• English  English
    Select to close.
    Current Settings are:
      /  English

    Change Preferences:
    Country of Residence:
    Available Languages:
  • |
  • |
  • |
  • 1 888 HOLIDAY
Select to close.
Select to close.
Email or IHG® Rewards Club # PIN
Not a member?Join Today!
Forgot PIN
All fields are required.
 
If you have forgotten or lost your Personal Identification Number (PIN), we can email your PIN to the email address in your IHG® Rewards Club account profile.
If you do not have an email address in your profile, please contact your local IHG® Rewards Club Customer Care  to source your PIN and to update your profile with your email address. When you receive your PIN you can also update your email address viawww.ihgrewardsclub.com/email.
IHG® Rewards Club # Email Address

Not a member?Join Today!
Create PIN
All fields are required.
IHG® Rewards Club # ZIP/Postal Code
First Name Last Name
Please select a 4 number Personal Identification Number (PIN) which will be used to access your IHG® Rewards Club account.
PIN Verify PIN
 
Not a member?Join Today!
Create Email
All fields are required.
Thank you. Your PIN has been created. Please enter your email address so you can use it to log into the site in the future.
Email Address Verify Email Address
 

Book this Hotel

Best Price Guarantee
1

Reward Nights
When redeeming points for a Reward
Night, you may only book one room at a time.

Once you complete your Reward Night
reservation you will be given the option
to duplicate this reservation

(e.g. Apr-20-2014)
(e.g. Apr-21-2014)
Have a Group Code?
Have a Corporate ID?
Check Availability
Processing your request...

* Requires affiliation in the respective organization.

** Best Available Rate Search does not include affiliation rates.

Select to close.

To book more than 9 rooms for one stay or request a quote, please use our Easy Meetings tool, call 1-800-MEETING (in United States, Mexico and Canada) or contact a Global Sales Office.

Close Button
Your Recently Viewed Hotels

About our Hotel

Location: Airport

  • Location: Airport
  • Closest City: PORTLAND
  • Distance From Hotel: 5.0MI
  • Local time zone: GMT-04:00

Check In: 3:00 PM Check Out: 11:00 AM

  • Check In: 3:00 PM
  • Check Out: 11:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age: 21
  • Late checkout available

Credit cards

Credit cards

  • American Express
  • Carte Blanche
  • Diners Club
  • Discover
  • Master Card
  • Visa

Accessibility

Accessibility

  • Number of Rooms:7
  • Parking
  • Service Animals Allowed

Languages

Languages

  1. English
  2. Russian

Pet Policy

Pet Policy

Pet friendly hotel! Doggie treats at check in. We are surrounded by wooded area with sidewalks perfect for walking your dog. All pets accepted. One time non refundable fee of 20.00 usd applied at check in.
Pet deposit amount  20.00  USD  per stay

What's Nearby

What's Nearby

Attraction:
Cabela's
Distance From Hotel:5.0MI
Attraction:
Portland Headlight
Distance From Hotel:7.0MI
Attraction:
L L Bean
Distance From Hotel:20.0MI
Attraction:
Freeport Outlet Stores
Distance From Hotel:15.0MI

Parking

Parking

  • Car Parking Available
  • Complimentary parking for our guests. Ask about special park & flay packages available!

Internet

Standard Internet Service

Standard Internet service is free for all guests

Facility

Facility

  • Hotel renovated inFebruary 01, 2010
  • Total number of rooms:130
  • Total number of suites:130
  • Total number of rooms with only one bed:69
  • Total number of rooms with only double beds:61
  • Total number of non-smoking rooms:130
  • Total number of rooms for the physically challenged:7
  • Interior corridor
  • Total number of floors:7
  • FEMA Property Number:ME0136

Welcome to our Renovated Holiday Inn Express®Hotel

Situated in South Portland, Maine off Interstate 95 at Exit 46, you'll find our contemporary hotel. Near Portland's Maine Mall, just two miles from the Portland Jetport, our conveniently located accommodations make any commute a breeze. We even provide a complimentary airport shuttle!

