• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-29-2014)
(e.g. Aug-30-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Suburban

  • Location: Suburban
  • Closest City: SAN DIEGO
  • Distance From Hotel: 18.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-07:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 18
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:5
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Spanish
  3. Hindi

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Del Mar Race Track, Fairground
Distance From Hotel:0.25MI
Attraction:
Fletchers Cove
Distance From Hotel:0.3MI
Attraction:
Torrey Pines Golf Course
Distance From Hotel:3.5MI
Attraction:
Legoland
Distance From Hotel:8.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Underground and partially covered parking is available at no extra charge.

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas
Wired Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:80
  • Total number of suites:16
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:23
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:57
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:64
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:5
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3
  • FEMA Property Number:CA2448

Solana Beach / Del Mar Hotel's Guests Love the Sun and Surf

Resting along the Pacific coastline of Southern California, the Holiday Inn Express® Solana Beach - Del Mar hotel's location provides convenient access to San Diego attractions, major businesses and entertainment. Regardless of the purpose of your stay, you will find comfort and convenience here in Solana Beach.

The hotel's setting near Del Mar, California makes it easy for business guests to get to meetings at numerous
View More

Solana Beach / Del Mar Hotel's Guests Love the Sun and Surf

Resting along the Pacific coastline of Southern California, the Holiday Inn Express® Solana Beach - Del Mar hotel's location provides convenient access to San Diego attractions, major businesses and entertainment. Regardless of the purpose of your stay, you will find comfort and convenience here in Solana Beach.

The hotel's setting near Del Mar, California makes it easy for business guests to get to meetings at numerous local businesses and offices. Visitors can easily access most corporations in San Diego from Interstate 5, which is just minutes away. A meeting room, free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a well-equipped Business Center are the conveniences our business travelers appreciate in Solana Beach, California.

The hotel's leisure travelers can soak up the Southern California sun on sandy beaches that are just two blocks away. The area also boasts a number of exquisite dining venues and top local entertainment. The world-famous San Diego Zoo and Wild Animal Park, Legoland California and Sea World are a short drive away.

The Holiday Inn Express® Solana Beach - Del Mar, California hotel's amenities feature an outdoor pool, a hot tub, a Fitness Center, covered parking and free Wi-Fi access. Start each day with the complimentary, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar. You'll love staying here in Solana Beach - Del Mar where convenience meets unmatched comfort.

