• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Jul-24-2014)
(e.g. Jul-25-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: SMITHFIELD
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Hindi

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Roger Williams Park and Zoo
Distance From Hotel:14.74MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:104
  • Car Parking Available
  • Free on-site parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:84
  • Total number of suites:15
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:30
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:54
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:84
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Smithfield Hotel's Guests Enjoy Rhode Island Relaxation

Whether you're visiting for business or fun, the Holiday Inn Express® & Suites Smithfield - Providence hotel's location enables you to spend less time worrying about travel and more time enjoying the beautiful area, home to picturesque farms and gorgeous orchards. Just 18 miles from T. F. Green International Airport (PVD) and nine miles from Providence, these accommodations are truly ideal.

If you're visiting for business,
View More

Smithfield Hotel's Guests Enjoy Rhode Island Relaxation

Whether you're visiting for business or fun, the Holiday Inn Express® & Suites Smithfield - Providence hotel's location enables you to spend less time worrying about travel and more time enjoying the beautiful area, home to picturesque farms and gorgeous orchards. Just 18 miles from T. F. Green International Airport (PVD) and nine miles from Providence, these accommodations are truly ideal.

If you're visiting for business, you can work efficiently with free wired and Wi-Fi access and the 24-hour Business Center. And because the hotel is near downtown Providence and the Rhode Island Convention Center, you can easily attend corporate events in the city. Bryant University is three miles away, and Brown University and major corporations, such as Fidelity Investments, Amica Insurance and CVS headquarters, are all within 10 miles.

Leisure guests also enjoy wonderful attractions around the hotel. Near downtown Providence, you can attend an incredible show at the Providence Performing Arts Center or catch a play by the Tony Award-winning Trinity Repertory Company. Pats fans appreciate the hotel's location 23 miles from Gillette Stadium, as well.

You can begin each morning with the mouthwatering complimentary, hot breakfast bar; and after a busy day, unwind in the heated, indoor pool or sweat off stress in the 24-hour Fitness Center. For a wonderful stay in Smithfield, please call today.

View Less
Features
While the hotel is near the Rhode Island Convention Center and other points of interest, it also offers spacious suite-style guest rooms, so you can enjoy a great location and ultimate comfort.

