• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Apr-20-2014)
(e.g. Apr-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SAVANNAH
  • Distance From Hotel: 0.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 4:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 4:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Turkish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Please accept our apologies, however the Holiday Inn Express Savannah Historic District does not accept pets. Kennels are located nearby.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Hilton Head Island Outlet Shopping
Distance From Hotel:30.0MI
Attraction:
Tybee Island Beaches/Lighthouse
Distance From Hotel:17.0MI
Attraction:
Bonaventure Cemetary
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
Mighty 8 Airforce Museum
Distance From Hotel:10.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • The Valet parking is available at $20.00 per day.
  • Daily Parking Fee ( 20.00  USD)
  • Valet parking fee  ( 20.0 USD )

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2008
  • Total number of rooms:143
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:70
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:73
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:143
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:7
  • FEMA Property Number:GA5351
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah’s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include
View More
Stay in the heart of the historic district and soak up the splendor that is Savannah. Next time your travels take you to Savannah, choose the brand new Holiday Inn Express Historic District. This contemporary Southern style property is located right on Bay St. and is surrounded by dozens of boutiques, restaurants, River Street and Savannah’s famed squares. It features a graceful lobby, full service fireside lobby bar, a rooftop pool and gazebo and guest rooms equipped with flat screen TVs. Rates include deluxe Continental breakfast and high speed Internet access. Valet parking $20.00 per day. Minimum check in age is 21 years of age.
View Less
Features
Our new Holiday Inn Express hotel in Savannah, Georgia offers many premium hotel features, most notably, our rooftop pool and observation deck overlooking the Savannah River. Valet parking $20 per day.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.5 out of 5 by 115 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Overall poor When we arrived we did not get the rooms we reserved. We had a suite and a regular room reserved. They said they were over booked on the suites and put 5 adults in two regular rooms. After we complained that the parking lot was empty they comped us another room which was appreciated but we should not have had to complain several times to get it. The towels were never brought to one of the rooms on time and when we complained we were treated rudely. The breakfast room was always crowded under stocked with food and the eggs were tasteless. January 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice hotel for the money I would stay here again. Breakfast was delicious. Hotel was very clean January 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service It was a great stay. The only thing I did not like is the web site states there are refrigerators and microwave in the rooms. But both of the rooms that I booked did not have them. This is the only Holiday Inn Express that I have stayed in that did not have them and I have spent a lot of time on the road. December 29, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Staff Friendly, professional but stay was only "okay". We stayed in Savannah for a romantic getaway. First and foremost, my husband sent a note online explaining I recently had 3rd Stage Kidney Carcinoma surgery and this was an opportunity to have some "us' time. The room they sent us to was 5 rooms down the hall as if they had no concern for my ambulating w/ a cane. Why ask if there were any requests or special circumstances? Second, The "King Suite" wasn't a "suite" at all, it was a room with a king size bed. and it was disappointing to say the least. The elevator looks like it hadn't been cleaned/vacuumed for a week or more. There was soda or juice stains on the elevator walls for the entire time we stayed which was from Saturday afternoon until Monday late morn., this isn't even describing the dirt and trash on the floor. Every time we stepped in the elevator to hit the buttons for our floor, the sticky mess was there on the wall. The stay was uneventful and we were disappointed with the nondescript room. The staff was cordial and helpful with ideas of restaurants and directions. We were happy with the staff, it's the elevator, the long walk and the lack of discernment towards us and our needs that disappointed us. HIE requests info if we have special needs, when one explains the needs then evaluate them and meet the needs as you can. Ignoring the requests isn't polite, professional nor appreciated. This was supposed to be a getaway from the doctors and stress, making me walk farther than need be when there were closer rooms didn't sit well with us. The staff did meet our requests for more coffee and other incidentals but overall, the cobwebs in the entrance of our room and the promised "suite" was just less than thrilling, then add our concern wasn't addressed then why ask it online? A great staff, just pay more attention to the little details, those are the ones that count. December 19, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good location and friendly staff This hotel is in a good location. It was missing a few things I'm use to having at other Holiday Inn locations. Some of the rooms do not have refrigerators and microwaves, they are provided if you request them. The business center lacks a lot. The one and only computer does not have any type of Microsoft Office programs so even if you take a thumb drive to the computer you still cannot print anything because the programs are not on the computer. I did manage to find drivers for the printer on the internet and install them on my laptop so I could print files from it. There are no washers or dryers in the hotel for guest, you have to go across the street and use a laundrymat. That express breakfast gets old fast when your there no than a couple days. The staff was friendly and we did get 0 balance invoices (which our company requires) under our door early the mourning we checked out. December 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Maintenance