• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Aug-30-2014)
(e.g. Aug-31-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Resort

  • Location: Resort
  • Closest City: SOUTH HAVEN
  • Distance From Hotel: 2.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:6
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

No Pets Allowed.

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Historic Downtown South Haven
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Lake Michigan Beaches
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Kal-Haven biking/walking/snowmobile trail
Distance From Hotel:1.0MI
Attraction:
Blueberry farms
Distance From Hotel:3.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Car Parking Available

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests
Wireless Internet available in Standard Rooms,Executive Rooms,Suites,Business Center,Public Areas

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2013
  • Total number of rooms:62
  • Total number of suites:15
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:32
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:30
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:46
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:6
  • Executive rooms
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:3

Guests Laud South Haven / Lake Michigan Hotel's Locale

South Haven can hardly be appreciated through pictures and words; it's simply a city you must experience firsthand. Thankfully, at the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites South Haven, our hotel's guests can experience it all.

Business travelers have the luxury of being 10 minutes from the Entergy owned Palisades Power Plant and Trelleborg Automotive, while the Trelleborg Industrial office is only a two minute walk.
View More

Guests Laud South Haven / Lake Michigan Hotel's Locale

South Haven can hardly be appreciated through pictures and words; it's simply a city you must experience firsthand. Thankfully, at the Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites South Haven, our hotel's guests can experience it all.

Business travelers have the luxury of being 10 minutes from the Entergy owned Palisades Power Plant and Trelleborg Automotive, while the Trelleborg Industrial office is only a two minute walk. Complimentary wireless high-speed Internet access and a 24 hour Business Center ensure that you're capable of swiftly handling any urgent business that may arise. Guests can also use the 1,100 sq. ft. meeting room to convene with clients and partners.

One mile to the west lies the sandy sanctuary that is the shoreline of Lake Michigan. The hotel's leisure guests often amble along the harbor and visit the boutique shops and restaurants of downtown South Haven. Free up space on your camera's memory card so that you can capture the most gorgeous sunsets known to mankind. Numerous wineries in the area offer interesting tours, tastings and even dinners.

Guests enjoy convenient amenities like an indoor, heated pool, a 24 hour Fitness Center and the free, hot Express Start Breakfast Bar. Our friendly staff is committed to delivering service that fosters a recurring relationship. Much like the city itself, this South Haven, Michigan hotel's value must be experienced firsthand.

