• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SAULT STE MARIE
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0KM
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 19
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:3
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. French

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No Pets allowed. Only guide dog or service animals allowed on property.

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:100
  • Car Parking Available
  • Free Guest parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:115
  • Total number of suites:6
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:38
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:75
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:115
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:3
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie hotel is the place to stay for an unbeatable value in the heart of the downtown entertainment district. Our Sault Sainte Marie hotel is situated near the Sault OLG Casino and the Agawa Canyon Tour Train and directly across the street from the Essar Sports and Entertainment Centre, the Galaxy movie theatre, and the Station Mall Shopping Centre. Our hotel is also located near Sault Ste Marie’s major businesses including Essar Steel, the Sault Area Hospital, the
View More
Holiday Inn Express - Sault Ste. Marie hotel is the place to stay for an unbeatable value in the heart of the downtown entertainment district. Our Sault Sainte Marie hotel is situated near the Sault OLG Casino and the Agawa Canyon Tour Train and directly across the street from the Essar Sports and Entertainment Centre, the Galaxy movie theatre, and the Station Mall Shopping Centre. Our hotel is also located near Sault Ste Marie’s major businesses including Essar Steel, the Sault Area Hospital, the Ministry of Natural Resources, and Ontario Lottery and Gaming. Enjoy friendly service, comfortable accommodations and all the essentials needed for a relaxing break. For those who like to stay in shape, our Sault Sainte Marie hotel has it all, from an indoor heated swimming pool, whirlpool and sauna to an on-site fitness center. Start your morning with FREE Express Start breakfast included with every guestroom, access free Wi-Fi Internet from your laptop or use our front lobby workstation. We have the ideal meeting space for your upcoming conference or event. Handicapped-accessible rooms and well-appointed suites are available and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult.
View Less
Features
Newly renovated. Convenient downtown location across from the Essar Centre, OLG Casino, Station Mall, and Galaxy Theatre. Complimentary breakfast and free high speed internet access. Indoor swimming pool, hot tub, sauna, and fitness centre.
Announcements
See our Hotel Packages for great special offers!

