• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country / Region of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 
Email Hotel Get Directions Add to Favorites Print Fact Sheet

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
(e.g. Oct-22-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Airport

  • Location: Airport
  • Closest City: PORTLAND
  • Distance From Hotel: 5.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Russian

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pet friendly hotel! Doggie treats at check in. We are surrounded by wooded area with sidewalks perfect for walking your dog. All pets accepted. One time non refundable fee of 20.00 usd applied at check in.
Pet deposit amount  20.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Sable Oaks Golf Course
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Maine Mall
Distance From Hotel:0.5MI
Attraction:
Cabela's
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
Downtown Shopping and Dining
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary parking for our guests. Ask about special park & flay packages available!

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2010
  • Total number of rooms:130
  • Total number of suites:130
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:69
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:61
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:130
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:7
  • FEMA Property Number:ME0136

Welcome to our Renovated Holiday Inn Express®Hotel

Situated in South Portland, Maine off Interstate 95 at Exit 46, you'll find our contemporary hotel. Near Portland's Maine Mall, just two miles from the Portland Jetport, our conveniently located accommodations make any commute a breeze. We even provide a complimentary airport shuttle!

Business travelers find themselves in close proximity to companies like Fairchild Semiconductor, Idexx, Wright Express, Time Warner and Olympia
View More

Welcome to our Renovated Holiday Inn Express®Hotel

Situated in South Portland, Maine off Interstate 95 at Exit 46, you'll find our contemporary hotel. Near Portland's Maine Mall, just two miles from the Portland Jetport, our conveniently located accommodations make any commute a breeze. We even provide a complimentary airport shuttle!

Business travelers find themselves in close proximity to companies like Fairchild Semiconductor, Idexx, Wright Express, Time Warner and Olympia Sports, as well as downtown Portland offices. You'll stay productive whether you are preparing for a seminar in our well-appointed 24-hour business center with free Wi-Fi or conducting a meeting in the 650-sq ft meeting space in our hotel.

Since we're near Portland's Maine Mall, guests can enjoy great shopping just across the street at the largest and busiest mall in the state. We're also only minutes away from Portland's best attractions and activities. Whether you tour the Portland Museum of Art, watch the AHL Portland Pirates play hockey at Cumberland County Civic Center, or visit the Portland Head Light in Cape Elizabeth on the shores of Fort Williams Park, our hotel's spot in South Portland, Maine is close to it all!

And after a long day of meetings and tours, relax in our heated, indoor pool or recharge at the fitness center. Stay Smart in South Portland, and reserve a room today to enjoy free Wi-Fi and our complimentary Express Start Breakfast Bar.

