• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Apr-20-2014)
(e.g. Apr-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: SMITHFIELD
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Hindi

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Roger Williams Park and Zoo
Distance From Hotel:14.74MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:104
  • Car Parking Available
  • Free on-site parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:84
  • Total number of suites:15
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:30
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:54
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:84
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Smithfield Hotel's Guests Enjoy Rhode Island Relaxation

Whether you're visiting for business or fun, the Holiday Inn Express® & Suites Smithfield - Providence hotel's location enables you to spend less time worrying about travel and more time enjoying the beautiful area, home to picturesque farms and gorgeous orchards. Just 18 miles from T. F. Green International Airport (PVD) and nine miles from Providence, these accommodations are truly ideal.

If you're visiting for business,
View More

Smithfield Hotel's Guests Enjoy Rhode Island Relaxation

Whether you're visiting for business or fun, the Holiday Inn Express® & Suites Smithfield - Providence hotel's location enables you to spend less time worrying about travel and more time enjoying the beautiful area, home to picturesque farms and gorgeous orchards. Just 18 miles from T. F. Green International Airport (PVD) and nine miles from Providence, these accommodations are truly ideal.

If you're visiting for business, you can work efficiently with free wired and Wi-Fi access and the 24-hour Business Center. And because the hotel is near downtown Providence and the Rhode Island Convention Center, you can easily attend corporate events in the city. Bryant University is three miles away, and Brown University and major corporations, such as Fidelity Investments, Amica Insurance and CVS headquarters, are all within 10 miles.

Leisure guests also enjoy wonderful attractions around the hotel. Near downtown Providence, you can attend an incredible show at the Providence Performing Arts Center or catch a play by the Tony Award-winning Trinity Repertory Company. Pats fans appreciate the hotel's location 23 miles from Gillette Stadium, as well.

You can begin each morning with the mouthwatering complimentary, hot breakfast bar; and after a busy day, unwind in the heated, indoor pool or sweat off stress in the 24-hour Fitness Center. For a wonderful stay in Smithfield, please call today.