Business travelers find themselves in close proximity to companies like Fairchild Semiconductor, Idexx, Wright Express, Time Warner and Olympia
View More

Welcome to our Renovated Holiday Inn Express®Hotel

Situated in South Portland, Maine off Interstate 95 at Exit 46, you'll find our contemporary hotel. Near Portland's Maine Mall, just two miles from the Portland Jetport, our conveniently located accommodations make any commute a breeze. We even provide a complimentary airport shuttle!

Business travelers find themselves in close proximity to companies like Fairchild Semiconductor, Idexx, Wright Express, Time Warner and Olympia Sports, as well as downtown Portland offices. You'll stay productive whether you are preparing for a seminar in our well-appointed 24-hour business center with free Wi-Fi or conducting a meeting in the 650-sq ft meeting space in our hotel.

Since we're near Portland's Maine Mall, guests can enjoy great shopping just across the street at the largest and busiest mall in the state. We're also only minutes away from Portland's best attractions and activities. Whether you tour the Portland Museum of Art, watch the AHL Portland Pirates play hockey at Cumberland County Civic Center, or visit the Portland Head Light in Cape Elizabeth on the shores of Fort Williams Park, our hotel's spot in South Portland, Maine is close to it all!

And after a long day of meetings and tours, relax in our heated, indoor pool or recharge at the fitness center. Stay Smart in South Portland, and reserve a room today to enjoy free Wi-Fi and our complimentary Express Start Breakfast Bar.

View Less
Features
Our hotel's visitors in South Portland, Maine can delight in simple, convenient and complimentary amenities like Wi-Fi, which you will find throughout the hotel, so you can stay connected.

