• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-24-2014)
(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: SMITHFIELD
  • Distance From Hotel: 3.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Hindi

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Roger Williams Park and Zoo
Distance From Hotel:14.74MI

Parking

Parking

  • Number of parking spaces:104
  • Car Parking Available
  • Free on-site parking

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2012
  • Total number of rooms:84
  • Total number of suites:15
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:30
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:54
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:84
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Smithfield Hotel's Guests Enjoy Rhode Island Relaxation

Whether you're visiting for business or fun, the Holiday Inn Express® & Suites Smithfield - Providence hotel's location enables you to spend less time worrying about travel and more time enjoying the beautiful area, home to picturesque farms and gorgeous orchards. Just 18 miles from T. F. Green International Airport (PVD) and nine miles from Providence, these accommodations are truly ideal.

If you're visiting for business,
View More

Smithfield Hotel's Guests Enjoy Rhode Island Relaxation

Whether you're visiting for business or fun, the Holiday Inn Express® & Suites Smithfield - Providence hotel's location enables you to spend less time worrying about travel and more time enjoying the beautiful area, home to picturesque farms and gorgeous orchards. Just 18 miles from T. F. Green International Airport (PVD) and nine miles from Providence, these accommodations are truly ideal.

If you're visiting for business, you can work efficiently with free wired and Wi-Fi access and the 24-hour Business Center. And because the hotel is near downtown Providence and the Rhode Island Convention Center, you can easily attend corporate events in the city. Bryant University is three miles away, and Brown University and major corporations, such as Fidelity Investments, Amica Insurance and CVS headquarters, are all within 10 miles.

Leisure guests also enjoy wonderful attractions around the hotel. Near downtown Providence, you can attend an incredible show at the Providence Performing Arts Center or catch a play by the Tony Award-winning Trinity Repertory Company. Pats fans appreciate the hotel's location 23 miles from Gillette Stadium, as well.

You can begin each morning with the mouthwatering complimentary, hot breakfast bar; and after a busy day, unwind in the heated, indoor pool or sweat off stress in the 24-hour Fitness Center. For a wonderful stay in Smithfield, please call today.