View Less
Features
This South Haven, Michigan hotel's proximity to the downtown area, Lake Michigan beaches and prominent businesses can't be beat. Save yourself valuable time and money by booking your stay with us.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 175 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location and service. Marry Ann the Manager helped us arrange and plan a great stay. I can not thank her enough. The staff and service was excellant all away around. This is a great hotel and location to plan a leisure or business trip August 12, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyed our stay The staff at this hotel were extremely friendly. Our room had a wonderful view of Lake Michigan. The room was extremely clean and was furnished very nicely. The breakfast was one of the best I've experienced. They offered a variety of items and the staff kept it well stocked. The Wi-Fi worked well the first day but we couldn't get it to work the second day. However, I would definitely recommend this hotel to others! August 11, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great option We decided to use this hotel based on a recommendation on a family website. I'm glad we did. The hotel lacked nothing. The rooms were a good size. The bathrooms were clean and everything was in working order. I love not having to worry about breakfast and there was a good variety of food offered. The kitchen attendant made sure everything was stocked and was very good about replacing the hot items. The pool is small, but my kids didn't mind. I would definitely stay here again if we came back to the area. August 10, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by St. Joseph This Holiday inn Express was a very good hotel. The front desk staff were phenomenal, the room was very clean and it is in a good location. August 7, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very comfortable room and great value!!! We stayed in a Jr. Suite room which had to queen beds, sleeper sofa and a separate room with bunk beds and it was very roomy and a great value! We stay at this hotel every year to go to Silver Beach and we are always very satisfied! August 6, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by friendly staff and beautiful view This was our first stay at this Holiday Inn. The location is convenient and the view of Lake Michigan was beautiful. The entire staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was above average. The pool was very nice and they even gave the kids free beach balls. Will definitely stay there again. August 5, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Our stay We had a great stay, however the first hotel employee we saw was a woman in the parking lot smoking, not the best first appearance. August 5, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Friendly staff and clean rooms This place was great! Friendly staff, clean rooms and great breakfasts! August 3, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice stay ! Our family of four (w/ kids 10 and 4 years old) enjoyed our stay. Pool, hot tub, rooms, beds were all very clean and very nice. Staff, from front desk to housekeeping, was courteous and helpful. Breakfast is nice (love the pancake machine). Breakfast room got very busy on Saturday, but staff kept food up for longer time to accommodate as many as possible. We were given what we considered a good and fair rate Tues. thru Thurs.. The rate was increased for our Friday night stay (probably an industry standard, but the much appreciated American-owned and long-term local mgt. WOULD have made a big impression if they would have granted our request to be given the original rate for that one extra night. Just sayin'. No hard feelings, though, we would return (and maybe accept a bonus upgrade to a room with a view/balcony). :-) August 1, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel, Bad Check-in Experience Pros: Nice location, short ride to downtown/beach area, modern rooms, clean, nice pool area and good breakfast choices. Cons: Customer service was lacking. We arrived at 3:20PM to see if we might be able to check-in 10 mins early (check-in time was noted as 3:30) and was told that no early check-ins were allowed. That's fine, just came back after 3:30 to find a long line of people waiting to check-in -- and all being told that there rooms were not ready yet and they had no idea when they would be available. They took our phone number and we finally got a call at about 4:45PM stating that our room was ready (as we were sitting down to eat an early dinner). Also, you will pay a premium price to be closer to the lake and the downtown area. Overall -- great family hotel, a bit pricey, and don't plan to get into your room on time. August 1, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible Customer Service and They Lied To Me! Before booking this room online, I called customer service to ask questions. I was told it was the presidential suite and the best at the hotel. I specifically asked if it had a balcony with a lake view and was told yes, it does. When we arrived, I was extremely disappointed to find out that it did have a lake view, but did not have a balcony at all. I would have never booked the room if it didn't, as my husband and I wanted to have a balcony to sit on in the evening while our kids were sleeping. When I called the front desk to tell them what happened, I was told I should have called the hotel directly to ask my questions, that customer service doesn't really know much about the hotel. I was also told there was nothing they could do because the hotel was completely booked up, and I wasn't even offered any money off our stay. I was also very disappointed to find out when I called ahead of time that there weren't portable cribs available, and since we were traveling with twins, we would have to lug two portable cribs with us so that our kids had somewhere to sleep. I would never stay here again, or any other Holiday Inn for that matter and will make sure to tell others of my experience. I've tried filling out reviews and emailing Guest Relations and all I get is an email that they are forwarding my information to management. July 30, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Very clean, comfortable and friendly staff My wife and I went to St Joe for the weekend for our anniversary. Awesome place!! Hotel was very clean, staff was very friendly upon arrival and through out our stay. Room was big, clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good but not great, plenty to choose from and the helper in the breakfast room was outstanding. She hustled about making sure all foods were available and she was very kind and attentive to the children's wants and needs, whether is was food or beach balls :-) If I would have lived closer to St Joe I would have offered her a job on the spot!! The hotel was nice, but over priced , but the staff was top notch! July 29, 2014
