• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-24-2014)
(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: SIOUX FALLS
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-05:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Although we do not accept pets, the Staybridge Suites by Holiday Inn which is across the street does.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
The Empire Mall
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Sertoma Butterfly House & Marine Cove
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Thunder Road Go-Karts & Golf
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI
Attraction:
Great Plains Zoo & Delbridge Museum
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:140
  • Car Parking Available
  • Large Parking Area that is well lit.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:116
  • Total number of suites:34
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:116
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:SD0179

Enjoy Our Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites' Comforts

In Sioux Falls, less than five miles from downtown and the Joe Foss Regional Airport, our upscale hotel offers a great home base close to area attractions and businesses.

Our location particularly appeals to professional travelers because we're near the convention center, Augustana College, Sanford Hospital and Avera McKennan. All of our guests love our proximity to the Empire Mall and the heart of Sioux Falls' retail and shopping
View More

Enjoy Our Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites' Comforts

In Sioux Falls, less than five miles from downtown and the Joe Foss Regional Airport, our upscale hotel offers a great home base close to area attractions and businesses.

Our location particularly appeals to professional travelers because we're near the convention center, Augustana College, Sanford Hospital and Avera McKennan. All of our guests love our proximity to the Empire Mall and the heart of Sioux Falls' retail and shopping district, as well, both just minutes from the hotel. For meetings in Sioux Falls, SD, we offer three meeting spaces with free Wi-Fi, and our 24-hour business center with complimentary print, fax and copy services, ensures that you're well-prepared.

Your getaway to our Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Sioux Falls at the Empire Mall can be filled with endless fun. Visit the "Heart of America," and explore historic buildings downtown and cascading waterfalls in Falls Park, or fill your itinerary with trips to the Old Courthouse, Great Bear Recreation Park and Wild Water West Waterpark. Don't forget to explore the Sertoma Butterfly House, too, which features over 700 free-flying beauties.

While you look for hotels in Sioux Falls, SD, remember that we not only offer a great location, but also great amenities. Each morning, we serve a free hot breakfast. Our property also has a 24-hour fitness center, guest laundry and a heated, indoor pool and hot tub.