View Less
Features
Our hotel's visitors in South Portland, Maine can delight in simple, convenient and complimentary amenities like Wi-Fi, which you will find throughout the hotel, so you can stay connected.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 367 reviewers.
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good Stay and Service Stayed at the Holiday Inn by the Bay before taking our cruise. Hotel provided transportation from the airport and also to our ship. Shuttle driver courteous and gave us information on where to eat . Front desk staff was helpful with directions and gave us suggestions for dinner. Room was clean and the beds comfortable. We will be staying here after our cruise. July 19, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great location, great front desk staff The location of this hotel is perfect. From the top of the hill, the view was outstanding. At night, all of the city lights with the mountains in the background were especially beautiful. We arrived a bit before check-in, and the front desk staff was kind enough to let us get to our room early. She also told us about the valet in and out service, which was quite convenient. We called down right before leaving to have the car ready and it was waiting for us each time. The actual valet (person at the bell desk, I unfortunately did not get his name), was pretty rude, but he parked our car nonetheless. We simply decided to just deal with the front desk staff since they were so nice and bypass the other gentleman. We talked several times with Amber at the front desk, who gave us directions for several nearby attractions and tips on where to watch the sunrise. She also has a fantastic recommendation for breakfast. Being from Texas, the morning cold caught us a bit off guard when we were going to see the sunrise. John (again, at the front desk) was kind enough to lend us bellman jackets when we mentioned the cold. They turned out to be perfect! With just a couple of exceptions we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go. We did not eat at the actual hotel. When trying to use the pool at about 10 p.m. it was full of children so we didn’t use that amenity either. However, the room was clean and comfortable. The front desk staff was great. Overall, we had a short but amazing stay. I would definitely stay at that location again if in the area. July 19, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Good location but Location is good, the room was clean, bathroom felt like a it belonged to a motel, breakfast was sub-par (ex. potatoes were super dry and did not taste good) - not to mention overpriced, there is a hotel shuttle service you can use that is free but we learned that through a third party restaurant hostess near the end of our trip... staff should have mentioned it when we checked in. July 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Peace and quiet with a great view The location of this hotel is great. It's easy to get in and out of the under-the-hotel garage onto the streets of Portland. The only complaint about the garage is the parking spaces are too tight. The hotel's best feature is it's hill location which overlooks the bay and city. We stayed here last year ,and came back this summer specifically for the view from the hotel room. Nice large windows overlooking the harbor, bay, bridge and town (is Portland a large town or a small city?) which changes constantly with the light. Pretty by night too. This alone is worth the price. (Make sure you ask for a room with a bay view when you book). The room was clean, the beds comfy, the atmosphere of the room pleasant. No hotelly smell. Reception was friendly as were the staff in the restaurant. The food in the restaurant was good, not great, but not bad either. The pool and exercise room seemed well maintained. The elevators run up and down the 11 floors quickly. Overall, functional, clean, pleasant. I met a few other guests who said they always stay here whenever they visited Portland. July 16, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor customer service While getting ready for dinner our, we found that the toilet was not flushing. It took two calls to the front desk and 1/2 hour wait to get someone to look at it. Two women came to the room to determine they needed a plunger, which they did not bring with them. We waited again for them to retrieve a plunger and return to the room. With dinner reservations and not everyone ready, we needed to use the bathroom. Then when we returned from dinner and got ready for bed, the sleeper sofa was not made up nor were there linens available for it. I booked the room for 4 people-1 king and a sleeper sofa. The bedding should have been checked prior to our checking in. Again, another 1/2 hour for someone to bring bedding. No call from management, no apology, nothing. I would not recommend. For the price of the room, the service was awful. July 14, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 # 1 this hotel has the best location and staff i come back every year to have our meetings here July 8, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Poor service I was quite disappointed with my stay at Portland's Holiday Inn by the Bay. Being a long-time Priority Club member and frequenter of this particular hotel, I was very upset with the most recent treatment we received. They go out of their way to make you aware of the perks enjoyed by Priority Club members. They even give you a handy index card listing those perks. One advantage is a 2PM checkout, rather than 12. All you need to do is request it, which I did. It is not an "upon availability" perk, unlike the room upgrade perk, rather a perk granted to PC members. This particular time, I was very thankful to have the late checkout, because my wife was quite sick upon waking on our last day. Instead, we were forced out of our room at noon, after 2 attempts by the maid service to enter our room and not one, but THREE calls by the front desk to hurry us up and force us out of the room. All of this in spite of my pleas for my wife's condition and to remind them of the promised 2pm checkout. I was thoroughly disgusted with the treatment, am unlikely to stay at the hotel again, and will likely reconsider my priority club membership. July 8, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great room and location I received a Priority club member room upgrade. The room was awesome. Great hotel and value, I would definitely recommend it and stay again when in Portland. July 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Good hotel, Nice Stay Nice hotel, well located close to downtown portland and Old port. Room was nice and clean. As a member of