View Less
Features
This hotel's location near Del Mar, California offers comfort, convenience and unparalleled value, as well as being just two blocks from Southern California's finest beaches.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 146 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by beautifully decorated boutique hotel Although we have stayed at many beautiful hotels in California, The Indigo Del Mar is definitely one of our favorites. The beautiful beaches can not be beat , the ocean views, beautifully decorated rooms and great service are all top notch. We love Desmond at the front desk, he went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. He gave us wonderful restaurant recommendations, and was very warm and hospitable. The service we received from Desmond and the other wonderful staff members, like Jacob in the restaurant, rivals that which we have received at 5 star hotels. We will definitely be coming back! July 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wish I could live at the Hotel Indigo Del Mar!!! LOVE this hotel so much. The rooms are beautiful, the staff is amazing, and our golden retriever's were welcomed with open arms! Barbara at the front desk is always so welcoming to us. My golden retriever Amber, cannot pass Barbara without giving her a huge hug! Brace was always there to bring out breakfast on the patio so we could dine in the dog friendly area. Breakfast is awesome!!! Great way to start our day. Desmond always had a smile on his face and the cutest little smirk. Reminds me of my brother when he's about to crack a joke. Wish I could remember everyone's names, but we cannot say enough good things about the entire staff. Love it so much that we are coming back next month. We look forward to many vacations in the future at the Hotel Indigo Del Mar. Don't change a thing. It's perfect!!! June 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great experience with a cat! We needed to find a place to stay with our cat, while our house was being termite tented and found Hotel Indigo in Del Mar accepted animals. I spoke with both Jeff and Barbara at the front desk and explained our needs and why. They suggested a room, that turned out to be perfect for not so much a vacation experience but a homey place for our cat and us to stay while being displaced for 3 days. I will differently recommend this hotel for other neighbors facing a similar stay or for friends coming to San Diego and need a place to stay. The hotel, staff, grounds, and rooms are wonderful and you really feel far removed from everyday life all a plus in my book! Thank you!! . June 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel! From the room to the food, we had a great stay at the Del Mar Indigo. May 30, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best Place in Del Mar - No Question My wife and I spent four days at the Del Mar Hotel Indigo on our first true vacation in years. It could not have been a better decision. The front desk and restaurant staff were welcoming, kind, and highly professional. We received an upgraded room. The hotel itself is in an excellent location and is extremely clean. The fire pits are a wonderful place to relax around at night. The rooms are great and really clean. The restaurant food was outstanding and was very reasonably priced. Although not directly on the beach, access to the walking trail was easy. The hotels directly on the beach in Del Mar were nowhere near the quality of the Hotel Indigo. Also, after visiting La Jolla we are very glad we stayed in Del Mar. Our only complaints are the lack of a dresser and sofa/reclinder in our room and difficulty using the TV remote. Overall, we had a super room. However, there were few places to put your clothes. A dresser would have been nice. We also would have liked to have had a sofa or recliner in the room - there was more than enough space for it. Watching TV was a pain. The remote didn't work well and channel surfing was a chore. Regardless of the couple negatives, we would stay at this hotel again without question. We can't thank the entire staff enough for making our rare vacation a wonderfully relaxing time!!! May 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Exceptional Value & Great Location I have to travel to San Diego for business on a weekly basis and I think I've found my new "home away from home". Hotel Indigo is very clean, quiet, staff is fantastic and the value is unmatched when you consider all of the above as well as the location. I highly recommend this property to anyone travelling on business who desires a peaceful place to escape to at the end of the long workday. I'm even bringing my wife here for our next getaway to San Diego. May 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Bar Everyone took care of all my needs and the weather was also great May 12, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Shocking service The service levels were shocking. Staff were not well trained , did not have a good attitude & at times were actually hard to find in order to get any service at all. One staff member was very rude to 1 of the guests in our group. None of us will recommend this hotel as a result. April 24, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by The ambiance is great in lobby and lounge feel overpriced for overall what guests are expecting. our patio door was hard to open and close cause fit was not right. bathroom tub slow drain... towel rack on wall was broken on one side. The lounge was nice, we were here last yr. when you did not have liquor license yet so looked forward to our visit in the lounge this time. But out of corona the first nite and again the next. Not what you expect from again this high priced hotel. We come each year for the good guy show so do not know if will stay again, not because the hotel isn't beautiful and pleasant just not up to par for the price. April 13, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Property on the cusp of greatness... We stayed at the Hotel Indigo Del Mar last weekend and had a moderately pleasant experience. The property was clean and very pretty. There were many good things about our stay, and we left feeling that the hotel is on the cusp of being great, but lacks attention to detail. I'm going to provide some examples in the hope that if the staff can lock the little things down, the property can achieve greatness... Here are some examples: 1) The drawer of the dresser between the 2 beds would not stay closed causing initial bodily bruising. We had to duct tape it closed ourselves. It's hard to believe no one was aware of this... 2) When we ordered room service for breakfast, the items on the menu we wanted were not available. 3) Our breakfast room service tray came with no sugar, not enough cream, and no salt and pepper. 