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 174 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Fantastic front desk and comfortable bed Stay here for great service and a great nights sleep. August 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyed our stay Very nice hotel. Close to area attractions. Would highly recommend. August 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by OUTSTANDING customer service Everything about the Holiday Inn Express in Sault Ste. Marie was outstanding. We were greeted warmly and professionally at check-in, the rooms were up to date, clean and comfortable. August 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great service. Excellent experience! Will highly recommend this hotel! July 31, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by second-class act the beds were comfortable enough [good pillows] but the bathroom was not clean, and the staff was no friendly. If you travel to this location with a pet, be prepared to be treated as a second-class citizen July 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay Great location, great stay. No problems. I would happily stay here again any time. July 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed/clean room Our room was very nice/clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very nice alot to offer. Breakfast area was very clean and food was very good with alot of choices. The desk staff was very nice and was able to give some great suggestions on where to dine for dinner and different attractions to see. July 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by An Excellent choice for Sault St. Marie An excellent choice. Easy access to I-75, the border, and the soo locks. Nice view of the distant river. July 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Express hands down the winner On our vacation myself, wife and kids stayed at four different hotel chains. Holiday Inn Express was the hands down winner when it came to comfort, cleanliness, accurate billing and over stay quality. The staff was pleasant, quick and really seem to care about our stay experience. The building inside and out was clean and well lighted. Breakfast was good. The beds where very comfortable. Next vacation only Holiday Inn Expresses for us... July 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel, minor flaws The pool for this hotel was awesome. I was not expecting it to be that spacious in a Holiday Inn Express. The curtains for the hotel room make no sense. You have the sheer curtains which cover the whole window, and then what looks like blackout curtains, but they don't move!! They only cover about a foot and a half on each side of the large window. How are you supposed to get the room dark enough to fall asleep and to sleep in? That was the only downside (and that they didn't put me in a higher up room so I could see the view out the window to Canada) But the staff was awesome and I got coffee and some breakfast at 4:45am when checking out. July 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff Very helpful and friendly staff. Very clean. Nice views July 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Felt right at home, right away. Such a nice hotel! Placed right off the ramp at the last exit before the border crossing into Canada. The staff was very nice, friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and love the Bath July 19, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Failed to extend I extended my stay to include the evening of July 15, 2014 when I arrived at the hotel on July 14, 2014. When I woke in the morning there was a receipt under my door for a one night stay. I was told that the hotel was sold out and that my stay was never extended. The service folks behind the desk obviously did not know what they were doing or they lied to me about the situation. July 18, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Stay - We recommend Nice location, good travel deal and great staff. My wife and I were traveling several days and decided to stay in the Soo. We were very surprised and pleased with the site. July 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Superb Experience I have stayed at this property many times while on business. Always been an enjoyable place to rest and unwind. Would highly recommend to anyone on a business or pleasure trip. The desk staff are particularly top notch and cannot do enough for you. July 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very clean and excellent service We stayed here for 2 nights and everything was perfect would definitely recommend this place. July 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great breakfast and great rest Everything was great on are stay thee only thing they could do to improve a stay is too put more towels in the room.When you know there is going to be more then 2 people they should supply more towels.Other then that we were completely satisfied July 13, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Holiday Inn Express Stay We enjoyed our stay at the Sault Ste Marie Holiday Inn Express. It's clean and the people are friendly. Check in and check out were smooth, and we know we'll stay there again. July 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice property Lodging can be tricky in a city like Sault Ste. Marie. Lots of older properties that are not maintained well. This new property is an exception, and a welcome one. Well-located, freshly designed and attractive, staying here was a pleasant experience. I would say it ranks high within the Holiday Inn Express chain. My only complaints are minor: plugs are inaccessible from the bed, which is a challenge if you want to charge your phone, or use your phone as an alarm clock, as I do. Also, the television remote has no Sleep setting, which would be a nice improvement. Like I said, pretty minor stuff. Overall a very pleasant stay with a VERY welcoming staff. July 11, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Thank you Great stay and we will come back. The breakfast was under cooked and the bathroom sink was clogged however the stay over all was wonderful, We will return to this hotel time and time again when visiting the area. July 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Bed size questionable Husband and I have shared a queen bed for a very long time, but this "queen" bed seemed smaller. Very uncomfortable due to the size. Could be that we got "larger" during our weeks vacation but .....otherwise breakfast was only fair - the rest of the average but staff rates excellent along with cleanliness of room and hotel. My request for a "quiet" area was respected and it was definitely a quiet area of the hotel - big thank you for that! July 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Look no further. Great Place We stayed here 3 days for a relaxing trip to the Soo area. We had a spacious 2 room/2bath whirlpool suite (including kitchenette and living room area). We had such a great time. It was nice to wake up early and be able to go into the living area, while the hubby slept. The staff was great and very helpful (even had blankets for guests to take to the 4th of July fireworks - who does that?). The value of the room was fantastic. The view was cool. It was fun to look out the window to the International Bridge to Canada. Even though the hotel was full every night, you'd never know it. It was quiet and spotless. I really can't say enough about this gem in the UP. You really must try it. July 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Air conditioning Overall, the Holiday Inn was a nice property, clean and decent breakfast. The issue was with the air conditioning in our room (222). It did not cook properly and make a loud clunk every 90 seconds (yes I counted). After the first night I reported to the front desk on out way out in the morning, and they said it would get fixed so no need to change rooms. We got back late Saturday night, and nothing had been done, so another sleepless night for me with the clunking noise. 830am Sunday morning a pounding on the door woke my husband up. It was maintenance to fix the air. We were checking out that morning, so too late for us, and why wouldn't they just wait until we left. July 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great breakfast and an excellent night's sleep My husband and I have been coming to Sault Ste Marie, MI for over 40 years because we have family in the area. Over the years, we have stayed with family but some of the time we stayed in a hotel and made it a bit of a vacation for us. We have probably stayed in most of the hotel properties in the Soo over those 40 years and after our recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express, we can finally say we have found the place we will stay again. In our search for a place to stay, we read reviews for most of the hotels in the Soo. This one sounded good, we had not stayed here before, so we thought: "Why not?" . From the moment we got off the expressway and just drove right to the hotel, we felt we just might have found a winner. The staff is so helpful and kind and the room was very spacious and extremely clean! We were on the top floor and our view was of the bridge and the Canadian Soo. . .absolutely lovely, especially at night. We had read about the delicious rolls and I must say, they were not overrated, they are GREAT! Breakfast was delicious, hot, and plentiful. We have found our hotel in Sault Ste Marie, MI. and we recommend it to all. July 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Always a great place to stay Been staying here often over the years . Have yet to have a single issue l July 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great service, very clean and comfortable Front desk staff, especially Amanda, was exceptionally friendly, kind and helpful. After spending several days in a very sub-standard hotel in St. Ignace, this place was such a breath of fresh air. The breakfast area was clean with ample seating and very well attended by staff. The rooms were properly appointed and very clean. I would definitely stay here again. In my opinion, it is one of the best Holiday inn Expresses in the chain. June 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by LSSU Orientation Visit Great place to stay when visiting LSSU as we did for our son's freshman orientation. Staff was very helpful/friendly. Room was very nice and we had a view of the river/Canada. Plenty of room for a fold-out bed which we added so that each of our 2 children had their own bed. 2 minute drive to campus - could have walked. June 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very friendly and helpful staff. A very enjoyable stay at this hotel. Breakfast was very good and the attendant was right on top of keeping everything filled and clean. June 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great beding I have always enjoyed my stay at your hotel. I have constantly been impressed with the quality of your beds and pillows. Room decor is very nice and well keep. June 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best holiday Inn I've stayed at many Holiday Inn's, this one was best run and staff was overboard friendly. Breakfast was fresh, rooms were clean and pool-jaccuzi area were the cleanest of any hotel I have stayed in. I travely in many states during the year and this was an unexpected surprise on my family vacation travels. Highly recommend this hotel for Sault Saint Marie visit. June 27, 2014
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
Welcome.  Entrance to our newly renovated property.
Welcome. Entrance to our newly renovated property.
Select to close.
Welcome.  Entrance to our newly renovated property. Front Desk Reception
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Sep-17-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Sep-18-2014)
Check Availability
Loading