Guest Reviews

Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 172 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place for vacations. My wife and my kids were extremely happy since day one. The place was amazing. We spent the most beautiful weekend here. our rooms were amazing. The next morning we ate breakfast and the food was delicious. We made our own hotcakes and my family were so happy. I want to come back soon. Thank you for the Service. February 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value and comfort! I was blown away by the value and amenities, especially at the price we paid. This is the sort of experience I would have expected had I paid DOUBLE. The facilities. were new, in excellent repair, clean and VERY comfortable: The room had BOTH a microwave AND a mini-fridge, Iron, safe, large LCD TV with a generous cable offering. AND THERE'S AN INDOOR POOL/HOT TUB (maybe my favorite experience). It ALSO had a small exercise room with good equipment. Breakfast was WAY BEYOND my expectations: lots of juices, a pancake machine! - cinnamon buns, cereal, bread, bagels, butter, cream cheese, coffee, tea, oatmeal, eggs (though I think the "instant" variety and bacon. It was a truly amazing value. They also had a small "business center" with two thin clients running Windows 7 and a laserjet printer. There were some MINOR issues with the browser and I had a MINOR problem in trying to print which I did NOT follow up with the staff. Internet (wireless) in the room was great. ALL the staff were professional and courteous and even provided a toothbrush that I had neglected to pack. I will DEFINITELY come again and can't recommend this highly enough. January 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by night in Newport Hotel looked great when we drove up. It was clean and well lit. plenty of parking and well lit. Front desk clerk was pleasant but somewhat confused. Could not find my reservation at first but then found it and it was already to go. room clean and comfortable. breakfast bar well stocked (love those danish) eggs were poor quilty and someone else mentioned flavored coffee not available. January 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Bed Great hotel overall, good location, very accessible, reasonably priced. I didnt get the IHG rewards welcome though and also the front desk person when we checked out her uniform needed to be cleaned it looked really dirty that didnt leave a good impression on me as a guest. My husband thought of her handling the food if possible she handled the food and we wondered if she even washed her hands at all. If you could please have the stuff especially front desk be clean that would be awesome really. First impressions last a lifetime. I like the Holiday Inn but that sort of left a bad taste in my mouth. Thank you January 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Senior getaway Was looking for some peace and quiet and found it there. January 19, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice and quiet Nice and quiet. Business trip so needed to be in bed and back up early. Hot tub was in good condition. Would like to see more healthy choices for breakfast. Possibly more fresh fruit. But overall a good business trip and good hotel experience. January 13, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by everything was good good everything was aspromised parking was good pool was good breakfast was good January 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Easy access to Newport, but quieter area We had a pleasant stay. Staff was really outstanding. Beds were confortable. The hotel was convenient to Newport, but not in the hustle and bustle of the city. January 9, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Room Bed was confortable, heat was fine; however, the unit was a bit noisy. January 8, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not happy with the staff.. I complained to the staff on 3pm to 11pm, regarding the brown water coming from my sink on the first day. Her response was, it's normal for the discoloration. Thank God, I had a case of bottled water in my trunk. Also, I complained to the overnight staff, regarding the people in a room above my room. The noise was out of control at 2am. The staff response was, she would call the room. The noise never stopped. It would continue for two more nights. The overnight staff was very rude when I complained the second night. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone who's looking to get a goodnight sleep. January 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Everything was great!!! Everything was great regarding our stay!!! The room was clean, the staff was attentive and we were able to relax and enjoyed our stay very much. January 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bedding and relaxing My boyfriend and I stayed here for new years eve and we weren't expecting the hotel to be as nice as it was because how cheap we paid for the night. When we walked up to the front desk however two girls were talking to one another and didn't acknowledge us until they finished speaking-which I thought was a little rude.. however we were quickly situated in the room and it was such a great layout. there were 2 mirrors outside the bathroom plus the one within the bathroom which is great so we were both able to get ready at once....the bed was absolutely comfortable as well as the pillows, and you can adjust the heating and cooling from a temperature gage on the wall. I had to go to the front desk around 11pm because i needed a bandaid and no one was at the desk so i rang a bell they had...no one came--i rang it 2 more times over the course of 10 min and the desk phone even rang and still no one came!!! finally after 15 min a girl showed up and assisted me.. I was very annoyed though. So basically other than the front desk crew the stay was great... January 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by food the eggs were cold and the pancakes were not available. The coffee was good and the selection of muffins and bagels was good. January 4, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Warm I was very impressed with the Holiday Express facilities. Bed was very comfortable, room was clean and I could not hear any noise in the hall ways or from next door rooms. Always hot water, never ran out. I will stay at this Holiday Inn the next time I am in Middletown/Newport. January 3, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Recent Stay for Holiday Break Ask hotel before making reservations if they are going to be hosting any large groups for sporting events, tournaments, etc. involving children. The hotel appears that they may not be staffed properly to take care of such large groups, especially when children are involved. My stay involved children running rampant everywhere. Stayed on the 2nd floor and could not sleep with the noise from above. The breakfast buffet also suffered from the toll of the kids fingering all of the food...yuk. The common areas were not kept up with all of the Cheerios and M January 3, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Rooms are nice... but not much more I've stayed at the Holiday Inn Express 3 times in 4 months. Each stay was a week long. The rooms are ok and the beds are comfortable. Apparently the thermostat is set on a motion detector, so my last stay, I'd get back to my room at night to a very chilly 66 degrees. (Also the heater in my room for that stay was VERY noisy). They do have a "business" area, but I could not get their computer to read my usb stick (I needed to print a document). The staff is very nice and helpful. December 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Value, but Different from Previous Stays WHAT I LIKED BEST ABOUT THIS FACILITY WAS THE CHOICE OF TEAS, HOT COCOA, & INSTANT OATMEAL AVAILABLE 24/7. THANK YOU!!! I go to Newport several times a year, and have stayed here before. I was a little surprised when