4) The breakfast "hash" was greasy and indecipherable. The items in the hash were not cut of uniform size, and were way, way too big. Lazy mise en place. 5) The girl working the front desk, I think her name was Liana, was moody. Sometimes she was nice, and sometimes she was impatient and disdainful. She also got in an argument with a guest who wanted to wait for another front desk staff, male, name started with J I think. She took this situation out on the next guest in line and was very rude. She was very efficient and good at the content of her job, she just needs an attitude adjustment. Maybe she was just having a bad weekend. 6) Maid service was in the room next door, and saw us leaving our room. In spite of this, when we returned 3 hours later, the room had not been attended to. We had to track someone down and ask for towels. When they finally cleaned the room, all they did was make the beds and leave the towels. No new glasses, no new coffee cups, no restocking of the sugar packets we depleted when we got no sugar with our room service coffee. 7) The room initially had one bar of soap for the sink, no soap in the shower. 8) We ordered sweet potato fries at the bar late one evening after a wedding with not enough food and too much alcohol... They delivered regular french fries. When we noted this, the attitude was "hey, they're fries, it's late." Like I said, lacking in attention to detail. They did fix it, but really, this cannot be accomplished? Why have several selections on the menu if you're just going to throw whatever you want at the customer because it's late and you're busy or want to go home? 9) One of the other guests near us had children. Their parents allowed these children to run stomping up and down the walkway outside our room early in the morning; back and forth, back and forth for over 40 minutes. People have children, they are loud sometimes, it's all good. But maybe when guest check in with kids, just remind them that there are other guests and to do their best to make sure the kids are quiet early in the am. Or put all the guests with kids in one area. Or ask people when they check in if they are ok being in a section with kids. Not being able to sleep in on vaca isn't nice, especially when you're paying that much for a room. It's not a Disney Hotel. Good Things: 1) The property is gorgeous. 2) Someone named Jason who works in the restaurant was very good, responsive and helpful. 3) LOVE the AVEDA. 4) The room was spacious and clean. 5) The bathroom was great and really functional. 6) The simple bacon and eggs breakfast we ordered was just fine. 7) We did get a second bar of soap for the shower on the second day. Maybe it's one bar of soap per day... Penitentiary style... 8) The location is great, close to other things in Del Mar. 9) The bar, restaurant, and outdoor seating by the rooms is really great. Totally pleasant to sit out at night with a glass of wine and relax. Really pretty and well maintained. This sounds pretty critical, but if you're reading this, I'd absolutely recommend this property. I'm just being super detailed because how can you expect someone to improve something if you don't tell them exactly what needs to be improved? Stay here, you'll like it. And hopefully, they'll get the small stuff together soon. Thanks! April 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Fell in love with Del Mar The week before Easter, my boyfriend and I stayed at the Indigo for a vacation / friends wedding. We were there for 6 nights. While we were there the staff was so friendly and accomodating. They put us in an area where we were close to a pool, patio and all our friends were nearby. The complimentary parking was excellent and found that not a lot of hotels offer this in that area. We really had a good time, in fact, on the plane ride home we had a conversation about how we could move to Del Mar. All in all it was an A+ vacation and we would definitely come back. April 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great ambience and amenities We loved this inn! Great place to hang out in a beautiful community. The pools were lovely in the daytime and we sat by the fire pits at night. We would return in a heartbeat. April 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautifully Equipped Rooms and Great Ocean View This recently remodeled hotel provided an excellent stay. The rooms were spacious with beautiful decor. Each room offered a great ocean view. The hotel bar/restaurant offered great ambiance with outside fire pits for the cool evenings and the spacious interior was welcoming. The food offered by the restaurant was very good. Overall, my stay was one of the best I've experienced at an Intercontinental Hotel affiliated hotel. March 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by always good experience we are staying at the indigo for many years when we are in town for business. always great and helpful staff. Barbara always goes the extra mile to make our stay as comfortable as possible. March 21, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by 4 wonderful notes! Great location! Close to the beach and easy to walk to any restaurant. Room was nice and quiet. This was a rather quiet time of year so the sound level could change as things get busier. I would still say this is a good choice. Helpful staff..... March 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Awesome hotel I recently stayed at the Hotel Indigo for 4 days/5 nights as I was in Del Mar for pure relaxation and just to get away from it all. From the time I walked in and registered until the time I left, everyone that I came in contact with was friendly, helpful and smiling. My ocean view balcony room was awesome, cleaned daily and I was able to enjoy the sunrise/sunsets daily. It was great to be able to walk over to the Ocean View bar/restaurant for any of 3 meals, with a varied menu. The food and service there was excellent and all my meals were awesome. I also treated myself to an 80 minute massage in the spa and enjoyed every minute of it. The staff made me feel very special and welcome. The pools and hot tub were all very clean and welcoming as were the grounds around the hotel. The location is a short 15-20 minute walk to town and the beach. Overall I would highly recommend the Hotel Indigo and I look forward to a return visit here soon. March 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Easy and comfortable Great location and easy to get in and out from. I have stayed at this location around 10 times, and it is always consistently great. Clean, friendly, and well manicured. Staff is great! February 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beach Getaway Loved the entire atmosphere - and being so close to the San Diego Beach! Service was great, staff was nice, and the room was quiet & peaceful. The