• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-20-2014)
(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: SAN DIEGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 18.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Hindi

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Del Mar Race Track, Fairground
Distance From Hotel:0.25MI
Attraction:
Fletchers Cove
Distance From Hotel:0.3MI
Attraction:
Torrey Pines Golf Course
Distance From Hotel:3.5MI
Attraction:
Legoland
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Underground and partially covered parking is available at no extra charge.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:80
  • Total number of suites:16
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:23
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:57
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:64
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:CA2448
Solana Beach / Del Mar Hotel's Guests Love the Sun and Surf Resting along the Pacific coastline of Southern California, the Holiday Inn Express® Solana Beach - Del Mar hotel's location provides convenient access to San Diego attractions, major businesses and entertainment. Regardless of the purpose of your stay, you will find comfort and convenience here in Solana Beach. The hotel's setting near Del Mar, California makes it easy for business guests to get to meetings at numerous local businesses and
View More
Solana Beach / Del Mar Hotel's Guests Love the Sun and Surf Resting along the Pacific coastline of Southern California, the Holiday Inn Express® Solana Beach - Del Mar hotel's location provides convenient access to San Diego attractions, major businesses and entertainment. Regardless of the purpose of your stay, you will find comfort and convenience here in Solana Beach. The hotel's setting near Del Mar, California makes it easy for business guests to get to meetings at numerous local businesses and offices. Visitors can easily access most corporations in San Diego from Interstate 5, which is just minutes away. A meeting room, free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a well-equipped Business Center are the conveniences our business travelers appreciate in Solana Beach, California. The hotel's leisure travelers can soak up the Southern California sun on sandy beaches that are just two blocks away. The area also boasts a number of exquisite dining venues and top local entertainment. The world-famous San Diego Zoo and Wild Animal Park, Legoland California and Sea World are a short drive away . The Holiday Inn Express® Solana Beach - Del Mar, California hotel's amenities feature an outdoor pool, a hot tub, a Fitness Center, covered parking and free Wi-Fi access. Start each day with the complimentary, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar. You'll love staying here in Solana Beach - Del Mar where convenience meets unmatched comfort.
View Less
Features
This hotel's location near Del Mar, California offers comfort, convenience and unparalleled value, as well as being just two blocks from Southern California's finest beaches.
Announcements
Do to property improvement and request from our guest we will be remodeling our bathrooms. The times of the remodel will take place from 9:00am to 6:00pm. If you have any questions please do not
View More
Announcements
Do to property improvement and request from our guest we will be remodeling our bathrooms. The times of the remodel will take place from 9:00am to 6:00pm. If you have any questions please do not hesitate to call the hotel and speak with a manager.
View Less

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 168 reviewers.
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Going downhill from last stay The first couple of stays in this place was great. Beautiful new rooms and reasonable price to be in walking distance of downtown Del Mar. However, this stay was a big disappointment. First off, no one is paying attention to the jacuzzi. We went around 7:15pm to enjoy a nice hot bath to find the water about 75F....not very enticing. When we complained to the hotel staff, we were told someone "shut off the emergency stop button" which killed the heat. They had told us that they had started it back up an hour before and would just need to wait at least two hours, but I think they were just patronizing us as we saw their maintenance man take off right toward the jacuzzi as we were walking back toward our room. Secondly, when turning on the TV, the ONLY channel I wanted to watch was black and off the air, even though their channel listing had it listed. Many of the channels you had to enter the number of the channel manually because the channel selector would skip over about 25 channels. I'm not certain we will return to this hotel that can't seem to master the basics. November 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by A real find! We've stayed here several times in the last year...and it's always a great experience. Quiet, clean, good food, pool and hot tub...couldn't ask for more in Del Mar. October 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Hotel Indigo of Del Mar--Great Place For a Family Reunion From booking through the Director of Sales to checkout, our experience at Hotel Indigo Del Mar was delightful! Our rooms were attractive and well designed. The restaurant was wonderful and provided a gathering place for our whole group.The pool area was beautiful, quiet for relaxing. We could walk to the beach, and we had easy access to shopping and major freeways. October 24, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by The Perfect Place to chill and relax I stayed here for 3 nights in Mid