the check in clerk did not acknowledge my Platinum priority status. When I mentioned it, she told me I was a Gold Member. Wrong! I think she was looking at a record from a previous time. We were there on Thanksgiving Eve for only one night. Not sure there were even 10 other guests, but that was fine with me as I have been there when kids were running all over. Newport was also pleasantly quiet. But that is no excuse for not telling me ahead of time that the pool was not open or that there would not be any hot egg items for breakfast. Good thing none of my grandchildren were with us! Looking at other reviews throughout the Fall of 2013, I wonder what is going on with the pool? I can use a pool at my timeshare, but need to get a pass ahead of arrival. If I had been notified of inoperable pool, I could have done that. Our room on the 2nd floor was in EXCELLENT condition, obviously redone since previous stays. Computer in business center worked fine. Exercise equipment fine. The staff was pleasant as always. December 5, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Not as good as other Holiday Inn Express Hotels I have stayed here several times, but this was the worst. They upgraded me to a great 2 room suite. It was absolutely freezing inside the room. The two heaters were turned OFF. The Wall thermostat did not work in the living room area. The vent in the bathroom area had 1/4 inch of dirt and grime on it. The pool was closed for renovation, but the hotel did not tell me when I made the reservation directly with the front desk the day earlier. Finally, the breakfast...there was no hot food. the Desk said that they needed a part to fix their oven, and it was ordered days ago. why did they not tell me there would be no hot breakfast when I made the reservation. Does that explain why the juice was just water and the pancake machine did not work either? Rather poor for what is normally a first class operation. They did not even note I am Platinum when I checked in. November 27, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by clean comfortable and a minor disappointment I was visiting Newport with my sister picked this hotel because it had a pool and hot tub. My sister has a bad leg and we thought it would be great after doing the tourist thing all day to relax. We checked in and the pool is out of service. In this time of constant e-mails and confirmations WHY weren't we notified??? I just find it annoying! Other than that our visit was fine. November 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 Nice room and very friendly staff The accommodations were very good.....very friendly staff.....it's a good location, easy to reach with ample parking.....only 3 miles from downtown Newport....we had no problem at all with a late checkout......would definitely recommend it. November 4, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Senior getaway Room was ok with some minor issues which were corrected. Breakfast was good but cold. Business room get a D- as computers did not work well at all. Overall, though we had a quiet stay and that is what we really wanted. This was a repeat visit for us and hotel shows some signs of wear and tear from last time. November 2, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by exceptionally helpful staff Breakfast choices were excellent, I especially enjoyed the cinnamon rolls. The staff worked to keep the food fresh and hot. My room was clean every day with fresh towns. I requested that sheets NOT be changed every day and this request was honored. A staff member called our favorite place for dinner and got a reservation for us. She was not busy with other guests when she offered to call for me. I felt this was beyond what I had expected of her and I was most grateful for her help. HEI will always be my first choice when making reservations. I have stayed in this Inn before and found it much improved this time. October 30, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Shop worn and old I've stayed at a lot of Holiday Inn express locations, but this one needs a facelift. It seemed very old and dirty. The shower smelled, the bed was very saggy and soft. It just felt dirty. October 26, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by not quite what I expected As a Platinum member for many years, I am used to my room being ready and my check in process to go fairly quick. That did not happen. As took the corner I saw the sign on the pool "Closed for service". That ruined my evening plans to relax. At 6:45 am someone knocked on my door, not once, but twice. Since I was up I thought I would check and see if the pool service was completed so I can go for a morning swim, it wasn't. Overall as a longtime Platinum Elite member I expect to be appreciated. Many other chains would love to have my business. I was really disappointed. October 23, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by This is one Holiday Inn to pass up!!! My family has stayed in Holiday Inns along the East Coast in New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Virginia and North Carolina. We came to rely on the Holiday Inn brand for it's cleanliness, many amenities, good customer service, comfy beds, free and delicious breakfast, and affordable rates. The Holiday Inn of Middletown is a roach motel! The "non-smoking" room reeked like a giant cigarette; the smell was embedded in the sheets and towels. A cot needed to be brought for our daughter since at booking we were given misinformation about the room being a king suite with a sofa bed. We open the cot and there's a dirty t-shirt and hanger. The room could not be changed because they just completed a "total turnover". When we called the front desk to obtain new blankets it just rang and rang. No one ever answered. We were so disgusted by our room that we didn't stay for the complimentary breakfast. If this had been our first experience with Holiday Inn it would certainly be our last. I am disappointed that Holiday Inn is no longer a brand I can simply rely on when looking for hotels. October 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by great service I just want to say thanks for the hotel staff. We had traveled 800 miles through the night and we were able to get into our rooms when we arrived to get some much needed sleep. It really meant a lot to us. Thanks again. October 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Conveniently located, friendly staff and a spacious well appointed room. My husband and I really enjoyed our stay and plan to return on our next trip to Newport. Thanks for the memories. :) October 17, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy room and bad breakfast We could hear every conversation from the nearby rooms. In addition we could hear all of the road traffic. The breakfast did not have anywhere near the selection that was advertised and all the hot food such as eggs were cold, we even tried a fresh batch, still cold. The best thing at the breakfast were the pancakes that are made in a machine in one minute.... October 16, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel All was well. Very close to all. The perfect place to enjoy Newport! October 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice, clean well fitted and comfortable room Arrived without a booking as we are on a flexible schedule touring in the USA. Very pleasant front counter staff accepted our "rooms" coupon, provided an excellent rate, recognised my Priority membership. It was only a one night stay but I would like to have stayed longer. The hotel is nicely located, easy parking, cose to eveythin we need to visit in our short stay. October 11, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 7 next>>
Terms & Conditions
Discover more choices to go.  Enjoy the Free Express Start Breakfast Bar at Holiday Inn Express.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Jul-24-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Jul-25-2014)
Check Availability
Loading