staff Hotel clean, up to date and comfortable. Best breakfast of any chain. Maintenance staff removed towels from room, but left none. Had to call desk to remind. Then, confronted maintenance staff in hall and , as usual in hotels, they did not speak good English. I don't know why hotels think that employing non-English speaking staff is good for business. Otherwise, all good. P.S. No refrigerator or microwave in room. December 16, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Average to less than average place to stay There is nothing special about this property. I personally do not like the location as it is difficult to get in and out of. Especially arriving from the north or leaving to the south as the road system prohibits access. Next bad point about this site is the last 4 nights I have stayed here; there was no recognition of being a platinum elite member. The last time I inquired why and I was told they like to surprise us with a bottle of water and bag of pretzels in the room. That may be OK if you make your reservation in time to have that left for you. I do not have the luxury of knowing I am staying over particular evening until 30 minutes or so before arriving. The night started rough when arriving at 9:05PM and another guest had been waiting around for a while with no clerk in sight or a sign stating they will return soon. I waited for a good 7 - 8 minutes and they finally came around the corner. The person even jumped a little in shock that someone was even there. It was likely at least 10 minutes that they were gone without giving any notice they were to return. There was no apology for making us wait or anything. Just checking us in and supplying us with our room keys. Additionally, while walking into the facility, there was a car approaching the hotel entrance at a high rate of speed in a reckless manner. I really did not know if they were going to be able to stop and I prepared myself. The driver stopped, got out of the vehicle and came into the lobby and sat down. I explained in the morning when voicing my dissatisfactions that I believe the person driving was there to visit the evening clerk as they did not approach the desk to get a room. I asked for the GM to contact me this last stay about my disappointments. It has been over 32 hours and no phone call. I accept the lack of response to have no concern of customer care. I will not stay at this property. I am not sure if my Savannah stays will be with IHG in the future as my last favorite property to stay was purchased and is changing company management. There are no other IHG properties in the mid to downtown area. DARNIT! December 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience Soccer team in town and kids were pretty loud. Other than that great experience and very clean room. December 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel stay Great value, new property but.... My hotel stay was just fine no issue whatsoever.mainly I didn't encounter the FD except for my check in which was fine .but on one instance I had to call one night to get a copy of my invoice emailed to me to finish an expense report. The FD clerk was reluctant to help me and said call back in the morning. I called guest relations and explained to them my situation to see if they could help, they called the FD at the hotel and again the same FD clerk was unwilling to extend a hand. I've had this happen at other brands and the FD clerk said they could help and emailed it to me right away. December 10, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Poi wan Average night. Easy drive to historic district. Check in desk clerk was friendly and helpful. December 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Staff and Hotel I love to fact that i can walk into this hotel and see wonderful friendly face especaillly at the front. the young lady that was their made me feel apart of the holiday inn family....over all i loved it November 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very pleased with our stay We were very pleased with our stay at this hotel. We felt they deserved an excellent rating. The room was clean, the beds comfortable, staff was friendly and the continental breakfast was served hot. We will be back. November 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Our Stay A comfortable hotel with a very caring staff. The only negative i have is, you have to do something about your sign on the road, I went past it twice. It is hidden and easy to miss. November 23, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by High Marks-but not in "Midtown" Area- 20 minutes away. Maybe I should have looked at the map more closely, but the name fooled me. 30 Minutes from airport, 20 minutes from downtown Savannah. Usual good stay, no problems at all with facility or staff...just the name is is-leading. November 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room Good location The room was large, clean and comfortable. The price was excellent and the location was near lots of shopping and dining. November 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service We stayed here during the Savannah Rock n Roll Half Marathon weekend. The staff was very friendly. Chris, the manager, went above and beyond to help us get to the start line on time! We had a great stay and will definitely be back next year. November 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Favorite Savannah Hotel Every time we are in town, this is our first choice for our stay. The location is perfect; the staff is always friendly; and, the customer service is always a good incentive. It also helps that the beds are very comfortable. :-) November 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed, but noisy at night The room was comfortable, but it was just next to the housekeeping department and thus has a lot of noise in the early morning. It was really a bomber. The breakfast was OK, but the choices are limited. October 24, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Savannah Options I registered at 12:00 p.m., as I had lunch time to check in before long day and wanted to drop off luggage. Front desk lady told me there were no rooms available ... didn't look first. Didn't offer anything else, just "no room at the inn" so to speak. I asked when there would be. She called HK, and there were rooms available. She didn't ask me if I wanted an upgrade, didn't thank me for being a 20+ year Platinum Member, and later was giving "welcome gifts" to other IHG members, but not me. No