• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-22-2014)
(e.g. Oct-23-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: SMITHFIELD
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Hindi

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Roger Williams Park and Zoo
Distance From Hotel:14.74MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:104
  • Car Parking Available
  • Free on-site parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:84
  • Total number of suites:15
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:30
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:54
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:84
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Smithfield Hotel's Guests Enjoy Rhode Island Relaxation

Whether you're visiting for business or fun, the Holiday Inn Express® & Suites Smithfield - Providence hotel's location enables you to spend less time worrying about travel and more time enjoying the beautiful area, home to picturesque farms and gorgeous orchards. Just 18 miles from T. F. Green International Airport (PVD) and nine miles from Providence, these accommodations are truly ideal.

If you're visiting for business,
View More

Smithfield Hotel's Guests Enjoy Rhode Island Relaxation

Whether you're visiting for business or fun, the Holiday Inn Express® & Suites Smithfield - Providence hotel's location enables you to spend less time worrying about travel and more time enjoying the beautiful area, home to picturesque farms and gorgeous orchards. Just 18 miles from T. F. Green International Airport (PVD) and nine miles from Providence, these accommodations are truly ideal.

If you're visiting for business, you can work efficiently with free wired and Wi-Fi access and the 24-hour Business Center. And because the hotel is near downtown Providence and the Rhode Island Convention Center, you can easily attend corporate events in the city. Bryant University is three miles away, and Brown University and major corporations, such as Fidelity Investments, Amica Insurance and CVS headquarters, are all within 10 miles.

Leisure guests also enjoy wonderful attractions around the hotel. Near downtown Providence, you can attend an incredible show at the Providence Performing Arts Center or catch a play by the Tony Award-winning Trinity Repertory Company. Pats fans appreciate the hotel's location 23 miles from Gillette Stadium, as well.

You can begin each morning with the mouthwatering complimentary, hot breakfast bar; and after a busy day, unwind in the heated, indoor pool or sweat off stress in the 24-hour Fitness Center. For a wonderful stay in Smithfield, please call today.

