• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-27-2014)
(e.g. Aug-28-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: SIOUX FALLS
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Although we do not accept pets, the Staybridge Suites by Holiday Inn which is across the street does.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
The Empire Mall
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Sertoma Butterfly House & Marine Cove
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Thunder Road Go-Karts & Golf
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI
Attraction:
Great Plains Zoo & Delbridge Museum
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:140
  • Car Parking Available
  • Large Parking Area that is well lit.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:116
  • Total number of suites:34
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:116
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:SD0179

Enjoy Our Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites' Comforts

In Sioux Falls, less than five miles from downtown and the Joe Foss Regional Airport, our upscale hotel offers a great home base close to area attractions and businesses.

Our location particularly appeals to professional travelers because we're near the convention center, Augustana College, Sanford Hospital and Avera McKennan. All of our guests love our proximity to the Empire Mall and the heart of Sioux Falls' retail and shopping
View More

Enjoy Our Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites' Comforts

In Sioux Falls, less than five miles from downtown and the Joe Foss Regional Airport, our upscale hotel offers a great home base close to area attractions and businesses.

Our location particularly appeals to professional travelers because we're near the convention center, Augustana College, Sanford Hospital and Avera McKennan. All of our guests love our proximity to the Empire Mall and the heart of Sioux Falls' retail and shopping district, as well, both just minutes from the hotel. For meetings in Sioux Falls, SD, we offer three meeting spaces with free Wi-Fi, and our 24-hour business center with complimentary print, fax and copy services, ensures that you're well-prepared.

Your getaway to our Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls at the Empire Mall can be filled with endless fun. Visit the "Heart of America," and explore historic buildings downtown and cascading waterfalls in Falls Park, or fill your itinerary with trips to the Old Courthouse, Great Bear Recreation Park and Wild Water West Waterpark. Don't forget to explore the Sertoma Butterfly House, too, which features over 700 free-flying beauties.

While you look for hotels in Sioux Falls, SD, remember that we not only offer a great location, but also great amenities. Each morning, we serve a free hot breakfast. Our property also has a 24-hour fitness center, guest laundry and a heated, indoor pool and hot tub.