Guest Reviews

Rated 4.0 out of 5 by 45 reviewers.
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Nearly perfect We had a great stay. My husband had to go to Biddeford for work and it was a very convenient location. The hotel was clean and pleasant overall. I even had to ask if it was new and the staff indicated that it had been newly renovated and it showed. The continental breakfast was perfect. The only negative was we could hear a mechanical noise most of the night which interrupted our sleep a little. We would stay here again for sure. December 13, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Thank you I spent an overnight in Biddeford every other week for nine weeks for business. I found the rooms clean, staff friendly and only one week where room was not to temperature. Trevor (don't know how to spell) Tanya, and other permanent staff were helpful and friendly. Was always quiet and pleasant clientele. Breakfast and staff were great. I work part time in housekeeping so I know the work is hard. Would recommend this to anyone traveling for business or pleasure December 9, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by Nice property, friendly staff, horrible fitness room, terrible heat I redeemed Point Breaker points to stay here and that's why I give it an excellent value. The hotel is clean and the property is well kept. The rooms are clean and up to date. Staff was friendly but not very helpful. The fitness room was THE WORST of any IHG property I've ever stayed at and I use the fitness facility at every hotel I stay in.The room was tiny, hot and stuffy. There were three pieces of equipment- A barely working, old and wheezy treadmill, an ancient recombinant bike with no foot straps on the pedal and a dated eliptical which I didn't try. A poor excuse for what they advertise as a "fitness center". When I entered the room I was favorably impressed but the room seemed cool eventhough the thermostat read 70. I turned up tthe temperature but even after a half hour the heater was not blowing warm air. I called the front desk and the gentleman who answerd asked me a coule of questions. Finally he said "I don't know what to tell you sir other than to turn it up all the way. I think it maxes out at 75. That was it. The next morning the thermostat still read 70 and the room was still cold. For 5,000 points I guess I'd stay there again but I would never pay to stay at this property unless they do something about the fitness room. December 6, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Stay!! Had a wonderful stay at the hotel. Pool was nice, warm and relaxing. The room was spacious. Bathroom was a tad small but was clean and functional. Really liked that the hotel was close to restaurants and shopping. It was easy to find and very quiet. Would definitely go back if in the area again. November 21, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Staff friendly right on top of everything checked to see if everything was in order and asked a number of times if they could do anything for me. Each and everyone of your staff made me feel very comfortable. I would highly recommend this hotel. November 11, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by surprised I was expecting an average chain room small but serviceable. Was pleasantly surprised to find that the room had a separate sitting area with desk that was furnished and designed in a very classy manner. The beds were above average in comfort. I guess you could say it is like the car ad on tv..." This is not your fathers Holiday Inn!" November 7, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Great Hotel and would highly recommend This was an extremely spacious hotel - separate sitting and desk area was a definite plus - breakfast was way more than a continental -- I am definitely making this a hotel of choice every time I am in the Biddeford, Maine area. November 5, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Excellent Accommodations We booked this hotel after reading great reviews. We were not disappointed!  Everything looked brand new and very clean.  The rooms were well appointed, with the sitting area set apart from the actual sleeping section. Although other reviewers have mentioned the breakfast selection lacking, I must say that they offered a wide assortment of breakfast items on both mornings that we were there. Definitely will return another time. November 3, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable room except bathroom was cold we were very comfortable & pleased with the cleanliness of the hotel November 2, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Last Minute Stay We were unexpectedly in Maine for the weekend and had no accommodations. We found the Holiday Inn onljne and were close enough to drive to it. We entered the property at 6:30 PM and were warmly greeted - they not only found us a room, but also extended an online promotional rate. This allowed us to relax - they even provided a late check out the next day. Great staff. October 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by comfortable bed convenient location. Clean room with comfortable bed. Good overall stay! October 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Very nice experience My family stayed here for a weekend in October and we were very pleased. Our room was comfortable and clean and it was clear that the hotel had been recently renovated. Everything was new and clean and the beds were very comfortable. The front desk staff were friendly and always smiled instead of sitting behind a counter playing on a computer. The breakfast room had typical breakfast items and the staff were constantly restocking items throughout breakfast. The rooms were quiet, no hall noise or other guest noises were heard. The refrigerator and microwave were handy and a nice added convenience. The overall experience was awesome and certain members of my family are very picky about hotels and they had a lovely experience as well. Very reasonable prices. I have already booked my next stay here in a few months. October 18, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Stay, Inexperienced Staff My husband and I recently stayed at the Biddeford Holiday Inn Express for a weekend away in Maine. Overall, the hotel is gorgeous and well-maintained, and our room was very large and clean. The breakfast was super delicious, especially for a free continental breakfast. Our only complaint was the staff. The first gentleman we met who checked us in was very pleasant, but did not know when to stop chatting. We had arrived just before midnight after driving more than 9 hours to get there, and he kept carrying on about different