View Less
Features
While the hotel is near the Rhode Island Convention Center and other points of interest, it also offers spacious suite-style guest rooms, so you can enjoy a great location and ultimate comfort.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.8 out of 5 by 111 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice stay.... Very nice stay at this property. The property is very close to all attractions in the area. July 26, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good location Staff was verry courteous and helpful. Very relaxing stopover. July 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Centrally Located - clean, nice for family Good, clean and service oriented staff. Rooms were nice. We stayed here while awaiting to move into our house. Decent amenities. Hotel is centrally located, about 10-15 minutes from downtown Newport. Very close to the Naval Base. Courteous staff. July 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Weekend Getaway I understand it was a very busy weekend for the hotel as they were completely booked for the entire weekend. We arrived to see if we could check in early but was not able to since a lot of the guests requested late check out and they were working hard to turn the rooms around. The front desk clerk said we could come back at 1:30pm so my husband and I left to go get some lunch. When we came back at 1:30pm our room was still not ready and the front desk clerk was sort of rude about that they only had three rooms in the hotel that we requested and it probably will not be ready for a while. My husband I decided to wait. The nice thing she did do was request someone to clean our room right away since we were waiting. I was a little disappointed that I was not recognized as a Rewards Club member like it is stated on the Club's website. All in all we had an enjoyable stay. July 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Staff was plesant and very attentive. The front desk staff was attentive and moved the check-in line quickly so there was no long wait. The lobby area was clean and inviting. Rooms are a good size with a sitting area. Beds are very comfortable. Breakfast was included and the selections offered covered both hot and cold items. We would definately return to this location. July 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable room & helpful front desk The front desk staff were very helpful & professional. The room was clean & comfortable. It was great to have the mini fridge to keep beverages cool. Breakfast would've been lovely had it not been a holiday weekend. It was very crowded which made it difficult to move around & find seating. Overall I recommend staying at this hotel. It is about a convenient 10 minute drive to Easton Beach, Cliff Walk & yummy Anthony's Seafood. July 12, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Wedding Clean and comfortable stay I would recommend this facility to all. The location was great just minutes from Newport! July 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Pleasantly Surprised For a Holiday Inn Express this hotel offers pretty much everything you would want minus a nice view and a nice pool. Everything youd want from a hotel's interior. Clean and comfortable rooms, attentive staff and a great place to sleep. July 5, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 service has really gone down hill we have stayed here twice before. this time for 4 days. started with arriving at 10pm and having to wait 20 minutes for a front desk clerk...she was on break, not a great way to start a trip after flying 6 hours. this also happened another time. had no internett for 2 of the 4 days, housekeeping only half took care of our room cleaned the bathroom and forgot to make the bed 3 out of 4 days. when I told the front desk they just shrugged their shoulders. will probably not come back to this site July 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Newport Getaway We were very pleased with our stay at the Holiday Inn in Middletown. Our room was clean and nicely furnished. We appreciated extras like the refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, tea, and bath products. There was pleny of parking. We loved the breakfast. The selection was the best I've seen-bacon, sausage, scrambled eggs, cheese omelets, hard boiled eggs, biscuits with sausage gravy, toast, muffins, bagels, yogurt, coffee, juice, milk, hot cocoa, cold cereal, oatmeal, pancakes, fresh fruit, hot cinnamon rolls, and pancakes. The automatic pancake maker was a big hit with my husband! I liked, the fact, that we were able to save time and money by eating at the hotel daily. In addition, the handout that the front desk clerk provided me at check in, detailing dining suggestions and hotel service informaton, was very helpful. July 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly & helpful staff The staff was very friendly & helpful. Any questions or issues were handled immediately. All areas of the hotel were very clean. The breakfast was great, there is ample parking & I would definitely stay there again. July 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff, large rooms, good breakfast I stayed here for a wedding for 2 nights, and was more than satisfied. I had read reviews about breakfast not being very good, but they have a new and improved selection and it was excellent with a wide range of choices including a make-your-own pancake maker. Every member of staff was super nice and helpful. June 28, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service, clean and quiet The room was ready on time and the desk sevice was very helpful.. We had an issue with the DVD player and the maintenance man spent a lot of time fixing it. We really appreciate that he did not give up. The fitness center was small but adequate and the pool was an added benefit. Breakfast were more than enough food and checkout was simple. June 15, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great place to stay and relax My fiance and i were impressed with how clean our rooms were and how convenient it was checking in and out. There was also a side entrance where you could swipe your card for convenience. The staff was very friendly and helpful and they let us check in early without a problem. Breakfast was very good with lots of variety and there was 24 hr tea, hot chocolate and coffee service which was a plus. We will be staying again and hopefully using some of our club points. June 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, comfortable and staff was accomodating and pleasant. We were not familiar with this area or hotel and stayed to attend a wedding in the area. This hotel was recommended by the bridal party. Staff was very accommodating with handicap accessible room, early check in and late check out. The room was clean, quiet and beds were very comfortable. The breakfast room was very convenient and offered a great selection for breakfast on site. