteous. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay! July 6, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by housekeeping does not do a good job bathroom very small, I am not a big person, but I don't think I have ever been in a bathroom that small, as your brushing your teeth, washing up etc, your leg is touching the toilet ,bathroom door dirty, just needed to be wiped down, fan /cooling controls dirty and very dusty, housekeeping brings towels, but does not clean up the sinks, will never book a room there again. July 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyable Stay Stayed for 6 nights, staff very friendly and helpful. My only disappointment was I requested a river view room and was given a room facing the back. One suggestion I have, not everybody are early risers, would like to see the breakfast open longer say to 10:30. July 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by No complaints We were welcomed graciously, given our room immediately along with a great dinner recommendation, The usual breakfast -enough to get you on your way. Can't always say the guests are as gracious as the staff. July 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location Wonderful place to stop over when traveling between Upper and Lower peninsula. Comfortable beds and warm breakfast! June 30, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Family Friendly We had a great experience, they accommodated my stay with my dogs perfect. June 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good review The only thing I didn't like was the location. I expected it to on the river near the Soo Locks and it wasn't. Otherwise, good stay. June 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Best in the area I work for LSSU, but off campus. When I'm in town, I always try to stay at the Holiday Inn Express. Better rates than other hotels in the area, and closer to campus and downtown SSM than others. The biggest problem I have ever encountered at this Holiday Inn Ex has been the high pitched squeal coming from the showers if you adjust them after it's already on. Other than that, stay here and you will not be disappointed. If you are disappointed, maybe it's you. June 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by room comfort when traveling i always look for a holiday inn express near my destination. I love the comfort of the bed and pillows and my room is always clean! May 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by overall I travel for work and regularly stay at your Holiday Inn express. The staff is always friendly and courteous. Room is comfortable and I would definitely recommend to others. April 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Night away from the kids My hubby and I decided to stay here for a night just to have a night away from the kids. We originally booked a king room with our Platinum priority club points. The staff were very friendly and upgraded our room to whirlpool. There where problems with the whirlpool and they immediately fixed the situation by upgrading us to a suite. We enjoyed the stay and customer service so much that we returned two weeks later and went straight for the suite, we paid for our room the second time, however the staff still made sure to acknowledge and thank us for being platinum members. April 9, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Average at Best I have been staying at this particular hotel for the past 10 years and I stay about 20 nights per year. I am required to stay here because of company policy and rules. I was really disappointed with my stays this year. There were many things wrong with my rooms, things like not clean, broken shower curtain rods, heat was not controlable etc.... these are all things that could be and should be addressed by the maintenance staff and house cleaning staff before the room is even released for rent. The rooms are outdated, the bedding, including the mattresses are old and you just get the appreance of a older hotel. This particular property is located in an area where they recieve alot of snow and I know they run out of places to shovel the snow to. This year the issue was they would shovel the snow off the side walk, but shovel it between the cars, so you had to walk in the piles of snow to get to your vehicles. I would rather walk in the snow on the walk way then walk in piles between the cars. I will continue to stay at this property because I am required to, but I have stayed at other properties near by and they are not experiencing these issues. March 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always a solid choice I've been staying at this particular Holiday Inn Express for years for weeks at a time for company business. During all that time I've not once had an issue with the room, staff, or food. Also conveniently located next to I-75 for quick access on or off the freeway. Exercise room and hot tub are nice additions. February 21, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Reception Front Desk
Select to close.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.