View Less
Features
Our hotel offers complimentary shuttle service to the airport or work destinations within Sioux Falls. Our shuttle service runs Monday through Friday 5 AM to 10 PM and Saturday and Sunday 8 AM to 10 PM. Our hotel requires a valid credit card at the time of check-in. Cash payments are accepted at check-out.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 240 reviewers.
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Dirty and out of date I was traveling through and I always choose Holiday Inns because they are clean, new, and priced reasonably. I'm usually at ease because I can trust I'll have a pleasant stay. This particular hotel was dirty, run down, and just damp everywhere. The outside of the building was delapidated and had trash around the common area. There was a wedding being held in the lobby area and there were several drunk smoking people blocking the entrance of the hotel. They were trying to call my dogs and I was carrying two bags and exhausted. I walked through the cloud of smoke and had to take the stairs because the party was hogging all the elevators. The stairwell wasn't even locked on the outside. People had doors propped open on both sides. I got to the room and my windows were open and it was so humid my blankets felt damp. The thermostat would only go down so far so I didn't feel comfortable in my room until late. The food I ordered was just a big let down. I was optimistic hoping at least one thing would be good but I couldn't eat the sweet potato fries bc they were cold and salty. I was just thoroughly irritated with this whole experience and I will drive the extra mile on my way back home to stay somewhere nicer. June 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Party band was overbearing The room was very nice and so was the front desk staff. The staff in the restaurant was also very friendly. Unfortunately, there was a party or parties going on in the hotel and the noise and bass music was not acceptable. MAYBE the next time a band is contracted to play for a party, the speakers could be checked ahead of time for noise level and not disturbing the guest in their rooms. We didn't want to complain, but thought it necessary to inform the front desk that they may consider some checks and balances before the next party occurs. We will revisit this hotel if we're in the area again. June 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Supportive caring staff Due to unanticipated circumstances my stay needed to be extended for several days. The staff was willing to work with me on a day to day basis. Even when the hotel was fully booked on the weekend I was permitted to keep the room I had on the concierge level. Staff expressed an appropriate level of concern for the circumstances that required a lengthened stay. June 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Panhandlers in the parking area. Street people don't bother me that much ,but other people I talked to were pretty concerned about how aggressive they were around the front entrance, upon their arrival. Also when my Girlfriend would go out front to smoke , I had to go out with her to make sure she was safe, because the street people would come up asking for a cigarette! A parking lot security person might just be the thing, especially out front at night! June 5, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Hot room and noisy door slams Had issues with the air conditioner working correctly in our room, maintenance came to work on it twice. First night didn't get it working. Next day they did for about five hours and it stopped again. Two hot nights of sleep. Also didn't like how noisy the doors slammed each time someone went in and out of their rooms on our floor. Clean room though and the staff was helpful. June 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing Sunday Brunch My family enjoyed the Sunday Brunch during our stay. The produce was very fresh and the entire buffet was wonderful. We recommended it to our family members who actually live in Sioix Falls. June 1, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Night's stay I would definitely stay at this hotel again. I stay at many HI and HI express and this is one of the nicest HI's I have ever stayed at. This hotel is in the heart of Sioux Falls, close to everything downtown and close to the airport. The room was very comfortable. The cleanliness of the room was impeccable and I am a stickler for cleanliness. Some may complain about the bathroom being too small but it was very clean and had everything one needs in a bathroom!! I was fine with the bathroom. The staff was very helpful with any questions I had asked. The shuttle to the airport was very prompt and courteous. No problems here and I would book this hotel over ones in the burbs. May 31, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good stay. Only complaint is it would be nice to have a fridge in the room. Also, nobody in my group was able to sleep very well. I think it was the pillows. May 29, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice hotel in downtown area Very nice hotel in the downtown area of Sioux Falls. The parking is a little confusing to get to when first entering but there are convenient entrances leading down to the hotel check-in. If you used the stairs to get to the rooms, you had to either walk through the pool area or restaurant which was odd. The room was very comfortable and even had a decent sized balcony which was a nice surprise. The restaurant/bar inside the hotel had a pleasant atmosphere and very good food and drinks. I specifically recommend trying the spinach artichoke dip. May 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice bar--friendly service The bed was comfortable, the room very nice. My husband wishes there would be recliners in the room. May 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Property in Downtown Sioux Falls This is a very nice property with a great staff! I always choose a room with a balconly which adds to the relaxation of the stay. I always stay here when in town. May 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome place to stay! We truly enjoyed our experience with this hotel. We always make it a point to book rooms here when we are on a westward trip. The staff is great and the food terrific. Rooms and lounge nice and clean. Thank you for making our trip going out and coming back a wonderful one. May 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great overall service and great hotel venue Everything you need in a medium priced hotel. The hotel was clean from the front door to the toilets in my room and in the commons bathroom. The beds are great for sleeping at night or just taking a nap and the wake up service is good whenever it is needed. The restaurant was good from the service to the quality of the food. The bar had exquisite service as the bar tenders are very good with drink combinations and quick to see when a customer has a need for assistance. I am sitting in my room for my next visit in this hotel so I would definitely stay here when ever I am in Sioux Falls SD. The water for showers and washing hands was always hot at the turn of the water handle. April 30, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Nothing to Remember While the room and bed was comfortable, there were what seemed like a million little kids running up and down the halls and we could hear all of them from inside our room. The bathroom was tiny and cramped and it felt like the toilet was sitting in the middle of the floor. On top of that the water in the shower never even got to lukewarm. I When I told staff about it all I got was a "thanks for letting us know". I had no choice but to take a cold shower because of time limitations. Not a great overall experience and given the choice I wouldn't go back. April 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel great location Efficient and friendly a great experience all around April 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Downtown ! I've always been comfortable at this Holiday Inn, but now that they've updated/renovated/freshened things up I like it even better ! Walked across the bridge to Monk's and really enjoyed that too. The diner on Phillips is a good breakfast spot as well. If you're in the mood for pizza, they make a good one right there at Holiday Inn. April 