bed was comfortable; room included a kitchenette. Accomodations also include a small restaurant with order-in available - which I did not get to try out but was nice to know the option was there. I recommend Hotel Indigo as a must for anyone looking for atmosphere, close proximity to beach and comfort! February 10, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by girls weekend We had a girls weekend at the Hotel Indigo and were only disappointed that we had to leave! The hotel is within walking distance to the town and really fabulous restaurants and shops. I would recommend the second floor ocean view with balcony as we loved having coffee out there in the morning. Rooms easily accommodated the 3 of us. February 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great service and wonderful staff What a beautiful property. Room was excellent comfortable bed and truly enjoyed the sitting around the fire and enjoying the sunsets. The staff was wonderful so friendly and the food fabulous. We walked to town and definitely will stay here again. January 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great overall experience Large room & bath, comfortable bed, and accomodates pets! Nice bar/restaurant on site. Would be even better in warm weather to sit out and enjoy the patio. Nice kitchenette, but nothing to eat or cook with. January 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by boutique hotel, good deal I booked at the last minute around New Year's eve and had a lovely stay. The room was clean and had unique design, the bathroom was clean, the staff was friendly and let me check out late. January 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Amazing I recently had a little getaway with some friends and traveled to Del Mar, California. As someone who lives in Las Vegas... and was looking to escape the craziness and madness of New Year's Eve.... This was absolutely perfect. The rooms are clean, comfortable and homey. An amazing value for the cost... and a block from the beach.!! Ammemnities were great..as was the restaurant and bar. We spent a wonderful New Year's Eve there.. The entire staff is amazing, friendly and courteous. Miss Barbara at the front desk is wonderful. She is a refreshing happy smile that greets you like family when you arrive. An easy walks allowed us to stroll through downtown Del Mar... great shops and restaurants al in walking distance... Back at the hotel we spent time at the Spa, pools and toured the facility.... We will definately be back!!! I recommend it for that quiet little getaway... and it's pet friendly!!! January 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Locale and Nice Staff First time customer. Very amicable front desk person, Richard. Easy parking. Room was spacious, but lighting needs to be improved definitely. Did not like mural of starfish. Beach or sea scene would be better. Restaurant had great food and no pressure even if late dining. Would stay again and recommend. January 4, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Home away from home We highly recommend Hotel Indigo in Del Mar. Our stay last week at Hotel Indigo was delightful. We have stayed at this location for the past six years. It is so convenient to the quaint town of Del Mar. The view of the ocean is magnificent and not to be missed. The accommodations were excellent . The restaurant was superb. The staff was friendly and resourceful. We are looking forward to returning to Hotel Indigo next December. It is our home away from home....a great place to stay. December 16, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Roomy, light and airy Wonderful, relaxing stay. What a lovely atmosphere they've created here! Large, comfortable rooms, terrific staff - very friendly. Loved sitting by the fire pit at night and sipping a glass of wine. We were so comfortable, we dined in at the restaurant twice rather than go out - food very good. December 15, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Atmosphere!! Love what you've done with this property!! The lobby, restaurant and rooms are really nicely furnished and inviting!! December 7, 2012
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful Lobby but Room Smelled We stayed 2 night for Thanksgiving weekend and chose this hotel because it was close to family. The lobby is very nicely decorated with bright colors and the lady who checked us in was very gracious and courteous. We reserved a ocean view room with 1 king bed and kitchenette and balcony. The room had been recently renovated but the quality of the furniture and fixtures looked cheap, especially the fake wood floors. The carpet was stained and the room had a foul odor. We had to open the balcony door and left the windows open all day and night for fresh air. We also booked the breakfast package and the breakfast was good, however the $12 coupons they give you doesn't cover the cost of a breakfast item and coffee or hot chocolate which is $5 already.... Check out was fast and easy. The hotel is close to the beach with easy access from the back of the hotel which is a major plus. We also walked to the Del Mar center in about 10 minutes. November 29, 2012
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very memorable stay Very courteous and efficient priority check in by Kyle. Everything was a pleasant suprise, for instance the location of the property and the proximity of the pool and business center and gym to my room meant a whole lot to me. The room was pleasantly accented and clean. The out of the ordinary feel burnishes the image of Hotel Indigo Delmar as a boutique hotel. The friendly staff at every level extended themselves to make our stay comfortable. Thank you all!! I would however recommend better lighting at the entrance of the property, as the street is especially dark after dusk. November 26, 2012
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great room Checked in late at night and left before sunrise so didn't get a great look around but the room was huge and had a wonderfully refreshed look to it. November 22, 2012
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar
Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar
Select to close.
Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach/Del Mar Exterior Feature Solana Beach Rail Trail Area Beaches Newly Renovated Lobby Lobby Lounge Area Lobby Lounge Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach Reception Hot Air Ballooning Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach on Hwy 101 South-bound view Holiday Inn Express Solana Beach on Hwy 101 North-bound view Main Lobby Entrance Beautiful Fletcher Cove, just a short walk from the hotel.
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-29-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-30-2014)
Check Availability
Loading