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Not as good as the hype Not worth the cost. Customer service is not that great. July 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice hotel and great staff MaryAnn and Patrice were very welcoming and straightened out my room when it wasn't what I needed. The internet connection was very spotty - coming in and out, so my husband and son were not happy. The hotel is across the street from Lake Michigan and you could set up a chair and look at the water. July 28, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Terrible Customer Service Before booking this room, I called customer service to ask questions. I was told it was the presidential suite and the best at the hotel. I specifically asked if it had a balcony with a lake view and was told yes, it does. When we arrived, I was extremely disappointed to find out that it did have a lake view, but did not have a balcony at all. I would have never booked the room if it didn't, as my husband and I wanted to have a balcony to sit on in the evening while our kids were sleeping. When I called the front desk to complain, I was told I should have called the hotel directly to ask my questions, that customer service doesn't really know much about the hotel. I was also told there was nothing they could do because the hotel was completely booked up, and I wasn't even offered any money off our stay. I was also very disappointed to find out when I called ahead of time that there weren't portable cribs available, and since we were traveling with twins, we would have to lug two portable cribs with us so that our kids had somewhere to sleep. I would never stay here again, or any other Holiday Inn for that matter and will make sure to tell others of my experience. July 28, 2014
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by No Military discount in Summer months This was a clean hotel. However, there is no military discount during summer months. I was traveling with a military family and was very disappointed to find that they were not given a discount. This family is just coming off of a year long deployment and in my opinion deserve the little discount that is generally given. I did contact the hotel management and they would not budge on the matter . It was unfortunate that they will give a corporate rate during the summer but not a military rate, maybe not the best way to run an American business. There was an issue with vandalism on our second night. A few cars got keyed with some unpleasant words to the side of their vehicle. One of which happened to be this military family. They did receive an apology but that's all. All in all it was a nice hotel, but next time I will go to Benton Harbor or South Haven. This Hotel was just not worth the money. July 28, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Horrible room, terrible service Front desk staff inflexible when learned that the room I booked and the room they provided were NOT the same. We had to take it or leave it (and lose our $). Staff used lots of hotel jargon to explain why they couldn't give me what I paid for; unfortunately, I don't work in the hotel business, I'm a customer. When we pulled out the sofa bed (instead of getting a real bed which I booked, confirmed, and paid for), a family of spiders came out - not sure where they ended up, but a properly cleaned room would not have spiders. We don't get to go on vacation often - we will NEVER stay at a Holiday Inn Express again. July 28, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful view of Lake Michigan We only stayed one as we were on our way to northern Michigan, but I am very happy with our choice of this hotel. Our room was huge with a kitchenette and sitting area. We had a great view of the lake from our balcony. We watched a gorgeous Michigan sunset from the great and highly recommended restaurant next door that had a lot of seating on an outdoor patio. if I return to this area I would most definitely stay here again. Very close to silver Beach. July 26, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Slept Great Only stayed one night and slept really well. Will stay here again. Very clean and friendly staff. Next time may stay a couple more nights. July 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great stay When this hotel says lake view, they mean it! There is an open area across the street from the hotel with an unobstructed view - just beautiful - especially at sunset. The Lake House restaurant adjacent to the hotel is very high quality, excellent service, and delicious food! As with all hotels, the rooms were clean but not deep cleaned (I'm very picky, though) and the bathroom showed signs of wear. The breakfast buffet had good variety, including a pancake maker - the bacon a bit greasy and the sausage gravy a bit bland but the rest was top notch. I definitely recommend this Holiday Inn Express. July 23, 2014
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Enjoyed our Stay Excellent facility; Great location; wonderful restaurant across the street adjacent to the hotel. Will definitely return. July 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Better than expected We usually stay at silver beach hotel but tried holiday inn because silver was booked. Will do holiday inn every time. Little pricey but way better experience than their cross town counterparts and only 2 minutes from downtown. Everything was very clean and it was a good experience for the beach weekend. July 23, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel. Very good experience. Room was clean. Only complaint was the sliding screen door that went out onto the patio did not work well. It lifted off track - the track and patio needed a good sweeping. Breakfast bar was excellent . Had good healthy choices including wheat bread. Would definitely stay there again. July 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place to stay Did think the hotel was on the beach and that we would not need to drive to get there. Overall stay was great. Remember to add taxes on to the quote for the room. July 22, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Summer vacation This hotel is great. Beautiful location and staff was very friendly and the hotel was clean. Would stay again. July 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by MI vacay Excellent stay. Everything was wonderful, including the restaurant next door. July 21, 2014
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Staff & Service Front Desk failed to get me checked in correctly which resulted in my room not being cleaned the following day. When I addressed this to the staff the following evening ...they were very unconcerned and blameless. This led to my early departure. July 21, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Good location and a restful night The location by the lake and a nice restaurant made a nice ending to our day since we had been traveling for several hours. July 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nice place to stay The Hilton Express, is a nice place to stay, both for business and vacation travelers. Breakfast isn't a strength, but you can come along with it... July 14, 2014
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Beautiful place and relaxing We have been staying at this location for 7 years. The view from the lakeside rooms is wonderful. The staff is some of the best. Dave the maintenance person goes above and beyond our expectations. Everyone there treats you special and makes your trip enjoyable. We will definitely return again next year. July 11, 2014
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Front Desk Scenery / Landscape Hotel Exterior Scenery / Landscape Scenery / Landscape Scenery / Landscape Scenery / Landscape
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Click here to earn up to 5,000 bonus points or 1,000 bonus points every night.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Aug-30-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Aug-31-2014)
Check Availability
Loading