• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-24-2014)
(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Downtown/City Center

  • Location: Downtown/City Center
  • Closest City: SHELBY
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 12:00 PM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 12:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:4
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Service animals are welcome, but pets are not allowed

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:40
  • Car Parking Available
  • Parking is complimentary for our guests. Truck, Bus & RV parking is available in adjacient parking lot. RV electrical connections are not available.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:58
  • Total number of suites:3
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:30
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:28
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:55
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:4
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:2
  • FEMA Property Number:NC0873

Shelby, North Carolina Hotel's Your Top Choice

This Shelby hotel's smoke-free rooms are a great choice for a pleasant stay in North Carolina. The Holiday Inn Express® Hotel Shelby @ Hwy 74 is conveniently located near beautiful, historic downtown Shelby and centrally situated between Charlotte, Asheville and Hickory, NC and Greenville and Spartanburg, SC. Our friendly staff can help make your stay more comfortable in this "All-American City."

The hotel's location in Shelby, NC
View More

Shelby, North Carolina Hotel's Your Top Choice

This Shelby hotel's smoke-free rooms are a great choice for a pleasant stay in North Carolina. The Holiday Inn Express® Hotel Shelby @ Hwy 74 is conveniently located near beautiful, historic downtown Shelby and centrally situated between Charlotte, Asheville and Hickory, NC and Greenville and Spartanburg, SC. Our friendly staff can help make your stay more comfortable in this "All-American City."

The hotel's location in Shelby, NC is perfect for those traveling to meetings at the Walmart Distribution Center, PPG Industries, Don Gibson Theater and Earl Scruggs Center. We're also just minutes from Hurst Jaws of Life Rescue System and Cleveland Community College. Our free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access makes it easy to stay in touch with the office and prepare for meetings, too.

There is so much to see and do in Shelby. The hotel's guests are right next to Cleveland Mall and only three miles from the "Main Street Community" of downtown Shelby. Travel back in time on the City Park Carousel, celebrate our musical heritage at the Earl Scruggs Center and Don Gibson Theater or enjoy a taste of the North Carolina mountains at one of the local vineyards close to the hotel's property.

In Shelby, NC, our staff is waiting to take care of you. From a good night's sleep to a free, hot breakfast, the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel Shelby @ Hwy 74 is your place to "Stay Smart."