View Less
Features
While the hotel is near the Rhode Island Convention Center and other points of interest, it also offers spacious suite-style guest rooms, so you can enjoy a great location and ultimate comfort.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 157 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location The room was very clean and met my expections for Holiday Inn Express.The room was quiet even though a girls soft team was staying in the hotel. We absolutely heard nothing! June 4, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Swansea - Worth a Stay We stayed at the Holiday Inn in Swansea because we were attending Brown's commencement weekend as well as finalizing wedding plans for our daughter. We typically stay closer to the Providence area but all rooms were booked. Nonetheless, we've had good experiences with Holiday Inn in previous travels and expected the same in Swansea. We were not disappointed. Our only suggestions are to buffer the noise between shared bedroom walls and replace the bulky chairs in the dining area. We could hear people speaking in other rooms and it was a bit difficult to get around the dining room chairs when most tables were occupied - there was little to no room to squeeze through. Overall we would stay at this location again, preferably in a room at either corner to limit noise from other rooms. June 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay You had excellent beds and the breakfast was great. The location was very convient. May 31, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Swansea - Memorial Day 2014 weekend Room air conditioner was not functioning properly first night. They did repair it. Bathroom shower fixtures were quite loose (pulled away from the wall easily). The sleep sofa mattress was in bad shape. Hotel has very thin walls. We had a loud "neighbor". Both nights (into the early morning) was talking very loudly and had music/TV on very loud. Called the front desk on both nights and asked them to call the room. I do not know if they did, but there was no change in the sound level. as an IGH rewards member, they did add 5000 points due to the issues with the A/C and sleep sofa. May 28, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by From the giant Pancake client Golden rule to running a business designated to customers is Customer Service and try to foresee any issues that may occur. Well, my compliments to the front desk associates! Excellent customer service and the girl who was at the desk Saturday, May 17th. Did over and above-she came to our room and noticed a problem with the door, she offered us another room because she couldn't guarantee that the could be repaired. We were so comfortable, that we decided to take a chance and stay. When we got back from supper, she had the door fixed! And our new key cards ready. I usually have names but I forgot - so thank you! The only thing I can say was not enjoyable was the comfort of the bed. But that could be a personal choice, no fault of the hotel. May 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by enjoyable weekend Spent 2 nights here for a family visit in neighboring Somerset. Had a very entertaining stay with some cheer leader teams also staying the weekend. The rooms and hallways were kept under control even with all the young ladies running around, The breakfast attendant kept her smile on, even when dealing with the type A chearleader moms! The room was great and the location is just far enough off the beaten path to get a good price. Local restraunts are a short drive and the seafood is excellent. I'll be back! May 6, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good but with a few little changes it could be better The hotel is very clean and well kept. The staff was attentive and helpful. The down side was the breakfast. The hot items were not good. There was no full length mirror in the room (I was visiting to attend an event). The wall unit for the heat was very loud, I couldn't sleep with in going. But I would stay again - because I can learn to live with everything else for a clean room with good staff. April 18, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place for a cold shower Clean property. The bed is comfortable and I could recommend this hotel, except, the hot water would be intermittent in the mornings. It was never "out" as I would expect if there were a problem. The hot shower would just go cold. Not good when there is frost on the ground and your plans are to spend the day outside. I require two things from a hotel, and everything else is just gravy. Clean sheets and a hot shower. Sheets were clean, but the failure of the shower just doesn't let the hotel make my recommend list. April 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome This was my second or third time staying here and as always it was great. April 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Warm Pool, nice We stayed as a family and the kids loved the warm pool despite freezing temperatures outside. The staff was very friendly and there is a great local restaurant around the corner, which you get 10% discount on already great priced food. The pancake machine for breakfast was also a great addition. March 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome guy at the desk Came in from Sharon MA. with my boss who is disabled, heading to his dad's funeral in Fall River the next day. The handicapped accessible room was incredible. He had a huge , very comfy bed and the bathroom was great ( in size and cleanliness ). I slept on the pull out sofa ( NOT sleeping with my boss) which was quite awful, felt every little spring. The young man at the desk was awesome (Carlos I believe) gave me extra blankets/ comforters that I put under me and softened the bed a little. He was very helpful throughout our stay. I wish we had more time to spend there as they had a pool and actually had a lift I could have used for my boss with cerebral palsy. If you have a disability and need a place to stay in the Swansea area this is the place for you. we were very rushed in the morning and were not able to really enjoy their breakfast but did grab a cinnamon bun and some juice. Very satisfied customers ! March 5, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by This property needs help The property needs some improvements. Soap Dish in the shower, so you do not have to keep bending up and down to get your soap and shampoo Lighting in the GYM was very dark NO ANSEPTIC IN GYM OR COMMON AREAS Towels did not smell fresh, hard as a rock NO hot water, warm shower shampoo In the Medea Center I fell off the chair, one of the wheels was missing...Filliped the chair up so no else could use it. I went down stairs to tell the counter person, but he/she was too busy texting and did not recognize me at the counter. I gave up March 2, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable but ... My stay was comfortable but I was surprised that I had a five night reservation and was put in a room that didn't have a microwave. I did not notice this the first night as I got there late and left early for work, the second night when I noticed there was no microwave I called down and was told I can either use the one in the lobby or have to switch rooms, I had already unpacked and didn't want to go through the trouble. I was a little disappointed that they couldn't just bring one to the room for a couple of nights. On the other hand the room was clean and the staff friendly and it was a good location for work. Only other thing is that the pool is under construction. February 10, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Relaxation stayed here for 3 nights and absolutely loved it ! The staff was amazing , greeted me and my family everytime they saw us ! The room was nice and clean . We felt comfortable staying here ! I do wish the prices were a little cheaper it does get rather costly , made a nice dent in my wallet lol ! we are now planning another weekend stay :) see y'all soon !! February 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Clean and comfortable! The price was absolutely reasonable, the rooms (and more importantly bathrooms!) were clean and comfortable, the WiFi was fast, the staff friendly and efficient, and the continental breakfast was surprisingly good. The only negative comment is the sound carriers in the hallway in the evenings/mornings when people are coming and going and doors are slamming. But that is a little complaint compared to the quality of the hotel. Overall, what a great stay! January 6, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Great room but poor cinnamon buns Plus: The room was very nice (I got a free upgrade as a Platinum member), location was close by to the mall, various restaurants, and my business, and convenient to the interstate for the trip back to the Providence