October at the end of a 49 day road trip completing my 48th State of the USA. what a perfect end to my holiday. My daughter had joined me for the last two weeks and we were upgraded to a two queen bed studio suite which was very spacious with a breakfast bar a good kitchen area with a good refrigerator and microwave as well as a double hob ring. The aircon worked great and was nice and quiet and the bathroom had a great shower. There was a small terrace with two chairs and table outside the suite, but only 15 feet away was the pool and Jacuzzi area where we layed on the sun beds and enjoyed the view of the Pacific Ocean. we also saw some amazing sunsets. There is a second pool on the lower level. The reception area is very modern and the Bar and Grill has an outside terrace where it is great to relax and enjoy a drink and watch the sunset across the Pacific Ocean. The staff were all very friendly and extremely helpful. I had a light out in the shower room, called reception and in less than 5 minutes a gentleman arrived and changed the bulb. we loved using the pool and jacuzzi and would love to return here again in the future. We had great nights sleep in the comfortable beds and it was really quiet, but it was mid October There is an excellent business centre that we used for printing our boarding cards for our flight back to London and a very nice fitness room. October 22, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by spacious room I was surprised and pleased with the size of the room and the bathroom. The open-air lounge is also a good feature. October 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best overall experience here I've been traveling for work since 1997, and I've not had a better experience at any other hotel. The staff is absolutely amazing, very personable, and ever so accommodating. The attitude and culture of the staff here breeds customer satisfaction all the way. The Ocean Breeze restaurant is really good, has an EXCELLENT Eggs Benedict with Crab Cakes that is second to none, and the drink selection is expansive. This is one of the few hotels that I elect to dine in instead of visiting area restaurants. If you find yourself in the San Diego area and need a place to stay, I could not recommend a place any more than the Hotel Indigo San Diego / Del Mar. October 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good times Had a nice stay. Bar restaurant area was very nice. Staff were exceptionally nice. We would stay there again. October 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by clean, comfortable, with great service We checked-in after 5 very busy travel days. The Receptionist met us with a warm and welcoming smile, helped us with all our needs and questions. We had a delicious meal in the restaurant, and after dinner we enjoyed the fire pit overlooking the pool. Oh so relaxing ! Our room was clean and quite comfortable. It also included a microwave oven, which we put to use to make popcorn (conveniently sold in the lobby), and we watched a great movie on TV. The morning found us refreshed and ready to brave the airport. Also of note ... every staff person that we encountered, from property & maintenance to waitress were friendly and polite. October 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We really like the Indigo 'Stayed at the Hotel Indigo May 2013 and loved it! So wed are going to visit again Later this month (Oct 2013). Our room overlooked the pool, hotel ambience was that of a cruise ship. Self Contained, everything needed to get away & unwind, & Del Mar right outside the front gate. Staff were all excellent, recognition for Reward Club status was appreciated. Recommended - business or vacation. October 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Surprise! After reading a few of the negative reviews, I became concerned. I hadn't realized that pets were permitted. I called the property directly, explaining that I have a cat allergy. The gentleman with whom I spoke, listened patiently. He promised to relay this to housekeeping and told me not to worry. When I arrived, the staff had been alerted to my issue and guided me to the room that had been personally chosen for me. Wow ! The room was spotless, pristine and refreshing. I had been upgraded( without my asking) and even enjoyed an ocean view from my patio. The staff spoke with smiles on their faces always offering to help me in any way. I will return and refer friends in a heartbeat. September 12, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Disappointed Hotel staff are very very friendly. We were there for a wedding and part of a large group. We were out very late and planned on sleeping in the next morning. Big mistake, the room has windows above the closet and above the bar area which we never noticed were open. There was so much noise at 7 am outside our room and in the adjacent room. We tried to close the windows but they are way to high for anyone to reach without a ladder. Since we had already been woken up by all the noise and kids yelling and running in the adjacent room we just decided to get ready and leave the hotel. To make things worse, the tub was stained, disgusting! September 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by We love Indigo Hotel! This is our second stay here. It is such a relaxing environment and we really enjoy everything about it. The pool is great, the restaurant is excellent. We ate all of our breakfasts and dinners there. And the staff is attentive and helpful. Barbara was fantastic and it was nice to see her again. September 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Great place in a great location. The ocean views were awesome. August 28, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good location horrid internet We truly love Hotel Indigo. However their internet makes us so crazy we cry. We stayed for a week, working during the day, and their internet is soooo bad, dropping off line continually, with bad bandwidth, and connectivity, we were about to call the internet people to the hotel and get it fixed. Not really, but you get my point. I spoke to the front desk person, and they said they didn't know it was bad. WHAT!??? Unreal. We would stay here again, but frankly the thought of the pain of that internet might send us to another hotel in del mar. PLEASE GET YOUR INTERNET FIXED!!!!! To get food or a drink, you kind of have to ask, vs. being served at the bar. It seems the staff is new, not well trained in the industry, and have a lot to learn. The staff is nice, but not really good at what they do. August 26, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Needs to pay attention to details Arrived at hotel late at night. Could not get any bottled water from front desk or vending machines. Had to search local area for a store with water after long cross country trip. Most hotels offer water upon arrival. Staff was friendly and courteous. Breakfast was fabulous. Room seemed a bit warm and air conditioner seemed not to work properly. Shower was good, but shower head was at about 5 feet and the height adjustment was broken. Beds comfortable and TV good. Wanted to spend extra night, but could not because IHG could not offer room using points, but same room type was available for purchase at hotel. Ended up changing hotels for 1 night down the street. August 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Second time as great as first I stayed here earlier this year .. this time took my 3 daughters. Again staff was excellent, room was great, the restaurant was the best. Ny daughters enjoyed their stay and liked the pool being just outside our door. Will be back without a doubt. Thanks August 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by wow! Cant wait to come back! Hotel Indigo was the icing on the cake! The last 3 days of our CA vacation were spent here, and gave us a difficult choice to either enjoy the gorgeous beach or stay and relax at the gorgeous peaceful hotel. Room were spotless and spacious, staff was friendly and accomadating. Loved the fact that they have a washer and dryer for the guests. Felt so at home. Price was affordable. Will highly recommend (already have). August 4, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by The Bed & STAFF The bed was Horrible. mattress pad moving all around. hard lumpy . i CALLE D & ASKED TWICE THAN AGAIN WHEN WE GOT THERE FOR A ROOM WITH A PATIO. NOTHING. WE BOOKED IN ADVANCE & STILL NOTHING. August 3, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by needs attention We love the location and view from the hotel. We felt the staff we encountered were friendly. That being said. The room we stayed in was clearly still in the midst of renovation. One bathroom had a shower that didn't have all the hardware. There were no towel racks in the master bath. The master suite had extremely poor ventilation, windows were locked such that we could get any airflow. It necessitated using the AC the entire time. In San Diego at the beach there should be no need for that. The AC was very loud, and the room was very dark, even with the blinds open. The furniture in the rest of the suite was obviously thrown in there and came from some old room and was used to fill up the space. You are extremely short staffed in all areas. The pool either didn't have any towels or had face towel sized towels. It was not an inexpensive place, I hope you can improve the quality of room and service or I fear you will not last long, In the meantime don't charge full price on unfinished rooms or suites, and let people know youre still in the MIDST of renovation August 1, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Mixed experience I stayed several times at the old Strattford, and I thought the upgraded hotel would be an upgraded experience.... I didn't know that the hotel now allows dogs. The room smelled like feet and wet dog, and the flea bites were nasty. The bedding was nice. Except for the fleas. The room didn't have enough lighting. The new restaurant and bar was enjoyable, on one morning it was understaffed however. The bathroom toiletries were very nice Aveeda product, but the in-room coffee was service grade garbage and the coffee maker needs upgrading. The pool towels were pathetic, and they would run out by 1pm. In the past I would have recommended the old Strattford Inn as a very good value. Not the current Indigo however. July 29, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great for vacation Me and my wife spent a night in this hotel and it was great. As a platinum member we got an upgrade to a suite with ocean view plus a free drink from bar. staff were very respectful and accommodating. Hotel is a great choice for vacation. July 18, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by A dissapointment through and through Being based in Australia, I am used to terrible customer service and overpriced hotels. So I actually was surprised to find a Hotel in the US which meets this criteria. - Staff at reception were abrupt, rude and unhelpful (you dare ask me a question?) - The room was still not made by 4pm, we had to call and ask for the room to be made. - While the room had a view, the air conditioning was so loud, it did not allow for any sleep. Clumsily refurbished. Will not stay there again. July 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by beautifully decorated