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Business and Pleasure I stayed at the Holiday Inn City Centre while attending a conference held on site. The hotel has been beautifully remodeled. The staff were extremely accomodating to our needs in the meeting rooms, banquet orders, and guest rooms. Everyone was extremely pleasant and went over and above to make our conference run smoothly and ensure the comfort of our guests. The rooms were very nice. Housekeeping was great. The food in the bar and restaurant was delicious. Close to lots of fun shops and things to do. I will stay there again! April 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by some front desk staff need to go I have stayed here on numerous occasions and always had great customer service, but this trip was a little different, The clerk who checked me in and gave me my key backs was great the young lady who was working at 2:30 in the morning awesome. But when I went to the desk and complained about the noise from construction at 8:00 and the wind howling through the door well to bad was the attitude. I talked to the manager later that day and she said she would take care of the noise best she could and said the contractors were not to start that early. As far as the door to balcony goes she was aware of the problem and were trying to correct it. The maintance person came and put draft gaurds around the door which helped eminsley. The curtains in there balcony rooms don't wrap around the end of the window so if you plan to sleep late probably wont be able to. but overall I would recommend this place. April 1, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by No Solution offered During the stay, the room heat would not regulate,(constant heat), When called the front desk, and requested a change of room, they said they were full and could not offer. I shut the system down and had one of the most uncomfortable nights of recent travels. Followed by a morning meal that the waitress only offered the buffet. Took 5 minutes to receive that information and than another 10 minutes to receive my juice and coffee. The Food however was above average but due to the rude service I rate this as below average. If it were not for the location, I woulod not recommend this location. March 31, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 Poor customer service The staff are rude and I had to call customer service to get the points from my stay credited. Total pain everytime I've stayed here. Other than the conciere reception, there is no other positive to staying here over any of the other IHG hotels in the area. March 25, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by NO HOT WATER!!!!! Spent the day working outside in the cold and wanted a hot shower. NO hot water in the room. When I went to the front desk, one of the hotel employees was on the radio speaking with the hotel maintenance about the same problem in another room. I asked her to have my room checked. She replied no problem. Day two, another cold day outside, I REALLY wanted a hot shower. Again, no hot water!!! I went to the front desk where I was told no one could look at the problem until the next day. They offered to give me another room, I told them I wasn't going to shower again and was leaving early the next morning, so there was no reason to change rooms. The reply I recieved was "Sorry". Customer service is lacking. If you want a hot shower, stay somewhere else! March 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by SAUNA AND WHIRLPOOL FELT GREAT ON A COLD WINTER NIGHT! Hotel is in kind of a downtown setting, but felt very safe. Had a sauna that got nice and warm (felt fantastic, relaxing!). Whirlpool good, pool OK but small. No water ANYWHERE in the area by the pools (no bathroom, no shower, no drinking fountain, no nothing! Did find some water eventually in the workout room.). Our room was a sweet suite, beautiful! We ordered up room service, had the rib eye steak, and it was DELICIOUS! Wifi worked great, nice comfortable work chair and functional desk to work on. We stayed here on the way out on our trip, and on the way back, and it was GREAT both times! Loved the fact that they had a sauna - they are becoming harder to find nowadays at hotels. March 7, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Non-accommodating staff member I checked in on Sunday feb 16. Lady who checked me in was very nice and did her job well. She was the younger of the two at the desk and had shorter brown hair. Once I arrived to my room I noticed I didn't have a fridge which I always have at this property. I had purchased some bottled water and food items that needed to be refrigerated. I called down and the other lady working at the desk answered. I asked if any rooms had mini fridges. She said not the standard rooms. I replied by saying I've always had a fridge and was normally upgraded or put on the top floor due to IHG membership. She said the room was not reserved that way and I said well the high school I was working with booked it but I've been upgraded every other time. She made it very clear from her tone and her attitude that she was not about to do anything to help the situation. Was very disappointed. One time I had to stay at the Brandon holiday property due to overbooking here in SF. Starting to think I may regularly stay at the Brandon property now. Customer service should be about being understanding and accommodating to your guests. If she would have been more understanding and nicer even if top floor was booked I would have understood. Her lack of caring left a bad taste in that property. Very unfortunate. February 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent service They are friendly, clean rooms, great service! Will be back. February 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Quiet, Quick in and out, and Comfortable! What more could one ask? Second time we've stayed here, and will definitely return! Ask for the 9th Floor - very quiet. Also, a great location downtown relative to some good restaurants and houses of worship, including a beautiful Cathedral of St. Joseph's. February 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very clean. Enjoyed the breakfast. Staff was very professional. February 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service and comfortable bed From check in to check out everything was excellent February 2, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Relaxing! Took a long weekend and had a great time! Everyone was helpful and friendly! Nice rooms and facility! We will be back! January 31, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Howeling in the wind..... We stayed at this hotel in Sioux Falls. Arrived about 8pm on a Monday night. Got our room. Went to the restaurant for a little bite to eat. Had to ask for almost everything, soup was cold, took forever to get our meal and we were the only ones in the restaurant and only about 6 in the bar and no one was eating there. Had to ask for water. Asked for more salad dressing and then it took 10 minutes to get what we asked for. We had a room with a balcony. Outside door and the wind blew and it was so cold in our room and the door howled and whistled to the point not much sleep was gotten. Clean, yes. Bed comfy, yes. They let us leave our car there all week and took us to the airport and when we flew in at 10pm Sunday night they came and got us and took us to our car. Would I stay there again, probably. Will I eat there again, Probably not. Will I request and inside room with no door, you bet especially if it is in the winter. January 20, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very Nice Stay With Our Family We were very pleased with our stay at this property. They got us into our room early. The room was very nice...clean. The facilities and staff were great. The kids had a great time in the pool. Overall, it was a great experience. January 12, 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 9 next>>
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Near the Empire Mall
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Near the Empire Mall
Select to close.
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Near the Empire Mall Great Room in Sioux Falls Hotel Two Queen Beds non smoking
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-24-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
Check Availability
Loading