airport. Con: One thing I look forward to when staying at a Holiday Inn Express is the cinnamon buns served at breakfast. Both Monday and Tuesday mornings of my stay, however, the buns were stale and barely edible, and the bacon overcooked and crumbly. (I checked out too early for breakfast on Wednesday) I mentioned this to the desk clerk at checkout. I didn't know it until just now when filling out my expense report that I was given a credit on my bill, so add that to the plus side of the ledger. January 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good stay Stayed for 3 nights. After first day, room attendants did not replace used coffee or cups. Had to ask front desk for these. Also did not replace all used towels. Second person in the shower would run out of hot water no matter what time of day. January 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Large, nice room and great service. Whenever we visit family in Massachusetts, we stay at the Holiday Inn Express, Swansea - great location near shopping, restaurants, churches, post office, etc. We always have a large room, which includes a sitting area with a loveseat, as well as a breakfast area with chairs. We utilize the refrigerator and microwave and really feel at home in our room. The free breakfasts are wonderful and service is great - all for a resonable price. Personnel always greets us with a smile. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. My only disappointment was that when I went to find something I dropped under the bureau, I found it to be terribly dusty and had a few articles from other guests under it, i.e., child's paper drawing and a pool game ball (yellow). Also, the bathroom grout could use a little professional cleaning. December 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by No real problems or complaints Everything was fine the only issue was ABC TV did not come in . December 23, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by This is IHG? Was not really impressed by this hotel stay. Have definitely expected better. Hotel staff was really friendly, but: - Outdoor sign not illuminated, almost missed the exit (can happen) - No Priority Check-In (no big deal) - Carpet in room was not vacuumed (should not happen) - Burger and fries from previous guest still in the fridge (should really not happen!) - No space in breakfast room to sit, so smaller breakfast to go in the hotel room (hmm, bad start of the day....) November 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wicked Awesome Hotel! The best option in Southern Massachusetts. Great location, great amenities, pleasant atmosphere, delicious breakfast, comfortable and very clean. The staff was extremely nice and accommodating. We couldn't have been happier or more relaxed. We look forward to our next stay! Thank you! November 14, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by bad service The eggs were the most disgusting eggs I have ever had!! No fruit? really ? On the morning I was to check out there was no hot water, I only left enough time to get myself ready and leave and when I reported the problem they gave me an attitude, told me I should have called earlier and just told me that the hotel was very full and it couldn't handle the need. NO APOLOGY! just excuses. I had heard other people in the breakfast room having the same complaint. I asked if there would be a discount and they very reluctantly gave me $20. never been to a hotel that treated a situation like this before. November 7, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Shocking I travel every week so I stay at a different hotel every week and have never had a terrible experience until now. I couldn't believe how dirty the room was the sheets weren't clean the pillowcases were in change because there is hair all over them and the carpet had so much dust behind the nightstands and under the desk it was actually gray! The man at the front desk was very nice and did change my room however the new room wasn't much better it was a little bit cleaner but even at the breakfast station they had no pancake mix there were no cinnamon bun muffins and I was working on my computer in the breakfast area after 9 AM and the girls shut the lights off on me this is not a hotel I would recommend November 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Swansea Holiday Inn stay 10-29 - 10-30 I like this hotel because of its location to my business travels, cleanliness and staff's hard work. Being close to vacation spots, it would be an ideal location for a family to stay during vacation as the value is there all year long. Several restaurants are close by, just a few miles east or west on the Interstate. November 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Thin walls Although the rooms had thin walls, so it was a bit noisy, the location was good for Rhode Island and Cape Cod. A bit crowded at the weekend for breakfast but everything clean October 27, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Ran out of hot water, hot tub not working. We picked the place because the place and we wanted was booked and we've previously had good luck with HIE in Brattleboro VT. First problem in this fairly new hotel (street address doesn't even show on my GPS) was the whirlpool, which was a reason we chose it, was out of order. I did not care for the long hairs in the bathtub that were not ours, but the worst part was the hot water turned luke-warm while I was showering. Nice room, nice bed, and typical HIE breakfast. October 23, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Horrendous experience!!! First I arrived at the hotel to find that the reservations I had made for a two queen bed room were changed on the hotels behalf to a single king room with a sofa bed. After the one and only employee behind the desk told me that reservations don't reserve a specific room I made my way to the room and discovered the sofa bed with a 2" mattress had no bedding. After ripping the room apart like I had a search warrant looking for bedding I returned to the front desk where 20 min later the clerk procured me some bedding. By the time I made the sofa bed with the crib sheet that didn't cover half of the mattress it was after midnight. The breakfast was gross. The only edible food there was the fruit loops. The only other experience I had that I can comment on was the pool area which was dirty and you apparently had to bring your room towels down with you. Never had a negative experience with a holiday inn express prior to this one. October 22, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Don't bother staying here: The staff was unprofessional compared to other HIE properties I have stayed in. On this trip, we stayed in HIE properties in Fishers, IN, Cleveland, OH, Fishkill, NY, So. Portland, ME, and Swansea, MA. Without a doubt we were treated like second class guests in the Swansea, MA. facility. They argued about my "Government Status" and asked to see "papers" to prove I was on Gov. business I never was asked about this at any other facility,. other than my I.D. The clerk on duty was more interested in talking on the phone than taking care on the guests in front of her. The man at the front desk told me it was not the job of the maids to clean the coffee pot each morning, it was ours. There was a dead fly on the bathroom floor for three days, and still there when we left. I have never felt so insulted in a hotel/motel before and I am 72 years old and stayed in quite a few... Needless to say, I will never stay in the Swansea, MA HIE again until someone in Corporate straightens them out. They told me that they were Privately owned and operated, so I guess they don't have to conform. One day we could not have breakfast until the cook got there a half hour late which put us behind on our schedule... October 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by helpful, caring, knowledgable staff very wonderful staff and environment. clean and comfortable. if you need anything the front desk is quick to ablige October 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Another Great Stay This was my second visit to this property while visiting family. Both times our experience was very good. We had a king executive with a wet bar, fridge and microwave on the third floor. We have never had an issue ourselves with noise from other rooms but have occasionally been able to hear conversations from other areas while in room. Bathroom living and bedroom areas were all clean. Bed comfortable. Breakfast was good with choice of hot or cold foods. There are no restaurants within walking distance. For us this was not an issue but may be to others. Will choose this hotel again when in the area. October 7, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-22-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-23-2014)
Check Availability
Loading