View Less
Features
While staying in beautiful Shelby, North Carolina, the hotel's free high-speed, wireless Internet access helps you stay in touch with others. You can keep up with the office and family anytime.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 95 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed, very attentive check in I checked in after midnite. I did not have a reservation and was not carrying my IHG card. The front desk lady showed much patience and was pleasant thruout. She looked for the best rate, and provided me with a room upgrade due to my IHG status. I got a great nites sleep, and the free breakfast in the morning was one of the best such breakfasts I have had. The breakfast provided a very lot of choice. Overall, a very nice stay. A July 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great people good service My coworked said his air heat/AC unit was loud. I has no issue with mine. The new hire lady at breakfast was really nice. June 30, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very convenient! Hotel was nice. I try and stay at Holiday Inn Expresses when I travel for work. I feel safe and know that the room is clean. June 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very clean room and beds have four pillows each. Very comfortable beds, pillows and very clean room. My 11 month old granddaughter was able to crawl around without getting dirty. June 17, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by nice quiet stay just what is expected for a trip away from home while on a business trip June 17, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not Recognition for IHG® Rewards Club Members During check in I was not acknowledged as a Gold Level Member and was not offered any complimentary goody bag or extra points. Very disappointing to receive this type of treatment. Very noisy room hard to relax and sleep after a long travel day. June 9, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by would not recommend this holiday inn express Property was dated, needs to be remodeled, stains in carpet, poor maintenance, just a run down property, front desk personal not knowledgeable June 8, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Less than stellar Not overly impressed with this Holiday Inn Express compared to previous visits at other locations. The pictures on the website make this hotel look fairly new and it is not. Breakfast was good with lots of option. June 4, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 Not the cleanest room! Although all the staff with whom I had contact were very nice and helpful, the room was not real clean. Examples: The carpet was NASTY and made my white tennis socks black. There were toothpaste splashes on the sink faucet and mirror from the room's previous guest. The mattress was comfortable but the pillows not to my liking and there was no choice of pillows even though there were four on the bed. May 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice breakfast selection The breakfast selection was better than most and the food was fresh and hot. April 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room and great customer care. Room location makes the difference. Much less noise and better WiFi connection than previous stays. Bedding, and especially quality and number of pillows exceeded expectations. In fact, could you supply me with the name of the pillows you use? March 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by nice beeding only there for one night, but h the bedding was comfortable and made sleeping easier. March 20, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by To much road noise It would be helpful if the rooms had better sound proofing from the road noise. Also, I booked way in advance and I'm a frequent Holiday Inn guest - I should have been given a room not facing the freeway (always treat your returning guests well). March 11, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by no points why do you have non qualifying stay, this is not what I signed up for. March 10, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Non-Smoking Rooms Are not "No Smoking Rooms" Not a bad hotel but the rooms stunk of cigarette smoke even though they told me they were "Non Smoking." I booked three rooms for three co-workers and everyone said their rooms smelled of masked smoke. For me that is a deal breaker as it might as well smelled like a cattle yard. Thumbs down for this hotel. If you don't mind the smell of smoke with a squirt of air freshener, then you'll be fine. March 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice rest! Hotel, was quiet, clean, and really very nice for being on an interstate. I was attending a meeting about 15 miles and could have stayed closer, but this hotels value was well worth the drive. March 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent stop for the night while traveling thru the state! Traveling from FL to PA is a very long trip and we decided to call it a night when we found this Holiday Inn Express on Google. The reviews did not lie. The room was nice and clean, lobby was clean, staff was very pleasant. Slept great, no loud noises that you might normally hear from ppl in the halls on a Saturday night. Breakfast in the morning was hot omelets, sausages, biscuits w/ gravy, and pancakes, just to name a few. Then of course they had the normal juices, fruits, cereals and pastries. The area was clean, and large enough for many to be seated. Over all I would stop again for sure. Price was great and with our AAA discount it was even better!! Easy on / off the interstate. February 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Made booking online Great place, booked the hotel online and had great service. February 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Worth the Money An excellent, courteous staff that was responsive. When a leak developed in the air conditioner, they moved me to their deluxe suite at no extra cost. I will be a repeat customer. January 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff Very nice Hotel after a long drive. The evening staff was extremely nice. Went out of her way to make us feel welcome and comfortable. Best experience we had on the entire 14 day trip. Only negative would be the road noise from the windows. January 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Outstanding staff and service My husband and I were amazed by how well the hotel is kept and by the outstanding service. Very clean hotel in addition to great value. Betty the receptionist went above and beyond to find us the appropriate room as we were checking in very late and looked forward to sleeping in the next morning. Angela the breakfast attendant was amazingly helpful, caring and friendly. The General Manager was very professional and welcoming. We very much enjoyed our stay and are amazed by the kindness, professionalism and white glove service. Fabulous place and look forward to visiting again. We have recommended it to friends and family. December 30, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Can't beleive it! Checked in and everything appeared normal. The next morning: the hall to the elevator was filthy with dirt. Elevator had a corner table with a dusty fake plant and an empty drink bottle on the lower shelf. Lobby was a mess with dirt clods from contractors. Nobody bothered to clean it up. Breakfast was a joke. Asked to use the business center - my room key got me in, then it needed another password, the lobby person chided me for asking for it, said it was taped on the wall, then the computer asked me repeatedly if I wanted to buy windows... I never did get it to work. What a joke, obviously no one form the hotel ever checks on anything in there either. Finlly gave up. Decided to cut my stay short and asked for my bill. The front desk was talking to "family" on the phone and I had to wait for several minutes. When she got done and printed my bill she never even asked anything about my stay, or why I was leaving early. This place is the hieght of why people stopped staying at Holiday Inns in the past. HI is losing me as a customer bit by bit. This one was awful. Don't go! December 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, well kept, Great Service The staff was extremely friendly and very interested in taking care of our needs & wanting us to have a enjoyable stay. A great breakfast, well furnished room & lobby and grounds.Was well welcomed upon arrival and at check out. The grounds were well kept with plenty on parking even though I was a late arrival. This motel is just a little out on my way from where I normally stay, but plan on staying here more often. December 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The place to stay in Kings Mountain Very good quality, comfort and convenience, friendly staff, good breakfast, right next to the interstate but no noise from traffic. We will stay there again. December 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by all the services was great the bed slept very good over all every thing was very good would recommend the hotel and would stay here again November 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hallway smell Our stay was for one night and most things were excellent. The hallway smoke smell and a torn shower curtain were the only negative things about our stay. November 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet, not much around but not bad. Quiet, which is good for business trips. Not much around in the area to do and low variety for places to eat. But if you do mind driving 15-20 minutes the selections get better. For a business person who needs to sit at a desk and work on their laptop, ouch the chair did not work at all. The height adjusters didn't work which made the table way too high and it didn't even sit flat from left to right. Overall if you didn't need to work in the room, the place is not bad. November 4, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 Nice staff but terrible night's sleep Road noise from I-85 kept us awake most of the night! The desk clerk told us management is well aware of the situation but can't do anything because "the hotel was built too close to the Interstate". They should at least let customers know what they will have to endure and offer a reduced rate. Breakfast was very good and staff in the restaurant and behind the desk were very nice, but the Operations Manager would not come forward to discuss the issue with us; you can't get much worse customer service than that! October 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by All A's! Simple...It's all good here! Clean, comfortable, good staff. October 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by All in all a Great Stay : ) This hotel is very close to Living Word Tabernacle and I booked a room for the annual meetings. The food was very decent, the eggs were done as well as bulk (I suspect powdered) can be done. There was bacon and very decent sausage also. The pancake machine was mostly overlooked but it was fun to watch it roll out perfect pancakes in a minute, everybody out to try it, ha! The rooms were nice, the only warning is that the third floor is smoky and I had to ask to be moved. You will also notice a smoke odor near the doorways so if you're hyper sensitive like me, you might want a room on first two floors and not at end of halls. The staff was very kind and friendly. The bedding was a bit worn but I was exhausted and slept fine. There are some comments about the road noise on the highway side of room - I am a light sleeper but honestly did not find it a big deal at all October 9, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Walk over to catch a movie!  Cinema adjacent to hotel! Hotel Lobby One of 4 Hand Painted Murals in our County! Farm, Store, Cafe' and Petting Zoo! Relax in our Lobby Welcome to the hometown of Earl Scruggs! Grand Re-Opening and Ribbon Cutting Pick up your free YMCA pass at the front desk! Come ride our Antique!   www.carrouselfriends.org/ Hotel Lobby Hotel Exterior Meet me at the Waterwheel; Cleveland County Fair! South's Largest County Fair! clevelandcountyfair.com Front Desk Exterior Feature Entrance Cleveland Mall is adjacent to the hotel! Front Desk
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Seniors over 62, enyoy our discounted rate
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-24-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
Check Availability
Loading