IHG Rewards I was nicely greeted with some food, water and literature about the city... July 7, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Hotel in a great location..great Service First of all every single Staff Member that I dealt with ,whether it was the front desk,Housekeeping ,the Concierge, or the restaurant/lounge were phenomenal ..super friendly/helpful all went above and beyond .A friend of mine (who lives locally) was having a birthday party ...the staff offered to drive us to and from the party instead of us taking a cab. I was only there for a few days but there were at least three instances where the staff just excelled. Now about the Hotel ...nice hotel ..good area ..within walking distance of downtown Portland and its many shops. The only flaw that I dealt with and the only reason why I didn't give it ..Excellents across the board was the parking garage. It is seriously the worst parking garage I have ever seen.. parking is incredibly tight ..they have many columns which I get are holding up the structure...I drive a small car and it was a challenge getting into a spot...worrying whether I was going to hit the car that was on one side or take my mirror out on the other side. You also have to hope that the person you park next to is a considerate driver because you cannot fully open your door or you will "ding" the other cars door ...thankfully I was lucky ...but it was something I was worried about during my stay...so to sum up ...Nice hotel,great staff, lousy parking garage... July 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great overall facility All aspects of my stay were excellent. That includes Check in, Check out, food, staff and overall attentiveness of staff. July 3, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Nice Stay You can park here without extra charge, though I must say the garage is terribly designed...don't bring your truck. People were friendly, I would recommend staying here. July 1, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great staff The location and staff were excellent! I was made to feel very welcomed. The only thing I can complain about was the bed. It was very lumpy, and maybe passed its time to be comfortable. I would have expected a more comfortable bed for the price I paid. July 1, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Already planning a return trip! My room was like home away from home. Besides the bed, and bathroom, I had a table with chairs and sitting area. I loved the easy chair and ottoman. I spend time reading and prefer not to do it in bed, with the seating area, I was comfy and had plenty of light. Didn't have any need for the microwave but did use the coffee pot and frig. Coffee was surprisingly good, thanks for that! As I expected of HI the linens were of top quality. Bed was wonderful and I slept very well. Had both dinner and breakfast in the attached dining room. Lobster bisque is to DIE for! Breakfast was very good and reasonably priced. Aside from all that, there's more. Your location is wonderful. I was able to walk down to the dock/piers. Good food, shopping and beautiful archeticuture. Also close (walking distance) to the arts district. Couldn't ask for anything more. Desk staff was very helpful. I arrived a little early but was allowed to check in. Friends were dropping me off and were able to park in the garage without problems. They came up to my room and were so impressed they are planning a weekend trip to stay with you! My shuttle to the airport was pre-scheduled and driver was on time and dropped me @ my gate. June 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Location is close to everything downtown Rooms were clean and the hotel overall good. It is within walking distance of Commercial St, which is the "happening part of town", although not right there. Garage for guests is small, though, and was filled each night we were there, but for one of the two days offered free parking in a nearby lot. (other day was an "event" day) I would recommend the hotel again, as I enjoy staying in Holiday Inn properties. June 15, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great place. Better than we expected. This is a great place. Like many vintage hotels the rooms are large. But the hotel is undergoing renovation, so you also have the updated amenities, such as the refrigerator and microwave provided. Combine that with a great view of the bay, the location near all Portland's musuems and the waterfront, and the new room furnishings, and we could not have been happier. The only negative thing about the room was the air conditioner was noisy when the compressor kicked in. We were surprised that the food in the dining room was so good. Lots of time hotel dining rooms leave a bit to be desired. This one did not. But more than the nice room and great food, we appreciated the wonderful service from the staff. Joe the waiter, the two bartenders, and the lovely ladies and young man at the front desk, made us feel we were their personal guests. We will be back. June 13, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Real Gem Great location, easy to find , great helpful staff with great suggestions close to all of the great resturaunts in Portland!! June 12, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Best stay at any hotel. Excellent stay, Clean and Quiet. Pleasant Staff. Thank you, June 9, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful stay We stayed 2 days at the Portland-By the Bay Holiday Inn. Beautiful hotel, friendly staff. Quick check in. Clean rooms. The least pricey of the 4 hotels closest to the wharf. The food was average, but the location was close enough to all the great restaurants throughout Portland. Parking was easily available either in the parking garage or next door. I would stay again if I'm ever in Portland. May 27, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable and convenient Our stay here was with family for a special occasion. Every courtesy including early check in, late check out and shuttle bus service was afforded us. Staff always kind and helpful. Walking distance to downtown Portland. May 25, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Staff and facilities average Bed was very uncomfortable, mattress was so soft I thought I was going to get seasick!! Every time i moved it kept moving me around. Was it a water bed? Service in restaurant was rushed as closing time approached; never offered dessert. Called enroute for pickup 1/2 hour before arrival by train and was told to call back upon arrival; then waited over 1/2 hour after arrival for pickup. Think the inn is over-hyped in the AAA guidebook. I was disappointed. May 20, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel Asked for the top floor, harbor side. No problem Great room Great view Great staff Great price What more is there to say May 17, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great hotel ,close to everythig Stayed two nights for my daughters graduation from St. Joe's in Standish Me. Hotel is in a great spot in Portland, with a beautiful view of the bay and city. You can walk to everythig, restaurants, shopping, etc. The hotels free shuttle is an awesome bonus for inclement weather, or if your planning on having some drinks with dinner. The staff is top rate, informitive, cheerful, and willing to help with any problems. We misplaced an expensive camera while at a resturant. We called the hotel to check if we left it in our room. The front desk had housekeeping check our room. The camera was located in our room, much to our relief. I would recommend the hotel to all. When we visit Portland again, we will stay at the Holiday Inn for sure. May 16, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Needs better customer service Unfortunately our most recent stay at Holiday Inn By the Bay was not a good one. The front desk staff was very unaccommodating and just rude. We were in town to celebrate our anniversary, we had two nights booked at a great rate and our third night was to be with priority club points. We ended up leaving after the second night; it wasn’t worth the "free" night to stay there any longer. We were unable to get into our room the first day till 4:30pm. I understand the guarantee is 4:00. I am a former Holiday Inn employee, I have worked in both housekeeping and at the front desk, I totally understand. But what I didn’t like is how unhelpful the desk was, they just didn’t seem to care, they didn’t offer to take our bags or make us feel like we mattered at all. I felt like I had to cheer them up and almost apologize for bothering them. Each time they would say, check in an hour. It turns out our room had been clean most of the day, but in the computer it was showing dirty. An honest mistake that would have been discovered if a member of the desk staff had bothered to call housekeeping one of the first 4 times we came back to check on our room status between 11 and 4. The housekeeping staff was friendly in the hallway, and the room was nice and clean when we checked in, but they failed to get to our room Saturday by 2pm or Sunday by 12:30 so that's when we decided to pack it up and go elsewhere. Once again the girl at the desk was very rude when I went to ask her about changing to a check out. The bartender was great, very friendly. The van service that they offer is excellent and the driver was very helpful. Unfortunately, those two employees don't work at the front desk. May 14, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful stay My husband and I selected the Holiday Inn because it was conveniently located to the location of where we were picking up a tour bus and it was reasonably priced. The room was clean, the food at the in-hotel restaurant was fabulous, and every staff person we encountered was friendly and helpful. The bed was a little hard on me, but I slept better than I do at most hotels. We were very happy with our stay and will DEFINITELY stay at this hotel again when we visit Portland. Oh, the only "downfall" was that there is no hot tub with the indoor pool. That would have been lovely, but the pool was fine. May 12, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Good for a nights rest I came to Portland to celebrate a friend's birthday and it served its purpose for that one night. This hotel has a shuttle that will take you to and from the bars and it's complimentary. That was possibly the best feature about this place. The room was clean and everything was functioning. The bed was clean and comfortable to sleep in. The pool is extremely warm though, they hold the temperature at 82 degrees which is ridiculous in my opinion. The entire room is like a sauna. Overall, my experience wasn't bad just average. May 10, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Noise Level I have stayed at this property on several occasions this time I was in a room on the second level near the roof side where the mechanical room must be. All night we heard large fans running all night sounded like a jet engine outside our room window. The room was clean and comfortable but the noise level was unbearable we did not sleep at all that night. May 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Great Location, Great Staff, Sub Par Facilities Awesome location, walking distance to great bars and restaurants. Free parking for customers. Staff was polite and helped with everything. The hallway on the top floor had an odd odor. Smelled like a kennel. Room had no odor, old bed, average bathroom. Everything in the room was clean and dated. With a view of the bay and great staff, definitely recommend. May 6, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Tattoo Trish It was a great experience until the 4th night when they asked if they could move my room because they would be drilling in the morning, so I agreed, and that night was terrible, with neighbors who kept slamming doors all night long. I would have sooner woke up to the drilling, at least I would have gotten sleep in the night sleep. But before that happened, my experience was 5 Star. The staff was all friendly, nice, the bell hops/shuttle drivers were excellent! The food was very, very good right there in the Hotel dining room. Should I be fortunate enough to make another trip to Maine, I would definitly stay there again. It's also a perfect location. Only thing it lacks is a place to sit outside when the weather is nice. It could even be on a roof top! Just a thought! Thanks for the great stay!! Trish May 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Most Helpful Staff Award For an institutional hotel--Holiday Inn--this one is distinguished by its extremely friendly and helpful staff. We had many, many questions about where to eat, which way to walk, where to find the best coffee in Portland, etc., and the front desk staffers were very helpful and friendly, way beyond what you normally get in a hotel. The desk was always staffed with at least 2 people, and they were willing to engage in conversation as if they had all the time in the world, which was not the case since the lobby was bustling. The room was comfortable and clean, the price pretty good--I'd stay there again. April 26, 2013
<<prev 9 10 11 12 13 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
If you are not already a member, join now.
Close
Check In
(e.g. Oct-21-2014)
Check Out
(e.g. Oct-22-2014)
Check Availability
Loading