things in the area and services the hotel provided (and he was very kind and professional, and the information was good). The issue was that I kept trying to walk away and end the conversation because we needed to bring our bags in and, frankly, get some sleep. This was minor, of course, and he was very kind, so it wasn't a big deal. The bigger deal was the rest of the staff. Every staff member that we came across was in their early 20's (my assumption) and usually more interested in chatting with one another or looking at cell phones than helping us. Additionally, we were out of towels and approached a cleaning staff person who indicated he would return in a few minutes with new towels. We waited 1.5 hours, and then decided we needed to leave - we were there to vacation, not to sit around and wait for towels. We returned to the room several hours later- still no towels. My husband called the front desk, and they said they would gladly send towels right up. 2 hours passed and still no towels, so my very annoyed husband headed down to the front desk to get them himself. He returned to the room without towels, having been told by the staff that they "ran out" because of all the kids staying at the hotel for a soccer tournament, were laundering them now, and would bring 2 up to us within an hour. Needless to say, morning came and we still never received towels so we both had to use a single hand towel that was still clean in our suite to shower with. Yeah, that was fun. So, hotel was beautiful, breakfast was awesome, and the room was amazing. The staff..... well, they are young and inexperienced from the looks of things, but at least that's an easy fix! We would stay here again, either way. October 18, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Comfortable bed and spacious room. I was very pleased with the accommodations! The room was clean, beds were comfy. Refrigerator and coffee maker were a plus. Nice pool area and fitness room. We were only there one night, but I would highly recommend this for several nights. October 17, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Fine stay This hotel is up to the normal HIE standards. I asked the desk clerk about a spot to run in the morning and he pointed out the location of the Eastern Train which was perfect. The room was fine, but the breakfast was not as well-stocked as other HIE breakfasts I've had. All-in-all, I would recommend it. I'm a pretty low maintenance traveler. October 16, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 Great Value We went on a family trip to Freeport and Kittery. Couldn't have stayed somewhere more perfect. Great value for the dollar. October 15, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Poor Management - Worst Hotel Experience To date, this is the worst experience I’ve had at Holiday Inn Express. This hotel is way below standard and reeks of poor management practices. I made my reservation greater than 24hours in advance via the IHG website. Upon arrival around 10pm, I was greeted by a sign indication the desk clerk was not available. After some time, a disheveled young man exited an office behind the counter and asked if he could help me. I introduced myself and informed him that I had a reservation. To that he responded that the hotel had no rooms; that somehow they were overbooked. He added that he had been in phone contact with the manager and had received no help. I expressed that I had made my reservation the day before and them not having a room was unacceptable. He asked if I could wait about 30 minutes while he moved some people around. After about 20 minutes he told me he had my room ready and issued my key. Upon my wife and I entering our room, we discovered a man in the room apparently making a bed. I questioned him as to his presence in the room, but did not get a satisfactory answer. Back at the front desk, I was informed the man was hotel staff and was cleaning the room. I discovered later that he had apparently been living in the room and was forced to move out that night. When we finally got access to the room, the room smelled of body odor, there were cobwebs on the ceiling, brown liquid spilled in the sink, dirt in the refrigerator, and the bathroom floor was dirty. It was obvious this room had not been used for hotel guest in quite some time. As a Platinum Member I’ve come to expect better standards from Holiday Inn Express. October 14, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Nice rooms but terrible overall experience We started with bad experience when booking rooms and that should have been our first clue. Every time we called to book rooms for a wedding we were told he couldn't do it and call another time. We finally dealt with the manager who was very nice. One the day we arrived to check in our room reservation was lost. We even had confirmed it a few days before since it was our wedding. After waiting for 40 mins to try to get a room which I might add made us late for our own wedding rehearsal, we were given a room. The staff on at that time did not seem to care that this was causing any problems and had a whatever attitude. We thought that the worst was over and behind us. Again, the rooms were very nice and clean so that was great. On our last day at the hotel we began to load some of our luggage to the car so we wouldn't have so much to do after. We had the bulk of our stuff out of the room but still had an hour left which we planned to take advantage of by using the pool. When we ran back upstairs we found our door open and that the maid service had taken everything out and cleaned the room. I angrily asked where the remainder of our stuff was and was told there was nothing left in there. Well yes, there was...flowers from the wedding, our 2nd room key and our bill. We did end up talking to the manager a day later and got an apology and some money off our bill but that does not give us our flowers back. It also makes me thankful that I did not leave anything of great value (money, gifts, etc) in the room since they went in without permission. It makes me wonder how often that might happen to guests. I will never chose to stay at this hotel again, no matter how nice I felt the rooms were. October 9, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 dissapointed My wife and I spend about 40 nights a year at Holiday Inns. We were visiting the area for the 1st time. At check in I asked for a local map and was told that they didn't have any. Computer in the lobby for the guests to use? Nope, so I couldn't print one. Wifi signal in the room very weak and we were unable to get a google page to open so we were unable to even look at a local map. In the morning