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others. June 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Stay When we arrived, the front desk was friendly and worked to provide an upgraded room for us at no additional fee. Bed was very comfortable; room was clean; breakfast was excellent with a variety of breakfast foods and fresh fruit; price was reasonable for the Newport area. Our room was at the end of the hall; very accessible from outdoor parking and a quiet place to be. We had a light out in our entry way, so left the management a note on our way out so they could fix it. Very pleased. June 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Food The pancakes were flat and hard. You need to add sugar free syrup like the other HI Expresses. June 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location Very convenient to all the sites and very reasonable priced if you make an earlier reservation. Parking is no problem and front desk is very helpful. Small work out room and pool for the kids. Hotel is priced right for the area. We took the bigger room(suite) because grandchildren had there own TV. Still only one bathroom and this slowed us down in the morning. But next time we will take 2 rooms. June 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel, diappointing breakfast. The hotel and staff were wonderful! Room was clean and spacious. However the breakfast left a lot to be desired. As my husband called it, rubber eggs and plastic cheese. Even the hard boiled eggs were frozen. Coffee was ok. Overall not what I was used to for a breakfast at a Holiday Inn Express. June 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good value for the area Stayed here for one night while attending a wedding nearby. Price was half of other nearby hotels, but it was a perfect stay! Front desk was very helpful providing directions and suggestions for last-minute clothing needs. All staff we encountered was extremely friendly and polite. Room was nice.. bed was very comfortable, lots of pillows. No complaints at all, would certainly stay again if we were in Newport again! June 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly and knowledgeable staff, very helpful We spent 6 days in the area touring the mansions. Staying here was very economical and pleasant. Our room was clean, roomy and comfortable. The staff were great helping us find what we needed. We enjoyed the pool every morning and appreciated the convenient breakfast. We would recommend and come back if ever in the area again. June 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Memorial weekend stay We spent Memorial weekend at this hotel to enjoy a vacation in the Newport, RI area, worked out well. The staff were all very courteous and helpful. Room was clean and well equipped, including jacuzzi. Breakfast was good. Would definitely lodge there again. June 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Service Enjoyable atmosphere, great people, great room,Enjoyable atmosphere, great people, great room May 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good quality for price We spent a Friday and Saturday night recently while attending a function in Newport. Staff was very friendly, courteous and helpful. Room was clean. Breakfast was excellent if you wanted a quick bit and on a time schedule. Would definitely lodge their again while in the area. May 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by No problems at all. I was a little concerned when I read some of the reviews, but I have read reviews before and then experience better. I had no problems at the hotel. The checking in was easy. I was given a handicapped room since I walk with a cane. The breakfast dishes were as advertised. Omlettes, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage patties, variety of bread, bagels and English muffins. Muffins and cinnamon buns. Even fresh fruit. I love this hotel. Will stay there again and recommend it to others. April 25, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Quiet, affordable, with great staff & service We stay here for several nights once or twice a year when we visit Newport. The hotel is generally very quiet when we are there which is out of season in Spring or Fall. The rooms are of good size and reasonably furnished with comfortable beds; we always ask for a king on the top floor. Only complaints are the pillows seem rather small to me as I am used to king sized pillows at home, and the lighting is rather dim; but that is true of most hotels! The free internet is fairly quick on both wired and wireless, and there is a desk on which to place the computer. The included hot breakfast is typical for this type of hotel and is fine and filling with good all round choices. I appreciate the 24 hour coffee including decaf. The staff are really excellent; friendly, helpful and always cheerful. Highly recommended, particularly if you are visiting Newport which is just a few minutes drive away. Recommended eating nearby: Blue Plate Diner and Anthony's Seafood. April 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Not like last time... The room was as expected and the pool area was good. The disappointment was the breakfast. Last time we stayed here, we were pleased with the breakfast and decided to return here vs other hotels in the area because of the breakfast. Next time, it will not be part of the decision. The hotel clerk when we checked in and out was very very nice. March 22, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by ongoing problems we travel to this area about 10 times a year. The past few visits we were disappointed with the serice and amentities Also second day room is not restocked will full compliment of towel, shampoo, coffee and cups, cold and hot... In the future when we travel to this area. We will travel; a little further and stay in Swansea, MA March 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by problems with room key overall ok but room key did not work after first night this happened again after second night after having breakfast had to go to front desk to get a new key Several small personal items(no real value) apparently thrown out by room cleaning staff February 2, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Sock in my bed Its very upsetting as guest on a romantic weekend to get into bed only to find a previous guests dirty sock underneath my sheets. The front desk staff were "fantastic" but i find it unacceptable that the general manager couldnt find time to contact me via email with an apology (especially sice ive been a platinum member for years. January 15, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>
Stay Refreshed with a Free Express Start ® Breakfast at Holiday Inn Express. Click to learn more.