View Less
Features
While the hotel is near the Rhode Island Convention Center and other points of interest, it also offers spacious suite-style guest rooms, so you can enjoy a great location and ultimate comfort.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 228 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Housekeeping / Cold Shower I was disappointed with my stay. The check-in and front counter service was good on Friday evening. My wife and I left about 8:00 AM on Saturday morning and when we returned around 5:45 PM housekeeping had not been to our room. We had to make our own bed, straighten up the bathroom, and ask someone in the hall for clean towels. Sunday morning while my wife was taking a shower the hot water ran out. I could not take a shower and had to wash up using cold water from the faucet in the sink. I mentioned these issues to the front desk manager upon departure and she took $25 off of the bill (big deal!). I think I should have been offered more than a $25 refund for all of the inconveniences, but was just glad to leave. I know I will not stay at this particular Holiday Inn again, and not sure if I will try another. April 9, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed but NO Sleep Hotel was clean and good, too bad disruptive guests ruined the stay. In middle of the night had to call the front desk. Person said they had several complaints and police were called but nothing was done to rectify situation. April 9, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Perfect Stay Eveything was great. Staff to the beds. Family and I stayed for a wedding and this hotel was perfect for us. Rachelle and Molly were a great help throughout my entire trip. April 8, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Newport Second time staying there. Great location, clean hotel, all for good a price. Only complaint was that one of the breakfast items were empty for a while at 9 am. The pancake machine was a great option. Plan on staying again and recommend. April 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Super value, will stay again Exceeded my expectations. I enjoyed a restful stay at a very pleasant hotel. March 31, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent value - will stay again Staff is very professional and helpful. My room was quiet. Common areas are very pleasant and inviting. Many choices for breakfast. March 31, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Convenient location Close to the Miltary base and newport commercial centers. March 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great value Great stay for a family night out. Pool and Jacuzzi was pleasant - clean and warm water. March 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay, great value, we'll be back! Just needed a place to stay before an early meeting. Got a good price and was sit-up risked by the excellent quality of the facility. Staff was welcoming and very helpful. We didn't realize how close this was to newport, so we'll be back. March 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, amenties and staff THANK YOU HI Express Middletown/Newport. Everything was great and I can't wait for my next stay! March 25, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Affordable, nice, and clean I had a such a good stay that i extended my stay by one day. The room was very clean and comfortable. The price was very affordable and it was a convenient location to everything. I would recommend staying here and will do so again. March 25, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by there are better hotels out there I do a fair amount of traveling for business and appreciate a good nights rest. This particular hotel appears disorganized at best. From front desk staff who don't know what the priority club is to windows that don't seal out the weather properly (the curtains do however) to worn out pillows, I will stay somewhere else when I am next in the Newport area. No matter how reasonable the charges are, if you can't get a good nights sleep, you are not getting good value. March 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great staff great staff, excellent rate okay location .the most important asset of any rated hotel is the staff any minor inconvenient can be ignore but if the staffs are no good it will make your stay failed March 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Best Value for the price The staff at the front desk are great. The rooms are not bad, there were minor things that needed attention. Considering the price and the staff, worth the stay. March 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice, Quiet, Comfortable Enjoyed my two nights. The cost was reasonable, the bed was comfortable. The location was convenient to reach just about anywhere in the area. March 16, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great temporary accomodations This was a convenient, clean, comfortable, hotel located in the vicinity of stores and restaurants. March 14, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Stay It was a good stay. If possible ask for a room on the upper floors. I've stayed at this hotel twice and the second time I was on the first level and it was much more noisy. March 5, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by dont go for the pool Pool is cold. Hot tub too hot and too much chlorine. enough to choke you. service is very good here but we came for the pool. next time I'll just pay $15 and take my kids to the uri pool. Rooms not the cleanest but ok. Hairs on bed. coffee and breakfast not good at all. March 5, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Felt like a night at the Bates Motel Thermostat not working, Exceptionaly HOT room, Pool had so many chemicals in it my eyes and skin were burning and DVD Player in the room wouldn't work because we had the wrong remote. Afternoon Front desk staff was disinterested unwilling to give us a new room despite it appearing there was nowhere near a full house. Very disappointed.. would not stay here again ! March 3, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Middletown, RI I will by far recommend this Hotel. It was very clean, the location was great, just far enough away from the main road. The staff was friendly. February 27, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value The cost of the room was a great deal and the hotel was very nice February 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Clean, comfortable, loud This property was clean and comfortable - immaculate in fact. But there was little sound-proofing and it was very loud. Great location to URI, to Newport sight-seeing, to the beach! February 26, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good value and dependable This is off the beach and that is just fine. Clean rooms, dependable conditions. Good location. Quiet. February 24, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Not Impressed I expect more from a Holiday Inn. The overall condition of the rooms were poor, not clean and items in three rooms were not working properly. February 24, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice but has limitations This hotel is very convenient for business travelers to NUWC Newport and the price is below per deim. However, there are some limitations. The mattress in my room was worn out on one side and that was surprising since all rooms were renovated within the past two years (I stay here often). Also, I was unable to regulate the heat in my room, the first 2 days of my stay was in an 80 degree room and then the next 2 days hovered around 65-70. No matter what I did, I just could not get the temperature to a comfortable 72-76 degree range. Lastly, some of the food at the breakfast bar should not really be classified as "food". The powdered eggs are tasteless no matter what form they are served in, the sausage is horrible. I do like the pancakes but there is always a line of people waiting to make them. Would also like to see more fresh fruit and other healthy options available. February 17, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value for Aquidneck Island We stayed for three nights, and were very pleased with the room and especially the comp breakfast. The choices for breakfast were very diverse and the food was nice and warm. February 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Place for vacations. My wife and my kids were extremely happy since day one. The place was amazing. We spent the most beautiful weekend here. our rooms were amazing. The next morning we ate breakfast and the food was delicious. We made our own hotcakes and my family were so happy. I want to come back soon. Thank you for the Service. February 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great value and comfort! I was blown away by the value and amenities, especially at the price we paid. This is the sort of experience I would have expected had I paid DOUBLE. The facilities. were new, in excellent repair, clean and VERY comfortable: The room had BOTH a microwave AND a mini-fridge, Iron, safe, large LCD TV with a generous cable offering. AND THERE'S AN INDOOR POOL/HOT TUB (maybe my favorite experience). It ALSO had a small exercise room with good equipment. Breakfast was WAY BEYOND my expectations: lots of juices, a pancake machine! - cinnamon buns, cereal, bread, bagels, butter, cream cheese, coffee, tea, oatmeal, eggs (though I think the "instant" variety and bacon. It was a truly amazing value. They also had a small "business center" with two thin clients running Windows 7 and a laserjet printer. There were some MINOR issues with the browser and I had a MINOR problem in trying to print which I did NOT follow up with the staff. Internet (wireless) in the room was great. ALL the staff were professional and courteous and even provided a toothbrush that I had neglected to pack. I will DEFINITELY come again and can't recommend this highly enough. January 29, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by night in Newport Hotel looked great when we drove up. It was clean and well lit. plenty of parking and well lit. Front desk clerk was pleasant but somewhat confused. Could not find my reservation at first but then found it and it was already to go. room clean and comfortable. breakfast bar well stocked (love those danish) eggs were poor quilty and someone else mentioned flavored coffee not available. January 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable Bed Great hotel overall, good location, very accessible, reasonably priced. I didnt get the IHG rewards welcome though and also the front desk person when we checked out her uniform needed to be cleaned it looked really dirty that didnt leave a good impression on me as a guest. My husband thought of her handling the food if possible she handled the food and we wondered if she even washed her hands at all. If you could please have the stuff especially front desk be clean that would be awesome really. First impressions last a lifetime. I like the Holiday Inn but that sort of left a bad taste in my mouth. Thank you January 24, 2014
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 ... 9 next>>
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-24-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-25-2014)
Check Availability
Loading