boutique hotel Although we have stayed at many beautiful hotels in California, The Indigo Del Mar is definitely one of our favorites. The beautiful beaches can not be beat , the ocean views, beautifully decorated rooms and great service are all top notch. We love Desmond at the front desk, he went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. He gave us wonderful restaurant recommendations, and was very warm and hospitable. The service we received from Desmond and the other wonderful staff members, like Jacob in the restaurant, rivals that which we have received at 5 star hotels. We will definitely be coming back! July 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wish I could live at the Hotel Indigo Del Mar!!! LOVE this hotel so much. The rooms are beautiful, the staff is amazing, and our golden retriever's were welcomed with open arms! Barbara at the front desk is always so welcoming to us. My golden retriever Amber, cannot pass Barbara without giving her a huge hug! Brace was always there to bring out breakfast on the patio so we could dine in the dog friendly area. Breakfast is awesome!!! Great way to start our day. Desmond always had a smile on his face and the cutest little smirk. Reminds me of my brother when he's about to crack a joke. Wish I could remember everyone's names, but we cannot say enough good things about the entire staff. Love it so much that we are coming back next month. We look forward to many vacations in the future at the Hotel Indigo Del Mar. Don't change a thing. It's perfect!!! June 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience with a cat! We needed to find a place to stay with our cat, while our house was being termite tented and found Hotel Indigo in Del Mar accepted animals. I spoke with both Jeff and Barbara at the front desk and explained our needs and why. They suggested a room, that turned out to be perfect for not so much a vacation experience but a homey place for our cat and us to stay while being displaced for 3 days. I will differently recommend this hotel for other neighbors facing a similar stay or for friends coming to San Diego and need a place to stay. The hotel, staff, grounds, and rooms are wonderful and you really feel far removed from everyday life all a plus in my book! Thank you!! . June 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel! From the room to the food, we had a great stay at the Del Mar Indigo. May 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Place in Del Mar - No Question My wife and I spent four days at the Del Mar Hotel Indigo on our first true vacation in years. It could not have been a better decision. The front desk and restaurant staff were welcoming, kind, and highly professional. We received an upgraded room. The hotel itself is in an excellent location and is extremely clean. The fire pits are a wonderful place to relax around at night. The rooms are great and really clean. The restaurant food was outstanding and was very reasonably priced. Although not directly on the beach, access to the walking trail was easy. The hotels directly on the beach in Del Mar were nowhere near the quality of the Hotel Indigo. Also, after visiting La Jolla we are very glad we stayed in Del Mar. Our only complaints are the lack of a dresser and sofa/reclinder in our room and difficulty using the TV remote. Overall, we had a super room. However, there were few places to put your clothes. A dresser would have been nice. We also would have liked to have had a sofa or recliner in the room - there was more than enough space for it. Watching TV was a pain. The remote didn't work well and channel surfing was a chore. Regardless of the couple negatives, we would stay at this hotel again without question. We can't thank the entire staff enough for making our rare vacation a wonderfully relaxing time!!! May 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exceptional Value & Great Location I have to travel to San Diego for business on a weekly basis and I think I've found my new "home away from home". Hotel Indigo is very clean, quiet, staff is fantastic and the value is unmatched when you consider all of the above as well as the location. I highly recommend this property to anyone travelling on business who desires a peaceful place to escape to at the end of the long workday. I'm even bringing my wife here for our next getaway to San Diego. May 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Bar Everyone took care of all my needs and the weather was also great May 12, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Shocking service The service levels were shocking. Staff were not well trained , did not have a good attitude & at times were actually hard to find in order to get any service at all. One staff member was very rude to 1 of the guests in our group. None of us will recommend this hotel as a result. April 24, 2013
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 next>>
Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar
Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar
Select to close.
Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar Exterior Feature Solana Beach Rail Trail Area Beaches Newly Renovated Lobby Lobby Lounge Area Lobby Lounge Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach Reception Hot Air Ballooning Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach on Hwy 101 South-bound view Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach on Hwy 101 North-bound view Main Lobby Entrance Beautiful Fletcher Cove, just a short walk from the hotel.
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-20-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
Check Availability
Loading