View Less
Features
Our hotel offers complimentary shuttle service to the airport or work destinations within Sioux Falls. Our shuttle service runs Monday through Friday 5 AM to 10 PM and Saturday and Sunday 8 AM to 10 PM. Our hotel requires a valid credit card at the time of check-in. Cash payments are accepted at check-out.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 193 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by very nice downtown property Staff was very professional. The 9th floor amenities make the stay very enjoyable. SInce trying this property last year, I always stay there if rooms are available. October 25, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by warm room and poor food The room was extremely warm, was not able to get the temperature under 80 degrees both nights. Had lunch in the restaurant one day. Food was way over done, they offered to remake and it came out the same. But over all it is a nice place to stay. October 23, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Used amenities The room wasn't ready when at check in so I waited fifteen minutes and watched the front desk hand put three other rooms immediately after I tried to check in. I was late to the wedding I was attending in Sioux Falls because of your hotel chain and unspeakably rude staff. I will never patronize this hotel again. This holiday inn was a huge waste of money. October 23, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Not the best Could not adjust room tempature I asked for a room away from elevator and ice machine in my reservation and my room was right across from two elevator and the ice machine. This was the worst holiday inn I have stayed at The only good thing was it was close to the falls. October 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good stay It was a good stay for an older motel that could use some renovation. We had a King suite with a balcony and there was moisture on the door frame. I'd hate to be there in the dead of winter. Most Holiday Inn suites have a fridge and microwave, this one didn't. Other then that the stay was good. Staff was friendly and helpful. October 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quick stay in Sioux Falls I was very pleased with my one (1) night stay at the City Centre. What made the visit so pleasing was the staff - from check-in, to the Verde Grill bartender, to the hotel shuttle driver. I will definitely stay here again and will definitely recommend it to any friends & family who require a hotel in Sioux Falls. October 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Everything was fine Everything was fine. Room was very nice. Price higher than what we like to pay but location was a plus. Sunday Brunch was nice but expensive. We should have ordered off the menu because we only wanted breakfast not a full brunch. It was very good but high price for the amount we ate. The room was too warm and we could not get it cooler. October 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome room service guy We had a wonderful man bring up a fridge for storing breast milk and then he offered and brought a crib for the baby! He was awesome and made the whole experience even better! VERY impressed!!!!! October 15, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Poor customer service, decent rooms I got married in downtown Sioux Falls and reserved 5 rooms for two nights and 1 room for two nights, a Friday and a Saturday. we were told an ealry check in would not be possible, we had to check in at their usual time of 3PM-fine. I arrived around 3:30 to check in to my 5 rooms and was told I could only have two, the others weren't ready yet so I would have to come back in an hour. they also insisted I only had reserved 4 rooms, not 5. I had to pull up my reservation in my phone to prove to the unpleasant lady at the front desk that I did in fact have 5 rooms reserved because she was so sure I was wrong that she refused to look up the reservation number I gave her on my computer. once I put proof in her face she finally believed me and gave us 2 of our 5 rooms. I still cannot believe I was treated so poorly when I spent nearly $1, 000 at this hotel in one weekend. I will be using the other downtown Sioux Falls hotel the next time I need to stay in the area. October 9, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Needs to be updated Room was cold and after setting thermostat at 80 the fan blew cold air. Called front desk asking for maintenance and was told system is old and the pipes run either heat or cold for the whole hotel not individually controllable. Was offered extra blankets. Not a solution. October 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice, clean hotel, great staff Excellent customer service. Very clean hotel. Staff are very professional and made us feel welcome. September 27, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by In town for a benefit We were in town for an event at this facility, the staff was very helpful the front desk was not the best I have seen. Rooms were good minus the fact that the fire alarm went off at 3am and there was not one in our room. Decent place to stay if you can get a group rate otherwise it is a little over priced. Did not recognize Reward status. September 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Customer Service made the trip Superb Customer Service all the way around. Folks went out of there way to ensure the stay was comfortable and all needs met. Great location downtown. Very clean. Will definitely stay at this location again! September 25, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Very unfriendly, not child friendly at all! Front desk staff very unfriendly. Acted as though we were bothering them checking in or asking questions. Very over priced. September 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by classy and a great location Came to town for THAT SOUNDS DECENT. An excellent outdoor concert just three blocks from the holiday inn in Falls Park. Great staff and a very nice room. Definitely recommend over anywhere else I've stayed in Sioux Falls. September 20, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Staff and service were average I called to inquire about a reservation and got very abrupt take-it-or-leave it responses. I said I would think about it and got "Really? OK" in response. When I made a decision and called back, I said "I believe we just spoke about a reservation," her response was "Who is this, I don't know who you are or what you want." Rude and abrupt for a business who should be anxious to get our money. There was a fire alarm at 3am and we had to descend six flights of