I asked again if they had a local map and was given a state map, Not very helpful. A list of restaurants with addresses doesn't help much if you can't find the addresses. We spent a lot of time driving around and asking directions. This is inexcusable for a tourist destination. Otherwise the room was comfortable and the breakfast was typical HIE breakfast. October 9, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by great place to stop over We were on our way up to Bar Harbor, and decided to split the trip up. This hotel has been redone and is nicely up to date. We found the check in Friday night rather slow as only one person was on and there was a line of people who did not seem to know what they were doing- there was a large party checking in. And we did not get a king room, but a double. It worked. October 8, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Still on hold with the front desk!! I stay at this location several times a year. I noticed the improvement in the décor and breakfast room since it has become a Holiday Inn Express. My complaint is with the front desk. I called, several weeks after my stay, for a copy of my bill to be sent to me via email. At first, the phone rang for a full 3 minutes without anyone answering the phone. I hung up and immediately called back and the phone was picked up after several rings. I was asked if I could hold and I said I could, but not for too long since I have been waiting already. After 19 plus minutes, the person at the front desk picked up the line. I asked if they were having an emergency and was told there were no emergencies. I told him that I had been holding for nearly 20 minutes and he explained that he was the only one there and he is to address the customers waiting in the lobby. He said he had a rush (it was around 3:30 pm). I told him that was a shame, because while I was waiting I was able to start my review. I suggested next time he should take a number and call back. MANAGEMENT--You need to be sure you have sufficient staff so that this does not happen again. October 2, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Wonderful Stay! Thank you for a wonderful experience at Holiday Inn Express Biddeford! Even with a computer breakdown at the time of my check-in, the clerk at the desk could not have been more accommodating in terms of my request for a quiet room (kudos to him come review/salary increase time - honestly!). Breakfast options were beyond my expectations with an exceptionally clean eating area as well. Thank you again! September 29, 2013
Rated 3.0 out of 5.0 by I've stayed here several times Despite the normally good experience at this site I had a most disappointing experience on my most recent visit. On checking out I had not received the usual express checkout receipt under my doorway the night before. When checking out at the desk in the morning I was told by the clerk on duty (Sunday morning) that he could not give me a receipt. I asked him to merely make a copy of the final statement he had in his hand. What he told me was "The manager told him he was not allowed to give receipts". EXCUSE ME!!!! Who does business like that??? He at least offered to mail me a copy of the final statement, which I did receive. I have never had such an experience and I have filled multiple passports traveling around the world. TRY HARDER HIEXPRESS! September 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Love this hotel I love the setting of the hotel. It was clean and comfortable. The morning breakfast was great! September 25, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by good experience very comfortable and clean plus great pillows!!! the location is convenient to going north to Portland or south to Ogunquit September 23, 2013
Rated 5.0 out of 5.0 by Centrallised to all the main coastal attractions This hotel is well situated close to all main attraction in the South of Maine. As most Holiday Inn Express, rooms were clean, well equipped with a mini fridge and microwave. The King bed was fantastic and the pillows a dream to dream on. The room was clean, the washroom impeccable. We arrived early and the front desk staff accommodated us with an early check-in. The only comment I have, is that being a vegetarian, it would be nice to have a bigger selection of fruit than just a banana. This hotel I would return without question. September 22, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Noisy room, Room #203 I wouldnt recomend! Noisy generator or furnace on 1st floor. Every 15 minutes it would run for a period of about 15 to 20 minutes. Was very hard t sleep thru it all night. 2nd is the jets in the tub not too powerful, no exhaust fan wrking in the bathroom either. 3rd thing is dont use your debit card like we did! We wer doubled charged for our room. It wrecked the wkend for us! We had to leave early Sunday mrning without enjoying the weather and plans we had for the beach that day! It took till Wednesday untl the money was put back into our account! When I confronted the front desk, I showed the young girl my bank acct and she agreed that something had happened, but there was nothing she could do so we left!!!! No one from management has tried to contact us either. We stay only at Holiday Inns, always without any problems except for this time. September 20, 2013
Rated 1.0 out of 5.0 by Waiting for Credit At my recent stay at the Biddeford, Maine location, I discovered a few days after that I was double billed for my room. I contacted the hotel management to inquire of this, and was told that my account would be credited for the billing in error, and that I should receive this in a couple days. It has now been 2 WEEKS since my stay, and NO CREDIT has been issued at this point! Why must we, as loyal customers have to chase these mistakes over and over again? This is a terrible example of the very POOREST customer service. Still Waiting. September 9, 2013
Rated 2.0 out of 5.0 by Poor experience at premium cost Average sized room at higher-than-average cost vs competing chains. Cleanliness issues (used tissues and coffee cups remaining in room from previous guest) and maintenance problems (non-working bathroom fan and leaky iron) prompt my overall negative rating. September 8, 2013
Rated 4.0 out of 5.0 by Bentley Saloon Room was very nice, nice views, clean. Breakfast had a lot to be desired , however employees were pleasent September 6, 2013
<<prev2 3 next>>
Hotel Exterior
Hotel Exterior
Select to close.
Hotel Exterior Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby Hotel Lobby
Select to close.
Terms & Conditions
Stay connected with free high speed internet at Holiday Inn Express ®. Click to learn more.