refrigerators, but ridiculous amount of room for them in the room. Beds were hard. In general, it seemed throughout the trip that I was interrupting the hotel staff's day. Overall, this was a "sufficient" hotel, but certainly not on par with 90% of the other IHG properties I have experienced (many hundreds of properties.) I will not stay in this hotel again. October 21, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed I generally take the time to write a review when asked and I can honestly say this is my first negative review of a Holiday Inn. The facility seemed nice enough when we checked in but our experience went down hill from there. First, I could not get into wifi when I got to the room. I typed in the code exactly as it appeared on the room key holder (i.e. all caps) but it kept giving me an error message. After several minutes of trying I called the front desk who told me to use all lower case. Surely I am not the first person to have that problem so why give instructions in the wrong case. Next, there was no corresponding HBO channel to go with the HBO guide in the room and approx. 5 of the channels listed in the room did not work. Lastly, people partied on my floor until 3:00 AM and no one from the hotel did anything about it. Do you think the people walking in with cases of booze might have been a hint. I recommend the Holiday in in the Historic section of town, I have stayed there before and will likely again. October 15, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice room, loud air conditioner No guest laundry was disappointing. The air conditioner was loud. Decent price. October 11, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff and Rooms Great value for location in Savannah Midtown. Property is clean & maintained. The Staff as I have found at most of the IHG properties in the past few months is GREAT! Definite asset to IHG. The water pressure in our rooms was almost non-existent in the tub/shower (if you put the temp completely on Hot it was a little better but then it's too hot to use#. Ants were in the cereal units at breakfast on the last day #not the best experience for my kids# however the staff immediately emptied, washed & cleaned the units and the counters. The only other con was the noise from the FLOOR #not room# above until 3AM or later. Complaints were made by many but it didn't seem to do any good. It was like that both nights of our stay. We left very tired. Even though we had those 3 issues, everything else was great & the staff responded to 2 of them to our satisfaction #not the noisy neighbors). We would stay there again & would recommend the property. October 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Would Stay There Again The staff were completly courteous and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. I would certainly stay there again and could find nothing to complain about. Nice experience. October 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and great Wi-Fi service. Thet Wi-Fi service was fast, with cable provided. We needed better lighting for reading in bed. Staff was courteous and accommodating. Breakfast was excellent and ample. Parking was convenient and well-lighted. Bathroom was clean and well organized. We would stay again. October 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Savannah Safety Fair The room just had an odd smell that why I always carry ferbreez September 26, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by nothing to write home about this hotel had a gym that was a joke, only 3 old cardio equipment and nothing else, not weights nothing. the breakfast ran out of yogurt in the morning, and that was the only gluten free option for me that was healthy. There was/were no snacks available for purchase anywhere in the hotel that I could find (this was a big issue because the parking lot is surrounded by fences and one way streets and is almost impossible to get out of easily). If all your looking for is a bedroom then this place is fine. The room was ok, if you are looking for amenities, find another hotel. I won't stay here again. September 24, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by verall experience not a good experience we stay in ihg exclusively but this was quite different from our last visit to the hotel!! new management maybe??? September 21, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Unfriendly staff Front desk staff not friendly Evonna working in the breakfast room was the only person with a smile September 19, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Going down hill I've stayed at this location at least ten times. I used to get a "Thanks for being a Platinum member - Here's a bottle of water" at least. No more. Now it's "sign here and the elevator is to the right". As I'm writing this in the business office, I can barely think because of the employees that are arguing at the top of their lungs. Nice. If you are a Priority Club member and you think that is supposed to mean anything, choose another location and good luck. If you are just trying to accumulate some points so that you can get a Chili's gift card, you're good to go. September 18, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Didn't enjoy our stay We were displeased with this stay. The bed was uncomfortable. We continued to roll toward the center of the bed all night. The air conditioner wasn't working properly. It was either to hot or to cold, never comfortable. They ran out of breakfast food each morning. It was a busy weekend but they should have accommodated for the number of people. They pancake machine wasn't working. We typically receive complementary water bottles at other locations, we had to ask for them at this location. Overall, it wasn't a pleasant stay. We will not be back. September 9, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Holiday Inn Express historic Savannah Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Hotel Exterior Lobby Lounge Entrance Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Awards

Torchbearer Award

Torchbearer Award


The Torchbearer Award is given to hotels that have achieved the highest level of excellence in all aspects of operations - from quality to customer satisfaction. Created to honor the best of the best as measured by our guests, this award is presented to hotels that raise the bar even further. These outstanding hotels “carry our torch”, and represent the highest achievement in quality and service.

Terms & Conditions
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.