stairs. Unavoidable, and no problem with that. It would have been good to have staff available to help te elderly and otherwise infirm guests. My mother is 95 years old. We were on our own, there was no one to help or keep us informed. September 19, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Clean but noisy We stayed at the hotel on a Friday/Saturday over Labor Day weekend. Our room was decent and comparable to other hotels similarly priced, with the exception of the bathroom which was tiny. However, the fan in our room was extremely loud and made it difficult to sleep when it was running. As it was 90 plus degrees out and the air was needed, it made for a long night. Saturday night we returned to the hotel around 10pm and could hear the bass from the wedding dance above on the top floor - very loudly - and we were only on the 4th floor. Luckily our kids were so exhausted they still were able to sleep but they should consider the dance noise on other guests. We found the hotel to be over priced compared to similar hotels, especially since they do not even offer a free or continental breakfast. Our kids loved the pool, but the bathroom is so far away!! Why do you not have a closer bathroom to the pool without have to travel through the lobby? The staff was curteous from the minimal interaction we had with them. If we needed to be located downtown we would possibly stay again, but otherwise we will probably look elsewhere in Sioux Falls. September 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Very friendly and efficient staff. We also enjoyed dining in the restaurant. September 1, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by New managers Expensive for no breakfast included. Major road construction going on during our stay, was not advised of that when booking, heard heavy machinery all night. Major concer is that I had issues with charges on my credit card. Not normally a big deal, but when I tried, SEVERAL times, to contact the front desk manager she was too busy to take my calls. Must be inexperienced managers unable to multi task. When you call a hotel, you should atleast be able to speak to a manager of some sort. General front desk vibe was very unwelcoming. August 28, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Downtown Location Location was perfect. Walking distance to great restaurants, shops, and Falls Park walking trails, etc. Pool was fine. Bathroom should be remodeled. Too small with low ceiling, no counter space and no fan. Bathroom got very hot after three of us used it. August 27, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Review Not a friendly staff at check in, didn't know I was a priority club member until I started to walk away, room next to me was flooded due to a leak a few floors above and loud fans ran all night, they couldn't get the printer to work to give me receipt for several minutes, no apology... no I wouldn't stay there again. August 24, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by A "just ok" experience. The hotel does not offer cots. They hosted a wedding party that played their music a ways into the night so it was hard to sleep. The beds are fairly comfortable and the room was clean. Alarms went off in the morning hours but no call or information from front dask as to what to do. When I called they stated they didn't know what was up. The tone of voice was irritated. August 21, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by a place to sleep... The Receptionist At Check In Reeked Of Cigarette Smoke, they NeveEr Had Me SIgn Paperwork At Check In Like All Other Holiday Inn Locations. The Towels And some Bedding Were Dirty. Vents In Bathroom Were Dusty. August 20, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room Room was very comfortable and clean. Check-in was fast and polite front desk staff. The location was close to a few restaurants and museums. August 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great! Wonderfully new and clean hotel! We were able to have adjoining rooms which was wonderful! Enjoyed the pool! August 16, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by could not sleep for the noise my stay was truly awful -- the noise was so bad that the ceiling tile in August 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great but no free coffee This hotel was fabulous with an amazing bar/Resturaunt . Great service and beautiful location. Imagine my surprise The next morning when I found out you had to pay for Coffee. When I mentioned it they did give me a free cup but thought That was so strange to not have complimentary coffee I would stay again. August 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Service The room was clean and comfortable. We were able to check in a little early as we were staying there for a wedding and had to attend. I left my pillow. My friend called and left a message with house keeping about it but never got a call back. He called back the next morning and they said they had lots of pillows left but without room numbers on them but there was a pair of shoes with that room number. The person found the pillow and put them together so my friend could pick them up for me. August 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff and accomodations We stay at this Holiday Inn twice a year on our way to and from Stugis, SD. The property is well maintained and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. Great location to walk down town to great restaurants. Holiday Inn has a great bar! The staff is always very accommodating at the desk, bar and restaurant. And they have wonderful breakfast! August 10, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy I was unable to relax and sleep due to the all sorts of noises. The rooftop mechanical outside my room sounded like a vacuum cleaner running all night. the ventilation system sounded like I was sleeping in a submarine. The refrigerator in the room started making a terrible high pitched eeeeeeeeeeeeeee in the middle of the night. I went to a different motel the next day. August 5, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 next>>
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Near the Empire Mall
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Near the Empire Mall
Select to close.
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Near the Empire Mall Great Room in Sioux Falls Hotel Two Queen Beds non smoking
Select to close.
Discover more choices to go.  Enjoy the Free Express Start Breakfast Bar at Holiday Inn Express.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-27-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-28-2014)
Check Availability
Loading